We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Average.”
Review of Mantra Sun City

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Mantra Sun City
Ranked #10 of 32 Hotels in Surfers Paradise
Brisbane
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Average.”
Reviewed 10 August 2014

Fantastic location and the most stunning views, the cleanliness of my room was also a plus - wouldn't change them for anything, however the room was tired with cracks in the walls, paint peeling off around light switches and fixtures, the blankets were rough and unpleasant. The buffet breakfast was the most disappointing for me. $24 for sloppy scrambled eggs and dry, over cooked bacon (not crispy) that had a tinge of green. Barista coffee is available for purchase (hooray) BUT it isn't done by a barista, therefore the coffee to milk ratio is all out of whack.
Overall I would stay here again if I had a refurbished room, but I would rather make the hike to Cavill Ave for the food.

  • Stayed August 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank KristenMB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Damian_Sillars, General Manager at Mantra Sun City, responded to this review, 12 August 2014
Good morning KristenMB,

Thank you for taking the time to provide feedback regarding your recent experience at Mantra Sun City resort.

I appreciate your feedback on the room and that the views and cleanliness were positive; I am disappointed to hear about the cracks and paint peeling, our painter is currently working throught the rooms and I'm sure will get to this with urgency.

Sorry to hear about your breakfast experience; I have taken the liberty of copying the team in to advise of your concerns and have our Management team check on the standard of breakfast presentation on a daily basis; we have also introduced poached eggs with immediate effect to offer an alternative to scrambled eggs which may discolour due to the chaffing dishes.

I will also personally offer training to those making coffees to ensure this experience does not happen again.

I thank you again and hopefully get the chance to welcome you back to Mantra Sun City resort again in the near future.

Regards

Damian Sillars
General Manager
Mantra Sun City resort
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,778 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    641
    557
    300
    140
    140
See reviews for
798
515
35
97
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (239)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 August 2014 via mobile

Great big apartment on the 14 floor with great views. Staff so friendly with attention to detail & customer service a priority. Highly recommend this place, perfect location and a bonus with the new tram directly out the front eliminating the need for car hire.
we will defiantly be back.
Only Negative I can mention was the $20 per hour late checkout.

Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank Beau W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Damian_Sillars, General Manager at Mantra Sun City, responded to this review, 10 August 2014
Dear Beau W,

Thank you for taking the time to provide valuable feedback regarding your recent experience with us.

I'm pleased you enjoyed the property but great to read that our team provided great customer service was, fantastic.

I'm sorry that the late check out fee is in place, this is just ta cost recovery from a housekeeping productivity perspective.

We do look forward to welcoming you back again ini the future.

Regards

Damian Sillars
General Manager
Mantra Sun City resort
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 9 August 2014

Although we booked late, the room was extremely overpriced for what it was. While it was a good size, it was very dated and the beds were hard and uncomfortable. They were only made up with a sheet, any blankets we needed we had to get out of the cupboard. The bathroom was a good size however there was only enough hot water for one shower which was disappointing for one of us.
The location was good with a tram stop right outside allowing easy transport anywhere. The lobby and pool area looked impressive however the hall on our level smelled like garbage.
The included buffet breakfast was not great. The cold food looked good however the hot buffet looked like it was recycled from last week.
We have stayed at a few places on the Gold Coast and for this price we will stay elsewhere next time.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Chris L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Damian_Sillars, General Manager at Mantra Sun City, responded to this review, 11 August 2014
Dear Chris L,

I thank you for taking the time to provide feedback regarding your recent experience at Mantra Sun City resort.

I appreciate your feelings that the room was overpriced as you booked late; as occupancy increases on the Gold Coast we increase our prices based on supply and demand.

I thank you for your feedback on the common areas, pools and tram line; these are all fantastic unique selling pionts for our resort; I do however apologise that you experienced a smell in your hallway, we will rectify this urgently.

I have spoken with my Chef and personally inspected the hot food area of which you have brought to our attention; whilst the food is absolutely not recycled, the presentation of some dishes will be changed with urgency with the introduction of a second choice of eggs.

Once again, we thank you for your contribution.

Regards

Damian Sillars
General Manager
Mantra Sun City resort


Although we booked late, the room was extremely overpriced for what it was. While it was a good size, it was very dated and the beds were hard and uncomfortable. They were only made up with a sheet, any blankets we needed we had to get out of the cupboard. The bathroom was a good size however there was only enough hot water for one shower which was disappointing for one of us.
The location was good with a tram stop right outside allowing easy transport anywhere. The lobby and pool area looked impressive however the hall on our level smelled like garbage.
The included buffet breakfast was not great. The cold food looked good however the hot buffet looked like it was recycled from last week.
We have stayed at a few places on the Gold Coast and for this price we will stay elsewhere next time.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
brisbane
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 4 August 2014

We stayed off season so we didn't have the crowd's to contend with but still appeared to be a popular place to stay.

Rooms vary in space, style and furnishings. The carpet was fraying in places, the taps needed new washers and the kettle leaked, the microwave was also prone to not working at night (heating baby bottle) and the dishwasher needed a good clean out.

The location was great and the pitstop business across the road had all incidental grocery items at reasonable prices should you need them.

I would stay at Mantra Sun City again however i would inspect the room prior to ensure it's what you're after.

The restaurant was also not open sunday night which ended up being ok as we sourced a fantastic Thai Restaurant with beautiful food and prompt delivery, I recommend Lemongrass Thai Restaurant.

We had a great time with our family and would return at a warmer time of year to make full use of resort facilities and pool's.

  • Stayed August 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank sasandcam
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Damian_Sillars, General Manager at Mantra Sun City, responded to this review, 6 August 2014
Dear sasandcam,

Thank you for taking the time to provide feedback regarding your recent experience with us.

We're pleased that you enjoyed your stay and would welcome a return visit in the warmer months.

We also appreciate your feedback regarding the local businessess as well as restaurants, it's great for potential consumers to have this feedback.

We do hope to welcome you back again soon.

Regards

Damian Sillars
General Manager
Mantra Sun City resort
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gold Coast, Australia
Level Contributor
260 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 122 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 August 2014

I am privileged to have a relative who recently purchased one of the penthouses in Mantra Sun City, so my experience with the hotel is part tourist, part resident, enjoying the best of both worlds that this prestigious hotel address has to offer. Classy is the word, with an impressive entry foyer, great restaurant, delightful poolside bar, terrific facilities and helpful reception staff. The nearby light rail links the Mantra ultra conveniently with other parts of the Gold Coast, so it is an excellent location. And the views are formidable.

Room Tip: Ocean view rooms are fabulous, but there's no view after sundown, so you should also have a view...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lynette F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Damian_Sillars, General Manager at Mantra Sun City, responded to this review, 6 August 2014
Dear Lynnieofcapri1,

Thank you for taking the time to provide feedback of your recent experience at Mantra Sun City resort.

Pleased to read that you enjoyed the great views we have on offer as well as the remaining resort facilities and location.

We look forward to welcoming you back again soon!

Regards

Damian Sillars
General Manager
Mantra Sun City resort
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mount Gambier, Australia
Level Contributor
153 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 69 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 August 2014 via mobile

We stayed in a one bedroom apartment. The rooms are enormous!!! The bedroom was huge with a walk in robe, a balcony, a tv and a split system aircon/heater. The bathroom is large. There is a fully equipped kitchen including oven, microwave and dishwasher. The dining room and lounge was enormous with excellent comfy lounges, an enormous lovely wood dining table that we want to take home, flat screen tv, split system aircon/ heater, balcony. The decor was lovely. There is also a fully equipped laundry. Views are amazing. The pool/ spa areas are stunning. The entrance looks like a 5 star resort. And there is a free underground secure car park that you can come and go to for free as many times as you like. Only 80 metres to beach. And a 10 minute walk to the main cavil street. Light rail stop adjacent. There is no daily room service but that doesnt bother us as we are happy to use our towels for a few days and make our own beds. We will be back!

  • Stayed August 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Poolandlocation
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Damian_Sillars, General Manager at Mantra Sun City, responded to this review, 6 August 2014
Dear poolandlocation,

Thank you for taking the time to review your recent experience with us at Mantra Sun City resort.

We certainly appreciate your detailed review on the apartment, resort facilities and location, we
re pleased that you enjoyed your stay.

We do hope to get the chance to welcome you back to Mantra Sun City resort again in the near future.

Regards

Damian Sillars
General Manager
Mantra Sun City resort
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Napier
Level Contributor
14 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 August 2014

We had a very short one night stay at Mantra Sun City in a 3 bedroom apartment with friends. We were located on the 34th floor so had amazing sea views from our bedroom (made for a beautiful sunrise in the morning!) Our Apartment had everything we needed for our short stay including full laundry and kitchen facilities. Wifi is not free however guest computers are located at Reception for 15 minutes free internet which came in handy when booking our transfers. Staff were helpful. I would say Mantra Sun City would definitely suit a family with games room& playground outside.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with friends
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Michelle S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Damian_Sillars, General Manager at Mantra Sun City, responded to this review, 6 August 2014
Dear Michelle S,

Thank you for taking the time to review folllowing your short visit to Mantra Sun City resort.

I'm pleased the three bedroom apartment suited your needs and that you would be happy to return to our resort.

We do look forward to welcoming you back again in the near future.

Best regards

Damian Sillars
General Manager
Mantra Sun City resort
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Surfers Paradise hotels
0.7 mi away
Novotel Surfers Paradise
Novotel Surfers Paradise
#14 of 32 in Surfers Paradise
382 reviews
0.4 mi away
Mantra on View Hotel
Mantra on View Hotel
#11 of 32 in Surfers Paradise
2,546 reviews
0.2 mi away
QT Gold Coast
QT Gold Coast
#4 of 32 in Surfers Paradise
2,633 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Mantra Circle on Cavill
Mantra Circle on Cavill
#6 of 32 in Surfers Paradise
3,051 reviews
1.0 mi away
Watermark Hotel & Spa Gold Coast
Watermark Hotel & Spa Gold Coast
#8 of 32 in Surfers Paradise
1,439 reviews
0.8 mi away
Mantra Legends Hotel
Mantra Legends Hotel
#9 of 32 in Surfers Paradise
2,171 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mantra Sun City? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mantra Sun City

Property: Mantra Sun City
Address: 3400 Gold Coast Highway, Surfers Paradise, Gold Coast, Queensland 4217, Australia
Region: Australia > Queensland > Gold Coast > Surfers Paradise
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#4 Top resorts Hotel in Surfers Paradise
#5 Spa Hotel in Surfers Paradise
#10 Luxury Hotel in Surfers Paradise
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Mantra Sun City 4.5*
Number of rooms: 266
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Featuring unique Aztec-inspired designs and architecture, set amidst lush tropical gardens, Mantra Sun City is located just one block from the sandy beaches of the Gold Coast. With Mantra Sun City's facilities surrounding the 35 metre saltwater lagoon pool complete with dragon waterslide, the resort offers a range of hotel rooms and one, two and three bedroom apartments overlooking the Gold Coast beaches, canal waterways or surrounding hinterland. Take advantage of the resort's wide range of facilities, which include a heated indoor pool, outdoor lagoon with its own sandy beach and waterslides, spa, sauna and steam room, tennis courts, games room, fitness centre and Koastal Kitchen Restaurant. Head down to the beach for a casual stroll along the esplanade, finished off with a meal at one of the many cafes and restaurants on offer. Whatever you fancy, Mantra Sun City is the perfect location for a Surfers Paradise holiday. Koastal Kitchen The sun, the surf, the shopping, the excitement, it builds an appetite! Start the day with a wholesome family breakfast or get everyone together for a catch up dinner in the Koastal Kitchen restaurant. The pizzas are fresh from the oven, the grills, salads, tapas to share and seafood fast and fabulous. Kids have their own special menu. Located on the ground floor of Mantra Sun City. Restaurant Opening Hours: Breakfast: 7.00Am - 10.00Am, daily Dinner 5.00Pm - 9.00Pm, daily Room service: Dinner 5.00Pm - 9.00Pm, daily **Photographic ID and a $200 Credit Card Pre Authorisation will be required for check in. No cash deposits taken.** ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Agoda, TravelUp, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Ctrip TA, Ebookers, Priceline, Evoline ltd, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Mantra Sun City reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mantra Sun City Hotel Surfers Paradise
Mantra Sun City Surfers Paradise, Gold Coast, Australia

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing