We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Old and drab”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Paradise Resort Gold Coast
Ranked #15 of 31 Hotels in Surfers Paradise
Manila, Philippines
Level 6 Contributor
72 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 115 helpful votes
“Old and drab”
Reviewed 25 January 2012

I chose this hotel even with the feedback that the place is old and drab because of the activities they offer the kids.

Their room is clean and ok. But the whole hotel feels old.

I do appreciate their playroom but it is quite difficult for me as the slots needs to be reserved way in advance.

I dont like the location, if I am to go back I will choose one that is nearer Cavill Mall so buying food or any thing we need would have been a lot easier.

I wont go back to this hotel.

Room Tip: Ask for a room that is not a very loooooong walk from the lobby.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank BenzRana
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,410 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    396
    540
    218
    121
    135
See reviews for
1,144
15
4
4
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (365)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Townsville, Australia
Level 6 Contributor
90 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 January 2012

We stayed between Christmas and New Years to take the kids somewhere to enjoy. We thought the price was a bit expensive, but thought the waterparks would make up for that. We were in the oldest rooms and they were awful (previously stayed for 2 nights to check it out since we'd booked for Christmas, on a flight delay, around other side and rooms were old and basic, but were big and clean, although there was no aircon in the 2nd bedroom). This stay, we got hardly any sleep what so ever due to the noise of the airconditioner (& the flashing light didn't help either). After a couple of days we couldn't take the noise anymore, so went down and complained to reception, however the complaint was totally ignored and nothing was done about it. Staff were nice about it when we left, however said there was no record and it was too late anyway. The bathroom was so old and in desperate need of repair, the carpet had obvioulsy been flooded by the bathroom and just lifted up with some of the underlay removed (carpet lose and different heights). There was no cooking facilities and no sink and the bar fridge wasn't very cold (there is a ice tray of water in the chiller, but it's not a freezer???). The kids club is a great idea, however our kids went once and wouldn't go back. The other activities throughout the day are great and the staff are friendly. The food and drinks in the cafe are great, however we went to eat at the restaurant, but left as we didn't find there was anything we liked (changed menu from staying a couple of months prior). As said in other posts, there needs to be alot more shade cover in the pool areas and personally I think the jnr waterpark and the snr waterpark are back to front (with the exception of the larger slides). If your kids love the water and you want to stay somewhere where you don't have to be concerned about your kids making a mess of the rooms, probably stay, but we won't stay again until the rooms are totally refurbished. Definately not worth the money in the rooms we stayed in this time. Very disappointed.

Room Tip: Do not stay in what they call the 4th wing, oldest rooms. Choose a jnr bunkhouse or aqua view room...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank arnieTsv
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GENERAL_MANAGER_DB, General Manager at Paradise Resort Gold Coast, responded to this review, 31 January 2012
Dear ArnieTsv,
Many thanks for taking the time to comment about your recent stay with us. I am sorry to read that you found your room to be less than adequate. As you would have experienced all our facilities have now been upgraded and we are in the process of upgrading our rooms.

Shade around the pool has now been increased the addition of 5 metre umbrellas situated throughout the Water park area.

Your other issues are also being addresssed and we thank you for the feedback.

Kind regards
David and the Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Surfers Paradise hotels

Melbourne, Australia
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 January 2012

We have just returned from a 5 night stay at the resort with our 5 & 2 yr old boys & thoroughly enjoyed it. We had a junior bunk house rm & our kids loved it. After reading quite a few negative comments before we left I was a bit unsure as to what to expect but was pleasantly surprised when we got to our rm. The rooms are a bit dated but ours looked like it had been renovated to a degree as the kitchenette looked quite new & had everything we needed in the way of dishes & cutlery. We were not in a pool facing rm so we didn't find noise a problem at all. The one thing I would recommend is to bring your own dvd's & play station 2 games as due to the number of guests they go quick from reception but we ended up buying a couple of cheap ones for our kids from EB games in the mall so it wasn't really a problem. The resort is in a good location quick walk to the beach & about 10 mins to the mall. Kids club is great our boys really enjoyed it & tried both the day & night sessions. They also have extra activities planned throughout the day which was an added bonus. They also loved the water park as did my husband & I !! We found the staff in all areas of the resort to be very friendly & helpful. We ate at both the bistro & the pool side cafe & found the food to be really nice, especially the pizzas they were great! We didn't have breakfast as we just bought cereal & toast & ate in our room. The only thing I found would have been great would have been an another pool, maybe around where the adventure playground was (it didn't appear to be used that much) that the parents could use especially if the kids are in kids club, maybe a lagoon type pool. But If you are looking for a fun family holiday with plenty for the kids to do plus a break for the parents then this place provides it. We will definitely be back again but will stay longer next time!

  • Stayed January 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Rachael S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GENERAL_MANAGER_DB, General Manager at Paradise Resort Gold Coast, responded to this review, 1 February 2012
Dear RachelS,

Thank you for taking the time to leave your honest and candid feedback in relation to the Paradise Resort. We certainly appreciate you comments and are working towards further improvement of the Resort including an area purely for adults around the pool.

We hope to see you all again one day in the near future

Kind regards
David and the Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Broome, Australia
Level 3 Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 January 2012

Definitely NOT 4 star More like 3 max
Room and hotel very dated from the fifties
VERY overpriced for what you get Room needs a paint and brighten up as does corridors a all aspects of hotel If you have really young kids or kids you want to get rid of then this is the place We do not fit that category Food was ok depending what u get Steak not too bad Fish terrible Surprised for the price that breakfast was not included These few extras plus improved decor might have seen us return but not as is The special kids rooms with portholes beds etc look nice but at almost double of what we paid definitely Way overpriced

Room Tip: The basic rooms are drab
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Jakara
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GENERAL_MANAGER_DB, General Manager at Paradise Resort Gold Coast, responded to this review, 1 February 2012
Dear Jakara,

Many thanks for your feedback. We appreciate all comments and take each one very seriously. As you mentiuoned we are geared up to cater for families with young children and have purposely focused on having a large number of inclusions at no additional cost to ensure the kids are kept entertained throughout their stay, all included in the room price.

We thank you for your time and will address those issues mentioned.

Kind regards
David and the Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brisbane, Australia
2 reviews
Reviewed 18 January 2012

My best friend and I have just returned from 2 days at Paradise Resort. I remember what the place was like in 1989 when it was called "Ocean Blue Resort". It hadn't changed much except now I returned as a mother of a 7 and 9 year old. My clean freak friend found the interconnecting suites 'adequate' and so did I. We utilised the services of the Kids Club on both evenings and went to the local Southport Surf Club for dinner and drinks. The kids thoroughly enjoyed the kids club for the 4 hours both evenings. They even wanted to stay another night as they didn't want to miss the Talent Quest night!!! Alas, it was time to go home. Both families enjoyed the water park in the complex - the 3 water slides were a real hoot! If you're a couple with minimal baby sitting options in your life and want some time away but are restricted to including your children, I can thoroughly recommend this accommodation. I am not sure about more than 3 nights in 'studio' type accommodation with a family however...but can thoroughly recommend it for a quick 1 - 2 night getaway to recharge - mainly due to the 4 hours of kids club which can be from 10am - 2pm or 4pm - 8pm.

The Handymart downstairs was utilised often. I have read the other reviews on this website stating the Marriott down the road would be a better option, however, having stayed at both establishments this week, I would have to say sure, Marriott for luxury and room service but definitely Paradise Resort for kiddy fun (ours ranged from 7 - 12 year olds!).

This place gets the thumbs up from me and my kids!

We are already planning our next escape.

(No, I am not a bogun.....just love watching my kids have fun!)

Room Tip: Choose a smoking room, these are not located poolside!
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank maria w
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GENERAL_MANAGER_DB, General Manager at Paradise Resort Gold Coast, responded to this review, 1 February 2012
Dear MariaW,
Many thanks for your feedback. Your comments typify our focus of offering a fantastic and memorable holiday for kids with facilities, entertainment and activities found in very few resorts.

We agree that our rooms are dated and will be working towards improving them in the near future.

We hope to see you all back one day
Kind regards
David and the Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne, Victoria, Australia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 January 2012

We stayed for 13 nights. A bit too long really. The reason we picked there is because we stayed there 10 years ago and thought it was an amazing place for kids. I do still believe this. I tend to think the original pool was better, but it seems all the kids love the new water park which is understandable. When I was looking at it again, the website said it had been reburbished (which the rooms needed to be 10 years ago). Well, when I get there the room is exactly the same as it was 10 years ago, but in worse condition. I picked the kettle up and the bottom fell out of it, could barely open the glass sliding door to the balcony, the tv reception wasnt great and the tv was tiny. The bathroom tap dripped and the entry door had its own problems with opening and then slamming so hard behind you that the whole place could hear it. Credit to Paul the manager he did get maintenance to fix the balcony door, and then the bathroom, but they had to get a plumber in to fix that. The cupboard doors were impossible to open and the air-conditioner dripped water inside if left on for too long. Along with these problems the price they charged for food was ridiculous. $8.50 for a ham, cheese, tomato sandwich, which was stale. You would think these things would be made daily, but clearly not. We also had a fruit salad that the pineapple had fur on it. Unless you have younger kids, I wouldn't bother going. Mine are 10 & 11. Didn't feel they could enjoy it because they were too old. The staff are friendly, but for the price of the place a big thumbs down.

  • Stayed December 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Selena B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New South Wales, Australia
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 January 2012

We have stayed at Paradise Resort on a few occasions over the last 10 years. I have always found the staff to be very friendly and helpful.
Yes, the rooms are a little dated but were adequate for our needs. We had an interconnecting room overlooking the pool. I recommend these rooms for families with 3 children or more.
We ate in the restaurant one night and found the food to be satisfactory. The other nights we enjoyed the walk into the mall to eat. We did have breakfast at the resort one morning and were disappointed.
One of the biggest advantages of the resort is the location. It is an easy walk into the mall to eat breakfast and dinner.
The waterpark was amazing. Our children, aged 7, 11 and 16 had a great time on the slides. The pool is quite small but adequate, the spa was always full but this was expected with the resort full when we stayed.
We parked in the parking area adjacent to the resort and found this was great. Swipe card access assists with security. If you park under the resort you pay $5 a night. Not alot of money if you want to do this.
The kids enjoyed kids club and found the kids meals to be good.
I would recommend this resort to all families. It is a little noisy but so are most resorts that are designed for families.
We look forward to our next stay and thank all the friendly helpful staff for the great job they do!

Room Tip: Rooms near the pool are a little noisy but the view is great, especially when the shows and movies a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Christine791
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Surfers Paradise
0.7 mi away
Novotel Surfers Paradise
Novotel Surfers Paradise
#14 of 31 in Surfers Paradise
432 reviews
1.7 mi away
Crowne Plaza Surfers Paradise
Crowne Plaza Surfers Paradise
#7 of 31 in Surfers Paradise
1,639 reviews
0.2 mi away
QT Gold Coast
QT Gold Coast
#4 of 31 in Surfers Paradise
2,684 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Peppers Soul
Peppers Soul
#1 of 31 in Surfers Paradise
2,138 reviews
0.9 mi away
Watermark Hotel & Spa Gold Coast
Watermark Hotel & Spa Gold Coast
#8 of 31 in Surfers Paradise
1,519 reviews
2.5 mi away
Sea World Resort
Sea World Resort
#2 of 5 in Main Beach
4,414 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Paradise Resort Gold Coast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Paradise Resort Gold Coast

Property: Paradise Resort Gold Coast
Address: 122 Ferny Ave, Surfers Paradise, Gold Coast, Queensland 4217, Australia
Region: Australia > Queensland > Gold Coast > Surfers Paradise
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Top resorts Hotel in Surfers Paradise
#8 On the Beach Hotel in Surfers Paradise
#8 Spa Hotel in Surfers Paradise
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Paradise Resort Gold Coast 3.5*
Number of rooms: 359
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Voted best Family Resort in Australia, Paradise Resort Gold Coast is renowned as Heaven for Kids and a Paradise for Parents! Where every accommodation package includes up to 4 hours of supervised care for every child 0-12years per day in the famous Zone 4 Kids Club, valued at $40each. The Zone 4 Kids Club is fully supervised which allows parents time to escape the daily routine and indulge in some holiday sightseeing or precious down time. There is also a giant Kids Water Park right in the centre of the resort, an indoor and outdoor playground, a permanent ice-skating rink plus a whole range of free daily activities and entertainment. And while the kids are looked after parents can rediscover the art of relaxation in the exclusive Zone 4 Adults. The outdoor spa area features a large heated spa and lounge chairs offering parents a place to unwind and soak up the sunshine 'child free'. Complete with the lagoon pool and spa, gym, bistro, cafe and bar Paradise Resort is the perfect choice for your next family holiday. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Agoda, Hotels.com, Ctrip TA, Odigeo, Ebookers, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Paradise Resort Gold Coast reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Paradise Resort Gold Coast Hotel Surfers Paradise
Paradise Resort Surfers
Paradise Hotel Surfers
Paradise Resort Australia
Paradise Resort Gold Coast Surfers Paradise, Australia

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing