We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Xmas break”
Review of Mantra Sun City

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Mantra Sun City
Ranked #11 of 33 Hotels in Surfers Paradise
Reviewed 8 January 2014

It was our 2nd time staying here & we had a great time considering it was during peak season. We stayed in a 2bed ocean view room on the 11th floor. Had a great view of ocean & pool area with lovely sea breezes.

Facilities are great. Kids absolutely love the swimming area. Has 2 outdoor pools with water slides & spa pools plus indoor pool as well & this is the reason why we will always come back. We have stayed at Mantra Cavill (previous Xmas) & Q1 Resort and although these resorts are very modern with extra gadgets my kids get very bored of the same old rectangle pool. At least at Suncity, they have more swimming options which keep them happy for longer.

Getting to the resort can be tricky due to road works but once you get use to the area you will be fine.

If this is your first time staying in the Gold Coast, there are a lot of privately owed apartments so you will find a lot of reserved car spots. Don't let this bother you as Suncity has a great car park compared to other hotels. Only 2 levels down & easy to find your way around. Other places can be a absolute nightmare!!

  • Stayed: December 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JadeShane17
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Damian S, General Manager at Mantra Sun City, responded to this reviewResponded 21 January 2014

Dear JadeShane17,

Thank you for taking the time to provide valuable feedback regarding your recent Christmas break at Mantra Sun City Resort.

I'm very pleased to read that your enjoyed your stay with us and the hotel facilities, rooms, leisure and car parking all suited your families needs.

We look forward to welcoming you back to Mantra Sun City Resort in the near future.

Best regards

Damian Sillars
General Manager
Mantra Sun City Resort

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (2,335)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,895 - 1,901 of 2,335 reviews

Reviewed 2 January 2014

Travelled to Surfers Paradise between Christmas and New Year in 2013 for a short getaway, and given the late booking of my holiday, this was the best value for money option.

Most times whenever I show up at a hotel an hour or so before check in, the room is ready for me, however at this place it wasn't until 2pm.

The location of the hotel is very good, it's only a 10-15 minute walk from the main shopping district. Getting to the hotel is very difficult however with the current tram works, and requires a lot of turns and knowledge of side streets before you can enter the hotel. It's disappointing that I wasn't informed of this before arriving to make my journey easier.

The staff were helpful, the pool facilities were great, and most of all the water pressure in the shower was exactly what I expect from a hotel.

The beds were ok, but not great as what I would have expected from a Mantra resort. The decor and overall feeling of the hotel is very old and tired, and in a serious need of a makeover.

Personally, I wouldn't stay here again as I don't believe the value received for the money I paid is justified.

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Iceman000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Damian S, General Manager at Mantra Sun City, responded to this reviewResponded 12 January 2014

Dear Iceman000,

Thank you for taking the time to provide feedback regarding your recent stay at Mantra Sun City Resort.

I appreciate that in periods of low occupancy rooms may be ready prior to the 2pm check in time we advise our guests of and in most cases we are one hotel who is always happy to oblige to an earlier check in if availble, unfortuatnely during peak period where the hotel is running at 1pp% occupancy, early check ins are just not possible.

The light rail project has been in operation now for the past three years and I am happy to advise that works around our hotel will be completely finished by Mid February, the only work currently awaiting finishing is the footpath and landscaping so very positive times ahead.

I appreciate your feedback on the staff, that is really great to read aolong with the facilities and water pressure.

The resort has just invested quite substantially improving the common arreas, leisure facilities and the indoor pool. We are also working very closely witht he individual owners to ensure we can improve the look and feel of our guests rooms ensuring that our product remains competitive.

Once again, we thank you for your feedback.

Regards

Damian Sillars
General Manager
Mantra Sun City Resort

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 January 2014

Hi, @ a last minute decision to stay on the coast, we came across the "Mantra Sun City".
Looking @ their website all looked good so we went a head and booked a 3 bedroom apartment.

After booking the apartment we decided to research it on "Tripadvisor".
We were horrified @ some of the reviews so we rang them voicing our concerns.
The moves us up to the 34th floor and said this is a really nice apartment.(Sam was very helpful and a great person to have at the counter)

Upon arrival we checked in, the staff were friendly and efficient and made us welcome.
Upon entering the apartment, it was big,very big with great views and plenty of room.
Beds were comfortable and it was clean.
The air con worked well as did the dish washer, washing machine & dryer.

Furniture mainly the outdoor furniture could have been a little better but ok

The Resort itself is old and in need of a make over, the sister Resort just down the road is awesome and much newer.

The pool area was clean and the water was nice.
The indoor pools are in need or some repairs or upgrades but all worked ok.

We ate @ "Sayas:" Restaurant twice and it was very nice, lovely food, friendly and efficient staff, Prices were no to bad and the settings were good.
We do recommend "Sayas" as a place to eat.

We did chat with a few people from other rooms who had complaints, but that's there view.
Parking was easy, but access to the Mantra Sun City is a little difficult for people who don't know the Gold Coast, with all the light rail work going on.

All in all it was quite good and we enjoyed our stay on the coast.

Room Tip: Go for the higher up apartments if you can afford it, view is awesome.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Dave C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Damian S, General Manager at Mantra Sun City, responded to this reviewResponded 2 January 2014

Dear Dave C,

Thank you for taking the time to provide feedback regarding your recent experience with Mantra Sun City Resort.

I'm very pleased that you enjoyed your stay and all of the leisure and dining facilities available at the property.

I also thank you for your feedback on Sam and the rest of the food and beverage team, it's great to hear.

We do hope to welcome you back to Mantra Sun City Resort again in the near future.

Best regards

Damian Sillars
General Manager
Mantra Sun City Resort

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 December 2013

Went for Christmas to visit relatives and stayed at this resort. Have stayed here before and enjoyed it but this trip was marred by the unpleasant odor of the apartment we were given which housekeeping were unable to eradicate. It appears the previous guests were into curries which permeated the whole place!

This was a shame as the apartment (1 bedroom with ocean views) was quite nice and suitable and the resort facilities also acceptable with swimming pools and parking available. Another problem was that it was in the middle of a construction site (light rail link) so access was a problem. The Mantra group should have advised us of this and the change in the road access which was quite difficult to find initially.

However, if booked on a special rate was good value especially in December.

Breakfast was the usual buffet style with lots of kids around.

Would not pay rack rate for this hotel as it appears to be getting a bit tired looking and am in two minds as to whether I will stay here again.

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank wintersson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Damian S, General Manager at Mantra Sun City, responded to this reviewResponded 30 December 2013

Dear wintersunn,

Thank you for taking the time to provide feedback regarding your recent experience at Mantra Sun City Resort.

I appreciate that you enjoyed the one bedroom suite and water views during your visit, I do however apologise that there was an unpleasant odour in the room from the previous guests cooking, this is very unfortuante and again I am very sorry.

I also offer apologies regarding the light rail construction that has been happening on the Gold Coast for the last three years, the very good news is that the project will finish construction in the very early parts of the New Year and the light rail will be operational offering guests the opportunity to travel in comfort around the Gold Coast for very minimal cost. It has been a a lot of pain for all on the Gold Coast for a long time and especially for guests but will be all for a better holiday experience in the future.

The owners corporation and Mantra Group are both very committed to keeping the look and feel
of Mantra Sun City fresh and new having just completed a $1.3 Million refurbishment of the Aztec theming, lobby and reception areas and a furhter $250,000 on the Restaurant. We will also continue to work with our individual unit owners to ensure that they maintain their units to a suitable letting standard.

I wish you a very happy new year and do hope we get the chance to welcome you back to Mantra Sun City Resort in the near future.

Best regards

Damian Sillars
General Manager
Mantra Sun City Resort

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 December 2013

Xmas day we arrived! Room wasn't ready! Headed to the pool and advised we would be called! Didn't happen! 2.10 we went to reception and it was ready! Went to our three bedroom apartment to prepare Xmas lunch! Room stank! Was hot inside like a sauna! This is where everything went down hill! Out of three air cons, one didn't work, one shot out hot and cold air and one stank and didn't cool at all! Not enough place settings for a room that took 7 people! Shelves in fridge broken, dining chairs broken! Oh but it gets worse!!!! Baby playing on floor, covered in bites (like mites or bed bugs) and went to get into bed at 9.30pm to find king bed was broken and had been propped up with pillows! Husband fell out of the bed! Did not sleep a wink due to the heat! Kids room like a sauna!!! Rooms without bulbs, broken vaccum cleaner! Have since even home and realised the shorts my son was wearing playing on the floors has transported to his car seat and he was being bitten the whole trip home! We were provided a full refund however, this matter is not over!! Second time in 2 weeks we have stayed as everyone deserves a second chance after our first trip the air cons were broken too! This is not acceptable and I will be taking this matter further!! The owners of this apartment should be ashamed of themselves! They ruined our Xmas and give Mantra a bad name!!!!!

  • Stayed: December 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Lacerelli
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Damian S, General Manager at Mantra Sun City, responded to this reviewResponded 1 January 2014

Dear Larcarelli,

Thank you for taking the time to provide a review regarding your experiences at Mantra Sun City Resort.

I sincerely apologise that the team did not contact you when your room was ready however I was pleased to read that you were able to use the hotel facilities prior tot he check in time of 2pm.

Can I please ask you to email me through your details so that I can follow up on this particular room that you have stayed in?

My email address is Damian.Sillars@mantra.com.au

Many thanks

Damian Sillars
General Manager
Mantra Sun City Resort

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 December 2013

We stayed for two nights in a two bedroom ocean view room.
Both rooms were huge, lots of supplies in the bathrooms and kitchens also.
We were given a free upgrade to the ocean view and some discount on breakfast due to pool construction.
We were still able to use the steam room and outdoor heated spa, both which we enjoyed.
The sauna appeared not to be working during our stay.
The staff upon check in were not very helpful, pleasent enough though.
There was a young male staff member however who helped us out instead of the manager.
Overall I would stay here again.

Room Tip: Ask for a room with an ocean view, on a high level
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank scbling
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Damian S, General Manager at Mantra Sun City, responded to this reviewResponded 10 December 2013

Dear scbling,

Thank you for taking the time to provide feedback regarding your recent stay at Mantra Sun City Resort.

Very pleased to read that you enjoyed the rooms and the facilities of the hotel albeit the main pool was closed during your stay.

Sorry to hear that the staff member on check in was not helpful, I will certainly work hard with the team to turn this type of feedback around.

Great that there were other staff on hand who were helpful and that you are happy to return.

Best regards

Damian Sillars
General Manager
Mantra Sun City Resort



We stayed for two nights in a two bedroom ocean view room.
Both rooms were huge, lots of supplies in the bathrooms and kitchens also.
We were given a free upgrade to the ocean view and some discount on breakfast due to pool construction.
We were still able to use the steam room and outdoor heated spa, both which we enjoyed.
The sauna appeared not to be working during our stay.
The staff upon check in were not very helpful, pleasent enough though.
There was a young male staff member however who helped us out instead of the manager.
Overall I would stay here again

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 December 2013 via mobile

Looks beautiful on the outside, beautiful pool that was the highlight of the hotel...but with the stuff around from the young reception boy made our trip a bit of a hassle, not so sure if it's the place we will be going to next time around.
Normally when you approach a reception desk you'd want to be treated respectfully. Instead, he had no idea of the rules and made us look like idiots. I had $200 cash for the bond of the room but he was saying it needed to be on credit card only incase we made a lot of "damage" to the room and they had to withdraw a lot more money than $200.
We were walking to the bank which was about to close in 5 minutes and probably wouldn't make it, when my partner looked at the terms and conditions and it said "card OR cash"
Luckily he seen that because this boy wasn't going to let us into our room. Basically threw us out on the street!!!! Bad bad service. To the manager: please get rid of this bloke! He has no idea! And is so rude! Didn't even say sorry.

Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
1  Thank Ebony H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Damian S, General Manager at Mantra Sun City, responded to this reviewResponded 10 December 2013

Dear Ebony H,

Thank you for taking the time to provide feedback regarding your recent experience at Mantra Sun City Resort.

Thank you for your great feedback on the pool and the exterior of the hotel, it's fantastic to read that the refurbishment is recognizable as beautiful and guests are starting to enjoy this.

I am very sorry for the confusion regarding the cash bond, this is certainly the first time this has been bought to my attention so I will definitely follow up. We dd have schoolies in over the last two weeks of November which may have caused confusion for leisure guests as the terms and conditions were changed during this period.

Once again, thank you for your feedback.

Regards

Damian Sillars
General Manager
Mantra Sun City Resort

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Surfers Paradise hotels
0.4 mi away
Mantra on View Hotel
Mantra on View Hotel
#10 of 33 in Surfers Paradise
3,266 reviews
1.7 mi away
Crowne Plaza Surfers Paradise
Crowne Plaza Surfers Paradise
#8 of 33 in Surfers Paradise
1,725 reviews
0.7 mi away
Novotel Surfers Paradise
Novotel Surfers Paradise
#13 of 33 in Surfers Paradise
629 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
QT Gold Coast
QT Gold Coast
#5 of 33 in Surfers Paradise
2,881 reviews
0.9 mi away
Watermark Hotel & Spa Gold Coast
Watermark Hotel & Spa Gold Coast
#7 of 33 in Surfers Paradise
1,949 reviews
0.8 mi away
Mantra Legends Hotel
Mantra Legends Hotel
#9 of 33 in Surfers Paradise
2,789 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mantra Sun City? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mantra Sun City

Address: 3400 Gold Coast Highway, Surfers Paradise, Gold Coast, Queensland 4217, Australia
Region: Australia > Queensland > Gold Coast > Surfers Paradise
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#4 Top resorts Hotel in Surfers Paradise
#6 Spa Hotel in Surfers Paradise
#11 Luxury Hotel in Surfers Paradise
Price Range: £76 - £243 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Mantra Sun City 4.5*
Number of rooms: 266
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Mantra Sun City offers a range of hotel rooms and one, two and three bedroom apartments overlooking the Gold Coast beaches. Facilities include a heated indoor pool, outdoor lagoon with its own sandy beach and dragon waterslide, spa, sauna and steam room, tennis courts, games room, fitness centre and Koastal Kitchen Restaurant. Head down to the beach for a casual stroll along the esplanade. Start the day with a wholesome family breakfast or get everyone together for a catch up dinner in the Koastal Kitchen restaurant. The pizzas are fresh from the oven, the grills, salads, tapas to share and seafood fast and fabulous. Kids have their own special menu. Restaurant Opening Hours: Breakfast: 7.00Am - 10.00Am, daily Dinner 5.00Pm - 9.00Pm, daily Room service: Dinner 5.00Pm - 9.00Pm, daily **Photographic ID and a $200 Credit Card Pre Authorisation will be required for check in. No cash deposits taken.** ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Ctrip TA, Expedia, Booking.com, Agoda, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, 5viajes2012 S.L. and getaroom.com so you can book your Mantra Sun City reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mantra Sun City Hotel Surfers Paradise
Mantra Sun City Surfers Paradise, Gold Coast, Australia

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing