We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A Wonderful Place to Stay & Play”
Review of Mantra Sun City

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Mantra Sun City
Ranked #10 of 31 Hotels in Surfers Paradise
Auckland Region, New Zealand
Level 4 Contributor
44 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“A Wonderful Place to Stay & Play”
Reviewed 27 May 2014

Our family of four have just spent a week at Sun City in a two bedroom apartment and it was fabulous. The apartment was MASSIVE and exceeded our expectations. It had everything that we needed to enjoy our holiday! The pools were great and there were so many of them including several which were heated. We had maintenance visit twice for minor issues and they were fixed quick smart so absolutely no complaints there. The reception was always manned and we found everybody excellent and very helpful. We were one the 8th floor (803) and it was a little noisy on the first night from other guests but it was a Saturday and from then on it was really pretty quiet. No real problems with the access because of the roadworks - you just need a little patience sometimes - and if you are on holiday that's not too hard!
We would definitely recommend the Mantra Sun City apartments and are looking forward to returning. Thank you.

Room Tip: There are computers & a printer in the lobby which are free to use.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MuvHen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Damian S, General Manager at Mantra Sun City, responded to this review, 28 May 2014
Dear MuvHen,

Thank you for your review following your week long family holiday to Mantra Sun City resort.

I apprecaite the details you have provided to assist the travelling public to make decisions on their future travel plans; it's great to read.

I am very happy that everything met with your needs and we certainly look forward to welcoming you and your family back to Mantra Sun City resort again in the near future.

Best regards

Damian Sillars
General Manager
Mantra Sun City resort
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,838 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    661
    579
    310
    145
    143
See reviews for
833
529
39
101
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (241)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 27 May 2014

Hi Mantra Sun City at surfers paradise was very good, great rooms and all views from rooms perfect, excellent facilities .....the location to Central surfers and beach front is great ....public transport very handy...

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Tmbaguy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Damian S, General Manager at Mantra Sun City, responded to this review, 28 May 2014
Dear Tmbaguy,

Thanks for taking the time to provide feedback regarding your recent stay at Mantra Sun City resort.

Very pleased to read that you enjoyed your stay with us and that the resort suited your needs.

I do hope to welcome you back to Mantra Sun City resort again in the near future.

Best regards

Damian Sillars
General Manager
Mantra Sun City resort
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
syd
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 May 2014

Clean rooms, plenty of activities. Kids loved the slides at the pools. Three functioning pools meant we were spread out from other travelers. Would stay again. Service at front desk was also very good.

  • Stayed March 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank lyshy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Damian S, General Manager at Mantra Sun City, responded to this review, 28 May 2014
Hi Lyshy,

Thank you for your recent review; greatly appreciated.

I am very pleased that you enjoyed your stay with us and hopefully get the chance to welcome you back again in the future.

Best regards

Damian Sillars
General Manager
Mantra Sun City resort
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gold Coast, Queensland, Australia
Level 4 Contributor
37 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 May 2014

Booked this through their reservations team. Told it was refurbished and would request a ocean view. We found out that was two lies. Checked in to what was a shabby room with an unmade bed and dirty linen and towels everywhere. YUK. Front desk moved us to another room straight out of the 70's. with no view. Not happy. Told that the hotel does NOT even have rooms with an ocean view. Informed them that we wanted to leave and get a refund. Told I would have to e-mail the General Manager. Many e-mails no luck. A total rip off to what was supposed to be romantic night out.

Room Tip: Don't.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Anthony D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Damian S, General Manager at Mantra Sun City, responded to this review, 28 May 2014
Dear Anthony D,

Thank you for taking the time to provide a review on Trip Advisor following your recent experience at Mantra Sun City Resort.

I offer my full apologies that you were checked into a vacant dirty room; this is very unfortunate and again I offer my apologies.

Per your comment that you have emailed me; I can advise that I have not received an email from you.

Regards

Damian Sillars
General Manager
Mantra Sun City resort
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne, Australia
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 25 May 2014 via mobile

The week spent at Mantra Sun City was one of the best weeks away. The one bedroom apartment was beautiful and big. The staff were brilliant and were able to help us with anything we needed. The Koastal Kitchen adjoining was amazing and the food top quality, with the staff also being incredible.
Would happily go back any time.

Stayed May 2014, travelled with friends
Helpful?
Thank Kaitlyn R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Damian S, General Manager at Mantra Sun City, responded to this review, 28 May 2014
Dear Kaitlyn R,

Thank you for your recent review on Trip Advisor following your week long stay at Mantra Sun City resort.

Very pleased to read that the staff and one bedroom apartment suited your requirements and you were able to enjoy a meal in Koastal Kitchen.

We do look foward to welcoming you back to Mantra Sun City resort again in the future.

Regards

Damian Sillars
General Manager
Mantra Sun City Resort
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
sydney
Level 4 Contributor
27 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 May 2014

We booked this hotel based on our previous experience with another Mantra Hotel and the reviews here. Check in took about 2 minutes, room was great, level 29, spacious, clean and comfortable. We had a problem with the toilet when we arrived. Within 15 minutes of my calling reception the handyman had been up, found the problem, gone away to get parts and come back and fixed the problem. This is the sort of service you want. Any place can look good when everything goes well, but they show their true colours when something goes wrong. As for the road works, what is the hotel supposed to do about this? It certainly did not make accessing the hotel a nightmare as others have reported. Food in the Koastal Kitchen was very nice. The outdoor spa was just wonderful although I did find the outdoor pool a bit too cold as others have. The hotel is in a great location, very comfortable and value for money.

Room Tip: If you don't mind heights a room on the higher levels offers a great view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank bulafijiSydney
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Damian S, General Manager at Mantra Sun City, responded to this review, 28 May 2014
Dear bulafijisydney,

Thank you for taking the time to provide very valuable feedback regarding your recent experience at Mantra Sun City Resort.

I'm very pleased to read that you enjoyed your experience with us and your room suited your needs.

Thank you for also pointing out that the toilet was an issue but was fixed within 15 minutes, I'm pleased to read that the issue was remedied immediately.

I certainly appreciate your support on the road works; I'm very pleased to advise though that we are literally one week away from having our footpaths, roads and driveways all back to looking fantastic.

Thanks again for your feedback; we do hope to get the chance to welcome you back to a Mantra property in the future.

Best regards

Damian Sillars
General Manager
Mantra Sun City resort
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Geelong, Australia
Level 3 Contributor
18 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 May 2014

We have stayed a week at Sun City, and we absolutely loved it. Before arriving I sent an email asking that we were not put too high up, as we're not a fan of heights, although we didn't want to be on the bottom floors either. On arrival we were given a room on the 10th floor, room 1007, and it was perfect. We had views of the beach, as well as views over the mountains. The unit was clean, and plenty big enough for a family of 4.

Reading a past review on this unit, yes there were a few things that you could pick on, like chipped bench tops, but really, that didn't effect us, we were still able to use the kitchen and bench tops. My only whinge would be the fridge seal. It is slightly broken, so if you didn't push the fridge door closed really hard, it wouldn't seal. After a day out, we came home to the fridge door open.

The pools were fantastic. The kids loved having a swim every day, using both the inside and outside pools with the water slides.. The outside pools were too cold for me, but during the hotter months, I'm sure they would be fantastic.Maybe in the future, management may consider warming the outside pools, so guests can really take advantage of them, especially when they have a life guard on duty, but hardly anyone going into the outside pools because of the temperature. We also loved looking at the resident Bearded Dragons sitting on the rocks beside the pools.

Location was perfect. We didn't have any problems with the backpackers over the road, and the nightly works going on below us. Once the windows and doors were closed, we hardly heard anything. There is a 10 minute walk into Cavill Ave, which we usually did a few times a day.

The staff were also very helpful and friendly. It was a pleasure to stay here, and if we decide to holiday again in Surfers, we will return.

Room Tip: Loved room 1007, not too high up, but still has a view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Meges
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Damian S, General Manager at Mantra Sun City, responded to this review, 28 May 2014
Dear Meges,

Thank you for your recent review; greatly appreciated.

I'm pleased that the team were able to facilitiate your room view and requests ensuring you were not too high or too low.

I assure you I'll have the fridge seal looked at immediately!

I thank you for your feedback on the staff and leisure facilities within the hotel; just for your information we are in the process of sourcing solar heating for the plunge pool located at the reaf of the indoor pool.

Thanks again fro your review, we do look forward to welcoming you back to Mantra Sun City resort again in the near future.

Regards

Damian Sillars
General Manager
Mantra Sun City resort
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Surfers Paradise hotels
0.4 mi away
Mantra on View Hotel
Mantra on View Hotel
#11 of 31 in Surfers Paradise
2,647 reviews
0.7 mi away
Novotel Surfers Paradise
Novotel Surfers Paradise
#14 of 31 in Surfers Paradise
413 reviews
0.2 mi away
QT Gold Coast
QT Gold Coast
#4 of 31 in Surfers Paradise
2,661 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.0 mi away
Watermark Hotel & Spa Gold Coast
Watermark Hotel & Spa Gold Coast
#8 of 31 in Surfers Paradise
1,471 reviews
0.6 mi away
Mantra Circle on Cavill
Mantra Circle on Cavill
#6 of 31 in Surfers Paradise
3,130 reviews
1.7 mi away
Crowne Plaza Surfers Paradise
Crowne Plaza Surfers Paradise
#7 of 31 in Surfers Paradise
1,627 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mantra Sun City? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mantra Sun City

Property: Mantra Sun City
Address: 3400 Gold Coast Highway, Surfers Paradise, Gold Coast, Queensland 4217, Australia
Region: Australia > Queensland > Gold Coast > Surfers Paradise
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#4 Top resorts Hotel in Surfers Paradise
#5 Spa Hotel in Surfers Paradise
#10 Luxury Hotel in Surfers Paradise
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Mantra Sun City 4.5*
Number of rooms: 266
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Featuring unique Aztec-inspired designs and architecture, set amidst lush tropical gardens, Mantra Sun City is located just one block from the sandy beaches of the Gold Coast. With Mantra Sun City's facilities surrounding the 35 metre saltwater lagoon pool complete with dragon waterslide, the resort offers a range of hotel rooms and one, two and three bedroom apartments overlooking the Gold Coast beaches, canal waterways or surrounding hinterland. Take advantage of the resort's wide range of facilities, which include a heated indoor pool, outdoor lagoon with its own sandy beach and waterslides, spa, sauna and steam room, tennis courts, games room, fitness centre and Koastal Kitchen Restaurant. Head down to the beach for a casual stroll along the esplanade, finished off with a meal at one of the many cafes and restaurants on offer. Whatever you fancy, Mantra Sun City is the perfect location for a Surfers Paradise holiday. Koastal Kitchen The sun, the surf, the shopping, the excitement, it builds an appetite! Start the day with a wholesome family breakfast or get everyone together for a catch up dinner in the Koastal Kitchen restaurant. The pizzas are fresh from the oven, the grills, salads, tapas to share and seafood fast and fabulous. Kids have their own special menu. Located on the ground floor of Mantra Sun City. Restaurant Opening Hours: Breakfast: 7.00Am - 10.00Am, daily Dinner 5.00Pm - 9.00Pm, daily Room service: Dinner 5.00Pm - 9.00Pm, daily **Photographic ID and a $200 Credit Card Pre Authorisation will be required for check in. No cash deposits taken.** ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Expedia, Priceline, Agoda, Ctrip TA, TripOnline SA, 5viajes2012 S.L., Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Mantra Sun City reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mantra Sun City Hotel Surfers Paradise
Mantra Sun City Surfers Paradise, Gold Coast, Australia

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing