We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Mantra Legends Hotel
Show Prices
Like saving money? We search up to 200 sites for the lowest prices
Nearby Hotels
Q1 Resort and Spa(Surfers Paradise)
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
View Hotel
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
The Island Gold Coast(Surfers Paradise)
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Novotel Surfers Paradise(Surfers Paradise)
View Hotel
  • Pool
  • Beachfront
Wyndham Surfers Paradise(Surfers Paradise)
View Hotel
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
View Hotel
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
View Hotel
  • Pool
  • Beachfront
Peppers Soul(Surfers Paradise)
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Diamonds Resort(Surfers Paradise)
View Hotel
Mantra Circle on Cavill(Surfers Paradise)
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
Reviews (2,838)
Filter reviews
2,838 results
Traveller rating
837
1,125
510
200
166
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
837
1,125
510
200
166
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsgreat locationspa suiteseafood buffetthe gold coastcar parkingcavill avenueshort stayshort walk to the beachwould stay againocean viewfabledbalconykitchenettesurfersconferenceconciergedishwasher
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
2,686 - 2,691 of 2,838 reviews
Reviewed 16 September 2009

We had not stayed at the Mantra Legends Hotel before but had a very nice experience and would certainly stay there again.

We have a regular hotel further down the coast at Burleigh that we normally stay at but felt like a change so while looking around online we found the Mantra Legends. My brother-in-law had stayed there once before and said although it looked "old and a little shabby" on the outside, the inside was all nicely refurbished...which it was. The foyer is very nice and stylish.

We had booked a hinterland view room as an ocean view was apparently more, but upon checking into the room we realised we were on the ocean view side; a nice surprise. Our room was on the corner so the kitchenette was seperated nicely from the bedroom area. Everything was lovely and clean and the view of the city was suberb at night time. It was a very busy night in Surfers and even though we were only on the 9th floor, we couldn't hear any street / club noise, even with the balcony door open all night.

The only problems we had were upon check-in our first credit card did not work (which we later found out was because it was a VISA debit card and a payment had come out) and the receptionist was quite short with us and unhelpful. We stepped aside and let other people check in and was promptly helped by another staff member who fixed everything up for us quickly.

We also took the advice that we could park on the street outside the hotel between 5pm - 7am for free instead of paying for undercover parking. We did park out on the street and paid the meter for an hour but upon coming back to the car when we were leaving for dinner noticed that we had a parking ticket. Perhaps it's not best to tell people what they can do if it's illegal.

Overall though a great weekend. :)

  • Stayed: September 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank ChantelQ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 September 2009

Housekeeping was not that good, some things were not replaced daily in bathroom, like face cloths, soap, shampoo etc or only one put out for two people etc. Rooms looked a bit tired, bare/bland and could do with a spruce up, but very clean. Otherwise a good overall experience.

  • Stayed: September 2009
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank novosoft
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 August 2009

We quite enjoyed our one week stay at Mantra Legends. We had a studio ocean view room and although we requested a 'high as possible' floor, we were allocated a 10th floor studio. We are extremely sensitive to noise so like to be as far removed from traffic as possible. On arrival, we were impressed with the foyer, and we were able to check in earlier than 2pm. The location is good - only a couple of blocks from all the action of Cavill Avenue and one short block to the beach. The check in staff were courteous as was the concierge. The views from our bedroom and kitchenette were good although you can't beat absolute beachfront. The kitchenette was basic but adequate for our needs. A small dishwasher and fridge, cutlery and crockery for 2 and microwave/convection oven (although we have never worked out the intricacies of theses dual ovens and only use the microwave component) and a small sink. Dishwasher detergent supplied. Although bathroom soap was not - never had that missing before!!!!!! And a small table and 2 chairs. The balcony was very small but probably adequate for 2. Our room position was such that we only got sun until about 9am so no possibility of sun baking on the balcony anyway. The pool was lovely. Not heated but after a couple of days of 26 degrees (cel) it was pretty good. Not a lot of poolside lounges but if it looks full, walk up the steps and you will find a couple of other levels of sun baking areas and lounges. The gym was better than I expected too - but no free weights or bozus/swiss balls. The bed was kingsize and very firm which was OK with us. The pillows were very flat which we love!

Our only complaints were some young people who decided to party in the corridor outside our room one morning at 2.30am. I opened our door and asked them to tone it down and they did bring the noise down minutely but were obviously too intoxicated to understand the meaning of " we are trying to sleep in here guys". The party then continued into the room next door to us until 4.30am at which time, i was adrenaline fueled enough to make my way down to reception in my nightie to complain. Immediately the security guy, after telling me I should have reported the disturbance straight away, went up to the room and the problem stopped straight away. Except that the inhabitants then started opening and closing drawers and door and using water etc. I guess the walls must be very thin. No sleep for me for the rest of that night. Wouldn't have been so much of a problem except we had to get up really early for a booked tour. Luckily thry were only checked in for that one night.

Oh, and I found a cockroach in the bathroom when I was up in the wee small hours. I put the rubbish tin over him. Next morning, on our way out, I told reception about the cockroach under the rubbish tin but when we got back late at night, the cockroach was still there. The rubbish bin had been emptied and the cockroach was dead on his back next to it? We also had the problem of our swipe card keys not working on a couple of occasions. They told us not to keep our cards near mobile phones/computers etc. So we did as we were told. But on two occasions we both had our swipe cards stop working at the same time. Weird or what?

And one last complaint. The website advertising cable TV - but it's only Austar Sports and Sky News. No movies. I thought that was a a bit rich. The reason being that they also have pay movies - which we would not use on principle. We are in our 60s and like to relax at the end of the day with a movie so I'll remember to check in future if 'cable' includes movie channels. We've never had that problem before.

If you're on a budget like us (retirees), check out the Surfers Paradise Surf Club - down the block to the beach, turn left for a couple of blocks. They have nightly specials that were very good value!

There are so many places to stay in Surfers. We would go back to Legends but will probably book in somewhere else next time just because we like to try different things and it's not absolute beachfront which is our preference.

  • Stayed: August 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank arabrab_1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 June 2009

I booked the Mantra Legends for 2 nights for a weekend away with a friend. There was an awful stench in the bathroom when we arrived. We called the concierge to ask to be moved but never got a response. We came back to the room after dinner and the smell was even worse so we called again and were thankfully moved. The beds were the most uncomfortable I have experienced in a hotel and were more like what you would find in a run-down hostel. We were on the 18th floor and could still hear the pounding music from surrounding bars until the wee hours each night. The concierge was also clueless and rude. I definitely would NOT recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed: June 2009, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank sarahl0uise
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 June 2009

Mantra Legends, a hotel in the heart of the city of Gold Coast.
It is present in the Surfer's Paradise.
The Hotel Rooms-Standard rooms were very big, and had dishwashers, Microwave oven, nice cutlery, heating surface and very nice view of the sea.
The Hotel Staff are very good natured and are always willing to help.
I had only one problem, that is, the swimming pool floor was very rough, and the gym bathroom is very small and poorly maintaineded!!!

  • Stayed: May 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
2  Thank help-always
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews