We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Mantra Sun City
Nearby Hotels
Novotel Surfers Paradise(Surfers Paradise)
US$136
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$109
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Pool
  • Beachfront
Peppers Soul(Surfers Paradise)
US$420
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$268
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$188
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$151
Marriott Hotels
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Hilton Surfers Paradise(Surfers Paradise)(Great Value!)
US$165
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$133
Agoda.com
View Deal
  • Pool
  • Beachfront
Crowne Plaza Surfers Paradise(Surfers Paradise)(Great Value!)
US$107
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$103
CrownePlaza.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
Mantra on View Hotel(Surfers Paradise)(Great Value!)
US$165
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$135
Agoda.com
View Deal
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
Mantra Circle on Cavill(Surfers Paradise)(Great Value!)
US$266
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$167
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
Q1 Resort and Spa(Surfers Paradise)(Great Value!)
US$227
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
Paradise Resort Gold Coast(Surfers Paradise)
US$188
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$153
Agoda.com
View Deal
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
Mantra Legends Hotel(Surfers Paradise)(Great Value!)
US$132
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$109
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
Reviews (2,403)
Filter reviews
2,403 results
Traveller rating
867
747
403
191
195
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
867
747
403
191
195
Show reviews that mention
All reviewswater slidestram stopthe gold coastbuffet breakfastindoor poolbedroom apartmenttennis courtsgreat facilitiesocean viewfamily holidaylight railwould stay againbit datedlounge roomgreat roomacross the roadfull kitchen
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
2,100 - 2,105 of 2,403 reviews
Reviewed 1 October 2012

Picked up a great deal through Entertainment Book. Great price for the room that included the buffet breakfast. While I wouldn't regard it as a top notch property the value for money was excellent. Its just getting a little bit tired which is not uncommon for many of the not-so-new properties on the Gold Coast. Its at the northern end of Surfers Paradise and close enough to everything that you can't complain.

Room was a decent size though the bathroom wasn't huge. Had an issue with the shower head being a bit loose. If you put the water on too hard the shower head would swivel upright and shoot water over the screen. Nothing a quick maintenance job wouldn't fix.

Parking was provided as part of the deal which was great. Unfortunately with all the permanent residents having reserved spots there were no spaces left when we returned on the Saturday night. I spoke with the staff on the desk and they directed me to an alternative spot in the restaurant visitors car park. Problem solved.

Overall while not the pinnacle of excellence it was worth the money.

Room Tip: Good deals available online if you look.
  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Chris L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 October 2012

I booked via Wotif for the Labour day weekend. The description of the room was nothing like the cramped room we received. Asked for two single beds and for some reason they put them together to make one double. The lifts were the most unpleasant experience. Out of the 4 available, only 2 actually ever opened. When attempting to take it from the underground carpark we waited at least 10 minutes each time. Ridiculous. The Carpark was a MAJOR issue. On both nights we arrived back at the hotel after dinner at approx 9-9.30pm. Both nights we could not find a car space on either floors. We looped around each level for about 15 minutes. The first night we ended up parking in the unsecured restaurant carpark, The second night we got so frustrated we parked in the 30 minute check in parking and asked at reception. We recieved no apology, just a reply of "oh, that happens sometimes, you can leave your car there". I have a brand new car! Unimpressed, especially when i arrived at it in the morning to find a cigarette butt on my car! I suppose this hotel would be good on a normal day, but during a long weekend it was a poor experience.

Room Tip: Pick an A room, B are tiny with no living space.
  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank LorenzoMorelli
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 September 2012

Firstly book an ocean room, one with separate bedrooms and include breakfast. A 1 bedroom ocean view room is actually huge and great value.

What you get at Mantra Sun City is a clean large self servicing apartment, a good breakfast for the price of the room (please don't compare to the Marriott or Sheraton as it's very basic), parking and a good location.

What you don't get is your room serviced or staff to jump at your requests and I believe this is the main issue that people have as they expect it. You can pay to have your room serviced (towels changed, bed made, dishes washed) but it's not part of the very cheap price. Getting extra towels for the pool for example will cost you a little each time. You also can't expect staff to jump at your requests as it's not staffed at the same level of higher priced hotels.

I stayed 7 nights on a business trip in a very large apartment for under 4 figures, with a serviceable breakfast every day, my car in a secure park and was very happy. I paid for my apartment to be serviced once and also had dry cleaning (which was a great service).

I know there's a lot of bad reviews for this place but if I had a family I would come here, get the kids fed on breakfast, take them to the beach for the day and then bring them back to chill by the pool in the afternoon.

Room Tip: Choose an ocean view separate bedroom with the breakfast package.
  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank ShaneWylie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 September 2012

i enjoy staying at sun city. friendly staff, good apartments. close to everything. the food in sayas is very yummy. VICTORIA is fantastic. very friendly, helpful & makes a ' mean cocktail. my apartment is wonderful. great ocean views, good view of sayas. i would not want to live any where else. ha ha ha. even a resident loves sun city.

Room Tip: choose an apartment where there is going to be less noise at night. OVERLOOKING THE MARRIOTT & THE DRIVE WAY. maybe boring for some .it is less noisey & more sun less wind.
  • Stayed: October 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank fiona b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 September 2012

We arrived at check-in at 2.30pm and were informed that our room wasn't yet available. We were asked to park our car and grab our luggage and return to reception and our room would be ready. Wrong. At 3pm we were told that the room that they had allocated for us on the sixth floor had wet carpets and wouldn't be ready for at least 3 hours. I don't know why they thought that this was acceptable for a 1 night stay. Only once the reception staff realised that we weren't going to accept this did they look for an alternative. Unluckily for us, the only room they apparently had available was on the first floor overlooking the driveway. We had paid in advance for our room, in good faith, and felt cheated. The whole idea of staying in a high rise was to be in a room higher than we have at home. The room was large but dated and smelt of stale smoke. We also enquired about pool towels and were asked for an extra $3/towel. Strike 2. All in all it was a disappointing holiday treat. The female receptionist was totally unfazed in telling us that the carpets probably still wouldn't be dry even after 5 or 6 hours. What did they think we would do? Pay for a room and hang on the streets? Totally unacceptable. Would never recommend this place. Also watch your kids on the high slide as nobody came away without injuries.

Room Tip: Request a room above level 23 and take your own towels
  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Jalaky
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews