We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great Location - Impressive Vacation”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Mantra Legends Hotel
Ranked #9 of 32 Hotels in Surfers Paradise
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
76 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
“Great Location - Impressive Vacation”
Reviewed 25 January 2013

I recently stayed at Mantra Legends for a short break away. All my requests whilst booking the hotel were met. I was given a city view room on the 21st floor overlooking paradise waters, isle of Capri and the city of Gold Coast. The room was quite old and needs to be renovated, the tv was an old analogue television and the balcony was small where you could only fit two chairs and a table. The hotel is located in a good location, only two streets away from Cavill Avenue and a short walk to surfers paradise beach and all main attraction and activities. The lobby, gym and pool were very nice and modern. The staff and concierge were always friendly and made sure your stay went well. We requested late check out and were given this straight away. The business centre at the lobby had free use of computers/Internet however the printer was not working during my stay. When I asked reception if they could recommend an Internet cafe to print out my transfer and airline boarding passes, they offered to print everything out without any hassles at reception. Overall I was impressed with this hotel and the service from staff, the only downside was the lack of maintenance with their hotel rooms, so I would suggest upgrading the next room category higher, if I had known this prior to making the reservation I would have. I have no issues recommending this hotel, it was great and I would stay here again.

Room Tip: Upgrade to a Deluxe if possible as this room is nicer and modern compaired to the standard hotel roo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank WorldTraveller159
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mantra8, Front Office Manager at Mantra Legends Hotel, responded to this review, 5 March 2013
Dear Jamiet290,

Thank you for providing such detailed feedback, I am extremely pleased to hear all your needs and requirements were met both at time of booking and during your stay.

I will be passing on this great feedback to both reception and concierge staff as they have delivered some great service and ensured you have been taken care of. I would like to inform you that we are currently in the process of replacing all “older” televisions and I will be investigating the issue you raised about maintenance .

I look forward to welcoming you back to Mantra Legends Hotel in the near future.

Kind Regards,

Chris Dickinson
Front Office Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,972 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    565
    788
    354
    144
    121
See reviews for
446
787
103
275
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (315)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Brisbane
Level Contributor
14 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 January 2013 via mobile

Had room on level 21 which had a great view of the beach but tiny balcony that 2 could barely sit on with old rusted plastic chairs that weren't very inviting. Room was clean. Tv wasn't good quality and was small. Paid extra for a deluxe room so was glad we hadn't gone for cheaper room. Staff seemed helpful and breakfast was good value.

Stayed January 2013, travelled with family
Helpful?
Thank Ngaree
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mantra8, Front Office Manager at Mantra Legends Hotel, responded to this review, 4 March 2013
Dear Ngaree,

Thank you for your positive feedback, I am extremely happy that you found the staff to be helpful and the breakfast was good value. I would like to inform you that we are currently in the process of replacing all “older” televisions and I will be investigating the issue you raised about the balcony furniture.

I look forward to welcoming you back to Mantra Legends Hotel in the near future.

Kind Regards,

Chris Dickinson
Front Office Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Auckland Region, New Zealand
1 review
Reviewed 17 January 2013

We enjoyed our first visit to Surfers Paradise.... the room was ok and spacious but HOUSE KEEPING was very poor... we had to ask the people in charge twice to vaccumme the room and wipe stains off coffee table. They did it on the 3rd day when it was meant to be done everyday according to the management and staffs at reception. They also never changed the beddings until just before the last day of our stay when we emphsised about it. Also one of the person at the conciege was very rude when we were trying to arrange a tour and get more information.
The girls at the reception were very friendly and helpfull. Location wise was excellent. May I will re think on staying there again unless they can get their acts together. All the best!!!

Room Tip: Room with a view will be adviseable and like ours with spa bath as well.... but depends on what your...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Reginald L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mantra8, Front Office Manager at Mantra Legends Hotel, responded to this review, 19 February 2013
Dear Reginald L,

Thank you for taking the time to share your feedback, I am naturally disappointed to hear some areas of your stay were not up to standard and have affected your Holiday. I am pleased that you found the reception staff to be friendly and helpful, it concerns that one of my concierge was rude and lacked the customer service I would expect.

There appears to of been a communication breakdown in regards to your room servicing and I would like to apologise for any inconvenience caused, I have followed this up with all relevant parties.

We strive to ensure that all guests have an enjoyable stay and on this occasion we have fallen short, without having your specific booking details it makes it difficult to further investigate the concerns you have raised, if you could please contact me directly chris.dickinson@mantra.com.au it would be of great assistance as I would like look into this matter further.

Once again thank you for providing this feedback and I look forward to hearing from you !

Kind Regards,

Chris Dickinson
Front Office Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 16 January 2013

We stayed at this hotel in late 2011. I rang the hotel at 8am when we arrived in QLD and half an hour later when we arrived at the hotel they had a room ready for us to checkin!
Staff were friendly and helpful. We ate tea in their restaurant one night, food & service was good, we were given a high chair for our toddler. The room we stayed in was small, but clean & tidy. It had two double beds and the verandah looked out to the ocean. Position is just a short stroll to Caville Avenue, there are restaurants right outside the building.

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Shaz3R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mantra8, Front Office Manager at Mantra Legends Hotel, responded to this review, 14 February 2013
Dear Shaz3R,

Thank you for sharing your feedback, I am extremely happy that you found the staff to be friendly and helpful, it’s also very pleasing you enjoyed Fables restaurant.

I would like to thank you again for providing this feedback and I look forward to welcoming you back to Mantra Legends Hotel.

Kind Regards,

Chris Dickinson
Front Office Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Perth, Australia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 January 2013

After arriving early to the hotel we were told that our room was not available. This is fine as we were early and with the hotel being fully booked couldn't pay for early check in, check staff continually told us we were on priority and the rooms wouldn't be long. 4 hours later we were still waiting. I would rather they told us the truth and said sorry we are fully booked it will be 2pm as per reservation than keep us waiting, it was frustrating and they didn't even offer water or anything considering you could see we were exhausted. Website also needs to be updated. I spoke to many people who thought the decor of the hotel was as per website when in fact its only the deluxe rooms etc that are renovated and the rest of the rooms are 70s throwbacks! Our studio room was humid (air not working well) and the mattress was as hard as a rock! I guess you cant beat the price for the location but that will only suffice for so long before word spreads. Hotel staff need a lesson in manners (Check in) also.

Room Tip: pay extra for a Deluxe Studio + if you want to get a nights sleep...Also parking is limited and 17/d...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank jackie a
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mantra8, Front Office Manager at Mantra Legends Hotel, responded to this review, 14 February 2013
Dear jackie a,

Thank you for taking the time to share your feedback, I am naturally disappointed to hear you found the service and room quality not up to our usual high standard. I would like to confirm that our check in time is 2pm and we try our best to get the rooms ready prior to this but during peak season this becomes more difficult, the receptionist should of informed you on arrival to expect your room to be ready at 2pm, there seems to of been a communication breakdown and I apologise for this.

Mantra Legends Hotel was built in 1997 and most of our rooms have been refurbished since then, we are continually trying to improve our unrefurbished rooms. I am happy that you found both the price and location of Mantra Legends to be the best.

Kind Regards,

Chris Dickinson
Front Office Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brisbane, Australia
Level Contributor
57 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 January 2013

I have stayed in this hotel twice so far. It is very close to Surfers Paradise beach and mall. The beds are getting old and need replacing soon (as of January 2013). The restaurant is a little over priced for the service and quality of food. But the proximity to beach and surfers paradise shops is great.

Room Tip: Rooms facing east have ocean view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank AroundWorldIn80Years
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mantra8, Front Office Manager at Mantra Legends Hotel, responded to this review, 5 February 2013
Dear AroundWorldIn80Years,

Thank you for taking the time to share this great feedback, I’m extremely happy that you found Mantra Legends to be nice and in a convenient location, the Hotel beds are monitored and replaced as soon they show signs of ageing.

I would like to thank you for your repeat business and look forward to welcoming you back to Mantra Legends Hotel in the future !

Kind Regards,

Chris Dickinson
Front Office Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 January 2013

What a rip off!
More like 3 star at 5 star price.
Rooms are falling apart and dirty.
Tv is from the early 1980s.
Pool is disgusting with hair and filth on bottom and floating on top.
Supposed to be 4 to 4.5 star and has old school bath shower set up with manky old curtains.

Never again

  • Stayed January 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank TheWhingeReport
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mantra8, Front Office Manager at Mantra Legends Hotel, responded to this review, 5 February 2013
Dear TheWhingeReport,

Thank you for sharing this feedback, I am naturally disappointed to hear that you did not enjoy your stay at Mantra Legends Hotel, without knowing your specific booking details I cannot be sure but it appears you have booked one of our standard rooms, we do have our deluxe room categories which have been refurbished, I would like to offer my sincerest apologies as we have clearly fallen short in meeting your expectations and ensuring the room is cleaned to the highest standard.

Without having your specific booking details it makes it difficult to further investigate the issues you have raised, if you could please contact me directly chris.dickinson@mantra.com.au it would be of great assistance as I would like look into this matter further.

I would like to thank you again for providing this feedback , I look forward to hearing from you !

Kind Regards,

Chris Dickinson
Front Office Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Surfers Paradise hotels
0.1 mi away
Novotel Surfers Paradise
Novotel Surfers Paradise
#16 of 32 in Surfers Paradise
273 reviews
0.1 mi away
Watermark Hotel & Spa Gold Coast
Watermark Hotel & Spa Gold Coast
#8 of 32 in Surfers Paradise
1,404 reviews
0.5 mi away
Mantra on View Hotel
Mantra on View Hotel
#12 of 32 in Surfers Paradise
2,371 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
QT Gold Coast
QT Gold Coast
#4 of 32 in Surfers Paradise
2,573 reviews
0.9 mi away
Crowne Plaza Surfers Paradise
Crowne Plaza Surfers Paradise
#6 of 32 in Surfers Paradise
1,147 reviews
0.3 mi away
Mantra Circle on Cavill
Mantra Circle on Cavill
#7 of 32 in Surfers Paradise
2,798 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mantra Legends Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mantra Legends Hotel

Property: Mantra Legends Hotel
Address: Cnr Surfers Paradise Blvd and Laycock St, Surfers Paradise, Gold Coast, Queensland 4217, Australia
Region: Australia > Queensland > Gold Coast > Surfers Paradise
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Best Value Hotel in Surfers Paradise
#9 Luxury Hotel in Surfers Paradise
#9 Business Hotel in Surfers Paradise
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Mantra Legends Hotel 4.5*
Number of rooms: 411
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Offering premium accommodation in the heart of Surfers Paradise, Mantra Legends Hotel provides the ideal location for a family holiday, short break or business trip. The hotel is just a short stroll to the beach, premium shopping outlets and fine dining restaurants and Surfers Paradise's famous nightlife scene is a mere five minute walk. The hotel boasts well appointed guest rooms and suites, featuring ocean or hinterland views. All rooms offer air conditioning, cable TV, in-house movies, wireless connectivity and most feature a private balcony and the option of upgrading to a deluxe (refurbished) room. On-site facilities cater to both business travellers and those on a relaxed getaway. We offer exceptional conferencing facilities as well as a beautiful outdoor pool area, fully equipped gym and steam room. We offer guest services including 24 hour reception, secure undercover parking (subject to availability) and concierge. Our hotel offers an on-site restaurant, Fables and our own Tales Bar. Join us for breakfast, dinner or simply an evening cocktail. We provide the ideal location for a family holiday, short break or business trip. Limited undercover parking is available for one car only per room at a cost of $19 per day payable direct to the hotel. For more car parking information please contact Mantra Legends (parking is subject to availability). Maintenance Notice: As part of ongoing improvements, Mantra Legends will undergo exterior repainting of the building from 13 March until 10 July 2017. The works will involve pressure cleaning and remedial work to the building’s exterior prior to re-painting. Work will be carried out from 8am to 4pm Monday to Friday, no works will be undertaken on the weekends. Mantra Legends Hotel management team wish to apologise in advance for any disturbance this may cause. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Odigeo, Agoda, Travel Republic (UK), TravelUp, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Mantra Legends Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mantra Legends Surfers Paradise
Mantra Legends Hotel Surfers Paradise, Gold Coast, Australia

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing