We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“EXCELLENT very impressed but lucky we booked with outside company!”
Review of Mantra Sun City

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Mantra Sun City
Ranked #10 of 31 Hotels in Surfers Paradise
Reviewed 12 May 2011

This was our first trip to Sun City Resort, we have stayed at Crown Towers, Chevron Renaissance but never Sun City and it’s the only one other resort we haven’t tried with the 'beach pool' that our kids love.. got a fantastic flight deal last minute so we enjoyed 5 nights here with another family from Melbourne. We booked with a private holiday rental company because we like to know what room/view we will be getting in advance and so glad we did.

The apartment was HUGE and located on the 35th floor, the views here are excellent you have nothing in front of you, straight out to the ocean! The owners had renovated the apartment so it was very modern, tidy and exceptionally CLEAN thank goodness. There was a full kitchen which was great to make snacks before heading to the Theme Parks in-house for the kids saved us a lot of money.

You just can’t stay in a hotel room when you have 3 and this apartment was huge. Our family friends were on level 16 and booked with the resort direct, they spent most of their time up in our apartment because of the view and it was modern and clean compared to theirs.

If you are fussy do your research before you book so you know what you’re getting before you arrive to make sure you get a decent, modern clean room with an exceptional view.
We enjoyed the location, it was one street from the beach and a nice 8 min walk into town, not right in the middle of the busy part of Surfers so it was quiet and relaxing in the afternoons.

The facilities are fantastic.. we didnt end up going to the beach, the pool is huge and has a great waterslide for the kids.

The restaurant onsite is great I would recommend a meal there during your stay.
Very happy.

  • Stayed: May 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank SfamilyMleb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MWM99, General Manager at Mantra Sun City, responded to this reviewResponded 23 May 2011

Thank you for taking the time to provide feedback on your recent stay. We are glad you enjoyed your stay with us. Mantra Group holds the Letting Agreement for the majority of units at Sun City and provides a 24 hours service to all our guests. There are a number of other units which we are not responsible for and as such we are unable to provide any assistance to guests in these units. If issues do arise during your stay it can sometimes be a very timely and frustrating time waiting for any assistance from the units agent who are not onsite. As you would be aware all units are privately owned and as such the decor can vary. We are constantly working with all our owners to ensure that they maintain the standard of their unit. We would always recommend that guests book through the onsite Letting agent to ensure that they receive the high level of service which you would expect and we can also offer additional services, such as requests for high floors, daily cleans etc.
As you also mention Mantra Sun City is a great location for a family holiday offering many fantastic facilities. We look forward to the opportunity to welcome you back again soon.

Regards,
Michael W Murtagh
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (2,171)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

2,016 - 2,022 of 2,171 reviews

Reviewed 28 April 2011

We stayed 2 nights in a 3 bedroom apartment with 2 other couples. The room was huge, lots of space. The decor was dated and condition of furniture was a bit worn out.

The location is great for views, but is just a touch too far to be convenient to go for a stroll through Cavill Ave.... it is a solid 15 min walk. So not way out of the way, but just a bit too far from the action (which may appeal to some).

The staff were not friendly and did not respond at all to any request that we had... it all seemed too much trouble for them.

Overall because of the spacious rooms, we would consider staying again.

  • Stayed: April 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank TheClarkeClan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MWM99, General Manager at Mantra Sun City, responded to this reviewResponded 3 May 2011

Thank you for taking time to provide feedback on your recent visit. It disappoints me to hear that you were not happy with the standard of the room that you were allocated. We are currently working with a number of our Owners to refurbish their apartments in order to enhance the overall presentation of all rooms. Please also accept my apologies for the indifference in service you experienced and please be assured that we continuously work with our staff on providing a high level of service at all times to our guests. We hope we have the opportunity to welcome you back to Sun City again soon.

Regards,
Michael W Murtagh
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 April 2011

We arrived Thursday 21st April 2011 and greeted by the front desk staff who where very polite and friendly. We stayed in a 2 bedroom apartment (608) that had veiws of the ocean, the city and the hinterland. The apartment was clean and very spacious. It was fantastic a nice surprise given the reveiws we had read after we actually booked.

I am not sure of where the people who wrote those reveiws were staying but it definateley was not Mantra Sun City.....

All staff were very friendly and extremely helpful. Nothing was ever a problem for them.. When we wanted a suggestion for a restaurant they were only to pleased to suggest 2 or 3 and to go as far as printing off menu's to make our choice a little easier... The staff booked all our tours and suggested others that all turned out to be fabulous.
As far as the restaurant goes, we had breakfast 2 morning of our 5 night stay and the restaurant staff were welcoming and attentive. The food was fantastic. No rubbery eggs were we stayed (Mantra Sun City).. The food was lovely and fresh and was continuously replenished.. One of the gentleman who worked in the restaurant made sure we had everything we needed and answered all our question about places to visit. It is a credit to you Mantra to have the wonderful staff that you have working and representing your company...
We will and already have recomended this particular Mantra to friends and businesses for leisure travel as well as for corporate travel..
Once again thank you Mantra Sun City for a fabulous Easter holiday break....

  • Stayed: April 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank corcorancpc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MWM99, General Manager at Mantra Sun City, responded to this reviewResponded 3 May 2011

Thank you for taking the time to write about your experience with us. We are very happy to hear that you were impressed with our property, staff and service. The team at Sun City strive very hard to provide all guests with quality accommodation, friendly and helpful service and a memorable stay with us. We appreciate your recomendation of our property and look forward to the opportunity to welcome you back again soon.

Thank you,

Michael W Murtagh
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 April 2011

Having planned this holiday for some time now and having read other reviews, we were pleasantly surprised when we opened the door to our apartment. It was perfect. Very clean, spacious, amazing views and obviously recently refurbished. The parking was not an issue either, given that it was school holidays. Yes many are reserved, but not once did we have a problem...The staff were also very helpful with whatever we asked/requested of them. The resort offered many options such as the outdoor pool/indoor pool or the two spa's (one inside or the other one tucked out the back with another smaller pool near it, tennis courts,gym, bbque area, cafe, restaurant and the beach oh so close...really something for everyone. All in all an absolutely perfect time was had by all. Highly recommend

  • Stayed: April 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank BeadsNBracelets
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MWM99, General Manager at Mantra Sun City, responded to this reviewResponded 3 May 2011

Thank you for taking the time to provide feedback on your recent stay. It is very encouraging to receive positive and factual comments about our property and staff. We look forward to welcoming you back again soon.

Regards,
Michael W Murtagh
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 April 2011

Arrived there with my friends thinking it will be a great room. It was not. The tv did not work, over charged on the radio we requested, bad service and outdated furniture. I've seen better carpet in pubs and the the colour of the walls was like somethngot of a Saw movie, all grey.

Stayed: April 2011, travelled with friends
1  Thank Sezzy78
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MWM99, General Manager at Mantra Sun City, responded to this reviewResponded 19 April 2011

Thank you for taking the time to provide feedback on your recent stay. The decor in strata property rooms can vary and often is a matter of taste. The light brown walls and tan carpet in your unit may not be acceptable to all but would be by choice of the owner of this unit. Maintenance issues can always be attended to by our staff if they are made aware during the stay. We are continually working with our owners on refurbishment of units.
I do apologise for any disappointment you experienced during your stay.

Regards,
Michael W Murtagh
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 April 2011

My husband and I stayed at Mantra Sun City last night and even though we were upgraded from a studio room to a one bedroom ocean view room for $145 with breakfast we were very very disappointed. The room was very tired and smelt really bad, like the drains were rotten. The kitchen benches were dirty, the sofa was broken and badly stained and we needed magnifying glasses to view the tiny TV. All of this after our keys didin't work and we had to wait 30 mins for maintenance to sort it out. The decor is old and certainly not up to our 4 and 1/2 star expectations but believe it or not none of the above is the worst part of our stay. The breakfast is the worst we have ever had in a hotel of this so called rating. There were only 2 staff, one on the front desk and on clearing tables. There was no table service, not even for coffee and after getting our own coffee had to use wooden sticks to stir it because they don't have spoons. The food was disgusting, undercooked, cold and not much of it. They ran out the very tiny amount of pastries (muffins and overcooked croissants, out of a packet) several times which totally summed up the whole experience - disgusting. There are so many other places to choose from on the Gold Coast so please give this place a wide berth.

  • Stayed: April 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank 123free
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MWM99, General Manager at Mantra Sun City, responded to this reviewResponded 19 April 2011

Thank you for taking the time to write about your experience with us. As all units in a strata property are individually owned we are continually working with our many owners on refurbishment. I am disappointed that you were not happy with the standard of room that you were allocated. Please accept my apologies in regards to the issues you have raised regarding our buffet breakfast. It is a full buffet which is self service including coffee and tea. Often during peak times food items do require replenishing and this can often cause some delay in fresh dishes being available. Again my apologies for any disappointment you experienced.

Regards,
Michael W Murtagh
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 March 2011

when booked online breakfast was suppose to be included , got there and it wasnt i supposedly hadnt chosen the right room, and if i wanted to purchase it separatelt was quite expensive , room was ok good view , seemed a little, run down and needed a good clean, checkout time at 10am was a little early flights home not till 8 was told we could pay 20 per hour to use the room if we wanted, overall a bit disappointing, and would propably pay a little more next time to stay somewhere a little more 4 star.

  • Stayed: March 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank cheframsay82
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MWM99, General Manager at Mantra Sun City, responded to this reviewResponded 6 April 2011

Thank you for taking the time to provide feedback on your recent stay. I am sorry you were disappointed with some aspects of your stay. We do have breakfast included packages but not on all of our rates. Check in and Check times are quite standard across the industry and also late check out fees. We hope to have the opportunity to welcome you back to Sun City again soon.

Rregards,
Michael W Murtagh
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Surfers Paradise hotels
1.7 mi away
Crowne Plaza Surfers Paradise
Crowne Plaza Surfers Paradise
#7 of 31 in Surfers Paradise
1,694 reviews
0.7 mi away
Novotel Surfers Paradise
Novotel Surfers Paradise
#13 of 31 in Surfers Paradise
550 reviews
0.4 mi away
Mantra on View Hotel
Mantra on View Hotel
#11 of 31 in Surfers Paradise
3,057 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Mantra Circle on Cavill
Mantra Circle on Cavill
#6 of 31 in Surfers Paradise
3,552 reviews
0.9 mi away
Watermark Hotel & Spa Gold Coast
Watermark Hotel & Spa Gold Coast
#8 of 31 in Surfers Paradise
1,808 reviews
0.6 mi away
Hilton Surfers Paradise
Hilton Surfers Paradise
#14 of 31 in Surfers Paradise
3,389 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mantra Sun City? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mantra Sun City

Address: 3400 Gold Coast Highway, Surfers Paradise, Gold Coast, Queensland 4217, Australia
Region: Australia > Queensland > Gold Coast > Surfers Paradise
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#4 Top resorts Hotel in Surfers Paradise
#5 Spa Hotel in Surfers Paradise
#10 Luxury Hotel in Surfers Paradise
Price Range: £72 - £242 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Mantra Sun City 4.5*
Number of rooms: 266
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Mantra Sun City offers a range of hotel rooms and one, two and three bedroom apartments overlooking the Gold Coast beaches. Facilities include a heated indoor pool, outdoor lagoon with its own sandy beach and dragon waterslide, spa, sauna and steam room, tennis courts, games room, fitness centre and Koastal Kitchen Restaurant. Head down to the beach for a casual stroll along the esplanade. Start the day with a wholesome family breakfast or get everyone together for a catch up dinner in the Koastal Kitchen restaurant. The pizzas are fresh from the oven, the grills, salads, tapas to share and seafood fast and fabulous. Kids have their own special menu. Restaurant Opening Hours: Breakfast: 7.00Am - 10.00Am, daily Dinner 5.00Pm - 9.00Pm, daily Room service: Dinner 5.00Pm - 9.00Pm, daily **Photographic ID and a $200 Credit Card Pre Authorisation will be required for check in. No cash deposits taken.** ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Booking.com, Expedia, Ctrip TA, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com, Hotels.com, HotelsClick, Evoline ltd, Ebookers, Cancelon, 5viajes2012 S.L. and HotelQuickly so you can book your Mantra Sun City reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mantra Sun City Hotel Surfers Paradise
Mantra Sun City Surfers Paradise, Gold Coast, Australia

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing