We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Watermark Hotel & Spa Gold Coast
Ranked #8 of 32 Hotels in Surfers Paradise
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
55 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
“Great hotel”
Reviewed 10 June 2014

Stayed at this hotel over the queens birthday long weekend and was pleasantly surprised with the service! My mum and siblings had booked their own room and unfortunately due to an error on the 3rd party booking site a king size room was booked instead of a triple share. Front desk were so helpful in promptly sorting another room with two beds and pull out sofa! It was very impressive! The manager also promised to follow up with the 3rd party vendor who supplied the hotel with incorrect information.

I paid for a Deluxe style room, which was more expensive but the hotel photos are very misleading, I stayed in 1409, and this room was in need of a bit of a revamp to bring it up to standard of 1109 for example.

The bed and pillows was extremely comfortable, street noise was non existent and room service was prompt and detailed.

I also appreciate the gym that the hotel has, for me, it's a contributing factor on whether to book, although nobody has posted gym pictures yet! I'd be very likely to stay here again! I think I'd also opt for the $55 a night upgrade that includes wifi, parking, continental breakfast, evening canapés and drinks and more.

Great work, just some minor refurbishments to be done and the hotel will deserve it's 4 ½ star rating!

Room Tip: Ocean view rooms on high floors offer a great view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank rollo_100
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
WatermarkHotel, Guest Relations Manager at Watermark Hotel & Spa Gold Coast, responded to this review, 30 June 2014
Thank you for your review. We’re glad that our reception team were able to rectify the issue with your booking agent. We have a highly-skilled reservation team on site who are able to make and amend bookings via email or phone if you would like to book directly with the hotel next time. It might save some unnecessary issues down the track. Your comments on the Deluxe Room revamp are noted and we are in the process of having this done. We are soon to be undergoing a major renovation of our dining precinct also and we hope to welcome you back to experience the new look.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,404 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    431
    623
    231
    68
    51
See reviews for
335
555
74
108
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (289)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Brisbane, Australia
Level Contributor
69 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 June 2014 via mobile

We stayed here over the Queens birthday weekend. Overall we really enjoyed ourselves. We stayed on the 19th floor and had views of the hinterland. The W Club was included in our stay, well worth the extra money. The service in the club was great, the hostess was lovley and really helpful. We really liked that the watermark was out of the hustle and bustle of sufers paradise but was only a very short walk away. We would stay here again.

Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Kiwitasha
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviewed 8 June 2014 via mobile

We're happily staying at Watermark hotel with great service and scenery.

The room is very spacious, cleanliness for our honeymoon trip there for 4 nights.

Receiption was excellent and up to the standard in hospitality..

Will be back again in Gold Coast.

Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Mohammad Ibrahi... M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne, Victoria, Australia
Level Contributor
58 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 June 2014

It's an average hotel, nothing too bad to make you want to leave but not to good to make you return. Staff is friendly, we were allowed to check in earlier, paid parking (15$/day). All these said
Gold Coast has a lot of choices so next time I'll give a try to another hotel.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Maria B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
73 reviews
44 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 81 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 June 2014

Everything is warm and welcoming here, the staff and the decor.
Good location. You certainly won't go wrong staying here but it doesn't have anything anymore extraordinary than any other larger motel around it.
The dinner buffet in the restaurant was truly amazingly delicious.
All in all good place.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Em B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brisbane, Australia
Level Contributor
23 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 June 2014 via mobile

Recently stayed and expended the W Lounge as well, wonderful friendly service, great bed, and beautiful views. valet, reception and staff were friendly, helpful and excellent. A great hotel on the GC. Most impressed.

Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank RogerM2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 June 2014

We stayed at the Watermark for 2 nights with 3 kids on a very cheap rate (sub $130 per night). Overall, the hotel represent very good value if you are on a budget. The positives are: rooms are neat, well-appointed although missing few amenities (details below), has a good swimming pool, away from the hustle & noise of Cavill Avenue, right in front of Surfers Paradise tram station (once it opens), close to the bus stop, comfy beds, can fit 2 adults plus 3 kids easily with 2 double beds + sofa bed. Negatives are: room decor dated, particularly the bathrooms and the carpet. Bathroom wall tiles & shower have visible stains. Room was missing standard amenities such as drinking glasses, bar fridge was totally empty. Hotel location is a 500 meter walk to Cavill Avenue, which got annoying with 3 kids but others may prefer this. It is the very quiet end of Surfers with not many shops or good restaurants. We didn't test the service much, but my impression is they are helpful when asked without showing much initiative. Again, if budget is your main criteria, then Watermark represents 4 star quality at a very good price.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank haqster
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Surfers Paradise hotels
0.3 mi away
Novotel Surfers Paradise
Novotel Surfers Paradise
#16 of 32 in Surfers Paradise
271 reviews
0.8 mi away
QT Gold Coast
QT Gold Coast
#4 of 32 in Surfers Paradise
2,573 reviews
0.8 mi away
Crowne Plaza Surfers Paradise
Crowne Plaza Surfers Paradise
#6 of 32 in Surfers Paradise
1,147 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Mantra on View Hotel
Mantra on View Hotel
#12 of 32 in Surfers Paradise
2,371 reviews
0.4 mi away
Mantra Circle on Cavill
Mantra Circle on Cavill
#7 of 32 in Surfers Paradise
2,797 reviews
0.1 mi away
Mantra Legends Hotel
Mantra Legends Hotel
#9 of 32 in Surfers Paradise
1,972 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Watermark Hotel & Spa Gold Coast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Watermark Hotel & Spa Gold Coast

Property: Watermark Hotel & Spa Gold Coast
Address: 3032 Surfers Paradise Boulevard, Surfers Paradise, Gold Coast, Queensland 4217, Australia
Region: Australia > Queensland > Gold Coast > Surfers Paradise
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#4 Spa Hotel in Surfers Paradise
#5 Business Hotel in Surfers Paradise
#6 Romantic Hotel in Surfers Paradise
#8 Family Hotel in Surfers Paradise
#8 Luxury Hotel in Surfers Paradise
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Watermark Hotel & Spa Gold Coast 4.5*
Number of rooms: 388
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Watermark Hotel & Spa is located in the heart of Surfers Paradise, the host of magnificent beaches, shopping and restaurants. The Hotel is ideally positioned on the Surfers Paradise Station of the Light Rail connecting to Gold Coast Convention Centre and Jupiters Casino, or a five minute walk to Cavill Avenue. Guests enjoy a day spa and hair salon, two outdoor swimming pools and spas, a fitness centre and games room. Our modern designer rooms enjoy ocean or hinterland views and include a flat-screen TV, fridge and are fully air conditioned. The en suite bathrooms are supplied with essential amenities and a hairdryer. Shared laundry facilities are available. L'Aqua Day Spa boasts a variety of massage treatments, and features premium products to ensure pure indulgence. Waves Buffet Restaurant offers a hot buffet breakfast daily, and an International Buffet for dinner. Visit Clifford's Grill & Lounge and Walrus Social House (bar, gaming, cafe) for a night of great tastes and tempting cocktails. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Odigeo, TravelUp, Hotels.com, Ebookers, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Watermark Hotel & Spa Gold Coast reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Watermark Hotel And Spa Gold Coast
Watermark Hotel Gold Coast
Watermark Hotel Surfers Paradise
Watermark Hotel & Spa Gold Coast Surfers Paradise, Australia

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing