We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“We were very happy here.”
Review of Mantra Sun City

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Mantra Sun City
Ranked #12 of 31 Hotels in Surfers Paradise
Reviewed 15 August 2014

We four women (aged 66 - 73) were very happy in our two bedroomed apartment. The kitchen was fine with fridge, toaster, kettle etc. and pantry and the space in the lounge and bedrooms was just great. TV's in all rooms. Bathrooms and water pressure good too. We were pleased to have our own laundry with washer and dryer, as well as iron and drying rack. We stayed for nine nights so arranged for our room-service on the fourth morning. The reception staff were extremely helpful and friendly. I have to make special mention of Ashley - we really enjoyed her. We made use of the excellent spa and swimming pool.
The new trams were very handy. We used our Go-card to travel on trams, buses, trains and river-boats - lots of fun. And good restaurants nearby. And shopping .....

Room Tip: Higher floors have less street noise.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled with friends
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank PollyEJ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Damian_Sillars, General Manager at Mantra Sun City, responded to this reviewResponded 19 August 2014

Dear Polly EG,

Thank you for taking the time to provide valuable feedback regarding your recent 9 night stay with us at Mantra Sun City resort.

We are very pleased that the four of you enjoyed the fully self contained apartment, resort facilities and the local restaurants and shopping.

I'm also personally pleased that the My:G was open and you could enjoy the tram service as well as other local public transport options.

I will certainly mention to Ashleigh the personal feedback which I'm sure she will be very pleased to read.

I do hope we get the chance tl welcome you back again soon.

Regards

Damian Sillars
General Manager
Mantra Sun City resort

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (2,125)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,596 - 1,602 of 2,125 reviews

Reviewed 11 August 2014 via mobile

We checked in on the 9th of August. The reception staff were amazing and so so lovely. We were on level 8 in room 803. The place was lovely. Two bathroom, two bedrooms and a walk in robe in the main bedroom. The views even from the 8th floor was amazing. Will be staying here again for sure!

Stayed: August 2014, travelled with friends
Thank Tori N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Damian_Sillars, General Manager at Mantra Sun City, responded to this reviewResponded 19 August 2014

Dear Tori N,

Thank you for taking the time to provide feedback regarding your recent stay at Mantra Sun City resort.

We're very pleased that you enjoyed your stay with us and we look forward to welcoming you back again in the future.

Regards

Damian Sillars
General Manager
Mantra Sun City resort

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 August 2014

On check in, the room was not ready and we were told we would be called when it was although nobody called. When we finally checked in the keys didn't work for the room which meant a second trip from the 22nd floor with all our luggage. Not a great start. Even though the room was a good size it was very dated. The cleanliness was very poor , with flies in the light shades, balcony covered in cigarettes butts in bottles and egg cups and stains on the bedding. The apartment had a stale smell for which we were offered a scented candle but no explanation. The furnishings are in very poor condition, particularly the beds. Very uncomfortable. When we informed the duty manager of our disappoint with the room we were informed that because the self contained apartments are private lets Mantra were not responsible for the furnishings only for the kitchen and even that wasn't up to standard with a large crack in the microwave door and food left in the fridge freezer.

After first seeing reception and the great facilities the hotel had to offer I was very disappointed with the standard of the room. The apartment next to ours was as seen on the internet and as we expected and I do not understand why all rooms are not of the advertised standard.

We had breakfast in the hotel restaurant which again wasn't great. It was obviously understaffed and very busy. There was no cutlery or bread/pastries when we first arrived and the hot breakfast was cold and looked like yesterday's leftovers.

After staying in other Mantra hotels and with the price we paid for our stay I expected a much higher standard. I have stayed in many other hotels along the Gold Coast and for the price paid you can get a lot better than this.

  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Mden60
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Damian_Sillars, General Manager at Mantra Sun City, responded to this reviewResponded 19 August 2014

Dear mden60,

Thank you for taking the time to provide feedback regarding your recent stay at Mantra Sun City resort.

Fristly I would like to apologise that you were not called when your room was ready and secondly that the keys did not initially work, this is most unfortuante.

I also wish to apologise regarding the cleanliness issues mentioned above; this is completely unacceptable and certanly not in line with our normal very high standards. I will personally liaise with the housekeeping team and ensure that the attention to detail is lifted immediately.

All of the units are Mantra Sun City resort are individually owned however a certain standard of fixstures and furnishings needs to be maintained for a unit to come into or stay in our letting pool.

We have just completed a full audit of rooms and have liaised with owners that if certain areas are not remedied or maintained they will come out of our letting pool unitl it is.

Breakfast I have initiated a daily check by the Management team to ensure that the standard is higher than you mentioned below. I have taken two items off the hot buffet section as they did not present as well as they should and introduced two new items which present much better.

I thank you for your feedback once again and wish you well with your future stays.

Regards

Damian Sillars
General Manager
Mantra Sun City resort

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 August 2014

Fantastic location and the most stunning views, the cleanliness of my room was also a plus - wouldn't change them for anything, however the room was tired with cracks in the walls, paint peeling off around light switches and fixtures, the blankets were rough and unpleasant. The buffet breakfast was the most disappointing for me. $24 for sloppy scrambled eggs and dry, over cooked bacon (not crispy) that had a tinge of green. Barista coffee is available for purchase (hooray) BUT it isn't done by a barista, therefore the coffee to milk ratio is all out of whack.
Overall I would stay here again if I had a refurbished room, but I would rather make the hike to Cavill Ave for the food.

  • Stayed: August 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank KristenMB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Damian_Sillars, General Manager at Mantra Sun City, responded to this reviewResponded 12 August 2014

Good morning KristenMB,

Thank you for taking the time to provide feedback regarding your recent experience at Mantra Sun City resort.

I appreciate your feedback on the room and that the views and cleanliness were positive; I am disappointed to hear about the cracks and paint peeling, our painter is currently working throught the rooms and I'm sure will get to this with urgency.

Sorry to hear about your breakfast experience; I have taken the liberty of copying the team in to advise of your concerns and have our Management team check on the standard of breakfast presentation on a daily basis; we have also introduced poached eggs with immediate effect to offer an alternative to scrambled eggs which may discolour due to the chaffing dishes.

I will also personally offer training to those making coffees to ensure this experience does not happen again.

I thank you again and hopefully get the chance to welcome you back to Mantra Sun City resort again in the near future.

Regards

Damian Sillars
General Manager
Mantra Sun City resort

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 August 2014 via mobile

Great big apartment on the 14 floor with great views. Staff so friendly with attention to detail & customer service a priority. Highly recommend this place, perfect location and a bonus with the new tram directly out the front eliminating the need for car hire.
we will defiantly be back.
Only Negative I can mention was the $20 per hour late checkout.

Stayed: August 2014, travelled as a couple
2  Thank Beau W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Damian_Sillars, General Manager at Mantra Sun City, responded to this reviewResponded 10 August 2014

Dear Beau W,

Thank you for taking the time to provide valuable feedback regarding your recent experience with us.

I'm pleased you enjoyed the property but great to read that our team provided great customer service was, fantastic.

I'm sorry that the late check out fee is in place, this is just ta cost recovery from a housekeeping productivity perspective.

We do look forward to welcoming you back again ini the future.

Regards

Damian Sillars
General Manager
Mantra Sun City resort

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 August 2014

Although we booked late, the room was extremely overpriced for what it was. While it was a good size, it was very dated and the beds were hard and uncomfortable. They were only made up with a sheet, any blankets we needed we had to get out of the cupboard. The bathroom was a good size however there was only enough hot water for one shower which was disappointing for one of us.
The location was good with a tram stop right outside allowing easy transport anywhere. The lobby and pool area looked impressive however the hall on our level smelled like garbage.
The included buffet breakfast was not great. The cold food looked good however the hot buffet looked like it was recycled from last week.
We have stayed at a few places on the Gold Coast and for this price we will stay elsewhere next time.

  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank Chris L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Damian_Sillars, General Manager at Mantra Sun City, responded to this reviewResponded 11 August 2014

Dear Chris L,

I thank you for taking the time to provide feedback regarding your recent experience at Mantra Sun City resort.

I appreciate your feelings that the room was overpriced as you booked late; as occupancy increases on the Gold Coast we increase our prices based on supply and demand.

I thank you for your feedback on the common areas, pools and tram line; these are all fantastic unique selling pionts for our resort; I do however apologise that you experienced a smell in your hallway, we will rectify this urgently.

I have spoken with my Chef and personally inspected the hot food area of which you have brought to our attention; whilst the food is absolutely not recycled, the presentation of some dishes will be changed with urgency with the introduction of a second choice of eggs.

Once again, we thank you for your contribution.

Regards

Damian Sillars
General Manager
Mantra Sun City resort


Although we booked late, the room was extremely overpriced for what it was. While it was a good size, it was very dated and the beds were hard and uncomfortable. They were only made up with a sheet, any blankets we needed we had to get out of the cupboard. The bathroom was a good size however there was only enough hot water for one shower which was disappointing for one of us.
The location was good with a tram stop right outside allowing easy transport anywhere. The lobby and pool area looked impressive however the hall on our level smelled like garbage.
The included buffet breakfast was not great. The cold food looked good however the hot buffet looked like it was recycled from last week.
We have stayed at a few places on the Gold Coast and for this price we will stay elsewhere next time.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 August 2014

We stayed off season so we didn't have the crowd's to contend with but still appeared to be a popular place to stay.

Rooms vary in space, style and furnishings. The carpet was fraying in places, the taps needed new washers and the kettle leaked, the microwave was also prone to not working at night (heating baby bottle) and the dishwasher needed a good clean out.

The location was great and the pitstop business across the road had all incidental grocery items at reasonable prices should you need them.

I would stay at Mantra Sun City again however i would inspect the room prior to ensure it's what you're after.

The restaurant was also not open sunday night which ended up being ok as we sourced a fantastic Thai Restaurant with beautiful food and prompt delivery, I recommend Lemongrass Thai Restaurant.

We had a great time with our family and would return at a warmer time of year to make full use of resort facilities and pool's.

  • Stayed: August 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank sasandcam
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Damian_Sillars, General Manager at Mantra Sun City, responded to this reviewResponded 6 August 2014

Dear sasandcam,

Thank you for taking the time to provide feedback regarding your recent experience with us.

We're pleased that you enjoyed your stay and would welcome a return visit in the warmer months.

We also appreciate your feedback regarding the local businessess as well as restaurants, it's great for potential consumers to have this feedback.

We do hope to welcome you back again soon.

Regards

Damian Sillars
General Manager
Mantra Sun City resort

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Surfers Paradise hotels
0.7 mi away
Novotel Surfers Paradise
Novotel Surfers Paradise
#14 of 31 in Surfers Paradise
525 reviews
0.6 mi away
Mantra Circle on Cavill
Mantra Circle on Cavill
#6 of 31 in Surfers Paradise
3,512 reviews
0.4 mi away
Mantra on View Hotel
Mantra on View Hotel
#10 of 31 in Surfers Paradise
2,987 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.7 mi away
Crowne Plaza Surfers Paradise
Crowne Plaza Surfers Paradise
#7 of 31 in Surfers Paradise
1,686 reviews
0.9 mi away
Watermark Hotel & Spa Gold Coast
Watermark Hotel & Spa Gold Coast
#8 of 31 in Surfers Paradise
1,760 reviews
0.1 mi away
QT Gold Coast
QT Gold Coast
#5 of 31 in Surfers Paradise
2,777 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mantra Sun City? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mantra Sun City

Address: 3400 Gold Coast Highway, Surfers Paradise, Gold Coast, Queensland 4217, Australia
Region: Australia > Queensland > Gold Coast > Surfers Paradise
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#4 Top resorts Hotel in Surfers Paradise
#6 Spa Hotel in Surfers Paradise
#12 Luxury Hotel in Surfers Paradise
Price Range: £72 - £280 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Mantra Sun City 4.5*
Number of rooms: 266
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Mantra Sun City offers a range of hotel rooms and one, two and three bedroom apartments overlooking the Gold Coast beaches. Facilities include a heated indoor pool, outdoor lagoon with its own sandy beach and dragon waterslide, spa, sauna and steam room, tennis courts, games room, fitness centre and Koastal Kitchen Restaurant. Head down to the beach for a casual stroll along the esplanade. Start the day with a wholesome family breakfast or get everyone together for a catch up dinner in the Koastal Kitchen restaurant. The pizzas are fresh from the oven, the grills, salads, tapas to share and seafood fast and fabulous. Kids have their own special menu. Restaurant Opening Hours: Breakfast: 7.00Am - 10.00Am, daily Dinner 5.00Pm - 9.00Pm, daily Room service: Dinner 5.00Pm - 9.00Pm, daily **Photographic ID and a $200 Credit Card Pre Authorisation will be required for check in. No cash deposits taken.** ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Booking.com, Ctrip TA, TripOnline SA, Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, HotelsClick, Cancelon, HotelQuickly and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Mantra Sun City reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mantra Sun City Hotel Surfers Paradise
Mantra Sun City Surfers Paradise, Gold Coast, Australia

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing