We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Hit and Miss”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Watermark Hotel & Spa Gold Coast
Ranked #8 of 31 Hotels in Surfers Paradise
Adelaide, South Australia, Australia
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Hit and Miss”
Reviewed 21 April 2013

Just our luck perhaps... that when we turn down the bed, we found other people hairs in bed. Just our luck also that at the end, we have to move to other room because the Internet TV not working. Initial slow responses when receiving complain. But when the Manager came, things got sorted out, which we appreciate very much.
My husband loves the seafood buffet for dinner. Cost around $100 for 2 with hotel's voucher (food&drink). Location is good, close to restaurants and shops. Personally, I prefer they left the small fridge empty so I can fill it with my own drink/food (cheaper).

Room Tip: Higher floors for better view. If you want sea view, be prepared to have some of it blocked by a nei...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MEC5020
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
WatermarkGoldCoast, Guest Relations Manager at Watermark Hotel & Spa Gold Coast, responded to this review, 1 May 2013
Thank you for your review and comments. It’s great to hear that you, like a lot of our guests, loved the seafood buffet at Waves Restaurant. We apologise that there were some problems initially and are happy our manager was able to solve these promptly for you. Please be assured your other comments have been addressed internally with housekeeping and maintenance. We look forward to welcoming you back to the hotel one day soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,477 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    464
    647
    241
    72
    53
See reviews for
353
581
79
118
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (295)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Brisbane, Australia
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 18 April 2013 via mobile

We booked for one night stay at the hotel. We had a great time staying. Our room was at 18th floor and view was so beautiful. One thing was missing is a balcony which would have been big plus. We had morning breakfast at waves restaurant which was really nice too, staff were friendly and service was great too. Club lounge access as a complimentary was enjoyable too. Though its a nice room, we found it bit smaller in size. Had a good swim at the Pool and Jacuzzi was warm and nice. Overall we had a pleasant experience staying at Watermark

Stayed April 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank K_Aftab
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
WatermarkGoldCoast, Guest Relations Manager at Watermark Hotel & Spa Gold Coast, responded to this review, 30 April 2013
Thank you for your review. We agree, Waves restaurant is a lovely place to enjoy a relaxed, buffet breakfast and are delighted you had a chance to enjoy our pool and spa. We look forward to welcoming you to our hotel again in the near future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, New South Wales, Australia
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 April 2013

Spent 3 nights here with family late Jan 2013. The room is average size with 2 queen beds. Just right for 2 young boys. View was great next to Q1 and great ocean views on the 17 floor!
The bar was great though the restaurant is a bit pricey. Just a short walk to main Cavill avenue.
Great stay over all.

  • Stayed January 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Dennison A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
WatermarkGoldCoast, Guest Relations Manager at Watermark Hotel & Spa Gold Coast, responded to this review, 30 April 2013
Thank you for your comments. We are thrilled to read that you enjoyed the hotel and our services. Guests often comment about the great location and the convenience of being a short stroll to Cavill Avenue and we see this was perfect for you too. We look forward to seeing you at the Watermark Hotel & Spa again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne, Victoria, Australia
Level 1 Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 April 2013

Awesome stay for the first week of school holidays with my son. Stayed in recently re-furbished rooms with brand new furnishings and beds for an extra $15 a night which they waived. All service was exceptional. The only recommendation would be to include a music video channel for in room entertainment.

Room Tip: request a refurbished superior room
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Travis R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
WatermarkGoldCoast, Guest Relations Manager at Watermark Hotel & Spa Gold Coast, responded to this review, 1 May 2013
Many thanks for taking the time to post your review. We are really pleased you and your son enjoyed our new Superior refurbished rooms. Other guest feedback has been extremely positive as well and as a result, we are planning to refurbish more floors. We will also look into providing a music channel for guests- thanks for the suggestion. We hope to welcome you back to the hotel again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Auckland Region, New Zealand
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 April 2013

I spent 6 nights here in April 2013 with my sister and found everything to our liking. All the staff were very helpful, and our room was very comfortable there were 2 queen beds and the pillows were some of the loveliest I have ever slept with. The view from the room was great, waking up each morning with views of the ocean and Q1 building. As we were not interested in the TV it did not matter that there was no information on how to use it but I am sure that had we asked it could have been provided. Thanks to Andy and all the staff for a great stay.

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Sandra S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
WatermarkGoldCoast, Guest Relations Manager at Watermark Hotel & Spa Gold Coast, responded to this review, 30 April 2013
Thank you for such wonderful feedback. We are delighted to see our team ensured you had a pleasant stay and you enjoyed the room. We look forward to seeing you again at the hotel.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Morpeth, Australia
Level 5 Contributor
81 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 April 2013

We arrived in a hurry, check in was excellent and fast, went to the room, wanted to grab a snack and drink from mini-bar only to find there wasn't one! We were later told that they removed the minibars because guests wanted to use the fridges for storing their own food & drinks! and that we could order from room service (for an added delivery charge, having to wait, and only having meals not a packet of chips or chocolate bar). Add to that the TV didn't work properly, and there was no guest compendium to give instructions on how to use the TV or an in house phone directory. Overall a nice place to stay, good value on a getaway package but it is the little things that make a difference and more is expected from a 4-5 star hotel. Amalfi restaurant was excellent.

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank antlaw
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
WatermarkGoldCoast, Guest Relations Manager at Watermark Hotel & Spa Gold Coast, responded to this review, 1 May 2013
Thank you for your feedback. We are delighted to see you enjoyed Amalfi and found our hotel great value. Based on feedback from other guests, we have removed the mini bar to allow a space for guests to store their own items. For guests that would like minibars, they are available in Club rooms and these items can also be purchased from Za’Ba on the ground floor. We apologise that you were not informed of this. We see that you had issues with your TV and please be assured your comments are being addressed internally. Once again, thank you for your feedback. We hope to welcome you back to the hotel in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Revesby
Level 4 Contributor
31 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 April 2013

Stayed here for a weekend with my husband. Beautiful hotel, close to everything and the day spa was wonderful. My only (slight) criticism would relate to the breakfast was heavily Asian based and that wasn't to my taste

  • Stayed February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank KarenRevesby
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
WatermarkGoldCoast, Guest Relations Manager at Watermark Hotel & Spa Gold Coast, responded to this review, 1 May 2013
Thank you for your lovely comments regarding the hotel and our location. Our Chef works hard to ensure our international buffet breakfast appeals to western and eastern tastes but we will pass on your comments. We look forward to hosting you again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Surfers Paradise hotels
0.3 mi away
Novotel Surfers Paradise
Novotel Surfers Paradise
#14 of 31 in Surfers Paradise
413 reviews
0.8 mi away
Crowne Plaza Surfers Paradise
Crowne Plaza Surfers Paradise
#7 of 31 in Surfers Paradise
1,627 reviews
0.8 mi away
QT Gold Coast
QT Gold Coast
#4 of 31 in Surfers Paradise
2,661 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Mantra on View Hotel
Mantra on View Hotel
#11 of 31 in Surfers Paradise
2,647 reviews
0.1 mi away
Mantra Legends Hotel
Mantra Legends Hotel
#9 of 31 in Surfers Paradise
2,257 reviews
0.4 mi away
Hilton Surfers Paradise Hotel
Hilton Surfers Paradise Hotel
#13 of 31 in Surfers Paradise
3,233 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Watermark Hotel & Spa Gold Coast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Watermark Hotel & Spa Gold Coast

Property: Watermark Hotel & Spa Gold Coast
Address: 3032 Surfers Paradise Boulevard, Surfers Paradise, Gold Coast, Queensland 4217, Australia
Region: Australia > Queensland > Gold Coast > Surfers Paradise
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Best Value Hotel in Surfers Paradise
#4 Spa Hotel in Surfers Paradise
#5 Business Hotel in Surfers Paradise
#6 Romantic Hotel in Surfers Paradise
#8 Family Hotel in Surfers Paradise
#8 Luxury Hotel in Surfers Paradise
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Watermark Hotel & Spa Gold Coast 4.5*
Number of rooms: 388
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Watermark Hotel & Spa is located in the heart of Surfers Paradise, the host of magnificent beaches, shopping and restaurants. The Hotel is ideally positioned on the Surfers Paradise Station of the Light Rail connecting to Gold Coast Convention Centre and Jupiters Casino, or a five minute walk to Cavill Avenue. Guests enjoy a day spa and hair salon, two outdoor swimming pools and spas and fitness centre. Our modern designer rooms enjoy ocean or hinterland views and include a flat-screen TV, fridge and are fully air conditioned. The en suite bathrooms are supplied with essential amenities and a hairdryer. Shared laundry facilities are available. L'Aqua Day Spa boasts a variety of massage treatments, and features premium products to ensure pure indulgence. Waves Buffet Restaurant offers a hot buffet breakfast daily, and an International Buffet for dinner. Visit Clifford's Grill & Lounge and Walrus Social House (bar, gaming, cafe) for a night of great tastes and tempting cocktails. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Odigeo, Ebookers, Hotels.com, Ctrip TA, Priceline, TripOnline SA, 5viajes2012 S.L., HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Watermark Hotel & Spa Gold Coast reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Watermark Hotel And Spa Gold Coast
Watermark Hotel Gold Coast
Watermark Hotel Surfers Paradise
Watermark Hotel & Spa Gold Coast Surfers Paradise, Australia

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing