We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A night away”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Watermark Hotel & Spa Gold Coast
Ranked #7 of 33 Hotels in Surfers Paradise
Reviewed 3 May 2014 via mobile

My partner and I stayed for just one night which the hotel was more than sufficient for our needs. The room was lovely and clean and we had no problem with the king bed. We ordered pillows from the pillow menu which arrived very promptly and the amenities were very clean.
Staff are super lovely and helped us out when we had some key issues. The car park did fill up quick but they took care of it and it was a painless experience.
The lack of 5 stars is dude to the bar being a bit dodgy and the food pricing is out of control. We chose to eat out which suited us fine. All in all an enjoyable stay and we would stay here again.

Stayed: May 2014, travelled with friends
1  Thank samantita f
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (1,955)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,337 - 1,343 of 1,955 reviews

Reviewed 2 May 2014

We booked the Easter special deal and stayed for 4 nights. Best thing about this Hotel is the Waves Restaurant. Great Buffets for Breakfast and Dinner. Now to the bad side. Bathroom looked Old and in desperate need of a renovation. Room and bed was comfortable enough although I would get rid of that lounge which takes up a part of the room. They have 2 outdoor pools, great but at least 1 of them could be heated as Kids would find that cold temperature uncomfortable. Location is pretty good with easy walking distance to the beach. Overall I'll give it a pass mark and probably wouldn't stay here in future.

Room Tip: Stay in Club rooms if possible.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 470TPAUL
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 May 2014

Booking process was very personal and professional, I felt confidant that this would be a great stay. I booked a romance package, I gave my arrival time as we were travelling late, Upon arrival we were unexpectedly greeted in the driveway, as we got out of the car which gave us a fright but the valet parking gentleman was very friendly, just sneaky. We walked into reception, which felt very light and airy and fresh, greeted by my name (from the manager, which was a lovely first impression) and check-in was very smooth and quick, young girl on reception was very friendly and helpful. Up the lift to our room, level 14 which was exactly what I'd asked, high floor, ocean views etc. very happy..

Room smelt fresh and the air on was lovely and cool.

Then, on closer inspection of the room my champagne was sitting in a bucket of water.. Even though we arrived at the time given.. This was not drinkable as it was hot. Not cool, hot. The fridge was off so there were no ice cubes too use, no water jug OR bottled water, which was very disappointing. I'm sure we could have phoned reception too request this but that shouldn't have too happen.

The bath tub was clean, although the grips stuck to the bottom of the bath looked so dirty and full of germs there was no way I was soaking in that bath tub. Grouting had bad mould in places, fantastic water pressure and heat. Everything worked well. Mirror was a little dirty with tooth paste marks but this was overlooked. I think a little more time allocation for cleaning of the bathrooms is needed.

Our king bed was two single beds pushed together - disappointing but this is expected in all hotels nowadays. Pillow selection on the bed was great, a mixture of feather and foam pillows which suited us perfectly. Mattress topper almost disguised the two beds until I found the middle ridge, quiet uncomfortable.

Bath robes certainly not plush, they're crispy and tired.. Too much bleach at the laundry.

We didn't touch the couch as it was filthy and stained, as were the lampshades.. Looked like water damage? Upholstry cleaner definitely needed in that room.

Tv was great, smart tv. Good to see the up keep of technology, also missing in a lot of hotels.

We looked to order breakfast of which was grossly overpriced, $6AUD for an orange juice which would have been fine if it were a 2L bottle (which I highly doubt.) We ate out instead, had breakfast for two which would have equalled the price of one at the hotel.

Check out was simple as we paid when booking (required) we weren't given eye contact or asked how our stay was or if there were any issues needing too be addressed, very disappointing as the employees badge stated he was a 'shift manager' unsure if there was a mix up with the badges.

Car parking was also spacious and safe, at $15 a night that is reasonable for a goldcoast hotel.

Weighing up the positives and negatives we most likely won't return as there are plenty of similar hotels too Choose from. Your experience may be different as everyone has different expectations. I believe the disappointment we experienced could have been easily avoided.

Room Tip: High floor ocean views as their are quite a few hotels blocking the view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank QLDyoungtraveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 May 2014

We booked this hotel on an "Easter Special" deal. Ended up being about $230 a night for 3 nights.

We paid the additional amount to have W lounge access.

Firstly - pros.

The check in lady was fantastic. She could see we were super tired and made every effort to be informative, friendly and helpful but also quick! She made it a great experience to check in.

The room was spacious and clean. The bed was very comfortable. Liked the tech touches of being able to charge my phone from the alarm clock!

The location of the hotel is excellent - 5 min wander to Cavill Ave and a multitude of restaurants nearby.

Housekeeping was great and very swift and prompt. We were out in the morning and came back and our room was done which was brilliant.

Cheers to the young concierge who hailed cabs for us and also took a few quick pictures for us. Lovely chap.

Cons:

W Lounge was overpriced. Breakfast was a joke and all day "snacks and drinks" consisted of a few softdrinks and a cheap biscuit. Not thrilled.

The Concierge needed an attitude adjustment (not the young one..the older one) his tone and attitude were appalling. We experienced him being incredibly rude to two separate clients. I appreciate there is some difficulty with car parking but there is no need to be rude about it.

The "Club rooms" really aren't a 4/5 star standard. They are fine don't get me wrong - clean and quite spacious but they are also quite dated and the bathrooms are not up to scratch. The bath had a large stain in it and the showerhead was the kind where you have to run around to get wet. It was also very low so my poor fiance has to do yoga to have a shower!

Overall - I would stay there again however I wouldn't pay the extra. As a hotel it would be a great base to explore surfers and hit the beach but if you are looking for luxury I probably wouldn't bother. I don't think it is value for money.

Room Tip: We had a hinterland view room and the view was beautiful!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Keira T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
WatermarkHotel, Guest Relations Manager at Watermark Hotel & Spa Gold Coast, responded to this reviewResponded 8 May 2014

Thank you for such a detailed review. It seems that the pros outweighed the cons during your stay and we are glad you found the rooms clean, spacious and the hotel to be well located. We’ve passed your comments about concierge on to the relevant department as service is one of the great things guests love about the hotel. The W Lounge upgrade usually receives such great feedback as for just $55 per room guests can enjoy access to the lounge, free parking, WiFi, evening drinks and canapés as well as Continental breakfast and refreshments. Thank you again for sharing your comments and if you are visiting Surfers Paradise again, we’d be happy to host you again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 April 2014

Staff can really make or break your stay, the first staff member that i came across here just ruined the whole place, and he was on the reception desk, if I could have had a refund on my stay I would have walked away before check-in but as I had booked on wotif.com I couldn't.

Car parking is $15 per night, but you might not get a parking spot as it's a free for all......note to the hotel, only sell the amount of parking that you have spaces for otherwise it's surly fraud....taking money for a service that you can't deliver??

If you are an international traveler be aware that this hotel might not be able to get a pre-auth from your credit card so you then have to pay a cash deposit if you have paid through a booking site!! Crazy stuff, never had it before but my card declined twice on check-in but worked 20mins later when I went an had a meal, the reason I was given at the reception was it was an international credit card......really....when I asked to upgrade to the lounge pass and had to pay them some money amazingly the card worked again so I was able to get my cash deposit back....

The room wasn't bad, looked a little dated, the pool's and spa are great, but one of the pools is overlooked by the lounge service they have.

The w-lounge pass was the best thing about this place but was never sold to me on check-in, I read about it in the room and asked which is a real shame as this is a winner of a deal that I missed out on for half of my stay.

I will never stay at this hotel again due to the service experience that I had on arrival, this really did ruin the whole stay.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank Mark W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
WatermarkHotel, Guest Relations Manager at Watermark Hotel & Spa Gold Coast, responded to this reviewResponded 8 May 2014

Thank you for taking the time to share your thoughts with us. We’re glad you were able to enjoy the W Lounge and hope you found all the inclusions to be of good value like our other guests do. We are disappointed to hear you had difficulty with the pre-authorisation of your credit card upon check in but glad it eventually worked – we’ll look into that and thanks for the notification. Your check-in experience is disappointing to hear and we have spoken to our Front Office Manager in regards to this to rectify the situation in future. Like most other hotels in the area, we charge $15 for undercover parking but this would have been included free in your W Lounge upgrade. If the car park is full we do offer free valet, and concierge is able to assist with this. It’s a shame to read that you will not stay with us again due to your check-in experience, but we would welcome the opportunity to show you a truer Watermark experience in future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 April 2014

From check in to check out the customer service really shone through at this hotel. We were offered early check in as our room was available from noon. Rooms were a very high standard with amazing beach front views. Modern, clean and spacious rooms that were serviced daily by friendly housekeeping staff. Pool towels replenished daily if used. Choice of 2 pools and spas which were fantastic if you had children and did not want them to burn as you could move from one side of the building to the other to avoid full sun. Breakfast in Waves bistro was great and even my fussy kids found something to eat. Parking was included in a secure underground carpark at an extra cost of $15 per day. Internet cost $10 per 24 hrs. Great location and only a few blocks from the beach and Surfers main shopping area.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank belinda m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 April 2014 via mobile

Great customer service. .. an unexpected welcome drink at check in added an extra star for me.... reasonably priced clean rooms and good room service. .. very convenient location. Right in front of bus stop and surfers tram stop.

Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
Thank Arpan2468
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Surfers Paradise hotels
0.8 mi away
Crowne Plaza Surfers Paradise
Crowne Plaza Surfers Paradise
#8 of 33 in Surfers Paradise
1,725 reviews
0.3 mi away
Novotel Surfers Paradise
Novotel Surfers Paradise
#13 of 33 in Surfers Paradise
631 reviews
0.6 mi away
Mantra on View Hotel
Mantra on View Hotel
#10 of 33 in Surfers Paradise
3,271 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
QT Gold Coast
QT Gold Coast
#5 of 33 in Surfers Paradise
2,885 reviews
0.1 mi away
Mantra Legends Hotel
Mantra Legends Hotel
#9 of 33 in Surfers Paradise
2,792 reviews
0.5 mi away
Vibe Hotel Gold Coast
Vibe Hotel Gold Coast
#20 of 33 in Surfers Paradise
3,467 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Watermark Hotel & Spa Gold Coast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Watermark Hotel & Spa Gold Coast

Address: 3032 Surfers Paradise Boulevard, Surfers Paradise, Gold Coast, Queensland 4217, Australia
Region: Australia > Queensland > Gold Coast > Surfers Paradise
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#2 Best Value Hotel in Surfers Paradise
#4 Spa Hotel in Surfers Paradise
#5 Business Hotel in Surfers Paradise
#6 Romantic Hotel in Surfers Paradise
#7 Luxury Hotel in Surfers Paradise
#8 Family Hotel in Surfers Paradise
Price Range: £74 - £147 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Watermark Hotel & Spa Gold Coast 4.5*
Number of rooms: 388
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Watermark Hotel & Spa is located in the heart of Surfers Paradise, the host of magnificent beaches, shopping and restaurants. The Hotel is ideally positioned on the Surfers Paradise Station of the Light Rail connecting to Gold Coast Convention Centre and Jupiters Casino, or a five minute walk to Cavill Avenue. Guests enjoy a day spa and hair salon, two outdoor swimming pools and spas and fitness centre. Our modern designer rooms enjoy ocean or hinterland views and include a flat-screen TV, fridge and are fully air conditioned. The en suite bathrooms are supplied with essential amenities and a hairdryer. Shared laundry facilities are available. L'Aqua Day Spa boasts a variety of massage treatments, and features premium products to ensure pure indulgence. Waves Buffet Restaurant offers a hot buffet breakfast daily, and an International Buffet for dinner. Visit Clifford's Grill & Lounge and Walrus Social House (bar, gaming, cafe) for a night of great tastes and tempting cocktails. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Agoda, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, 5viajes2012 S.L., getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your Watermark Hotel & Spa Gold Coast reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Watermark Hotel And Spa Gold Coast
Watermark Hotel Gold Coast
Watermark Hotel Surfers Paradise
Watermark Hotel & Spa Gold Coast Surfers Paradise, Australia

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing