We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Mystery deal”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Watermark Hotel & Spa Gold Coast
Ranked #8 of 32 Hotels in Surfers Paradise
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
64 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
“Mystery deal”
Reviewed 10 August 2014

I tend to buy Mystery deals while travel on business to major cities. There is an element of surprise and great prices as well. This time I was attracted to 4.5 stars in description, central location (everything is central in Surfers Paradise) and free Wifi + perking. The deal was only $125 per night.
Service was good: friendly and professional. Room was clean, crispy sheets, bathtub and large TV. My room did not have balcony and the windows could not be open.
Swimming pool and gym were good.
I was tired to go out, so I ordered in-room service. My dinner Miso prawns were perfect and the service was very quick.

On the downside: the tea/coffee supply was not replenished after the last customer and only one dirty teaspoon was in the draw. I also had to ask for bathroom slippers, though the bathroom robes were there. The slippers were deliver in about 5 minutes after the phone call.

It was close to Cavill st and the beach.

I think it was a good deal and overall I was quite pleased.

Room Tip: My room did not an ocean view, so you need to specifically ask for it. But I paid very little for...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, travelled on business
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Moorusha S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,439 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    447
    635
    236
    70
    51
See reviews for
341
569
75
113
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (293)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
44 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 August 2014

Positives
Great location
My room had great views
Bathroom was clean with no mould!

Negatives
Check in staff rather unfriendly and unhelpful
Housekeeping knocking on door very early on the weekends
Decor a little shabby (walls/ skirting very dirty)
Major building work taking place on the ground floor which was pretty noisy during the day. Guests should really be informed of this when booking

I stayed here for a wedding - managed to find a deal with free parking and wifi.
Wedding food was excellent!

Room Tip: Choose a high floor room with views
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, travelled solo
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank MACCA91
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
scottsdale
Level Contributor
20 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 August 2014

I had a few problems early on during my six-night stay. Given that I don't like having problems (even if resolved later on), I would advise others to think twice before staying here. The problems:

1) my first night, I was put in a room right behind the elevator bank. Needless to say, I heard the elevators going up and down the entire night.

2) My second night, I was placed in a room where they were doing major renovation on the floor. When the strong chemical fumes entered my room, I was seeing red because the duty manager said he didn't think the chemicals would go to my end of the hallway. As if cancer causing chemicals know how/when to stay in place. As if. Needless to say, I swiftly demanded to move again and for the manager himself to make SURE my third room would give me NO problems otherwise I'd reach out to corporate.

3) the third room was fine.

It should not take me going through three different rooms before I start enjoying my stay at ANY hotel much less one that I flew across the world to enjoy.

The other downer: they serve the EXACT same thing for breakfast EVERY SINGLE DAY. That's fine if you are spending one or two nights but to spend six nights only to wake up to the same meal is discouraging. Surely they could vary it up twice a week at the very least.

  • Stayed July 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank nvylocs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brisbane, Australia
Level Contributor
166 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 August 2014

My wife and I stayed here early July in a very comfortable room. My brother and his wife (on holidays from NSW) stayed in the room next door. Facilites were fine, the bed was extra comfy and the room was quiet - ticked all the boxes. My wife and I regularly stay here (and also at Jupiters) several times each year.
We managed a very cheap deal through the hotels web site and also took advantage of the great value buffet dinner at the hotels Waves Restaurant.
This establishment is a quality hotel that rewards regular guests.

Room Tip: The buffet is one of the cheapest on the Gold Coast.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Frank C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Maleny
Level Contributor
13 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 August 2014

This wasn't our first visit to the Watermark. Each time we have felt welcome and comfortable. This visit was once again a refreshing break. The staff were all very happy and helpful, and our favourite room (which we requested and were given) made us feel like we were right at home. Breakfast and dinner were delicious. We had fun travelling on the G train, which stops right outside. Thanks Watermark - we will be back!

Room Tip: We always choose higher level rooms to enjoy the views over the river to the mountains.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank RuthMaleny
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 5 August 2014 via mobile

I recently stayed in one of the Watermark's superior rooms with two friends and we were all very happy with the experience. There were two double beds and a single bed made out of a sofa bed- all of which were really comfortable. There were two pools, one on each side of the building which were great for sunbathing. We also enjoyed the jacuzzis! The staff at reception and the cleaners were friendly and helpful. Would definitely stay there again considering the value for money.

Stayed August 2014, travelled with friends
Helpful?
Thank Zoe C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Queensland, Australia
Level Contributor
89 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 August 2014 via mobile

Stayed here for a night as we were attending a wedding. I was under the impression there was limited parking available at no extra charge but apparently not. We paid $15 extra to park.

Rooms are great, spacious and fresh. Bathrooms need to be updated though. Great convenience with the tram stop right outside the hotel.

Will return again.

Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Chels87
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Surfers Paradise hotels
0.3 mi away
Novotel Surfers Paradise
Novotel Surfers Paradise
#14 of 32 in Surfers Paradise
384 reviews
0.8 mi away
QT Gold Coast
QT Gold Coast
#4 of 32 in Surfers Paradise
2,634 reviews
0.8 mi away
Crowne Plaza Surfers Paradise
Crowne Plaza Surfers Paradise
#7 of 32 in Surfers Paradise
1,176 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Mantra on View Hotel
Mantra on View Hotel
#11 of 32 in Surfers Paradise
2,552 reviews
0.1 mi away
Mantra Legends Hotel
Mantra Legends Hotel
#9 of 32 in Surfers Paradise
2,178 reviews
0.4 mi away
Mantra Circle on Cavill
Mantra Circle on Cavill
#6 of 32 in Surfers Paradise
3,056 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Watermark Hotel & Spa Gold Coast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Watermark Hotel & Spa Gold Coast

Property: Watermark Hotel & Spa Gold Coast
Address: 3032 Surfers Paradise Boulevard, Surfers Paradise, Gold Coast, Queensland 4217, Australia
Region: Australia > Queensland > Gold Coast > Surfers Paradise
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#2 Best Value Hotel in Surfers Paradise
#4 Spa Hotel in Surfers Paradise
#5 Business Hotel in Surfers Paradise
#6 Romantic Hotel in Surfers Paradise
#8 Luxury Hotel in Surfers Paradise
#8 Family Hotel in Surfers Paradise
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Watermark Hotel & Spa Gold Coast 4.5*
Number of rooms: 388
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Watermark Hotel & Spa is located in the heart of Surfers Paradise, the host of magnificent beaches, shopping and restaurants. The Hotel is ideally positioned on the Surfers Paradise Station of the Light Rail connecting to Gold Coast Convention Centre and Jupiters Casino, or a five minute walk to Cavill Avenue. Guests enjoy a day spa and hair salon, two outdoor swimming pools and spas and fitness centre. Our modern designer rooms enjoy ocean or hinterland views and include a flat-screen TV, fridge and are fully air conditioned. The en suite bathrooms are supplied with essential amenities and a hairdryer. Shared laundry facilities are available. L'Aqua Day Spa boasts a variety of massage treatments, and features premium products to ensure pure indulgence. Waves Buffet Restaurant offers a hot buffet breakfast daily, and an International Buffet for dinner. Visit Clifford's Grill & Lounge and Walrus Social House (bar, gaming, cafe) for a night of great tastes and tempting cocktails. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Ctrip TA, Odigeo, Expedia, Priceline, Hotels.com, TravelUp, Ebookers, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, Traveltool, S.L.U., HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Watermark Hotel & Spa Gold Coast reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Watermark Hotel And Spa Gold Coast
Watermark Hotel Gold Coast
Watermark Hotel Surfers Paradise
Watermark Hotel & Spa Gold Coast Surfers Paradise, Australia

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing