We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Disappointing”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Watermark Hotel & Spa Gold Coast
Ranked #8 of 32 Hotels in Surfers Paradise
Toogoolawah Qld
Level Contributor
10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Disappointing”
Reviewed 25 June 2013

Booked through the web with what appeared to read a 'refurbished' room & paid that advertised rate. The room was still in need of refurbishment & was very average & not well cleaned. The 'hot' part of the breakfast buffet was only lukewarm - otherwise a wide selection of other foods. On the plus side: the staff were friendly, welcoming & efficient; the location is great & my concerns addressed to management were addressed promptly.

Room Tip: try to stay on the side facing the Q1, it has lovely views of the beach & sunrise.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MazanMal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
WatermarkHotel, Guest Relations Manager at Watermark Hotel & Spa Gold Coast, responded to this review, 4 July 2013
Thank you very much for your review. We are glad that you enjoyed the location, our staff and that management were able to address you concerns promptly. Your concerns regarding the room have been passed on to housekeeping and addressed internally. We hope to welcome you back again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,430 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    446
    628
    235
    70
    51
See reviews for
340
569
74
111
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (292)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Brisbane, Australia
Level Contributor
36 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 June 2013

Great hotel, good prices, facilities are good, front office staff (esp I believe it was Andrew??) werw excellent and most helpful. Very friendly and a great first impression of hotel. Waves Buffet is great too. Only gripe I have is the dated bathroom, impossible to turn shower on without getting wet by cold water due to the style of it!

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank kamsav
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
WatermarkHotel, Guest Relations Manager at Watermark Hotel & Spa Gold Coast, responded to this review, 4 July 2013
Thanks so much for sharing your thoughts with us. It’s great to hear that you were happy with the staff, hotel and restaurant. Your comments regarding the bathroom have been passed on to our engineering department. We look forward to welcoming you back to the hotel.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Queensland
Level Contributor
39 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 June 2013

Stayed here in May 2013 overnight for a friends birthday. Room was refurbished but nothing special at all. Check in and out was a nightmare, no communication between staff. I booked two rooms (fully paid! paid parking, paid late checkout and paid breakfast! so not cheap!) but my friend couldn't check in until I was with her. When I showed up they tried to tell us that she had already been given the key. What the? On check out they tried to charge me an extra $25 for god knows what, even though I had paid in full before arriving. Beware of paid parking - they wanted to valet park my new car 'offsite'. No thanks. They tried to tell me at valet that spots were limited under cover at the hotel, I told them I would take my chances and found plenty of parks. Very dodgy! Buffet breakfast looked amazing... But was not. It felt like the staff did not even want to be there, I had to ask several times for clean knives and forks as there were none at the Buffet. The staff were more concerned about setting up for lunch then attending to the breakfast patrons. The only good thing about the watermark is its omelette chef at breakfast. A bit of personality and service goes a long way. He knew his stuff and actually had to usher someone over to give me clean cutlery,

Room Tip: Book here as a last resort really... No tips.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ser S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
WatermarkHotel, Guest Relations Manager at Watermark Hotel & Spa Gold Coast, responded to this review, 4 July 2013
Thank you for thoughts on your recent stay with us. We are glad that you enjoyed the omelette chef at breakfast. We often receive great feedback regarding our staff and it is most disappointing to read that you had a different experience. Thank you again for your review, we hope to have the opportunity to redeem ourselves to you and show you what true Watermark service is all about.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bulli, Australia
Level Contributor
106 reviews
46 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 June 2013

Stayed here with kids and found it to be reasonable. The breakfast was not as good as I have had previously in 5* hotels , it was the usual breakfast fare which was substantial.

The room is quite basic and nice enough considering we got a really good room rate.

I have stayed in plenty of great hotels and apartments over the years on the Gold Coast , I would stay here again though if the price was good.

  • Stayed January 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank maryado
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
WatermarkHotel, Guest Relations Manager at Watermark Hotel & Spa Gold Coast, responded to this review, 4 July 2013
Thank you for your review. It is pleasing to read that you enjoyed your stay and would choose us again. We are actually rated 4.5 so our offering is slightly different to what would be available for a 5 star, we are more focused around provided great quality at great value. We hope to welcome you back to the hotel in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
25 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 June 2013

The Watermark s at a good location, easy to find. Some rooms are refurbished, some not. I stayed in an older one which all over it was ok. We had to request every day to get the heating turned on as in June it's cold on the Gold Coast too. I had one dat the W Lounge package booked which is great value and a good thing to book. The last night they did not allow me to book it again as it was booked out. This was annoying and seemed me very inflexible, I can't agree with an argument that the system does not allow it. Systems are man made and can be altered to suit customer needs and raise revenue....

Room Tip: Try to get a refurbished room and the club W lounge package
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank funracer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
WatermarkHotel, Guest Relations Manager at Watermark Hotel & Spa Gold Coast, responded to this review, 4 July 2013
Thank you for your review. We are delighted to see you enjoyed the location of the hotel and took advantage of the W Lounge package which includes free car parking, continental breakfast, evening canapés and drinks and late check out. The W Lounge has been very popular since its recent launch and we do have a maximum capacity to ensure the comfort of all patrons. We apologise for not being able to book you in on your last night, but wanted to let you know W Lounge is often booked out, particularly on a weekend. We hope to welcome you back to the hotel soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brisbane, Australia
Level Contributor
75 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 June 2013

We stayed for one night in June 2013. The hotel is well located, easy access to shops, restaurants, beach etc. Car parking available underneath building for $15. per night. Counter staff were friendly and helpful and the rooms were very clean and tidy and of average size for an Australian hotel room. The hotel has been renovated in recent times and is quite presentable.
The only disappointment was the downstairs Sports Bar where the bartender was unable to make a cocktail and the general ambience was tacky. We chose to have breakfast out at one of the many cafes along the beachfront, so cannot comment on the food quality. All in all, a very good value, comfortable overnighter.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Stevo58
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
WatermarkHotel, Guest Relations Manager at Watermark Hotel & Spa Gold Coast, responded to this review, 4 July 2013
Thank you for taking the time to share your thoughts. We were delighted to read that you had an enjoyable stay and appreciated our central location in Surfers Paradise. We do have some very exciting plans in the pipeline for the sports bar, so please be assured it will be changing for the better in the near future. We hope to welcome you back to the hotel soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brisbane
Level Contributor
60 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 June 2013

I stayed here with my daughter and son in June 2013. Simply in need of a night away, to keep warm in winter, kick back with in house movies and room service... this hotel had the right last minute rate and better yet, impressed me with it's claim of 4.5 star luxury. That's not what I'd class this hotel as. In reality it's more like 4 star. The valet parking was the most impressive... we were welcomed by an elderly gentleman, who was so professional and pleasant. Reception service was average. Rooms were nicely decorated, with comfortable beds. TV was broken and had to be fixed, but was tended to promptly. Room service meal options were very basic and consisted of pizzas, burgers and 3 pasta choices... disappointing of a so called luxury hotel. The bathroom was the biggest let down by far... very dated, tiles appeared to have not been cleaned in some time, the anti-slip grips in the bottom of the tub were filthy and the tile grout was mouldy and cracked. The crowd in the foyer, gave away, the class of traveler this hotel most draws in.... lower to middle class... those on a budget and the behavior of clientele, certainly reflected this. Buffet breakfast was included in our package, but was very, very basic. Overall, it's a comfortable hotel, in a good location, but it IS NOT luxury by any means and the food options are poor to average. The dirty bathroom was a huge put off and I would not return to this hotel again or recommend to anyone else... if you want real luxury, the Sofitel, whilst more pricey, has a far more civilised clientele base and is true quality and luxury, with service to back it up!

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ket72
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
WatermarkHotel, Guest Relations Manager at Watermark Hotel & Spa Gold Coast, responded to this review, 4 July 2013
Thank you for your review. We appreciate that you took advantage of our valet parking service and that concierge were pleasant and professional. We were disappointed to read that your expectations were not met during your stay. We take great pride in our cleanliness and have passed on your comments to housekeeping. We are glad to read that you found the hotel to be conveniently located and comfortable. Thanks again for your review and we hope to redeem ourselves on your next visit.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Surfers Paradise hotels
0.3 mi away
Novotel Surfers Paradise
Novotel Surfers Paradise
#14 of 32 in Surfers Paradise
3.5 of 5 bubbles 345 reviews
0.8 mi away
QT Gold Coast
QT Gold Coast
#4 of 32 in Surfers Paradise
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,607 reviews
0.8 mi away
Crowne Plaza Surfers Paradise
Crowne Plaza Surfers Paradise
#6 of 32 in Surfers Paradise
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,167 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Mantra on View Hotel
Mantra on View Hotel
#11 of 32 in Surfers Paradise
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,463 reviews
0.4 mi away
Mantra Circle on Cavill
Mantra Circle on Cavill
#7 of 32 in Surfers Paradise
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,957 reviews
0.4 mi away
Hilton Surfers Paradise Hotel
Hilton Surfers Paradise Hotel
#12 of 32 in Surfers Paradise
4.0 of 5 bubbles 3,174 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Watermark Hotel & Spa Gold Coast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Watermark Hotel & Spa Gold Coast

Property: Watermark Hotel & Spa Gold Coast
Address: 3032 Surfers Paradise Boulevard, Surfers Paradise, Gold Coast, Queensland 4217, Australia
Region: Australia > Queensland > Gold Coast > Surfers Paradise
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#4 Spa Hotel in Surfers Paradise
#5 Business Hotel in Surfers Paradise
#6 Romantic Hotel in Surfers Paradise
#8 Luxury Hotel in Surfers Paradise
#8 Family Hotel in Surfers Paradise
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Watermark Hotel & Spa Gold Coast 4.5*
Number of rooms: 388
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Watermark Hotel & Spa is located in the heart of Surfers Paradise, the host of magnificent beaches, shopping and restaurants. The Hotel is ideally positioned on the Surfers Paradise Station of the Light Rail connecting to Gold Coast Convention Centre and Jupiters Casino, or a five minute walk to Cavill Avenue. Guests enjoy a day spa and hair salon, two outdoor swimming pools and spas and fitness centre. Our modern designer rooms enjoy ocean or hinterland views and include a flat-screen TV, fridge and are fully air conditioned. The en suite bathrooms are supplied with essential amenities and a hairdryer. Shared laundry facilities are available. L'Aqua Day Spa boasts a variety of massage treatments, and features premium products to ensure pure indulgence. Waves Buffet Restaurant offers a hot buffet breakfast daily, and an International Buffet for dinner. Visit Clifford's Grill & Lounge and Walrus Social House (bar, gaming, cafe) for a night of great tastes and tempting cocktails. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Agoda, Odigeo, Hotels.com, Priceline, TravelUp, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Watermark Hotel & Spa Gold Coast reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Watermark Hotel And Spa Gold Coast
Watermark Hotel Gold Coast
Watermark Hotel Surfers Paradise
Watermark Hotel & Spa Gold Coast Surfers Paradise, Australia

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing