We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Watermark Hotel & Spa Gold Coast
Nearby Hotels
Novotel Surfers Paradise(Surfers Paradise)
US$121
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$109
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Pool
  • Beachfront
Peppers Soul(Surfers Paradise)
US$420
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$268
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$188
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$151
Marriott Hotels
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Hilton Surfers Paradise(Surfers Paradise)(Great Value!)
US$165
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$132
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Pool
  • Beachfront
Crowne Plaza Surfers Paradise(Surfers Paradise)(Great Value!)
US$108
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$103
CrownePlaza.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
Mantra on View Hotel(Surfers Paradise)(Great Value!)
US$165
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$135
Agoda.com
View Deal
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
Mantra Circle on Cavill(Surfers Paradise)(Great Value!)
US$266
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$167
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
Q1 Resort and Spa(Surfers Paradise)(Great Value!)
US$227
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
Paradise Resort Gold Coast(Surfers Paradise)
US$194
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$153
Agoda.com
View Deal
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
Mantra Legends Hotel(Surfers Paradise)(Great Value!)
US$132
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$109
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
Reviews (2,010)
Filter reviews
2,010 results
Traveller rating
704
833
301
99
73
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
704
833
301
99
73
Show reviews that mention
All reviewswaves restauranttram stopbuffet restaurantgold coastdeluxe roomper daylight railcar parkcentral locationwould stay againacross the roadcavill avesurfer's paradiseocean viewwalruspoolssurfers
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
1,483 - 1,488 of 2,010 reviews
Reviewed 16 October 2013

Overall this was a reasonable enough hotel but certainly not five star. We paid the right price for what I would consider a four star property, so am satisfied with our booking but I wouldn't choose to stay here again unless price was my primary factor.

We arrived via Gold Coast Shuttle from Coolangatta airport. The hotel driveway, for the four days / nights we were here, was constantly blocked with coaches, minivans, taxis and random locals. Running the gauntlet of smokers puffing away in the designated smoking area outside the front door is never a good start for me, and entering the lobby reminded me of a new car salesroom; white tiles, white walls, cavernous ceiling. Oh, and a souvenir (tat) shop...

Front desk service was pleasant enough and we didn't eat in any of the restaurants, but the bar (and bar service) was a real let down. Gloomy and lacking in any atmosphere it boasted several TVs tuned to MTV 80s hits, news and sports. Depending on the night of the week you'll be sharing the bar with blokes on a bucks do, wedding party guests, lost couples searching for somewhere fun or ... no-one.

The location is fine (see below) and the room was adequate. If you decide to book, ask for a hinterland view; the hotel is about a block inland from the beach and there are a few damn big skyscrapers in the way of it and the ocean, but the view to the west over the canals and mountains is very nice indeed.

Pros:
* about four blocks south of the main Surfers Paradise mall - close enough to walk easily, far enough to avoid disturbances.
* one block west of the beach - easy walking distance to the water.
* nice view from a hinterland (west facing) room.
* large room with twin queen size beds.
* pleasant decor with tea/coffee making facilities.

Cons:
* despite (apparently) being a refurbished room, the bathroom was very tired - if you're tall like me, expect to do the usual bend-ze-knees to get your head under the (small) shower faucet.
* despite featuring a large wardrobe (but with only six hangers) there were no drawers or shelves to store underwear, t-shirts, jumpers etc.
* no desk in the room (you're only on holiday in Surfers apparently).
* right now (October 2013) there's road construction right in front of the hotel for the pending light rail; no major drama until you step outside where it's noisy, dusty and difficult to cross the road due to the the barricades.
* due to the roadworks, the hotel pool (which is outside on the first floor, right above the construction) is not a relaxing environment.

Room Tip: Room 1120 features twin queen size beds and a lovely view to the hinterland. Bathroom is dated and there are no drawers / shelves for clothes storage but imagine that's the same in all rooms. And it's just the right distance from the elevators - no noise, but close by.
  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Ozzielass
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
WatermarkHotel, Guest Relations Manager at Watermark Hotel & Spa Gold Coast, responded to this reviewResponded 30 October 2013

Thank you for your detailed review. Yes, we are a 4.5 star property and the hotel is a very popular place to stay, particularly in October, which is why there were many vehicles in the driveway. It’s great to see you enjoyed our central location, the room and the views. Whilst our sports bar is still very popular, we are planning an exciting refurbishment next year, so we hope you have the chance to check it out. All guest rooms feature round tables, but not full desks so we apologise that you were unhappy with this factor. The reason is because the majority of our guests are holidaymakers. The light rail is well on its way to completion and we are really looking forward to introducing it to our guests as there will be a station for easy transport right outside the hotel. Unfortunately, there has been a little pain with the construction, but we believe it will be worthwhile for our guests once up and running. We see that you were not happy with our level 1 pool due to the construction, but wanted to let you know we have another pool on the other side of the hotel on level 2 which has not been affected – we hope you used this one instead. Thank you for your comments.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 October 2013

Stayed here for a weekend with the family, good facilities, great location easy access to beaches and shopping . Room was well appointed a little bit on the small side and it had great views of the coastline.

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank andres V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
WatermarkHotel, Guest Relations Manager at Watermark Hotel & Spa Gold Coast, responded to this reviewResponded 30 October 2013

Thank you very much for your review. We’re pleased that you and your family enjoyed your stay and the hotel’s central Surfers Paradise location. We note that you appreciated our facilities and hope you also managed to try our popular buffet restaurant, Waves, or the luxurious L’Aqua Day Spa. We hope to welcome you to the hotel again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 October 2013

Stayed here for a weekend with my family. The view from my room was amazing and it's very close to the beach, The only downside is that the room could have been bigger and more spacious. Otherwise, everything was great and I'd stay here again.

Stayed: September 2013, travelled with family
1  Thank T P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
WatermarkHotel, Guest Relations Manager at Watermark Hotel & Spa Gold Coast, responded to this reviewResponded 14 October 2013

Thank you so much for your review. We agree that the hotel is very well located and it’s great being just a short stroll to the heart of Surfers Paradise and a block from the beach. We are sorry that our rooms were not as spacious as you had hoped but would like to let you know that we do have larger suites available if you’d like to consider one of them for your next stay. Thanks again for your review and we look forward to welcoming you back soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 October 2013

I booked a Spa suite but upgraded into the Chairmans Suite which was excellent. It has a great full size spa with an out door entertaining area, and lounge area, with wet bar.
IF you are going to have some friends up and a few drinks, or entertain the wife/girlfriend, this room is a winner!

The Club Lounge, or W Lounge is not worth it for the food. Unlike other lounges in hotels where you get canapé's and evening drinks, this lounge only catered on small plate of hot food per person. You did not have access to the food and you only had one plate per person. When I got my plate it was cold and tasted like yesterdays food, so it wasn't the best at all !
The beers were cold and refreshing and a good start to the night, but that's about all.

Breakfast in the W Lounge is just cereal and toast, nothing special. I wouldn't upgrade or pay extra for the lounge, as im sure you can get better food for less of a price on the street somewhere at a nice café.

Overall the hotel was nice, front staff were friendly and concierge were helpful. There is a lot of road works happening at the moment so it can be a little noisy at times.

Room Tip: Choose a suite room for a spacious and comfortable room that you will enjoy!
  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank OzTravels80
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
WatermarkHotel, Guest Relations Manager at Watermark Hotel & Spa Gold Coast, responded to this reviewResponded 14 October 2013

Thank you so much for your review. We obviously hit the mark on most things during your stay including the luxurious Chairman’s Suite, but are sorry to see that you were disappointed with the W Lounge. We usually receive fantastic comments about how great it is with a continental breakfast for 2, car parking, late checkout, all day refreshments and evening canapés and drinks for just $55. We will, of course, pass your feedback on and look into the canapés for you. We are, however very pleased that you found our staff to be friendly and helpful as customer service is of the highest priority at the hotel. We look forward to hosting you again in the future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 October 2013

Stayed at Watermark for 2 nights while on Gold Coast for business. First thing is that the hotel has undergone a partial renovation and you have to make sure you are getting a renovated room. A colleague was originally put in a unrenovated room and it was dirty, mouldy and generally unpleasant. After getting moved to a renovated room all was good however.

I was in a twin due to it being busy period and booked hotel late. This made room a bit small due to 2 beds in room but still comfortable. The renovation has been done very well and once all rooms are complete it will definately help the hotel. Only significant negative for rooms is that while there is no noise transfer from adjacent rooms you hear a lot of noise from corridor outside room. If you are a light sleeper this could be a problem given the large number of kids and teenagers staying in hotel at various times.

Gym in hotel is basic but good enough if you're looking to get in a bit of a light workout.

My room rate came with breakfast included. Fairly typical hotel buffet breakfast really. If you get it included fine but I wouldn't pay extra for it, save your money and go to a local cafe or coffee shop and buy a decent breakfast for less money.

Room Tip: Make sure to ask for renovated room - Unrenovated are dirty and not value for money
  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Vaino
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
WatermarkHotel, Guest Relations Manager at Watermark Hotel & Spa Gold Coast, responded to this reviewResponded 14 October 2013

Thank you for taking the time to share your review. The hotel has undergone a partial renovation and we are very excited to see that you were happy with our renovated rooms. By next month, all of our Superior rooms (which make up two thirds of the hotel) will be complete. Great to see you had the chance to experience the gym and buffet breakfast. We look forward to welcoming you back to the hotel one day.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews