We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Value for Money - Great Staff” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Watermark Hotel & Spa Gold Coast

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Watermark Hotel & Spa Gold Coast
Ranked #8 of 33 Hotels in Surfers Paradise
Melbourne, Australia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Value for Money - Great Staff”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 October 2012

Me and my companion (Flea) were so impressed by your hotel on our recent stay (18th Sept +)
From check in to check out not one problem (a 5 star feeling)
Absolute value for money
We liked the hotel so much, that we extended our stay for an additional 4 days.

The hotel was well appointed with everything we could ask for.
We made good use of the 2 pools which took benefit of the sun from both sides...+ amazing spa baths. The gym got a good work out too.

Our room was very comfortable with all required conveniences, and had a great beach view as I had requested.

Room service and housekeeping were very prompt and professional.

Inhouse food was great and all the staff were so friendly and helpful...

We spent a bit of time in the bar/gaming room on the first few nights and the staff were great!

Special mention to 'Michael' (Waves Restaurant Manager) who made Flea's Birthday Very Special in brekky service with a Happy Birthday she'll never forget.
Thankyou Michael, you made our stay at Watermark so much fun and even more enjoyable.

Cannot recommend this hotel too highly.
Thankyou to all :)

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Randolph22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
WatermarkGoldCoast, Guest Relations Manager at Watermark Hotel & Spa Gold Coast, responded to this review, 8 October 2012
Many thanks for your lovely comments and taking time to post your review. Guest feedback is very important to us and we are really pleased that you had such a fantastic time. We will also pass your comments on to Michael. We hope to have the opportunity to welcome you back to the hotel one day.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,390 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    425
    617
    230
    67
    51
See reviews for
334
548
74
107
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (285)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 October 2012

This was my 2nd stay at the Watermark. We loved the rooms, service and food. The Waves restaurant puts on a great buffet, so much selection to chose from and a nice atmosphere. We will definitely be staying at the Watermark very soon.

  • Stayed September 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Meggz90
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
WatermarkGoldCoast, Guest Relations Manager at Watermark Hotel & Spa Gold Coast, responded to this review, 8 October 2012
Thank you for your wonderful comments. We are delighted to read that you enjoyed your stay and the Waves seafood buffet restaurant. We look forward to welcoming you back to Watermark Hotel & Spa!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 September 2012 via mobile

Have stayed here before but was years ago. Stayed here with my girlfriend great hotel very poor restraunt. Overpriced and very poor selection of food. I would definitely stay here again just save your cash and go out for dinner

  • Stayed October 2012
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Seanwilson85
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
WatermarkGoldCoast, Guest Relations Manager at Watermark Hotel & Spa Gold Coast, responded to this review, 8 October 2012
Thank you for your feedback. We are pleased to hear you enjoyed your stay, but are disappointed to read your comments about the restaurant. We are not sure whether you visited our Waves International Buffet Restaurant or Amalfi Bistro & Bar, but we are always looking to improve our overall guest experience through great quality, value and service, and will pass on your comments on to our food and beverage department. We hope to welcome you back to the hotel in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Caloundra, Australia
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 September 2012

This hotel was OK. Have stayed in better, have stayed in worse. First time I have ever had to pay $12 per night for parking though. Bed was comfy. Staff were friendly. They probably should have thrown away the bottom sheet on my bed, which had someone else's dried, laundered blood stain on it, and replaced it with a new sheet. Also someone else's hairs in the bed, yuk. Although every 4 1/2 star place I've stayed at on the Gold coast is of similar standard. And for the record, it doesn't take much for a hotel to get a 4 1/2 star rating. Star ratings are not only based on cleanliness and style of the room. As long as they do simple things like have a pool, lift, air con, pay tv, provide a mirror, clock radio, blanket for each bed, coathangers, luggage rack, and shampoo & conditioner, that entitles them to 4 1/2 star, regardless of how old or dated the room looks. I manage an apartment complex on the Sunshine Coast, that's how I know.

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Nicole H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
WatermarkGoldCoast, Guest Relations Manager at Watermark Hotel & Spa Gold Coast, responded to this review, 8 October 2012
Thank you for your comments. We continually strive for excellence across all areas of our hotel and appreciate your comments about our comfy beds and friendly staff. Please note, our parking charges are comparable with similar hotels in the area. However, your points about the sheets are unacceptable and this issue has been addressed internally. Please be aware that we work hard to maintain our 4 ½ star rating which AAA determinesby assessing facilities & services, cleanliness and quality & condition. Once again, thank you for your feedback and we hope we have the opportunity to welcome you back to the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brisbane, Australia
Level Contributor
162 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 September 2012

We have stayed at this hotel several times. It is centrally located between Surfers and Broadbeach. The rooms are quite large and well appointed. We were on the 17th floor and had glimpses of the ocean between other high rises. The beds were very comfy and the shower was perfect - strong with excellent temperature control. Our room was very quiet. All the staff we dealt with were very pleasant and accommodating.

Room Tip: Ask for an ocean facing room - these are not affected by the Western sun.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Frank C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
WatermarkGoldCoast, Guest Relations Manager at Watermark Hotel & Spa Gold Coast, responded to this review, 8 October 2012
Many thanks for taking the time to post such a lovely review. We regularly receive great comments about the comfort of our beds and see that on this occasion you stayed in a Deluxe room. They are on higher floors in the hotel which often means they are quieter and yes, many do have ocean glimpses. We also appreciate the kind feedback about our staff and look forward to welcoming you back soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brisbane
Level Contributor
136 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 75 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 September 2012

Having booked a club king watermark room with lastminute.com.au. After checking out what we get in the 'club' room on the watermark hotel website, we were excited and happy! On the hotel's website http://www.watermarkhotelgoldcoast.com.au/club-watermark-rooms it states all the benefits that we get staying in a 'club' room on the 19th floor, however when ringing up to check all the benefits included in our room they informed me that because we booked through lastminute.com.au we don't get these benefits and if we had of booked through the hotel's website we would have got all the benefits - which cost the same as what we paid! Their website is definitely misleading! In the elevator it even states that we were in the 'club' watermark section - hence one would think that they are entitled to what the website states!

Parking was $12 a night, far too expensive and there were certainly not enough parks for one car per every room! Cars were parked in non-designated parks because there simply was not enough room, making it dangerous and crowded in the car park!

The TV was a nightmare, we were entitled to the normal free to air channels and some foxtel channels. Half of the free to air chanenls were not working and required a 'password.' My fiance called reception but they said, 'No we don't have a password I will get an engineer to come and look at it.' I was half asleep, it was 11.30pm at night, we didn't want him coming up there, we just wanted the reaking TV working!

The hairdryer wasn't working either!

The restaurants although nice were expensive. We dined at the Amalfi Bistro Bar restaurant which was nice but a limited choice of food and expensive and they make you sit 'on top of each other'!

The bed was comfortable though! It was in a pretty good location - a 5 minute walk to the center of surfer's paradise and about a 2 minute walk to the beach. The rooms were clean but small.

Also many tour groups stayed there which clogged up the elevators and pool!

I don't think it should be rated 4.5 * and wouldn't stay their again.

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Emma-Leigh S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
WatermarkGoldCoast, Guest Relations Manager at Watermark Hotel & Spa Gold Coast, responded to this review, 8 October 2012
Thank you for your feedback and kind comments about our comfortable beds and location. Guest feedback is very valuable to us and we are disappointed to hear about your experience. We have looked into your reservation and unfortunately, you had booked a Club room only so you were not entitled to the extra benefits which are actually part of the Club Premier Experience package. The Club Premier Experience package can be booked on the Lastminute website or direct on our website and, on behalf of the staff member that misinformed you, we apologise for the confusion.

Your comments about parking, the TV, our restaurant and facilities will be used constructively to maintain and improve, where necessary. We have passed this information on internally and appreciate you taking the time to post this review.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brighton, Queensland, Australia
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 September 2012

This hotel is not up to scratch, it's self rated as a 5 star, more like 4. We paid extra for premier club experience & found the stingiest club lounge of any hotel I have stayed at. A very lame selection of chopped vegies & potato chips with serving tongs? & 4 teeny canapes on a plate. Our baby was with us, I was unaware we couldn't enter their club lounge with a baby (nothing on internet) but soon found out when we tried to have breakfast next morning. The power tripping host told us to 'sit down' whilst she waited for authourisation if we could stay. Finally she escorted us around a corner out of view from other guests & proceeded to argue with me until we decided to just leave. We felt like naughty school kids & we were not offered any other alternative to have breakfast elsewhere in the hotel since the sight of a baby was such a problem.
Rooms are dated & tired, the Q1 is directly in front of this hotel blocking the ocean views (you can see ocean around it). It only reminded me of how much better my stay was at the Q1 last visit.

Room Tip: Stay at the Q1 in front of hotel for better views
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, travelled with family
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
6 Thank Katarena U
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
WatermarkGoldCoast, Guest Relations Manager at Watermark Hotel & Spa Gold Coast, responded to this review, 8 October 2012
Thank you for your feedback. Watermark Hotel & Spa is a AAA 4 ½ star rated hotel and our Club rooms are rated 5 star. We would like to sincerely apologise for your Club Lounge experience. Please be assured that these issues are being addressed internally and moving forwards our new policy is to allow children into Club Lounge, provided they do not misbehave and are supervised by their parents. Please be aware that we take guest feedback very seriously and agree that this situation should have been handled differently. It is very important to us that all guests are made to feel welcome in our hotel, including families.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Surfers Paradise hotels
0.2 mi away
Novotel Surfers Paradise
Novotel Surfers Paradise
#17 of 33 in Surfers Paradise
3.5 of 5 bubbles 224 reviews
0.8 mi away
QT Gold Coast
QT Gold Coast
#4 of 33 in Surfers Paradise
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,545 reviews
0.8 mi away
Crowne Plaza Surfers Paradise
Crowne Plaza Surfers Paradise
#6 of 33 in Surfers Paradise
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,130 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Mantra on View Hotel
Mantra on View Hotel
#12 of 33 in Surfers Paradise
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,258 reviews
0.4 mi away
Mantra Circle on Cavill
Mantra Circle on Cavill
#7 of 33 in Surfers Paradise
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,668 reviews
0.5 mi away
Vibe Hotel Gold Coast
Vibe Hotel Gold Coast
#18 of 33 in Surfers Paradise
3.5 of 5 bubbles 2,795 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Watermark Hotel & Spa Gold Coast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Watermark Hotel & Spa Gold Coast

Property: Watermark Hotel & Spa Gold Coast
Address: 3032 Surfers Paradise Boulevard, Surfers Paradise, Gold Coast, Queensland 4217, Australia
Region: Australia > Queensland > Gold Coast > Surfers Paradise
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#4 Spa Hotel in Surfers Paradise
#5 Business Hotel in Surfers Paradise
#6 Romantic Hotel in Surfers Paradise
#8 Luxury Hotel in Surfers Paradise
#8 Family Hotel in Surfers Paradise
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Watermark Hotel & Spa Gold Coast 4.5*
Number of rooms: 388
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Watermark Hotel & Spa is located in the heart of Surfers Paradise, the host of magnificent beaches, shopping and restaurants. Guests enjoy a day spa and hair salon, two outdoor swimming pools and spas, a fitness centre and games room. Our modern designer rooms enjoy ocean or hinterland views and include a flat-screen TV, fridge and are fully air conditioned. The en suite bathrooms are supplied with essential amenities and a hairdryer. Shared laundry facilities are available. L'Aqua Day Spa boasts a variety of massage treatments, and features premium products to ensure pure indulgence. Waves Buffet Restaurant offers a hot buffet breakfast daily, and an International Buffet for dinner. Visit Clifford's Grill & Lounge and Walrus Social House (bar, gaming, cafe) for a night of great tastes and tempting cocktails. The Hotel is ideally positioned on the Surfers Paradise Station of the Light Rail connecting to Gold Coast Convention Centre and Jupiters Casino, or a five minute walk to Cavill Avenue. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Agoda, Odigeo and Hotels.com so you can book your Watermark Hotel & Spa Gold Coast reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Watermark Hotel And Spa Gold Coast
Watermark Hotel Gold Coast
Watermark Hotel Surfers Paradise
Watermark Hotel & Spa Gold Coast Surfers Paradise, Australia

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing