We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not what I expected”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Paradise Resort Gold Coast
Ranked #15 of 31 Hotels in Surfers Paradise
Reviewed 30 August 2010

We stayed there from 22-28 August and can say that we enjoyed our holiday but have to agree with a few of the other reviews that it is a bit run-down. The beds were a bit lumpy and uncomfortable with my husband and I both experiencing discomfort when trying to get up in the mornings. The restaurant, Sinbads, is definitely NOT value for money and we only ate their once (AUD47 for two adults and a 2 year old and we only had two pieces of toast and some bacon and eggs) though GD's Express (which we had on our last night) was great value for dinner - about AUD45 for two adults and a 2 year old and we had a pizza, risotto, sausages/mash/salad and two herb and garlic breads which were in fact pizzas!)

The staff at the Discovery Desk were extremely helpful all the time. A bit disappointing that on the day we checked out the reception staff were directing us to a pick up spot for our shuttle around the side of the hotel instead of offering to call the shuttle service to confirm pick up location. Lucky we stayed at the front of the resort in the lobby because
we would have missed the shuttle otherwise.

One thing I found disappointing was that we were not directed to the location of the kids playground when we checked in - which is out the front doors and left. They have orientation at 4pm each day but we did not check in until about 6pm so did not have the opportunity for orientation.

The rooms were ordinary and have to agree about the wiring under the bedside table. We ended up piling stuff in front of it so our 2 year old wouldn't be tempted to 'explore' them. Another thing that may have been good would be to group families together with similar age children as we seem to have mostly singles or couples staying at our end of the resort (other side mind you and not close to the pool/playground) which may not have been pleasant for them when our 2 year old decided to run through the corridors talking extremely loudly early in the morning!

Our stay was pleasant but I don't know if I'd stay here again.

  • Stayed: August 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank canberra1974
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,435)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,292 - 1,298 of 1,436 reviews

Reviewed 28 August 2010

Kids had a great time at the kids club, with the activities and the pool. Was close to everything, Great service at reception very helpful. was not impressed with the food, very expensive and not worth the money. And was not happy about the movies on tv costing $15.00. while in the spa i had my brother and his boyfriend came to visit, we were all in the spa, Not very gay friendly at all. would not recommend this to my friends and family as 80% of them are gay

  • Stayed: August 2010, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank kylievan85
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 August 2010

We holidayed in the Gold Coast for only a weekend and had the best stay at Paradise Resort.... Travelling with 3 kids, they were well accomodated for and didn't want to leave. The staff were accomodating, helpful and friendly.... The kids loved the pools and even I enjoyed lounging poolside and listening to the great gentlemen sing all afternoon... Now that was a holiday. We had a big family which required two rooms and the interconnecting room was great! we will always stay with Paradise and are already planning our next trip! Really satisifed also with other things to do.... Bar, restaurants, shops, internet!! It's everything and more :)

  • Stayed: July 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Sierra P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 August 2010

Very good resort for the kids. Great kids club.....catered for our disabled son - we provided our own aide but they do have their own at a charge.
Very good 'Family rooms'..we had all 3 kids in the side room with space to spare.
'Sinbads' good for family meals.
Good underground parking.

Noisy hallways - was woken up at 6am a few times.

  • Stayed: July 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank AllyE74
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 August 2010

the resort has everything you need i.e swimming pools , kids playgrounds etc , however we have two children both with mild disabilities and found staff unable or trained to deal with their behaviour as was the opinion of someother famalies with children with disabilities. having said that staff did their best. food at the resort can be a bit pricey so look to eat out some nights . this was the second time we have stayed and would recommend to families but not to ones who have someone with a disability

  • Stayed: July 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank ibowdern2016
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 August 2010

We recently stayed at Paradise Resort for a week. It was our first time there - we loved it & will definitely be back.

The service was fantastic. Staff were very professional & friendly.

The room was great - we stayed in a Family Resort room which consisted of two separate bedrooms so that our toddler could have her own room to herself. The lighting was a little dim in the rooms but otherwise, the rooms were great - clean, large & perfect for relaxing. The room had a balcony, tv, bathroom & air con. We had housekeeping each day which was great. In our room we had a microwave which was handy.

The location was brilliant - in the heart of Surfers Paradise, nice & close to the beach (we could walk there) and close to Cavill Avenue as well. The amenities were great. There was a games room consisting of air hockey, pinball machines & arcade games. Unfortunately, we weren't able to use the game room as it was constantly crowded with people (tourists). In the foyer, there were three computers which we could use to access the internet. It cost about $2 for 15mins from memory.

There was always lots of family friendly activities happening all throughout the resort on a daily basis. Rock climbing, foot toss, trivia night, fire show, BBQ, sand art, frisbee challenge, basketball etc.

Check in time was great and check out time was late which is great for families with young children.

The room we stayed in (Family Resort room) had a playstation in the kids room which was great but unfortunately we couldn't move it out into our room to play it on the bigger tv. (The tv in the kids room was quite small). Playstation games and dvds were available to borrow from the Discovery Desk in the foyer. Austar or Foxtel on the tv in our room would have been a great addition. There were pay-per-view movies on the tv but these were a little expensive ($16 each) so we only used this service once.

The highlight of the resort is the Kids Club. My husband and I were actually able to spend time together and actually have a break because our little daughter was in the kids club - and she had a ball! There were lots of different activities on each day in the kids club (painting, dress ups, dancing etc). We dropped our daughter off at the Kids Club at 8:30am then picked her up in the afternoon at 4pm. She was fed breakfast & lunch and there were cots there too so she was able to have a nap. The Kids Club was absolutely fantastic!

The resort has a lovely buffet restaurant called Sinbads which is open for breakfast and dinner. The food was delicious. We wish it was open for lunch too. The restaurant was very family friendly with all of the staff offering us a highchair for our baby etc. Great variety with all the foods on the dinner menu. The cocktails were magnificent!!

We would of loved it if there was room service - there were a few times that we wished we could have phoned GD's Express Cafe and asked for some food/drinks & had them delivered to our room, particularly in the evenings as our daughter goes to bed so early.

Two Cans bar was great - the staff were excellent & friendly & it was a lovely location by the pools. Great variety of drinks. Unfortunately, the bar and GD's Express closed a bit early on several nights. We wanted to purchase food & drinks but it had closed. Otherwise, the bar & cafe were fantastic. Great kids menu. Affordable food & drinks.

The little store there "Splashes" was really handy - it sold baby food, alcohol, magazines, snacks, fruit etc.

Overall, a fantastic holiday. My husband and I were actually able to have a break because of the wonderful Kids Club & we really enjoyed the cocktails & meals at Sinbads restaurant. We will definitely be back!!

  • Stayed: July 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank natashaleigh1983
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 August 2010

I have stayed at the Gold Coast Pallazo, mirage and others, and myself and my children had a much better time and more fun at the Paradise resort, and it caters for children and familes like you would like. The staff, food, and rooms were great - comfortable and friendly is how I would describe it. We are going back again for sure. Anthony Reid

  • Stayed: July 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Holiday055
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Surfers Paradise hotels
0.7 mi away
Novotel Surfers Paradise
Novotel Surfers Paradise
#14 of 31 in Surfers Paradise
498 reviews
1.7 mi away
Crowne Plaza Surfers Paradise
Crowne Plaza Surfers Paradise
#7 of 31 in Surfers Paradise
1,669 reviews
0.9 mi away
Watermark Hotel & Spa Gold Coast
Watermark Hotel & Spa Gold Coast
#8 of 31 in Surfers Paradise
1,676 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
QT Gold Coast
QT Gold Coast
#5 of 31 in Surfers Paradise
2,751 reviews
0.6 mi away
Peppers Soul
Peppers Soul
#1 of 31 in Surfers Paradise
2,315 reviews
0.5 mi away
Mantra Circle on Cavill
Mantra Circle on Cavill
#6 of 31 in Surfers Paradise
3,381 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Paradise Resort Gold Coast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Paradise Resort Gold Coast

Address: 122 Ferny Ave, Surfers Paradise, Gold Coast, Queensland 4217, Australia
Region: Australia > Queensland > Gold Coast > Surfers Paradise
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Top resorts Hotel in Surfers Paradise
#8 On the Beach Hotel in Surfers Paradise
#8 Spa Hotel in Surfers Paradise
Price Range: £108 - £211 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Paradise Resort Gold Coast 3.5*
Number of rooms: 359
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Voted best Family Resort in Australia, Paradise Resort Gold Coast is renowned as Heaven for Kids and a Paradise for Parents! Where every accommodation package includes up to 4 hours of supervised care for every child 0-12years per day in the famous Zone 4 Kids Club, valued at $40each. The Zone 4 Kids Club is fully supervised which allows parents time to escape the daily routine and indulge in some holiday sightseeing or precious down time. There is also a giant Kids Water Park right in the centre of the resort, an indoor and outdoor playground, a permanent ice-skating rink plus a whole range of free daily activities and entertainment. And while the kids are looked after parents can rediscover the art of relaxation in the exclusive Zone 4 Adults. The outdoor spa area features a large heated spa and lounge chairs offering parents a place to unwind and soak up the sunshine 'child free'. Complete with the lagoon pool and spa, gym, bistro, cafe and bar Paradise Resort is the perfect choice for your next family holiday. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Agoda, Ctrip TA, HotelsClick, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, Cancelon, 5viajes2012 S.L. and HotelQuickly so you can book your Paradise Resort Gold Coast reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Paradise Resort Gold Coast Hotel Surfers Paradise
Paradise Resort Surfers
Paradise Hotel Surfers
Paradise Resort Australia
Paradise Resort Gold Coast Surfers Paradise, Australia

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing