We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good Location”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Watermark Hotel & Spa Gold Coast
Ranked #8 of 31 Hotels in Surfers Paradise
Reviewed 4 April 2014

Was booked to stay here for two nights but had to cancel the second night for personal reasons, easy walking distances to beach and shops, some construction going on nearby for tram lines but didn't effect us. Was greeted at reception with a green punch? drink by one of the porters, was a nice touch but not really my thing. We stayed on the 5th floor, facing out towards Q1 and could see the beach/waves from our room. Had a few minor issues getting the lift to work - need to swipe card in order to get to your floor but one lift was a bit harder than the others. Carpark - first come first served, once it's full the porter needs to park your car across the road - receptionist said either in the building or the church. Unfortunately the receptionist who checked us out wasn't as friendly as the one who checked us in... Overall a good place to stay though.

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank nicbloxnz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
WatermarkHotel, Guest Relations Manager at Watermark Hotel & Spa Gold Coast, responded to this reviewResponded 15 April 2014

Thank you for your review. We agree that we are well located and guests often comment on how close we are to the beach and the action of Surfers Paradise. We’re pleased to read that we met most of your expectations during your stay and we hope to welcome you again!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,593)
There are newer reviews for Watermark Hotel & Spa Gold Coast
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

997 - 1,003 of 1,594 reviews

Reviewed 3 April 2014

Rooms are very clean, toiletries given is of good quality. 5 to 10 mins walk to Surfers Paradise Beach. I had a room facing Q1. Q1 viewpoint is just next door. Breakfast spread is good. Convenience store is around the corner. many chinese restaurants around.I paid SGD170+ for 2 breakfast inclusive, price is defintely more affordable than in Sydney. Goldcoast is really a very relaxing place to retire in :). One receptionist is really kind to let me print FOC a piece of info i need for my next destination. But my room aircon was horrible, i was sweating . i adjusted at 22 degree, it's not working, till the hotel staff came up to adjust to 19. its's still running on fa, he tried to bring a fan up. but after 15 mins, the aircon is then working . i did not sleep till 3 am.

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Michelle L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
WatermarkHotel, Guest Relations Manager at Watermark Hotel & Spa Gold Coast, responded to this reviewResponded 15 April 2014

Thank you for your review. We’re pleased to see that you enjoyed the location and price of the hotel. Your comments on the air conditioning are disappointing but we’re pleased to see our team were able to rectify the situation. We hope to be able to welcome you again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 April 2014

After a busy day at Seaworld we arrived to a smiling concierge who offered to park our car. We stayed on the 16th floor which had beautiful views out to sea, in front was the Q1 building but we still had sufficient views to enjoy. A beautiful bottle of champagne on ice was waiting for us when we arrived in our room. We had dinner downstairs at Waves Restaurant, it was the Seafood Buffet night, the prawns and oysters were to die for. It was a totally lovely experience. The king size bed was very comfy, we had a wonderful sleep. In the morning we had the Buffet breakfast in the Waves restaurant which was very enjoyable. I would like to complement the happy jovial waiter who was there and also was there the previous night. Nice to see smiling faces of hotel employees that early in the morning. I had a slight accident at the coffee machine, I spilt my coffee and broke my cup, but it was no problem to this lovely busy lady on duty, thank you very much for not making me feel more awkward than I already was. Our only bad experience was on going down to our car we didn't realise that we had to change lifts and couldn't understand why we couldn't find the car park, but after going up and down a few times and asking we were able to get where we wanted to go. Must be an age thing, maybe they could put notices in the elevator for us elderly folk! 100 points to the staff they made our visit truly memorable. Sometimes a smile here and there makes a difference to an experience. We will definitely recommend this hotel. Thankyou again.

Room Tip: The room would of got excellent if there had been a balcony.
  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank AustraliaDebby
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
WatermarkHotel, Guest Relations Manager at Watermark Hotel & Spa Gold Coast, responded to this reviewResponded 15 April 2014

Thank you for your review. We are very glad to read that you will recommend the Watermark. Customer service is what we pride ourselves on and it’s always great to receive such positive feedback from guests like yourself. Thank you again for sharing your positive comments. We look forward to hosting you again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 March 2014

My girlfriends and I usually travel somewhere different every 12 months to get away and be pampered and dine at nice restaurants.
However this year we decided to return to the Watermark Resort & Spa Gold Coast after having a wonderful time last year. We did have a couple of issues with our stay last year however "Koren" from Guest Relations @ Watermark offered us a wonderful package to return this year to make up for our previous stay. (See 2013 review for details).
We were greeted by "Nicole" @ check in with a warm "welcome back" and by name, which was a very personable and pleasant start to our stay.
Check in was with ease and in no time we were settled into our rooms, which were cleaned to a high standard and newly refurbished and fitted out with very comfortable bedding and the rooms had beautiful ocean views from the 11th floor.
Sleep quality was excellent, no street noise,
The Watermark is a short 5 minute stroll to the beach & Cavil Ave, numerous restaurants to choose from and public transport including the new rail which when finished runs directly past Watermark.
Due to our late evening arrival, we ordered room service which was delivered to our rooms within 20 minutes. Everything we ordered was very reasonably priced and delivered hot and delicious!
Concierge "Adam" was very helpful in making some reservations for our group and provided us with very helpful information.
Buffet breakfast at Waves restaurant at Watermark was good and reasonably priced, although a little more attention to replenishing hot food was needed as we had to ask for Bacon & Tomato which took nearly half an hour to get. Everything else was fresh and replenished promptly. "Michael" at Waves was very attentive and informative with local information, where to go, what to see and do etc.
The Watermark facilities, eg: 2 pools, sauna & spa were all clean and well maintained and easily accessible.
The L'Aqua day spa at Watermark is divine! The staff are "pamper angels". We enjoyed massages, manicures and pedicures with a High Tea in a private room next to L'Aqua Dy Spa. They also provided gluten free selections for one of our group.
Sadly all good things come to an end and check out process was efficiently processed and our luggage taken care of by the concierge.
Highly recommend The Watermark, we can't wait to return again!

Room Tip: Any room on the 11th and upper floor levels for great views and sleep quality.
  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank 1986couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
WatermarkHotel, Guest Relations Manager at Watermark Hotel & Spa Gold Coast, responded to this reviewResponded 15 April 2014

Thank you so much for your amazingly detailed review. We’re thrilled to hear that your experience was 5 out of 5, and your positive comments regarding our staff have been passed on! Thanks again for your high recommendation and we look forward to welcoming you back to the Watermark in future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 March 2014

The Watermark Hotel & Spa at Gold Coast is an excellent hotel with great service, location, awesome food, spa, swimming pool facilities and over all GREAT VALUE FOR MONEY at 160 USD a night. It is super conveniently located, 200 mts away from the Surfers Paradise beach and in the heart of Surfers Paradise. Take a room in upwards of 10th floor and enjoy great view of the beach from your Stay here in this hotel when in Gold Coast.

Room Tip: Its all good.
  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank tripathianupam
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
WatermarkHotel, Guest Relations Manager at Watermark Hotel & Spa Gold Coast, responded to this reviewResponded 15 April 2014

Thank you for your review. We agree that our location is wonderful and it’s also a reason why so many guests continue to return to the hotel. We’re pleased you found the hotel to be good value for money and that you enjoyed our facilities. We hope to be able to host you again on your next visit to Surfers Paradise.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 March 2014

The hotel is quite conveniently located - short walk from the beach. Some hotels in surfers paradise are closer though. The hotel met my expectations. I dont remember anything wrong about it. Anything too positive neither.

For the price I paid - I was satisfied.

Good breakfast buffet. Friendly chefs will prepare eggs how you like.

I would expect probably a bit better swimming pool and maybe some spas though.

Room was ok. Quality of sleep ok - but without anything special.

You can stay at this hotel with no risk of being disappointed.

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Jacek_TA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
WatermarkHotel, Guest Relations Manager at Watermark Hotel & Spa Gold Coast, responded to this reviewResponded 15 April 2014

Thank you for your review and sharing your thoughts with us. We agree, being just a short walk to the beach makes us an ideal location for holiday makers. We’re thrilled that the hotel met your expectations and that you found us to be good value. We have two pools and two spas on level 2 for guest use. Thanks again for your comments and we hope to welcome you again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 March 2014 via mobile

Checked into the hotel yesterday and was greeted upon arrival with drinks. Probably the best bit about the stay. As soon as we walked into our room it smelt and felt dirty. Our floor smelt also. Our tv is not working even though we had spoken to the hotel about it. We went to use the lifts and one was seriously not working properly which freaked us out. Its a good location but not for us. We went to grab dinner out last night was dissappointed with the choices so went back to the room and got room service. Was seriously disappointed and wont be doing that again. Im sure its good if y stay in an expensive room but its not worth it for us. Cant wait to check out and stay somewhere else. We did find the staff to be helpful.

Stayed: March 2014, travelled with family
4  Thank bdizzle117
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
WatermarkHotel, Guest Relations Manager at Watermark Hotel & Spa Gold Coast, responded to this reviewResponded 30 March 2014

Thank you for taking the time to share your thoughts with us; we’re glad you enjoyed your welcome drink on arrival. It seems as though you had a few disappointments during your stay which is unfortunate. We are located only a short walk from the heart of Surfers Paradise and there’s a wide range of dining options in the area if our signature restaurant, Waves, did not suit your tastes. The issues you experienced with the smelling situations have been passed on to the relevant department for investigation. Thank you again for your review. We’d love the opportunity to welcome you should you choose to stay with us again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Surfers Paradise hotels
0.3 mi away
Novotel Surfers Paradise
Novotel Surfers Paradise
#14 of 31 in Surfers Paradise
470 reviews
0.8 mi away
Crowne Plaza Surfers Paradise
Crowne Plaza Surfers Paradise
#7 of 31 in Surfers Paradise
1,655 reviews
0.6 mi away
Mantra on View Hotel
Mantra on View Hotel
#10 of 31 in Surfers Paradise
2,800 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Mantra Legends Hotel
Mantra Legends Hotel
#9 of 31 in Surfers Paradise
2,404 reviews
0.8 mi away
QT Gold Coast
QT Gold Coast
#4 of 31 in Surfers Paradise
2,722 reviews
0.4 mi away
Hilton Surfers Paradise Hotel
Hilton Surfers Paradise Hotel
#13 of 31 in Surfers Paradise
3,292 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Watermark Hotel & Spa Gold Coast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Watermark Hotel & Spa Gold Coast

Address: 3032 Surfers Paradise Boulevard, Surfers Paradise, Gold Coast, Queensland 4217, Australia
Region: Australia > Queensland > Gold Coast > Surfers Paradise
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#2 Best Value Hotel in Surfers Paradise
#4 Spa Hotel in Surfers Paradise
#5 Business Hotel in Surfers Paradise
#6 Romantic Hotel in Surfers Paradise
#8 Luxury Hotel in Surfers Paradise
#8 Family Hotel in Surfers Paradise
Price Range: £74 - £170 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Watermark Hotel & Spa Gold Coast 4.5*
Number of rooms: 388
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Watermark Hotel & Spa is located in the heart of Surfers Paradise, the host of magnificent beaches, shopping and restaurants. The Hotel is ideally positioned on the Surfers Paradise Station of the Light Rail connecting to Gold Coast Convention Centre and Jupiters Casino, or a five minute walk to Cavill Avenue. Guests enjoy a day spa and hair salon, two outdoor swimming pools and spas and fitness centre. Our modern designer rooms enjoy ocean or hinterland views and include a flat-screen TV, fridge and are fully air conditioned. The en suite bathrooms are supplied with essential amenities and a hairdryer. Shared laundry facilities are available. L'Aqua Day Spa boasts a variety of massage treatments, and features premium products to ensure pure indulgence. Waves Buffet Restaurant offers a hot buffet breakfast daily, and an International Buffet for dinner. Visit Clifford's Grill & Lounge and Walrus Social House (bar, gaming, cafe) for a night of great tastes and tempting cocktails. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Odigeo, Hotels.com, Agoda, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, 5viajes2012 S.L., HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Watermark Hotel & Spa Gold Coast reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Watermark Hotel And Spa Gold Coast
Watermark Hotel Gold Coast
Watermark Hotel Surfers Paradise
Watermark Hotel & Spa Gold Coast Surfers Paradise, Australia

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing