We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Mantra Sun City
Nearby Hotels
Novotel Surfers Paradise(Surfers Paradise)
US$156
US$124
Booking.com
View Deal
Good 3.5/5
  • Pool
  • Beachfront
Peppers Soul(Surfers Paradise)
US$356
US$230
Agoda.com
View Deal
Great 4.5/5
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Hilton Surfers Paradise(Surfers Paradise)(Great Value!)
US$185
US$134
Booking.com
View Deal
Very Good 4/5
  • Pool
  • Beachfront
Crowne Plaza Surfers Paradise(Surfers Paradise)(Great Value!)
US$104
Booking.com
View Deal
Very Good 4/5
Certificate of Excellence
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
US$252
US$191
Marriott Hotels
View Deal
Great 4.5/5
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Vibe Hotel Gold Coast(Surfers Paradise)
US$87
US$75
Booking.com
View Deal
Good 3.5/5
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
Mantra on View Hotel(Surfers Paradise)(Great Value!)
US$161
US$133
Agoda.com
View Deal
Very Good 4/5
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
Mantra Circle on Cavill(Surfers Paradise)(Great Value!)
US$225
US$180
Agoda.com
View Deal
Very Good 4/5
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
Watermark Hotel & Spa Gold Coast(Surfers Paradise)(Great Value!)
US$136
US$105
Expedia.com
View Deal
Very Good 4/5
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
Mantra Legends Hotel(Surfers Paradise)(Great Value!)
US$125
US$105
Expedia.com
View Deal
Very Good 4/5
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
Reviews (2,393)
Filter reviews
2,393 results
Traveller rating
863
742
403
190
195
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
863
742
403
190
195
Show reviews that mention
All reviewswater slidestram stopthe gold coastbuffet breakfastindoor poolbedroom apartmenttennis courtsgreat facilitiesocean viewfamily holidaylight railwould stay againbit datedlounge roomgreat roomacross the roadfull kitchen
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
1,873 - 1,878 of 2,393 reviews
Reviewed 23 July 2014

We stayed in a one bedroom apartment with ocean view with our toddler and loved our stay. The hotel facilities, including lobby, pool and gardens were quite impressive and made for a decent playground for our toddler. Our unit was spacious, comfortable and had great ocean views. Some of the furniture was very tired and outdated, but the essentials, mattress, kitchen appliances and flat screen tvs were good. Dinner at the hotel s restaurant was lovely. Apart from some nearby hotels that cater more specifically for young children, this hotel is on par with all other surfers paradise hotels in the same category, and based on that we would recommend and return any time the price is right.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Isabelle J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Damian_Sillars, General Manager at Mantra Sun City, responded to this reviewResponded 4 August 2014

Dear Isabelle J,

Thank you for taking the time to provide valuable feedback regarding your recent experience at Mantra Sun City resort. I'm pleased to read that you and your young family loved your stay.

We certainly look forward to welcoming you back again in the near future.

Best regards

Damian Sillars
General Manager
Mantra Sun Ctiy resort

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 July 2014

After competing in the Kokoda Challenge, we were looking forward to a good sleep. We got to the room and the view from level 32 was amazing. We stayed in a 3 bedroom ocean view room with a spa. It was easy to organise a late check out with late notice, however, the next day we were timed out when packing the car. The unit was massive. Unfortunately, the tv had no signal and we couldn't use digital. It was a shame that the beds were not dressed enough, considering it is winter. The rubbish disposal was close by and convenient, I would stay here again and hopefully use more facilities.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with friends
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Manda H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Damian_Sillars, General Manager at Mantra Sun City, responded to this reviewResponded 4 August 2014

Dear Manda H,

First of all, congratulations on your Kokoda experience - that is amazing!

I certainly appreciate your feedback on your experience with us, I'm very pleased to read that you enjoyed the property and the three bedroom ocean view apartment suited your needs.

I'm sorry to read that the beds did not have enough dressing on them however very pleased that you would be happy to return for a future visit.

We do look forward to welcoming you back again in the near future.

Best regards

Damian Sillars
General Manager
Mantra Sun City resort

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 July 2014

Recently my family rented room 204 for nine nights for a total of AU $2700.

It is not unfair to say that we would NOT be recommending this room to any
perspective hirers.

For a start the state of cleanliness left a lot to be desired.

Most surfaces were dusty and dirty, a soiled sheet remained on the pull out
bed, some blokes cap was behind the couch, old toys and paper beneath the
furniture, cutlery dirty and still with food on them and the crockery.

A lux/vacuum cleaner that would not suck and a mop that was so old and in
poor shape that my daughter in law requested a vacuum cleaner that worked
and a mop that was clean so we could clean the apartment fit for our infant
grand children and my family.

The master bed room ensuite had a toilet that continually dripped and kept
us awake at night.

The hotel handy man said he would look at it but as the unit was privately
rented he did not turn up.

The owner of the unit was advised of the leaking loo but choose to do
nothing about it and we reached the point of frustration that I pulled the
lid off and located the valve for turning the water off, which we did each
night so as to sleep.

The owner also said that the cleaners would come into clean the apartment,
they never showed up. He never chased the cleaners up to ensure they arrived.

The owner will say that we did not contact him enough. Surely the onus is on the owner to ensure the unit is up to an acceptable standard.

The location and state of the resort itself was fine but it is fair to say
that the state of this apartment and the service we got, for the money we
paid, was a disappointing feature of our holiday.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank 880Cjb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Damosan75_MSS, General Manager at Mantra Sun City, responded to this reviewResponded 22 July 2014

Good morning,

Please note that thsi review relates to a private unit with Sun City resort and is not affiliated with Mantra Sun City resort and therefore should be removed.

Your boooking was direcftly with a private owner and has no affiliation with the commerical operations within Mantra Sun City Resort.

I ask you to please remove your reivew at the earliest convenience.

Regards

Damian Sillars
General Manager
Mantra Sun City resort

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 July 2014

Had a week long holiday here and it was a good winter holiday, the outdoor pool was far too cold to use and so it would have been better if the indoor pool was turned up a couple of degrees, as it was no one stayed in for very long and some like me didn’t even get in a bit of a waste of the facility. I had also chosen this resort because of the indoor pool so very disappointed it was too cold to use.
Apartment was roomy and we had a peep of the sea through the buildings. The kitchen supplies were mis-matched and only 4 of each item so the dishwasher was on more than it needed to be. At least one of the lifts was broken for our stay.
The cleaning was not really up to standard it looked like it had been hurried, not gone into corners when dusting, the stove tray was dirty and covered in a sheet of foil so they knew it was dirty and just covered it up. The cleaning standard seems to be a recurring comment for this Mantra, this is letting the hotel down considerably and needs to be addressed.
When stating 4 ½ stars it should come up to an excellent cleaning standard and contents of the apartment should match and be of reasonable quality. I would rate this Mantra 3 ½ stars.
Good positioning a 7-8 minute flat walk to Cavil Ave if you needed to go to restaurants etc and the beach was just about 80 metres away. There was a bus stop nearby and the new tram stops outside (when they decide to let passengers on it). Good undercover secure parking. The staff we encountered were very pleasant. There was a notice saying “happy hour” but it wasn’t clear where the bar was- the place I thought was the bar looked abandoned.
Overall a good visit and we would stay again if visiting the GC.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank NZBunny
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Damosan75_MSS, General Manager at Mantra Sun City, responded to this reviewResponded 16 July 2014

Dear NZ Bunny,

Thank you for taking the time to provide feedback regarding your recent stay at Mantra Sun City resort.

I am very pleased that you would be happy to return and stay at the property should you come back to the Gold Coast; great news.

Just for your information, the indoor pool is heated to a maximimum of 28 degrees; unfortuantely it cannot be heated over this temperature due to the dehumidifier in operation.

We do look forward to welcoming you back again in the future.

Regards

Damian Sillars
General Manager
Mantra Sun City resort

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 July 2014 via mobile

We stayed here for a week after driving up from sydney. Firstly rooms were large enough for the two of us and having a kitchen and laundry in the room was great for a stay of a week. The balcony meant we could let in some fresh air if it got a little stuffy. The bed was comfy (even if it was only 2 singles pushed together) although the lounge was not! Walk in wardrobe meant plenty of room for your stuff. Had breakfast buffet the first morning there and they had all your basics there, nothing fancy and wouldnt recommend it if its not included in your rate there are heaps of other options in the heart of surfers. Never ate there for dinner so cant really comment on that. The pool is large and completely lovely, not a single fault with the outside pool itself. First day we went down however we wanted to use the slides which were open but not a lifeguard in sight (saw him there all the time after this first encounter). Firstly there are 2 slides, one shorter one longer. The shorter one I went on first and had no problem. The longer one I somehow managed to smash my head on the end of it and ended up with a sore head a bump a bruise and a few sore ribs. Later on found out u actually need to sign a form and get a wrist band to actually use the slides. No issues with this at all but would be nice to have been told at check in BEFORE we were in the pool and told by the lifeguard we couldnt go down the slide (even tho we'd been down it the day before when there were no lifeguards around). Underground secure parking is good no complaints there. Tennis courts were good, although there was a mix up with the court hire (didnt see a single sole down there for the entire week, and yet we had to book in advance and we were told we couldnt book for 3 hours even when no one was there the whole 3 hours). Spas were great! Indoor pool was out of order for the first 3 days, great at night when open tho. Staff were all great. No issues at all there. Other than a few points above had a great stay and would stay here again.

  • Stayed: February 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank luckylozy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Damosan75_MSS, General Manager at Mantra Sun City, responded to this reviewResponded 16 July 2014

Dear LazyLozy,

Thank you for taking the time to provide feedback regarding your recent stay at Mantra Sun City resort.

We appreciate the dcetail you have provided regarding your stay and I am pleased that you found it comfortable and would stay again.

I am sorry to hear that you were not warned of the waterslides prior to going down them; this is most unfortuantel.

I do hope we get the chance to welcome you back to Mantra Sun City resort again in the near future.

Regards

Damian Sillars
General Manager
Mantra Sun City resort

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews