We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Waves Restaurant Christmas Day Lunch”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Watermark Hotel & Spa Gold Coast
Ranked #8 of 32 Hotels in Surfers Paradise
Coffs Harbour, Australia
Level Contributor
28 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“Waves Restaurant Christmas Day Lunch”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 January 2014 via mobile

Whilst we didn't stay at the Hotel.. I wish to make comment regarding the Christmas Day Lunch... I chose Waves Restaurant through the web as we were travelling from interstate to holiday on the Coast.
I booked for 3 adults and prepaid the $165pp. When we arrived we were greeted as if we were return Guests... shown to our table and given explanation of the proceedings. The service was excellent.... the food superb as well as the beverage selections... The entertainment (duo) were excellent.... Santa arrived to the excitement of the children (my only fear that there would be 100s however only about 15)... Thank you for a lovely experience.

Stayed December 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank Bedarra61
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
WatermarkHotel, Guest Relations Manager at Watermark Hotel & Spa Gold Coast, responded to this review, 6 January 2014
Thank you for your feedback. We really appreciate you taking the time to post your review and pass on your fantastic comments about Christmas lunch in the restaurant. We hope to have the opportunity to host you again in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,407 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    433
    623
    232
    68
    51
See reviews for
335
557
74
108
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (289)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
24 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 January 2014

Check-in: Our flight arrived in the Gold Coast at 8am. Check-in staff were amazing and requested the room be cleaned as a priority and had us checked in by 11:30am instead of the usual 2:00pm. For the time we waited they provvided us with towels and access to the hotel pools.

Our Room (Deluxe): Our room was impeccable. So much better than expected. Very modern and clean.

Hotel Facilities: I think the pool facilities could use a little more attention. The spa on level 2 I think also needs its timer adjusted, it barely bubbles for five minutes before you have to get out and push the button again.

Hotel staff: Check-in staff were amazing each and ever time I spoke with them. I believe I dealt with at least 5 seperate staff and all were brilliant.

Room service: I found room service to be a let down. On one occasion I placed the please make up my room card in the door at 8am and the room had still not been serviced by almost 1pm. 2 of our room occupants then went out and 1 remained. We returned at 3:30pm to find the room had still not been serviced. I called the number noted in the guest directory which noted housekeeping worked from 8am to 4pm, and I was told by the lady on the phone that housekeeping actually only works until 2 and that our room was not serviced as when they entered the room someone was sleeping. I found the whole situation extremely disappointing, they didn't even leave clean towels for us, just left. I was also quite shocked to find that housekeeping would help themselves to any money that we had left out when they serviced our room. On one occasion we had placed our change from breakfast on the bench and around lunch time went out to the beach. On return our room had been cleaned and the money was gone, which is totally unacceptable.

All in all I enjoyed the hotel, but housekeeping's sticky fingers left me feeling quite disappointed.

Room Tip: Do not leave money out! Cleaners have sticky fingers.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank smb892009
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
WatermarkHotel, Guest Relations Manager at Watermark Hotel & Spa Gold Coast, responded to this review, 6 January 2014
Thank you for your feedback. We’re always pleased to read about our team going above and beyond for our guests and it appears this was mostly the case for you. Please be assured that your comments regarding housekeeping have been taken seriously and unfortunately in this instance we were unable to uncover any information. If we had been advised during your stay we would have investigated in depth immediately. Housekeeping services are available until 4pm daily, so we apologise that this was miscommunicated to you. We are pleased to announce that the pool on level 2 will be undergoing a major refurbishment and hope you have the opportunity to check this out in future months.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hong Kong, China
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 January 2014

Main door sometimes doesn't lock automatically, so beware of your belongings.

Maybe you can put them in the safe provided in the room, but remember to "ask" for a special key for the safe as your Room Card does not lock/unlock the Safe.

Breakfast is poor, not to mention the Chef cooking the Eggs and Omlette, he look as though you've step on his tail.

Rooms are getting old, tiles are dirty.

Toilet began to leak at the back, but it was during my last night so i didn't bother to ask for maintenance or room change.

Tv is filled with Adverts, so if you are into watching adverts then this is the hotel you want to stay in. Movie channels require extra charge.

Wifi- will only allow one portable device to use at an extra charge of AUS$5 per hour, or "generously" AUS$10 per 24 hour.

Only good thing is its near the beach, but a beach that you cant swim in. So if you like to sunbathe only then that a plus.

Overall Not Worth the Penny.

Definitely would not come back to this Hotel ever and not recommend

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank cooldudejohn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
WatermarkHotel, Guest Relations Manager at Watermark Hotel & Spa Gold Coast, responded to this review, 6 January 2014
Thank you for your feedback. We have taken note of your comments regarding breakfast and have fixed the leak in the bathroom (please be assured when guests advise us of any maintenance issues we will always endeavour to solve ASAP). However, we noticed that you had the wrong impression about a few points and would like to clarify them for you. All room doors lock automatically when you exit the room. However, if you are inside the room you can choose to manually lock or unlock the door. Our LCD Lifestyle TV’s all feature Australian commercial television stations and selected Pay TV channels. However, the advertising is determined by the television networks, not the hotel. We’re pleased to read you enjoyed being close to the beach but are unsure as to why you weren’t able to swim? Surfers Paradise Beach is the Gold Coast’s most famous swimming beach for visitors and there are many sections that are monitored by trained surf lifesavers. We hope this has given you a different perspective and you are able to stay with us again one day.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 January 2014

The room was much spacious than we thought. Had twin king sized beds which was fabulous! It was a lovely stay at the hotel close to everything! The room was very clean and had all the amenities we needed. From where we were staying we could see a small part of the beach which was a surprise to us as the booking was not a sea view room.
In the morning a light sun ray would beam through the window and we enjoyed looking out to the ocean while we were still laying in bed.
Definitely recommend it!

  • Stayed February 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Bella J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
WatermarkHotel, Guest Relations Manager at Watermark Hotel & Spa Gold Coast, responded to this review, 7 January 2014
Thank you for your feedback and wonderful review! It’s always a delight to read about experiences like yours and we really appreciate you taking the time to post such fabulous comments about our rooms, amenities and location. Thanks for recommending us and we look forward to welcoming you back in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
53 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 December 2013

Paid premium price for the hotel location when i stayed here on Christmas day. I expected luxurious accommodation. There was the promised ocean view and the location was fabulous. However, the overall experience was disappointing. The bathroom was old and wall tiles were mouldy, the walls marked and stained. Wifi and hotel parking is not free. To use the room safe you need to get the key from the reception. They could have told me that when I checked in. So I made a trip to the reception just for that purpose to lock up valuables. It was a wasted effort as the safe key couldn't open the safe anyway. The gym is modestly equipped and there are 2 small pools.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank apsara16
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
WatermarkHotel, Guest Relations Manager at Watermark Hotel & Spa Gold Coast, responded to this review, 7 January 2014
Thank you for your feedback. Our team always strives to exceed expectations and we are sincerely sorry this didn’t occur for you. Please note, all our rooms feature either ocean or hinterland views, but we do not guarantee which one you will receive prior to arrival. We try to keep our rates as low as possible for WiFi and car parking and they are comparable with other hotels in the Surfers Paradise area but we apologise if they did not meet your expectations. New safes have been ordered and are on their way so this one will be solved in the coming months. We hope to have the opportunity to redeem ourselves on your next stay.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 December 2013 via mobile

Great location. Clean, very pleasant ambience. Had a very comfortable and memorable stay at Gold Coast. Surprisingly breakfast was not included in the package as we normally have in most hotels all over.

Stayed December 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Ajay K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
WatermarkHotel, Guest Relations Manager at Watermark Hotel & Spa Gold Coast, responded to this review, 7 January 2014
Thank you for your review and positive comments on the hotel. We’re pleased to see that you found your stay comfortable and memorable. We like to provide the option for guests to purchase the room with and without breakfast so next time you stay just select the breakfast option when you are making your booking on our website and we will happily include for you. Again, thank you for your review and we look forward to having you stay with us again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Adelaide
Level Contributor
8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 December 2013 via mobile

.. Stayed here for 4 nights at the beginning of Dec and found it to be really nice. Location was awesome as we could walk to Surfers Paradise beach and surrounding places. Our room was a refurbished twin share which was comfortable and clean.
Only gripe I have is when our door key wouldn't work there was no apology at the front desk. And when I checked out I didn't even get a "thank you for staying. did you enjoy your stay .. " nothing like that .. was a little disappointing but oh well ..

I'd definitely stay here again.

Stayed December 2013, travelled with family
Helpful?
1 Thank TheSquiz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
WatermarkHotel, Guest Relations Manager at Watermark Hotel & Spa Gold Coast, responded to this review, 7 January 2014
Thank you for your review. We agree that we have a great location and our guests love being just a block from the beach and close to the heart of Surfers Paradise. We would, however, like to apologise for the fact that you did not feel you were treated with 5 star service. We usually receive great feedback about our staff and will raise your comments internally. We hope to have the opportunity to host you again in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Surfers Paradise hotels
0.3 mi away
Novotel Surfers Paradise
Novotel Surfers Paradise
#16 of 32 in Surfers Paradise
3.5 of 5 bubbles 276 reviews
0.8 mi away
QT Gold Coast
QT Gold Coast
#4 of 32 in Surfers Paradise
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,573 reviews
0.8 mi away
Crowne Plaza Surfers Paradise
Crowne Plaza Surfers Paradise
#6 of 32 in Surfers Paradise
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,149 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Mantra on View Hotel
Mantra on View Hotel
#12 of 32 in Surfers Paradise
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,382 reviews
0.4 mi away
Mantra Circle on Cavill
Mantra Circle on Cavill
#7 of 32 in Surfers Paradise
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,802 reviews
0.4 mi away
Hilton Surfers Paradise Hotel
Hilton Surfers Paradise Hotel
#13 of 32 in Surfers Paradise
4.0 of 5 bubbles 3,134 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Watermark Hotel & Spa Gold Coast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Watermark Hotel & Spa Gold Coast

Property: Watermark Hotel & Spa Gold Coast
Address: 3032 Surfers Paradise Boulevard, Surfers Paradise, Gold Coast, Queensland 4217, Australia
Region: Australia > Queensland > Gold Coast > Surfers Paradise
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#4 Spa Hotel in Surfers Paradise
#5 Business Hotel in Surfers Paradise
#6 Romantic Hotel in Surfers Paradise
#8 Family Hotel in Surfers Paradise
#8 Luxury Hotel in Surfers Paradise
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Watermark Hotel & Spa Gold Coast 4.5*
Number of rooms: 388
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Watermark Hotel & Spa is located in the heart of Surfers Paradise, the host of magnificent beaches, shopping and restaurants. The Hotel is ideally positioned on the Surfers Paradise Station of the Light Rail connecting to Gold Coast Convention Centre and Jupiters Casino, or a five minute walk to Cavill Avenue. Guests enjoy a day spa and hair salon, two outdoor swimming pools and spas, a fitness centre and games room. Our modern designer rooms enjoy ocean or hinterland views and include a flat-screen TV, fridge and are fully air conditioned. The en suite bathrooms are supplied with essential amenities and a hairdryer. Shared laundry facilities are available. L'Aqua Day Spa boasts a variety of massage treatments, and features premium products to ensure pure indulgence. Waves Buffet Restaurant offers a hot buffet breakfast daily, and an International Buffet for dinner. Visit Clifford's Grill & Lounge and Walrus Social House (bar, gaming, cafe) for a night of great tastes and tempting cocktails. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Ebookers, TravelUp, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Watermark Hotel & Spa Gold Coast reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Watermark Hotel And Spa Gold Coast
Watermark Hotel Gold Coast
Watermark Hotel Surfers Paradise
Watermark Hotel & Spa Gold Coast Surfers Paradise, Australia

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing