We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Still a great place to stay”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Watermark Hotel & Spa Gold Coast
Ranked #8 of 31 Hotels in Surfers Paradise
Sydney, Australia
Level 5 Contributor
52 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 73 helpful votes
“Still a great place to stay”
Reviewed 31 May 2014 via mobile

The staff are so friendly and helpful. The room we stayed in was on 17th floor with ocean views. There is a new tram stop right out the front that will make getting around easier.
Thanks again Watermark we had a great stay and enjoyed the bottle of sparkling you gave is for our 25th Wedding anniversary.

Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Stephen H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,479 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    465
    648
    241
    72
    53
See reviews for
353
583
79
118
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (295)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Cairns, Australia
Level 6 Contributor
147 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 May 2014

Stayed for 3 nights in May-14. Room was 2 double beds as requested. Asked for a room with views and ended up staying on the 10th floors with ocean views which was great. Paid $145 per night which included daily buffet breakfast. Breakfast was a reasonable selection but not worth the $30 price tag per person. Secure parking was $15 per night which seems like the going price on the Gold Coast. Staff are friendly and the room was fine. The new tramline is at the door and the hotel is only 3 streets away from Cavill Ave and 1 block from the beach. Great location. Would definitely stay here again.

Room Tip: ask for a room on a high floor with ocean views
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Disney2007
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne
Level 5 Contributor
79 reviews
61 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 May 2014

From the moment we arrived, we were looked after by the nicest people we have ever encountered. Our room had an ocean view and we felt like royalty because of the manner in which we were looked after - nothing was a problem for any staff member. The only drawback was the noise from the street, whilst dining, as the pavements and roads were being upgraded. This is about to end when the trams start up on June 1. They offered us an upgrade of $55 per night to include continental breakfast (very good), free wifi, free car parking, canapes and drinks from 6.00 to 7.30 each evening, 12.00 p.m. checkout and access to this delightful dining room and balcony all day for tea, coffee, soft drinks, fruit, cakes or biscuits - a must do! The buffet dining was excellent. We were with 6 friends and said that we would all go back - just love Watermark Hotel and Spa Gold Coast in Surfers Paradise.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MEZZAMARIA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
EVERETT
Level 4 Contributor
42 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 May 2014

I needed to stay for 2.nights to get some work done, tax time stuff in peace,... I have found the staff to be superb and friendly whenever I have had opportunity to head into the hotel bar at happy hour...as a local they even offer me Free wifi so I can do a little online work catching up at the end of the day,..whilst watching a game on the big tv and enjoying a cool pint.

So when I needed 2 nights to stay and do some tax work,..I thought of nowhere else to go. Good clean rooms, reasonable prices, and a smile and excellent service from staff. Nice view over the canals and the sunset in the evening.....short stroll to the beach and central surfers....
As a local I encourage holidaymakers to pick the Watermark,...

Room Tip: Always,.always ask for an upgrade, or late checkout midweek,..anywhere,..Good chance its granted...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Johnbuoy888
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Australia
Level 5 Contributor
65 reviews
62 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 96 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 May 2014 via mobile

The Watermark Hotel is located smack bang amongst the action in Surfers Paradise. The rooms on the eastern side of the hotel have partial views of the beach but they are obstructed by the massive Q1 in front. Access is easy! When the new light rail opens the stop will be right out the front. You can park at the hotel for $15 per night. We booked a $130 package that included buffet breakfast and free wifi and a movie. Our room had 2 double beds, this is what they offer you on the $130 deal. The rooms at the watermark have recently been refurbished and look fresh. The bathroom is a little bit behind though. The room had on demand movies and internet access through the tv, movies start at $5 but the selection is pretty limited. The outdoor pool is not as good as other hotels in the area but is ok for a quick dip, not lazing by for the day. There is a 'casino' near the lobby, it's just gaming machines, In my opinion it makes the hotel look a bit cheap and tacky. The included buffet breakfast we had can be purchased for $26, pretty steep! It was ok but nothing special. The staff at the watermark were very friendly and happy to help out. All up the watermark is an ok choice in surfers paradise, it's location and the refurbished rooms are the best points for me.

Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Evandstace
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, Australia
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 May 2014

It's ok but nothing wow! Pictures look much nicer than the actual hotel. It's a bit further away from the hub and in our opinion it's over priced for what they offer. Didn't try out the restaurant but it didn't look busy. Other hotels in the area seem to have better service and atmosphere.

  • Stayed May 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ghermineh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne, Australia
Level 5 Contributor
56 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 May 2014 via mobile

What a fantastic place this hotel is to stay. It is in a great location central to everything. The staff were friendly and very helpful. The housekeeping of the rooms was faultless with the rooms being extremely clean. Another big tick was that the bed was super comfortable, and we had a great night sleep every night. The room had a nice view and we were given chocolates and champagne on arrival! I needed to alter the dates we were staying at the hotel half way through our stay, these dates were changed will no hassle and no extra charge, which was brilliant :). We also returned back to the hotel late one night and the car park was full. Again with no dramas or no extra charge we were given free valet parking for the night! What a great place to stay, it made our holiday so much more easier and enjoyable because of this great accommodation. Will be recommending to everyone and we definitely be back. Thanks Watermark.

Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
3 Thank EmmyKate_xo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Surfers Paradise hotels
0.3 mi away
Novotel Surfers Paradise
Novotel Surfers Paradise
#14 of 31 in Surfers Paradise
412 reviews
0.8 mi away
Crowne Plaza Surfers Paradise
Crowne Plaza Surfers Paradise
#7 of 31 in Surfers Paradise
1,627 reviews
0.8 mi away
QT Gold Coast
QT Gold Coast
#4 of 31 in Surfers Paradise
2,662 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Mantra on View Hotel
Mantra on View Hotel
#11 of 31 in Surfers Paradise
2,650 reviews
0.1 mi away
Mantra Legends Hotel
Mantra Legends Hotel
#10 of 31 in Surfers Paradise
2,264 reviews
0.4 mi away
Hilton Surfers Paradise Hotel
Hilton Surfers Paradise Hotel
#12 of 31 in Surfers Paradise
3,234 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Watermark Hotel & Spa Gold Coast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Watermark Hotel & Spa Gold Coast

Property: Watermark Hotel & Spa Gold Coast
Address: 3032 Surfers Paradise Boulevard, Surfers Paradise, Gold Coast, Queensland 4217, Australia
Region: Australia > Queensland > Gold Coast > Surfers Paradise
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#2 Best Value Hotel in Surfers Paradise
#4 Spa Hotel in Surfers Paradise
#5 Business Hotel in Surfers Paradise
#6 Romantic Hotel in Surfers Paradise
#8 Luxury Hotel in Surfers Paradise
#8 Family Hotel in Surfers Paradise
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Watermark Hotel & Spa Gold Coast 4.5*
Number of rooms: 388
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Watermark Hotel & Spa is located in the heart of Surfers Paradise, the host of magnificent beaches, shopping and restaurants. The Hotel is ideally positioned on the Surfers Paradise Station of the Light Rail connecting to Gold Coast Convention Centre and Jupiters Casino, or a five minute walk to Cavill Avenue. Guests enjoy a day spa and hair salon, two outdoor swimming pools and spas and fitness centre. Our modern designer rooms enjoy ocean or hinterland views and include a flat-screen TV, fridge and are fully air conditioned. The en suite bathrooms are supplied with essential amenities and a hairdryer. Shared laundry facilities are available. L'Aqua Day Spa boasts a variety of massage treatments, and features premium products to ensure pure indulgence. Waves Buffet Restaurant offers a hot buffet breakfast daily, and an International Buffet for dinner. Visit Clifford's Grill & Lounge and Walrus Social House (bar, gaming, cafe) for a night of great tastes and tempting cocktails. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Ctrip TA, Odigeo, Expedia, Priceline, Ebookers, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Watermark Hotel & Spa Gold Coast reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Watermark Hotel And Spa Gold Coast
Watermark Hotel Gold Coast
Watermark Hotel Surfers Paradise
Watermark Hotel & Spa Gold Coast Surfers Paradise, Australia

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing