We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“At Watermark you get what you pay for.....”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Watermark Hotel & Spa Gold Coast
Ranked #8 of 31 Hotels in Surfers Paradise
Reviewed 19 December 2011

We booked a short stay at Watermark attracted by the location & price. On check-in we were told that because we used booking.com we will be getting the most basic room as per the price. We had requested King Bed, Non-smoking and quiet room...we got the non-smoking. Our room had twin beds and backed onto the elevators which ran up & down all night. We overlooked the very busy Gold Coast Highway. The in-room safe did not work but later we were told that to use it we should have first called the recepton to activate it. The wi-fi incurs an additional charge, and if you add carparking and breakfast it adds 70% more to the room rate! Needless to say there was no 'turn down' service.
We couldn't get the TV to work but hopefully this was operator error.

Room Tip: Request rooms facing the side street or oceanview and away from the lifts.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank James T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,760)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,497 - 1,503 of 1,760 reviews

Reviewed 15 December 2011

Have just spent three nights at Watermark, Surfers Paradise. Only a block from the beach, right in the heart of the restaurant strip, our room was spacious with the most comfortable beds, had wonderful views, was clean and well-equipped with everything needed (including ironing board and iron). Staff were courteous and helpful, and the food vouchers were a great extra. We didn't eat at the hotel, but the restaurants looked and smelt amazing. Couldn't recommend it more highly.

Room Tip: I simply booked through Flight Centre
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Jelliebean43
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 December 2011

On arrival we were able to drive to the front door. Enter the hotel with ease, we were even able to leave the car just aside the entry drive while we checked in and received our car park pass.

The staff at entry were clearly busy. We were not however told that there were repairs going on. Being this our anniversary getaway as we only had 3 days in full we wanted nothing more than to sit in the heated spa and relax.
NO -the pool was out of service on one level and the spa was cold. Several times we had to request help regarding the heat of the spa - it was fast and prompt service. Though being that I had expressly explained this to the staff prior to booking the room - while making the initial phone inquiry I was very upset and disappointe - we had been giving a big bed, buffet breakfast, drinks on arrival and a discounted massage coupon for a 'great price'. compared to what my wife had found up the road for an extra $120 a night - I will never go back!

EVER!

The evening staff were rude; ignored us while we were waiting to get some local information. Were told that the spa being cold should be expected as it was so cold outside; that is not within their control.

The restaurant was asked for a grilled tomato separate from the others due to an egg allergy - they brought out a whole tomato leaving it on the table. It did not look as if it had been washed.

When checking for a spa/massage appointment we were told that they were fully booked and it should have been done at the time of booking - correction: was told that the massage/spa could be booked during our stay, the staff in the spa really did try and help and offered the two of a split half hour - so 15 minutes each. We decided not to accept that; though hotel staff told us we could book during our stay - mixed communications when staying for 2 nights 3 days.
Location ok.

Again not returning ever!

NOTE TRAVEL WAS PRIOR TO JAN 2011 - IT WAS A YEAR PLUS AGO!

Room Tip: Go elsewhere - q1, jupiters!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank AussieLadiesfun
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 December 2011

It got great location. Good for a short stay. I only stay there for one night.
Room is very small and tight. Bed is comfortable though.
I guess what you get what you pay for.

Room Tip: City side room will get afternoon sun if you prefer.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jason526
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 December 2011

very good holiday on the gold coast. hotel is close to main attractions. hotel was very clean and their were always things to do. room quality was very good with beautiful views over surfers paradise.

  • Stayed: February 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Chris L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 December 2011

I stayed at the Watermark in November for an anniversary with my partner. I emailed the concierge at the hotel in the lead up to my holiday to assist with ideas and ways to make my stay a better occasion for my 6 year anniverary. The concierge department did give a few suggestions which was extremely thoughtful. However, we did arrive to find that even though mentioning we were there on an anniversary, no special gesture had been made to our room. In saying that, we had been allocated a room with two double beds in it. I thought this was a bit strange.
The hotel has fantastic facilities. We found that towards the end fo the holiday, Schoolies Week had started, but we didnt need to leave the hotel to enjoy everything that the Watermark had to offer. The pools were great, the gym was ideal, the day spa was relaxing and the restaurants were delicious. The staff fixed all problems we had so I cannot fault them at all
The housekeeping staff were all amazing and friendly, as were Chris in the bar and Kirstie in the spa. All of these people made our stay one to remember and we will definitely be back to stay at your hotel again soon.

  • Stayed: November 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank sodababy1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 November 2011

I stayed 5 nights at standard rm. It has 2 queen size bed and it's very comfortable. However the room & bathroom design is out dated and needs improvement. For a 4.5 star hotel it is not up to standard. Overall the room is clean.

Specially, I would like to mention about the breakfast. They served the same food everyday for my 5 days stay. Not a single change of variety. This is very disappointing as I read some reviews here that their breakfast is very nice.

  • Stayed: November 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Shuhuij3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Surfers Paradise hotels
0.3 mi away
Novotel Surfers Paradise
Novotel Surfers Paradise
#14 of 31 in Surfers Paradise
525 reviews
0.6 mi away
Mantra on View Hotel
Mantra on View Hotel
#10 of 31 in Surfers Paradise
2,987 reviews
0.8 mi away
Crowne Plaza Surfers Paradise
Crowne Plaza Surfers Paradise
#7 of 31 in Surfers Paradise
1,686 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Mantra Legends Hotel
Mantra Legends Hotel
#9 of 31 in Surfers Paradise
2,566 reviews
0.8 mi away
QT Gold Coast
QT Gold Coast
#5 of 31 in Surfers Paradise
2,777 reviews
0.4 mi away
Hilton Surfers Paradise Hotel
Hilton Surfers Paradise Hotel
#13 of 31 in Surfers Paradise
3,365 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Watermark Hotel & Spa Gold Coast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Watermark Hotel & Spa Gold Coast

Address: 3032 Surfers Paradise Boulevard, Surfers Paradise, Gold Coast, Queensland 4217, Australia
Region: Australia > Queensland > Gold Coast > Surfers Paradise
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#2 Best Value Hotel in Surfers Paradise
#4 Spa Hotel in Surfers Paradise
#5 Business Hotel in Surfers Paradise
#6 Romantic Hotel in Surfers Paradise
#8 Luxury Hotel in Surfers Paradise
#8 Family Hotel in Surfers Paradise
Price Range: £75 - £192 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Watermark Hotel & Spa Gold Coast 4.5*
Number of rooms: 388
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Watermark Hotel & Spa is located in the heart of Surfers Paradise, the host of magnificent beaches, shopping and restaurants. The Hotel is ideally positioned on the Surfers Paradise Station of the Light Rail connecting to Gold Coast Convention Centre and Jupiters Casino, or a five minute walk to Cavill Avenue. Guests enjoy a day spa and hair salon, two outdoor swimming pools and spas and fitness centre. Our modern designer rooms enjoy ocean or hinterland views and include a flat-screen TV, fridge and are fully air conditioned. The en suite bathrooms are supplied with essential amenities and a hairdryer. Shared laundry facilities are available. L'Aqua Day Spa boasts a variety of massage treatments, and features premium products to ensure pure indulgence. Waves Buffet Restaurant offers a hot buffet breakfast daily, and an International Buffet for dinner. Visit Clifford's Grill & Lounge and Walrus Social House (bar, gaming, cafe) for a night of great tastes and tempting cocktails. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Expedia, Ebookers, HotelsClick, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, Cancelon and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Watermark Hotel & Spa Gold Coast reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Watermark Hotel And Spa Gold Coast
Watermark Hotel Gold Coast
Watermark Hotel Surfers Paradise
Watermark Hotel & Spa Gold Coast Surfers Paradise, Australia

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing