We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Clean and spacious”
Review of Mantra Sun City

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Mantra Sun City
Ranked #10 of 31 Hotels in Surfers Paradise
Sydney, Australia
Level 5 Contributor
69 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
“Clean and spacious”
Reviewed 27 July 2013

We stayed midweek in July in a two bedroom apartment which was huge and well-appointed. The inside was spotless but the balcony floor and outdoor setting could have done with a wipe down. Two electric fan heaters were not sufficient to heat the space and while opening the dishwasher I got a slight electric shock while the heaters were going. Although we were on the 14th floor the water pressure was good and lifts were readily available and fast.

Service was friendly and efficient. Toiletries smell divine. The beds were very comfortable but the resort is on a busy corner so we got traffic noise early in the morning and the surf could be heard at night. Although the decor could do with an update, it wasn't as horrendous as some reviewers have made it out to be. We intend to return one day and take full advantage of facilities as we only stayed one night.

The ocean view was great and resort facilities included 3 pools, a gym, 2 saunas and a spa. However the steam sauna was not working at the time. Also when turning on the air conditioner a grating from the ceiling swung open and hit my husband on the head. More maintenance needs to be done around the place by the looks of things.

Sayas restaurant had a great buffet breakfast for $20 a head if booked the previous night. Although Asian guests are catered for, we had a German visitor with us and it would have been good if some ham and cheese was provided to cater for northern European guests also.

Room Tip: Ocean view is worth the extra outlay
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank rosaposer165
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Damian S, General Manager at Mantra Sun City, responded to this review, 5 August 2013
Dear rosaposer165 ,

Thank you for taking the time to provide valuable feedback regarding your recent experience at Mantra Sun City Resort.

We're pleased that you enjoyed your stay with us and take on board the maintenance issues you have raised, we will certainly attend to those.

We hope to get the chance to welcome you back in the near future.

Best regards

Damian Sillars
General Manager
Mantra Sun City Resort
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,889 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    675
    599
    316
    150
    149
See reviews for
851
543
41
113
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (242)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Sydney, Australia
1 review
Reviewed 27 July 2013

We took this 2 night deal from the internet, choosing it on price only. Having said that, we only expected to get what we paid for but we were more than surprised. It was clean, the staff more than pleasant and helpful, the parking was very secure and easy to access, the unit was far bigger than expected and the view fabulous (from the 29th floor). As well as the price being right, the '2 for 1' meal deal just topped off our stay. The staff and meals at Sayas restaurant were up there with the top restaurants in GC. The apartment could do with a bit more lighting (difficult to read) and the batteries in the aircon remotes were flat. We'll be back.

Room Tip: There is a lot of development work (light rail system) going on around the area, so choose a room up...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Maiva B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Damian S, General Manager at Mantra Sun City, responded to this review, 5 August 2013
Dear Maiva B,

Thank you for your recent review of Mantra Sun City Resort, we're very pleased that you enjoyed your stay with us.

We're pleased you enjoyed the service and food at Sayas, the restaurant is now closed for four weeks for a refurbishment, we hope you enjoy the changes when you return.

I do hope we get the chance to welcome you back in the future.

Regards

Damian Sillars
General Manager
Mantra Sun City Resort.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Launceston, Australia
Level 3 Contributor
22 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 July 2013

Our apartment was a 2 bedroom and 2 bathroom, lots of room for the 4 of us.
Huge family room with plenty of chairs/couch. Great view from the balcony, kitchen had all the appliances needed.

Things to do at the hotel, 3 pools, 2 spas and 2 waterslides with a gym and sauna, there is also a games room for the kids

The convenience store across the road has most necessities but is expensive

The food was delicious from the restaurant

About 7 minute walk to Caville Ave and 1 block from the beach

Make sure you bring your own toiletries because only a small amount is supplied in the room ie 20ml shampoo and conditioner and 1 soap for each bathroom

I don't have anything negative to say about this hotel, we had a wonderful time and have already talked about staying there again

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Elizabeth R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Damian S, General Manager at Mantra Sun City, responded to this review, 5 August 2013
Dear Elizabeth R,

Thank you for taking the time to provide a detailed review of the accommodation and faciltiies available at Mantra Sun City Resort, we're pleased that you enjoyed your stay with us.

We do hope we get the chance to welcome you back again in the future.

Best regards

Damian Sillars
General Manager
Mantra Sun City Resort
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, Australia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 17 July 2013

We found the place and our room in particular dirty. The shower in the ensuite bathroom was covered in mould and the room itself very dated. Not enough blankets or doona's despite staying in the middle of winter. We stayed in a 2 bedroom apartment however hardly anything was supplied for it to be self sufficient, there was only 1 small saucepan, 3 plates (there were 4 of us) no knifes, no cutting boards etc.

It was very disappointing as the website makes it seem very appealing however it is more like a backpackers.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Kylie M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Damian S, General Manager at Mantra Sun City, responded to this review, 5 August 2013
Dear Kylie M,

Thank you for taking the time to provide feedback regarding your recent experience at Mantra Sun City Resort.

We're very sorry that the standard of the room did not meet your needs, the inventory in the room should certainly have been checked prior to your arrival and I will certainly investigate this so that we can ensure the correct inventory is put back into this room.

Regards

Damian Sillars
General Manager
Mantra Sun City Resort
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
victoria
Level 4 Contributor
17 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 July 2013 via mobile

We stayed here at the end of June and were booked into a 2 bedroom self contained apartment. The room was 1407 and it had a fantastic view of the surfers paradise ocean from all the bedrooms and the lounge room. The bedrooms were large with a king bed in the master, a huge walk in robe leading into a massive ensuite with dual wash basins, a bath and shower. The kids bathroom was a good size as well. The tv was a Samsung flat screen and a great size, the kitchen was well equipped and the lounge area was massive. It rained a lot but the indoor pool and spa were used by the kids and the water was like a bath, it was wonderful. The restaurant was lovely and the breakfast Buffett was really good value with a huge selection and the kids loved making their own pancakes. When ever we ran out of washing liquid etc reception would give us new ones without a hassle. The laundry was handy and the dryer was great as well. The only disappointment was the room did not have any form of heating except for 2 small electric fan heaters. We ended up asking reception for another one as it was pretty cold.
You can get beach or pool towels from reception at a cost of $3.00 which was good. We then moved from here down the road to Mantra Crown Towers and were a bit disappointed with the size and quality of the room. We wished we could have stayed at the Sun City, in fact we walked back there everyday to eat at Sayers restaurant.

Stayed June 2013, travelled with family
Helpful?
3 Thank 2406tommy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Damian S, General Manager at Mantra Sun City, responded to this review, 5 August 2013
Daer 2406tommy,

Thank you very much for providing such a detailed review of Mantra Sun City Resort along with the service and facilities, we're very pleased that you and the family enjoyed your stay with us and we certainly look forward to welcoming you back in the near future.

Sayas is currently closed for renovation and will be reopened in four weeks with a whole new look and feel which is exciting, we hope you enjoy the change when you return.

Best regards

Damian Sillars
General Manager
Mantra Sun City Resort
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brisbane, Australia
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 July 2013

Our room cost approx $400 for one night. on check in we were advised we would be receiving free breakfast, when we went to get it we were denied. I was sent back up to our room three times for various paperwork etc to find out they had made a mistake and we would not be receiving it, not even a discount for the trouble.
The room itself was mutton dressed as lamb. No doonas were provided on any of the beds (in the middle of winter), The mattress protector was old and the mattress itself was stained and the bed broke halfway through the night. Overall a complete disappointment considering how much we spent on the room.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank Keitha C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Damian S, General Manager at Mantra Sun City, responded to this review, 5 August 2013
Dear Keitha C,

Thank you for providing feedback regarding your recent experience at Mantra Sun City Resort.

I am very sorry for the confusion regarding your breakfast, believing that it may have been included in the rate and the paperwork confirming that it was not. I will ensure that the team are made aware of this confusing correspondance so that this does not happen again.

I also offer my apologies regarding your bed, I will endeavour to try and investigate which room this was so that we can rectify this with urgency.

Once again we do thank you for your feedback.

Regards

Damian Sillars
General Manager
Mantra Sun City Resort
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brisbane, Australia
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 July 2013

My god! How rude and unprofessional. We paid almost $1900 for 3 nights. Room is ok. None of the essentials like a chopping board and bulbs out throughout the apartment. Sun chair broken. Spacious but basic. We were room 2301. We rang the manager Ricardo Ramjass who's customer service was disgraceful! They advertise room service daily and do not deliver and really do not care. I have no issues paying the $$$$ but service and standard must deliver. In this case it did not.

Room Tip: Ocean view is great!
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Cla2m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Damian S, General Manager at Mantra Sun City, responded to this review, 5 August 2013
Dear Cla2m,

Thank you for providing feedback regarding your recent stay at Mantra Sun City Resort.

We appreciate that there was miscommunication regarding room service on Sunday and Monday evening's whilst the restaurant is closed, I do apologise that the communication exchange has left you feeling that the team member was rude, I have since spoken with him and have full confidence that he has tried to assist in the most professional way considering the circumstances.

Regards

Damian Sillars
General Manager
Mantra Sun City Resort
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Surfers Paradise hotels
0.2 mi away
QT Gold Coast
QT Gold Coast
#4 of 31 in Surfers Paradise
2,686 reviews
0.7 mi away
Novotel Surfers Paradise
Novotel Surfers Paradise
#14 of 31 in Surfers Paradise
436 reviews
0.4 mi away
Mantra on View Hotel
Mantra on View Hotel
#11 of 31 in Surfers Paradise
2,704 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.7 mi away
Crowne Plaza Surfers Paradise
Crowne Plaza Surfers Paradise
#7 of 31 in Surfers Paradise
1,640 reviews
1.0 mi away
Watermark Hotel & Spa Gold Coast
Watermark Hotel & Spa Gold Coast
#8 of 31 in Surfers Paradise
1,522 reviews
0.6 mi away
Mantra Circle on Cavill
Mantra Circle on Cavill
#6 of 31 in Surfers Paradise
3,191 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mantra Sun City? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mantra Sun City

Property: Mantra Sun City
Address: 3400 Gold Coast Highway, Surfers Paradise, Gold Coast, Queensland 4217, Australia
Region: Australia > Queensland > Gold Coast > Surfers Paradise
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#4 Top resorts Hotel in Surfers Paradise
#5 Spa Hotel in Surfers Paradise
#9 Luxury Hotel in Surfers Paradise
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Mantra Sun City 4.5*
Number of rooms: 266
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Featuring unique Aztec-inspired designs and architecture, set amidst lush tropical gardens, Mantra Sun City is located just one block from the sandy beaches of the Gold Coast. With Mantra Sun City's facilities surrounding the 35 metre saltwater lagoon pool complete with dragon waterslide, the resort offers a range of hotel rooms and one, two and three bedroom apartments overlooking the Gold Coast beaches, canal waterways or surrounding hinterland. Take advantage of the resort's wide range of facilities, which include a heated indoor pool, outdoor lagoon with its own sandy beach and waterslides, spa, sauna and steam room, tennis courts, games room, fitness centre and Koastal Kitchen Restaurant. Head down to the beach for a casual stroll along the esplanade, finished off with a meal at one of the many cafes and restaurants on offer. Whatever you fancy, Mantra Sun City is the perfect location for a Surfers Paradise holiday. Koastal Kitchen The sun, the surf, the shopping, the excitement, it builds an appetite! Start the day with a wholesome family breakfast or get everyone together for a catch up dinner in the Koastal Kitchen restaurant. The pizzas are fresh from the oven, the grills, salads, tapas to share and seafood fast and fabulous. Kids have their own special menu. Located on the ground floor of Mantra Sun City. Restaurant Opening Hours: Breakfast: 7.00Am - 10.00Am, daily Dinner 5.00Pm - 9.00Pm, daily Room service: Dinner 5.00Pm - 9.00Pm, daily **Photographic ID and a $200 Credit Card Pre Authorisation will be required for check in. No cash deposits taken.** ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Agoda, Hotels.com, Ctrip TA, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly, Ebookers, Cancelon and Evoline ltd so you can book your Mantra Sun City reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mantra Sun City Hotel Surfers Paradise
Mantra Sun City Surfers Paradise, Gold Coast, Australia

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing