We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Gold Coast Getaway”
Review of Mantra Sun City

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Mantra Sun City
Ranked #10 of 31 Hotels in Surfers Paradise
Milawa
Level 4 Contributor
35 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Gold Coast Getaway”
Reviewed 20 November 2011

I reviewed this place before we booked, and I must say, some people are just too hard to please. All of the staff were extremely friendly and helpful. We stayed in unit 1503 which was a 2 bedroom Ocean View - the view was spectacular and the room was huge with ample amenities. The only gripe I would have is the blinds are not block out and the sun rises very early. The breakfast was extremely nice, we had a deal for $10 per person, which was more than worth it. The pool areas were very nice and the water slides were heaps of fun. Great location with a bottle shop over the road as well as a general store and fish n chip shop. Walking distance to town 5 minutes. I thought Mantra Sun City was by far the best place we have stayed out of about four resorts on the Gold Coast. Don't hesitate to book this resort.

Room Tip: Book an Ocean View - it's a must....
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ginger1969
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MWM99, General Manager at Mantra Sun City, responded to this review, 2 January 2012
Hi Ginger1969,
Thank you for posting your review of your recent stay with us at Mantra Sun City.
We are thrilled you were delighted with your two bedroom ocean view unit. They are spectacular views.
I was pleased to read your honest feedback on your stay and your comments certainly do reflect the true friendly staff, great facilities and loctaion of this property.
We look forward to welcoming you back again in the future.
Kind regards,
Michael W Murtagh
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,838 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    661
    579
    310
    145
    143
See reviews for
833
529
39
101
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (241)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Auckland Region, New Zealand
1 review
Reviewed 17 November 2011

We had an awesome time at Mantra Sun City. Its a great location, not far from the beach and a short walk from town. Our room was perfect and well maintained. The pool complex is up there with the best I've seen and we received great service from the friendly staff. A special thanks to Chris Clarke for looking after us.

Room Tip: Go for a beach facing apartment
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Simon H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MWM99, General Manager at Mantra Sun City, responded to this review, 2 January 2012
Hi Simon H,
Thank you for taking the time to write a awesome review following your recent stay with us. Sounds as though you got to make good us of our facilities at the property - this is highly encouraged!
I certainly look forward to welcoming you back again.
Sincerely,
Michael W Murtagh
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, Australia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 15 November 2011

We stayed at the Mantra for 2 nights and our experience was as follows, Arrived at 10am was told our room would be ready as soon as the last tenant leaves. Waited till 2:10pm before we were allowed into the room even though im sure they would have checked out already. Got in, the room living room was spacious but bare. Nothing special, Tv was small in comparison to most other places we've stayed at. Bedrooms were all very bare and boring. Lighting was very dull, could barely put on my makeup. BUT. That was nothing compared to the fact that there was at least dozens and dozens of roaches. Big ones, smaller one, eveywhere. From the kitchen counters to the living room table. BOTH bathrooms had roaches too. We kept all our luggages and bags closed because it just did not feel safe in fear of the roaches crawling in. Thats it really, A none interesting stay at a very creepy crawly place.

  • Stayed November 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank jenny h
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Perth, Western Australia, Australia
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 12 November 2011

We stayed at the Mantra for 5 nights all i can say is LOVED it. When we first walked in my husband wasnt that excited but then we got into our room, we stayed in a 1 bedroom apartment with ocean view on the 11th floor. the view was amazing and the apartment was so big, loved the tv in lounge room and the bedroom. Loved the pools outside and that there was beach sand at the shore (my daughter loved this) also loved the spa and heated pool inside Very clean and tidy. Staff were so friendly we felt like royalty. One day there was alot of wind and the pools got covered in dirt and tree clippings from it, that same day there was a worker out there cleaning it up. Highly recommend this hotel to everyone. Our room was very child friendly. Next trip to the gold coast will definately be staying here again. Thank you guys.

  • Stayed October 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank borovina
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MWM99, General Manager at Mantra Sun City, responded to this review, 25 November 2011
Hi Borovina,

Thank you very much for taking the time to write such a lovely review. I am pleased that you enjoy your room and all our facilities. Our staff do remember you and your lovely daughter and look forward to welcoming you back soon.

Regards,


Michael W Murtagh
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mount Barker, Australia
Level 5 Contributor
78 reviews
57 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 November 2011

Great if you're spending a night out on the town as it's within walking distance to all the bars, clubs and restaurants. Also great for families with an Aztec themed water slide and pool area. Great Mexican restaurant too

  • Stayed April 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank laurence_baillie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 November 2011

I am leaving today after 5 days sun city. My 1 bedroom apartment is huge and clean. We got room 802A and were very happy. We did ask to be moved to a higher level but that never happened and after waiting 4 hours for check in we just wanted to go to our room. The pools were great as was the life guard. Although there was broken glass around the spa which I told a man about and he said he would clean it up. The sauna seat is broken but the rest of the facilities were great. We were not told about the water being turned off for a while
Either. The view was great though! Room was clean but smelt like burnt toast (the toaster was also broken) the beds are just two singles
Pushed together but they were sooooo comfortable and I usually sleep on a $4000 pillow top mattress. We had dinner at sayas reataraunt. I was dissappointed that as a vegetarian the only choice I had was a salad though. All up the stay was great but could
Of
Been better. I have and will stay again :)

  • Stayed November 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Beccicamp
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MWM99, General Manager at Mantra Sun City, responded to this review, 25 November 2011
Hi Beccicamp,

Thank you for your feedback. The maintenance issues which you raised have all been attended too and I can only apologises for the water being turned off during your stay. GCCC were installing a new water switch system and did not advise the property prior to the new connection. Fortunately it was only a short disruption. Beds are King Zips and it sounds like the bed in your unit had not been zipped correctly.I appreciate your comment regarding vegetarian meals and have spoken with our Executive Chef about the menu choice.
We look forward to welcoming you back to Mantra Sun City in the near future.

Regards,

Michael W Murtagh
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, Australia
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 October 2011

We spent 3 days at Sun City & we were happy with the overall experience. My kids both aged 8 boys thoroughly enjoyed the use of the pool including the slides, sandpit & indoor heated pool. The pool area is patrolled by a lifeguard who is always very attentive with young kids, always demonstrating the proper ways to use the slide & other pool facilities.
Our rooms were very spacious & clean. We will certainly return to the resort in the future. I cannot find a fault with the resort & is ideal for families. The resort itself is a 15 minute walk to Cavill Avenue.

Special thanks to the duty manager for de-fusing a possible situation with the life guard involving my kids & the use of the slides. Also I totally understand the lifeguards explanation as the kids safety is always paramount in his line of work.

  • Stayed October 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Activess
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MWM99, General Manager at Mantra Sun City, responded to this review, 31 October 2011
Dear Activess,

Thank you so much for taking the time to provide valuable feedback on your recent stay with us.
I am pleased your boys enjoyed our resort facilities. Our management team have spent some time discussing your water slide experience and comments and I thank you again for this feedback as it greatly assists us in continually reviewing and improving our level of guest service.
We look forward to the opportunity of welcoming you and your family back in the near future.
Kind regards,
Michael W Murtagh
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Surfers Paradise hotels
0.4 mi away
Mantra on View Hotel
Mantra on View Hotel
#11 of 31 in Surfers Paradise
2,647 reviews
0.7 mi away
Novotel Surfers Paradise
Novotel Surfers Paradise
#14 of 31 in Surfers Paradise
413 reviews
0.2 mi away
QT Gold Coast
QT Gold Coast
#4 of 31 in Surfers Paradise
2,661 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.0 mi away
Watermark Hotel & Spa Gold Coast
Watermark Hotel & Spa Gold Coast
#8 of 31 in Surfers Paradise
1,477 reviews
0.6 mi away
Mantra Circle on Cavill
Mantra Circle on Cavill
#6 of 31 in Surfers Paradise
3,130 reviews
1.7 mi away
Crowne Plaza Surfers Paradise
Crowne Plaza Surfers Paradise
#7 of 31 in Surfers Paradise
1,626 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mantra Sun City? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mantra Sun City

Property: Mantra Sun City
Address: 3400 Gold Coast Highway, Surfers Paradise, Gold Coast, Queensland 4217, Australia
Region: Australia > Queensland > Gold Coast > Surfers Paradise
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#4 Top resorts Hotel in Surfers Paradise
#5 Spa Hotel in Surfers Paradise
#10 Luxury Hotel in Surfers Paradise
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Mantra Sun City 4.5*
Number of rooms: 266
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Featuring unique Aztec-inspired designs and architecture, set amidst lush tropical gardens, Mantra Sun City is located just one block from the sandy beaches of the Gold Coast. With Mantra Sun City's facilities surrounding the 35 metre saltwater lagoon pool complete with dragon waterslide, the resort offers a range of hotel rooms and one, two and three bedroom apartments overlooking the Gold Coast beaches, canal waterways or surrounding hinterland. Take advantage of the resort's wide range of facilities, which include a heated indoor pool, outdoor lagoon with its own sandy beach and waterslides, spa, sauna and steam room, tennis courts, games room, fitness centre and Koastal Kitchen Restaurant. Head down to the beach for a casual stroll along the esplanade, finished off with a meal at one of the many cafes and restaurants on offer. Whatever you fancy, Mantra Sun City is the perfect location for a Surfers Paradise holiday. Koastal Kitchen The sun, the surf, the shopping, the excitement, it builds an appetite! Start the day with a wholesome family breakfast or get everyone together for a catch up dinner in the Koastal Kitchen restaurant. The pizzas are fresh from the oven, the grills, salads, tapas to share and seafood fast and fabulous. Kids have their own special menu. Located on the ground floor of Mantra Sun City. Restaurant Opening Hours: Breakfast: 7.00Am - 10.00Am, daily Dinner 5.00Pm - 9.00Pm, daily Room service: Dinner 5.00Pm - 9.00Pm, daily **Photographic ID and a $200 Credit Card Pre Authorisation will be required for check in. No cash deposits taken.** ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Ctrip TA, Expedia, Priceline, Ebookers, Agoda, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, 5viajes2012 S.L., HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Mantra Sun City reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mantra Sun City Hotel Surfers Paradise
Mantra Sun City Surfers Paradise, Gold Coast, Australia

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing