We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Very disappointed”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Paradise Resort Gold Coast
Ranked #14 of 32 Hotels in Surfers Paradise
Sydney, Australia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Very disappointed”
Reviewed 27 September 2012

I checked in today for 2 nights and could've burst into tears when I saw my room, overlooking a road. Old square box tv's that makes an annoying buzzing sound, no tv guide, no dvd player, no room service. For a place that proclaims to cater for families ther were quite a few holes in this. Whole resort was extremel in need of an update and was very tired and old. I booked off the website and feel that is was totally oversold. Staff were friendly and welcoming..... One and only good thing! Will NEVER stay here again.

Room Tip: Ask for rooms overlooking the water park.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Mel C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GENERAL_MANAGER_DB, General Manager at Paradise Resort Gold Coast, responded to this review, 9 October 2012
Dear Mel C,
Like all products not eveything meets the requirements of all people.
We are sorry to read that we were unable to meet your expectations and wish you all the best in finding a family resort more suited to your personal requirements.
kind regards
David & The Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,373 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    391
    528
    209
    116
    129
See reviews for
1,112
15
4
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (357)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Melbourne
Level Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 September 2012

We stayed at the Paradise Resort for 5 days last summer, the staff were quite friendly and helpful and we didn't have any issues in the respect, the rooms were quite poor, the beds were a little uncomfortable and the noise was terrible at night. The rooms were reasonably clean although the bathrooms left a lot to be desired. The pool area was great and the kids club was popular with my younger kids (4 & 6) but my older ones hated it. All in all our experience was okay, it was a you get what you pay for type thing and we don't really regret it because our actual holiday was fantastic.

  • Stayed January 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Rami J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GENERAL_MANAGER_DB, General Manager at Paradise Resort Gold Coast, responded to this review, 9 October 2012
Dear Rami J,
It is hard to ascertain when exactly you stayed with us as you make reference to "last summer", and we are dissappointed to read that you found the resort to only be "average".
In the past twelve months we have invested heavily in improving the facilities of the resort including upgrading our food and beverage outlets, minimart, pools and kids facilities/activities. We hope you will come back again and experience all the new options available to the children along with some new attractions coming in the new year.
kind regards
David & the Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ballarat
Level Contributor
30 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 September 2012

I stayed with my 3 & 5 year old for a week 4-11th September and we all had a fabulous time. On booking I requested a ground floor room as I had concerns with the balcony sliding door for safety if I was in the bathroom and was thrilled to have this request granted. I found the standard room very suitable for the 3 of us we had a quiet room facing the side street. We found it cold in bed the first night and when asked for blankets we had them promptly. The pools and outdoor facilities were fantastic, the pool side entertainment every hour was always great fun.The kids club was awesome, my boys decided to go on the morning of our departure instead of swimming so what does that tell you?? The magician on friday night was sensational, my 5 year old followed him around for a while he couldn't get enough! The kids musician got all the kids involved and playing digeridoos and jumping around like kangaroos, they had a ball. Another night had 2 male singers who were very talented and easy on the eye lol. The location was terrific, 2 blocks from the beach and a few more to the city for restaurants and shopping. the onsite restaurant was good for quality and price for food and more importantly the convenience. Loved the onsite mini mart for a decent variety of essentials.Only 2 negatives for us, no freezer in the fridge for our icypoles and the waitress from the cafe/bar seemed to only come out once over lunch had she came around more often I would have purchased more as I couldn't leave the kids at the pool. I can't imagine staying anywhere else on a return trip to the gold coast and would love to return again. My best friend owns a travel agency and I have given her a glowin recommendation of this property and supplied her with the activity schedule to assist in any enquiries from her clientelle.Thanks for a great experience.

Room Tip: rooms where the balcony is facing the side street rather than main st, pool or playground were very...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sue C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GENERAL_MANAGER_DB, General Manager at Paradise Resort Gold Coast, responded to this review, 7 October 2012
Dear Sue C,
Many thanks for writing such a wonderful review of your recent stay with us.
We are delighted that you all had such a great time and have taken on board your comments in relation to more food service around the pool area.
Once again thank you for taking the time to review us, we look forward in welcoming you all back again soon.
kind regards
David & The Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Raglan, New Zealand
Level Contributor
48 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 September 2012

Just had a week at Paradise and for the second time it was a great holiday. The staff were very helpful throughout the hotel and whilst the rooms are only average with regards to fixtures and fittings they are more than adequate and did the job. The pool and playgrounds are superb and the kids club such a huge hit with my two and four year olds that both were in tears when they went for the last time on the last day. Our nine month old didnt last long in the sessions but the staff made a real effort with her and managed to keep her for an hour or two which made a big difference to my wife and I who were able to enjoy a meal and a drink in peace. Overall this place is just the perfect place to go with kids, we will be back again and again and wouldnt stay anywhere else on the Gold Coast.

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank StuBecksandpoppy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GENERAL_MANAGER_DB, General Manager at Paradise Resort Gold Coast, responded to this review, 7 October 2012
Dear Stubecksandpoppy,

Many thanks for recent review of Paradise Resort. We are delighted that you all enjoyed yourselves and look forwards in welcoming you all back again soon.
Kind regards
David & The Team.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Buderim
Level Contributor
71 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 September 2012

Book something else.

The room is tiny, poorly equipped and had an awful musky smell.

The beds are uncomfortable and the level of cleanliness leaves a lot to be desired. As others have said, the walls are thin and the noise from the road was terrible.

The pool area is fantastic, however it doesn't make up for the 2 star rooms.

Room Tip: Ask for a view of the pool...or you'll get a view of traffic or a carpark!! Alternatively, book...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Stays123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GENERAL_MANAGER_DB, General Manager at Paradise Resort Gold Coast, responded to this review, 7 October 2012
Dear Stays123
Thanks for your feedback on your experience at Paradise Resort.
We are sorry to read your comments and dissapointment with the resort.
Whilst we endevour to meet the expectations of all our guests we realise that this is not always possible.
I was disturbed to read that you felt the room was not clean as we do take extra care especially as our resort is an older style property. I have discussed your comments with the executive housekeeper and stepped up our room checks to ascertain issues that may be occuring in the cleaning process.
kind regards
David & The Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Surfers Paradise hotels

1 review
Reviewed 20 September 2012

overall great experience lots to.do

rooms are average but good

facilities very good..lots for kids do great family resort


Food was good and parking on.site

We stayed in sea world a few.months ago and overall found paradise much better












.

  • Stayed September 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank anthonycathy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GENERAL_MANAGER_DB, General Manager at Paradise Resort Gold Coast, responded to this review, 3 October 2012
Dear Anthony & Cathy,
Many thanks for taking the time to write a review of your recent stay at Paradise Resort.
We are pleased that you all enjoyed yourselves and found our resort to meet your expectations.
We look forward in welcoming you all back again in the near future.
kind regards
David & the Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bondi Beach Sydney
Level Contributor
23 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 September 2012

We were originally planning on renting a self contained apartment for an extended family trip that included our 4 children, mother in law, sister in law and my brother and try to keep to a smallish budget when we came across Zagane's Paradise Resort.

We ended up booking the connected rooms that contained a queen bed and a single bed, bathroom and balcony. Additional singles were brought up for the extra guests at no additional charge.

The decor is dated and daggy but you are not there for the rooms. The resort is a kids wonderland. There is the pool, spa, two waterparks with waterslides, and adventure playground, a rock climbing wall two kids clubs fully staffed and multiple activities daily.

Add to this the express public bus to the themeparks at the door and a 1 block walk to the beach and you have the ultimate kid friendly launching pad for a Gold Coast family holiday.

I will definitely take the kids back. My kids are twin 11 yo,4 yo and a 1 yo.

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank andrew_hayes70
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GENERAL_MANAGER_DB, General Manager at Paradise Resort Gold Coast, responded to this review, 20 September 2012
Dear Andrew and Family,
Thank you for your review. We are really greatful that you chose to stay at Paradise Resort rather than an apartment block and certainly appreciate your comments feedback and experiences of your stay.

It is great to see that you would like to come back and thank you for your support and loyalty.

Kind regards
David & The Team.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Surfers Paradise
0.2 mi away
QT Gold Coast
QT Gold Coast
#4 of 32 in Surfers Paradise
2,573 reviews
0.7 mi away
Novotel Surfers Paradise
Novotel Surfers Paradise
#16 of 32 in Surfers Paradise
271 reviews
0.4 mi away
Mantra on View Hotel
Mantra on View Hotel
#12 of 32 in Surfers Paradise
2,369 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
Watermark Hotel & Spa Gold Coast
Watermark Hotel & Spa Gold Coast
#8 of 32 in Surfers Paradise
1,404 reviews
0.6 mi away
Peppers Soul Surfers Paradise
Peppers Soul Surfers Paradise
#1 of 32 in Surfers Paradise
1,846 reviews
4.0 mi away
Turtle Beach Resort
Turtle Beach Resort
#1 of 10 in Mermaid Beach
1,067 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Paradise Resort Gold Coast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Paradise Resort Gold Coast

Property: Paradise Resort Gold Coast
Address: 122 Ferny Ave, Surfers Paradise, Gold Coast, Queensland 4217, Australia
Region: Australia > Queensland > Gold Coast > Surfers Paradise
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Top resorts Hotel in Surfers Paradise
#7 On the Beach Hotel in Surfers Paradise
#8 Spa Hotel in Surfers Paradise
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Paradise Resort Gold Coast 3.5*
Number of rooms: 359
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Voted best Family Resort in Australia, Paradise Resort Gold Coast is renowned as Heaven for Kids and a Paradise for Parents! Where every accommodation package includes up to 4 hours of supervised care for every child 0-12years per day in the famous Zone 4 Kids Club, valued at $40each. The Zone 4 Kids Club is fully supervised which allows parents time to escape the daily routine and indulge in some holiday sightseeing or precious down time. There is also a giant Kids Water Park right in the centre of the resort, an indoor and outdoor playground, a permanent ice-skating rink plus a whole range of free daily activities and entertainment. And while the kids are looked after parents can rediscover the art of relaxation in the exclusive Zone 4 Adults. The outdoor spa area features a large heated spa and lounge chairs offering parents a place to unwind and soak up the sunshine 'child free'. Complete with the lagoon pool and spa, gym, bistro, cafe and bar Paradise Resort is the perfect choice for your next family holiday. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Ebookers, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Travel Republic (UK), Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Paradise Resort Gold Coast reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Paradise Resort Gold Coast Hotel Surfers Paradise
Paradise Resort Surfers
Paradise Hotel Surfers
Paradise Resort Australia
Paradise Resort Gold Coast Surfers Paradise, Australia

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing