We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“breakfast rate ordeal”
Review of Mantra Sun City

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Mantra Sun City
Ranked #10 of 32 Hotels in Surfers Paradise
Warwick Qld
1 review
“breakfast rate ordeal”
Reviewed 7 February 2012

rooms good, clean.
but manager dodgy with his memory until he's boxed in with facts and wouldn't come good on an assurance from the girl who booked me 2 apartments that if we didn't have breakfast i would get a refund (she had gotton approval from her manager).
when i had paid for 14 of us that added up to a lot of dollars, nearly 300.
so no i wouldn't stay there again, not to be talked down to especially when there's plenty of competition at the Gold Coast to go to.

Room Tip: have everything verified in writing.
See more room tips
Stayed February 2012, travelled with family
Helpful?
Thank Esther B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MWM99, General Manager at Mantra Sun City, responded to this review, 3 April 2012
Hi Esther B,
Thank you for posting your feedback after staying with us.
Breakfast is always included in our Hotel room rates and sometimes on special promotions. This should be clearly stated on your booking confirmation. I do sincerely apologises for any inconvenience caused with your booking and i am peased that the issue was sorted by our staff.
I do certainly hope that we do have the opportunity to welcome you back to Mantra Sun City sometime in the future.

Thank you,

Michgael W Murtagh
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,778 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    641
    557
    300
    140
    140
See reviews for
798
515
35
97
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (239)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Brisbane, Australia
Level Contributor
25 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 February 2012

My partner and I spent one night after booking a Hotel room package which included breakfast.
The room was clean and comfortable, with a great view from the 7th floor balcony. The Sauna, Heated indoor pool, Heated spa and Lagoon pool were excellent. The Buffet breakfast at Sayas restaurant was most enjoyable, good service by staff and an excellent variety of both hot and cold food to choose from.
The Hotel is conveniently located, only a short walk to the beach and Surfers Paradise restaurants and shopping.
If I have to find any faults, all I can think of was that the room was not ready at the check in time of 2.00pm. We had to wait at reception for 20 minutes for the room to be ready (and there were others waiting too)

Over all, a nice hotel and we will stay there again

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank GregBris
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MWM99, General Manager at Mantra Sun City, responded to this review, 3 April 2012
Hi GregBris,
Thank you for taking the time to post your review and let others know about Mantra Sun City.
We are glad you enjoyed your short stay with us and hope to welcome you back again soon in the near future.
Sincerley,
Michael W Murtagh
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, Australia
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 February 2012

We have just returned from a weekend at Mantra Sun City and it was fabulous. We travelled as three families and had three two bedroom units - they were huge. On each night (each family took turns hosting the entire group) we were able to feed 13 people with plenty of space for parents and kids.

The location was very good, just a short drive from the Gold Coast airport, straight up the highway. Only 20 minutes from the theme parks (again straight up the highway), so it was easy to do two full days at the theme parks. The hotel is only one block back from the beach and very close to a patrolled area so this meant we didn't have to walk down to the main beach for a swim. The main part of Surfers is only a 10-15 minute walk away, and the esplanade is fantastic for a morning walk/run.

The pool at the hotel was great. All the children had a fantastic time with the slides and on one of the afternoons that we were there, the slides stayed open for an extra hour - presumably because they could see that so many kids were there and having fun.

We had dinner in the restaurant one night and the staff were very nice and very accommodating with the children. When the spag bolognaises came with cheese (which one child doesn't like) they were more than happy to provide a fresh bowl without any complaints. When they didn't have our preferred bottle of wine available, they did give us a better bottle at the cheaper price.

The buffet breakfast was more than sufficient. Other reviews have mentioned fatty/cold bacon, but we didn't find this at all. At first the pancake machine wasn't working properly, but the staff made sure they got it working, when they could have just as easily given up and put up an out of order sign.

Yes, the curtains weren't block out and the sun does rise very early. It can be a pain to be woken up so early when away on holidays - but maybe we should also blame the lack of daylight saving in Qld!!!

Finally, when we checked out at 10am we were allowed to keep a swipe card and continue to use the pool and facilities and leave the car in the carpark without any hassle.

All three families in our group had a great time, loved the hotel and we are already planning a return trip.

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Rachel S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MWM99, General Manager at Mantra Sun City, responded to this review, 3 April 2012
Hi Rachel S,
What a lovely review of our property. I am thrilled that you and your friends were impressed with the units and the facilities and service we offer. I think that your group truely recongise the exceptional quality and great value of a holiday at Mantra Sun City.
I look forward to welcoming you all back on your next visit to the Gold Coast.
Sincerely,
Michael W Murtagh
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne, Victoria
Level Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 February 2012

My 3 kids and I stayed here in Sept 2011 for 4 nights in an ocean view apartment on a high level (can't remember exactly, possibly 21st floor).The unit was fine and had everything you needed but nothing flash. Kitchen looked a bit tired. Lack of wi-fi was disappointing.

The pool with the waterslides looked fantastic but in reality it was absolutely freezing and my kids came out with blue lips after just one turn. It would be so much better if this pool was heated.

We moved to the indoor complex where the pool and spa are both heated. There is a lifeguard on duty who on the first day was very helpful directing the kids how to use the waterslide. However on the second day he sat on a chair by the side of the pool with his back to us, texting and reading a book. As we were the only people using the indoor complex at this time, I let my kids use their water guns. The lifeguard must have gotten a bit of an over over-spray from one of the kids because he turned around and gave us a verbal spray saying "I haven't chosen to participate in your game so don't wet me" or something of this nature. I was totally floored and embarassed and I apologised profusely. I felt like I was a kid in primary school again. We left the pool swiftly afterwards.

Apart from this incident, (which marred the entire trip for me), Sun City is a reasonable resort, if a bit overpriced. Close enough to walk to Cavill Mall (takes about 10 mins) and bus stop very close by.

The restaurant at the resort is very average. Save your money, you can do better elsewhere.

Room Tip: Higher floors have a good view but cost extra.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Caroldip
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney
Level Contributor
41 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 January 2012

Returned Yesterday and after reading some reviews on this hotel I was a little uncertain but it turned out to be everything I would want for a Gold Coast Vacation. We had a 3 bedroom apartment on the 21st floor. Views were excellent and the apartment was very spacious and well maintained. I understand that as this hotel is strata managed then the condition of each apartment would be subject to the owners but could not fault the one we got and it was cleaned to perfection. It is a self contained apartment building and thus we were not expecting it to be cleaned every day but we certainly had enough linen etc for the entire stay and all inclusions (ie A/C) worked well. Front desk staff were very polite especially the ones that work on the weekend/public holidays so couldnt fault it there either. Coles supermarket is an easy 10min walk to get supplies and there are many Restaurants to try in walking distance. The kids enjoyed the indoor and outdoor pool and the slide and about the only critisiscm I have here is that the pools could be cleaned a little better. Lifts worked well and had no trouble with the card readers either. Overall the resort is quiet, reasonably well maintained and centrally located. A pleasure to stay. If you want all the bells and whistles without being able to cater for yourself then stay across the road to the Marriott and dont complain.

  • Stayed January 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Rocky4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MWM99, General Manager at Mantra Sun City, responded to this review, 3 April 2012
Hi Rocky4,
Thank you for your lovely and enthusiastic review of Mantra Sun City. I am thrilled you were pleased with your stay and enjoyed your unit and all it had to offer. We certainly strive to provide quality service and value for money at the resort. I look forward to greeting you back in the near future.
Sincerely,
Michael W Murtagh
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
21 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 January 2012

We stayed there it was terrible the first room i dont know how people would sleep sheer curtains let the sun right in and so hot. After being moved the second room with the view we were promised it was slightly better although these blinds didnt block out sun on holidays i like to sleep in not be woken at 0530 when the sun comes up. Also the windows and balcony had not been cleaned filthy but couldn't be bothered complaining. The pool is too small for so many people parts roped off for slides half for little kids leaves you a very small section of the pool. I really dont think it was worth the price paid and would never return here. Believe the reviews on here if you have booked good luck if you havnt booked dont look elsewhere i have stayed in 5 resorts on the gold coast and this was by far the worst.

  • Stayed January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Danielle J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MWM99, General Manager at Mantra Sun City, responded to this review, 3 April 2012
Dear Danielle J,

Thank you for posting your feedback after staying with us. I am disappointed that you were not satisfied with your stay. The furniture of our rooms does vary given the individual owners. We would certainly try to assist any guest request if possible and I am sorry that you did not bring these matters to our attention during your stay so that we would have had an opportunity to assist you more. We actually have three swimming pools at Mantra Sun City and the large Lagoon Pool does have a roped section for the safety of all swimmers due to out large waterslides. Again, thank you for your review.
Sincerely,
Michael W Murtagh
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 January 2012

went to mantra sun city for our honeymoon in jan 2012 was promised 1 bedroom apartment with
ocean / hinterland view on
floor 12 ( spoke to 2 duty managers ) when arrived room had no ocean view at
all contacted reception and was told that i could only move to a new room
the following day after i complained i was told they would ring me back in 10 minutes
i waited and waited and around a hour later they rang and said they would move me to floor 9.
When we arrived at room 904 the room was very outdated small and the windows on the balcony
were so dirty i thought they were tinted and not a 4.5 star hotel as described after 5 days
the room was cleaned as we were on a 10 night stay it looked like the bed was made changed the
towels and left didn't even vacuum or dust or clean windows The pool was good for kids due to the
slides but no good for anyone else due to being partitioned for the slides and didn't look as big
as the photos if you have been to Crown Towers it wasn't even a quarter of the size of there lagoon
the Staff are very rude if you see them in the lift or around the hotel they don't even say hello The
whole hotel needs a face lift and it is nowhere near a 4.5 star hotel i have stayed at a lot of hotels
on the gold coast as we have been there a few times and they have all been quiet good but this one
and its staff was very very poor and we will never return to any mantra hotel again I know management
will respond to this review with there excuses but have a look at all the bad reviews on here im not
the only one who has complained on here about this hotel all i can say is look elsewhere not worth
the money and do not stay for a honey moon

Stayed January 2012, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank scjordan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MWM99, General Manager at Mantra Sun City, responded to this review, 3 April 2012
Dear scjordan,

Thank you so much for your honest review following your stay with us. I am disappointed that you were not satisfied with your stay with us. I am also surprised at your experience with our staff as they continually receive very good comments over their friendly and helpful manner which is the standard we always strive to achieve at Mantra. The section of our large lagoon pool with a floating rope is for the safety of guests using the waterslides, this would not be necessary at other pools without slides. All rooms are allocated as per bookings and oceans views are provided with this room type it is the level of the rooms which cannot be guaranteed.
Again, I do thank you for your feedback .
Regards,
Michael W Murtagh
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Surfers Paradise hotels
0.7 mi away
Novotel Surfers Paradise
Novotel Surfers Paradise
#14 of 32 in Surfers Paradise
382 reviews
0.4 mi away
Mantra on View Hotel
Mantra on View Hotel
#11 of 32 in Surfers Paradise
2,546 reviews
0.2 mi away
QT Gold Coast
QT Gold Coast
#4 of 32 in Surfers Paradise
2,633 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Mantra Circle on Cavill
Mantra Circle on Cavill
#6 of 32 in Surfers Paradise
3,052 reviews
1.0 mi away
Watermark Hotel & Spa Gold Coast
Watermark Hotel & Spa Gold Coast
#8 of 32 in Surfers Paradise
1,439 reviews
0.8 mi away
Mantra Legends Hotel
Mantra Legends Hotel
#9 of 32 in Surfers Paradise
2,170 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mantra Sun City? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mantra Sun City

Property: Mantra Sun City
Address: 3400 Gold Coast Highway, Surfers Paradise, Gold Coast, Queensland 4217, Australia
Region: Australia > Queensland > Gold Coast > Surfers Paradise
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#4 Top resorts Hotel in Surfers Paradise
#5 Spa Hotel in Surfers Paradise
#10 Luxury Hotel in Surfers Paradise
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Mantra Sun City 4.5*
Number of rooms: 266
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Featuring unique Aztec-inspired designs and architecture, set amidst lush tropical gardens, Mantra Sun City is located just one block from the sandy beaches of the Gold Coast. With Mantra Sun City's facilities surrounding the 35 metre saltwater lagoon pool complete with dragon waterslide, the resort offers a range of hotel rooms and one, two and three bedroom apartments overlooking the Gold Coast beaches, canal waterways or surrounding hinterland. Take advantage of the resort's wide range of facilities, which include a heated indoor pool, outdoor lagoon with its own sandy beach and waterslides, spa, sauna and steam room, tennis courts, games room, fitness centre and Koastal Kitchen Restaurant. Head down to the beach for a casual stroll along the esplanade, finished off with a meal at one of the many cafes and restaurants on offer. Whatever you fancy, Mantra Sun City is the perfect location for a Surfers Paradise holiday. Koastal Kitchen The sun, the surf, the shopping, the excitement, it builds an appetite! Start the day with a wholesome family breakfast or get everyone together for a catch up dinner in the Koastal Kitchen restaurant. The pizzas are fresh from the oven, the grills, salads, tapas to share and seafood fast and fabulous. Kids have their own special menu. Located on the ground floor of Mantra Sun City. Restaurant Opening Hours: Breakfast: 7.00Am - 10.00Am, daily Dinner 5.00Pm - 9.00Pm, daily Room service: Dinner 5.00Pm - 9.00Pm, daily **Photographic ID and a $200 Credit Card Pre Authorisation will be required for check in. No cash deposits taken.** ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Agoda, Priceline, Ebookers, Odigeo, TravelUp, Ctrip TA, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, Traveltool, S.L.U., HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Mantra Sun City reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mantra Sun City Hotel Surfers Paradise
Mantra Sun City Surfers Paradise, Gold Coast, Australia

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing