We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“good location and good value of money”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Watermark Hotel & Spa Gold Coast
Ranked #8 of 31 Hotels in Surfers Paradise
Mumbai
Level 5 Contributor
66 reviews
54 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
“good location and good value of money”
Reviewed 6 May 2009

One of the best location - bang in the heart of Surfers Paradise. Great Beach and sea views from the hotel. Very close to Restaurants and clubs. Walking distance away from the bus stops that take you to the Jupiter Casino - Pacific Fair shopping District as well as all the theme parks. The Italian Restaurant in the hotel - amalfi - was good but closes pretty early. The buffet breakfast and dinner was good value for money and had one of the most elaborate spreads that i have seen.

  • Stayed January 2009
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank AbhishekG_Mumbai
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,519 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    485
    658
    246
    75
    55
See reviews for
359
598
82
127
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (296)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Brisbane, Australia
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 April 2009

Made a last minute booking on eve of Anzac Day on wotif.com and got a fabulous deal for the one night (Anzac Day) for $149 in a Club Room which also included a $25 voucher to the L'Aqua Day Spa. Got to Surfers Paradise a little early (9am) but as they had rooms available were very accomodating so we could check in then. Top marks go to the friendliness of the reception staff who were terrific both on check in and check out, very welcoming and helpful.
Room itself was on the 18th floor with ocean views and also view of the Q1 building. The room was refurbished but you could tell that some fittings were a little old however for the price we paid, absolute bargain. Very comfy king bed with the option of pillow menu. Bathroom was a little small but as we were only there for the night, it did not really bother us. Had breakfast at the Waves restaurant the next day which was ok. Dinner to recommend was a very reasonable $42 for 2 people seafood platter at the Courtyard Marriott (not to be confused with the other Marriott further down the road!!) Huge serving of very fresh seafood including prawns, crab, squid, smoked salmon and we were dining with friends with 3 young girls so were very impressed with their array of Kids menu with colour in picture on other side of the menu which provided the girls with activity while we ate. All in all a very good weekend,

  • Stayed April 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank houndkwok
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
brisbane
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 April 2009

My husband and I stayed here from March 25-28th and absolutely loved it. It was our second time here but our first time in a Club room. We were on the 18th floor (room 11) with a great view - we got the ocean as well as other buildings which I quite liked as I enjoy city lights at night. The room was lovely, tastefully decorated and clean. The king bed was so comfortable and the pillow menu was a life saver - I'm a fussy sleeper and was able to order the type of pillows that I sleep with at home.

We ordered room service twice and found it to be fast and tasty. Each staff member that we encountered was friendly and helpful.

The one and only negative that we experienced was not being able to find a park in the underground carpark one evening. The parking is not allocated to rooms so I guess you're not strictly guaranteed a spot. Generally parking is $5/day but this charge was included in our package.

We had a wonderful, relaxing time and will definitely be back!

  • Stayed March 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Brisbane12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne, Australia
Level 3 Contributor
21 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 April 2009

Great location (5mnt walk to Cavill Ave), great view (15th floor), excellent service (staff & free room upgrade), clean room, ample carpark space....what more can you ask? My wife use the massage therapy and she was wrap with both service and treatment.

Fixtures & fittings in the rooms slightly outdated (ie. bathroom fittings, decor & etc), but doesn't dampen our spirit. All in all, we will definitely come back. Good on ya Watermark Hotels & happy Easter.

  • Stayed April 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Adrian S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Queensland
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 April 2009

Our family dined at Waves Seafood Buffet Restaurant at the Watermark Hotel & Spa yesterday evening. The occasion was my husband's birthday and also Easter Saturday. I had endeavoured to find a venue where the food was fresh, there was variety of seafood as well as international cuisine to suit my family's varied taste. Excellent choice!! I absolutely loved the natural oysters, there were large fresh cooked prawns, mussels in the shell and loads of cooked lobster. Certainly not for the feint hearted! We went back 3 times the ultimate gustation experience! Then came time for dessert. I have personally never seen such a variety of exquisite, decadent, well presented desserts at a buffet before. The children loved dipping strawberries into the chocolate fountain.. there was ice-cream, triffles, fruit and upteenth ways to eat chocolate :) Coffee was included and drinks were a reasonable price. There were jugs of soft drink available for children. The service was personal, attentive and consistent throughout the evening. Plates were cleared in a timely fashion, drinks poured, photoes offered to be taken.. This was a venue full of satisfied customers, from groups of people, single families, or couples. The buffet was classy, fresh, great quality and absolutely delicious in taste! We will definitely be back!

  • Stayed April 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank medichic
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brisbane, Australia
Level 6 Contributor
71 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 73 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 March 2009

The Watermark is a nice, fresh hotel. Clean and with nice views.
Easy stroll to the centre of Surfers. Right opposite Q1.

We enjoyed our stay and would return again in future

  • Stayed October 2007, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank odyssey1977
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Australia
Level 5 Contributor
35 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 130 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 February 2009

My husband & I spent 1 night here in a Club Watermark Room for a work Social Club weekend away. We were very happy with the facilities provided and the comfort and cleanliness of our room and overall had a very enjoyable night.

Positives
- Friendly, fast & efficient check-in
- Lobby, lifts and public areas were impressive, clean and attractive
- Our Club Room on the 18th floor was very clean with attractive, modern fitout & décor (although room quite small)
- Extremely comfortable king sized bed and lovely soft pillows – one of the most comfortable beds & pillows I’ve come across in the numerous hotels I’ve stayed in over the years. They even had a pillow menu to choose from if you weren’t happy with what was already provided
- The soft, luxurious robes and slippers provided were a nice touch!
- Room was very quiet/soundproofed & hardly heard any noise at all from the corridor and other rooms. We couldn’t hear any street noise whatsoever except for a fire siren screaming past early in the morning but that’s to be expected. We enjoyed a very peaceful nights sleep & woke feeling refreshed.
- Despite being behind the Q1 building we still had a lovely, partial view of the ocean from our 18th floor room
- Hotel is only a couple of blocks to the beach, and as short walk (5 mins) to Cavill Ave and many shops/restaurants
- Dinner at Waves Buffet Restaurant on Saturday night was lovely, food was fresh, mostly hot (except for a few dishes when they were getting down to the dregs), tasty and plenty of variety to choose from – those in the group who ate the cold seafood such as prawns etc commented how good they were
- Wait staff at Waves were friendly and very efficient with their drinks service & clearing of dirty plates etc. They even topped up guests wine or water glasses for them if they walked past the table and noticed someone’s drink was almost empty
- Food at the buffet was replenished regularly, ie once a dish was almost empty it didn’t take long for them to replace it with more
- Breakfast at Waves (which was included in our package deal) was equally as good, again the service was friendly and efficient, and stocks were replenished quickly. There was again plenty of variety and food was always fresh and tasty.
- The Zaba Gaming Lounge downstairs was tastefully decorated and drinks were reasonably priced for a 4.5 star hotel. A very nice spot to meet up with colleagues for a quick drink on Saturday afternoon before heading over to the Q1 viewing deck

Negatives
There really wasn’t much we didn’t like about the Watermark. If we wanted to be fussy, these are a couple of very minor points to mention (none of which bothered us though)
- The Club Room (which was the “better” grade of room) was very small – just enough room for a small bathroom, king sized bed, small lounge, small table & TV. This didn’t bother us, however we and the rest of our group did feel the rooms were on the smaller size compared to those of other hotels/resorts
- There are no windows or balconies to the rooms, so if you’re claustraphobic and enjoy fresh air in your room, this may not be the place for you
- If you book a standard room you must pay $5 for carparking, or extra for valet parking. As we had a club room, parking was included, but a couple of people in our group who didn’t upgrade were surprised to find they would be charged for parking. Whilst the amount is small and is probably the hotels way of keeping room prices to a minimum, I can understand this may surprise or annoy some people.
- The undercover carpark would have to be one of the most difficult to get around in that I’ve ever seen – the carkparks were extremely small, and the corners very tight. I would expect there are lots of minor accidents, scrapes and scratches that occur down there. I also doubt there are enough carparks for when the hotel is at full capacity. I realise many guest probably fly in from interstate or overseas and do not require a carpark, however I’d hate to be trying to scramble for a carpark in busy times
- Mini bar didn’t have a lot to choose from, but this didn’t matter as there is a lovely, reasonably priced bar downstairs that is probably a lot cheaper and nicer atmosphere anyway

Unfortunately our stay was only very short, so we didn’t have the chance to try the Amalfi Bistro & Wine Bar (Italian, which sounded very nice), nor did we get to use other facilities like the swimming pools or experience the L’Aqua Day Spa, but the treatments available sounded wonderful and I only wish we were there longer so we could indulge in a treat. Hopefully we’ll be back again one day and have the opportunity to do so.

Overall the Watermark was a very nice hotel for an overnight stay, we had a lovely night and would have been happy to stay for longer. It would make a good base for travellers who wish to spend the majority of their time doing daytrips, shopping trips, at the beach or just checking out the sights of the Gold Coast, and spending little time in their room. We would be happy to recommend it to others.

  • Stayed February 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank pmrb80
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Surfers Paradise hotels
0.3 mi away
Novotel Surfers Paradise
Novotel Surfers Paradise
#14 of 31 in Surfers Paradise
433 reviews
0.8 mi away
Crowne Plaza Surfers Paradise
Crowne Plaza Surfers Paradise
#7 of 31 in Surfers Paradise
1,639 reviews
0.8 mi away
QT Gold Coast
QT Gold Coast
#4 of 31 in Surfers Paradise
2,684 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Mantra on View Hotel
Mantra on View Hotel
#11 of 31 in Surfers Paradise
2,702 reviews
0.1 mi away
Mantra Legends Hotel
Mantra Legends Hotel
#9 of 31 in Surfers Paradise
2,326 reviews
0.4 mi away
Hilton Surfers Paradise Hotel
Hilton Surfers Paradise Hotel
#12 of 31 in Surfers Paradise
3,256 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Watermark Hotel & Spa Gold Coast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Watermark Hotel & Spa Gold Coast

Property: Watermark Hotel & Spa Gold Coast
Address: 3032 Surfers Paradise Boulevard, Surfers Paradise, Gold Coast, Queensland 4217, Australia
Region: Australia > Queensland > Gold Coast > Surfers Paradise
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Best Value Hotel in Surfers Paradise
#4 Spa Hotel in Surfers Paradise
#5 Business Hotel in Surfers Paradise
#6 Romantic Hotel in Surfers Paradise
#7 Luxury Hotel in Surfers Paradise
#8 Family Hotel in Surfers Paradise
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Watermark Hotel & Spa Gold Coast 4.5*
Number of rooms: 388
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Watermark Hotel & Spa is located in the heart of Surfers Paradise, the host of magnificent beaches, shopping and restaurants. The Hotel is ideally positioned on the Surfers Paradise Station of the Light Rail connecting to Gold Coast Convention Centre and Jupiters Casino, or a five minute walk to Cavill Avenue. Guests enjoy a day spa and hair salon, two outdoor swimming pools and spas and fitness centre. Our modern designer rooms enjoy ocean or hinterland views and include a flat-screen TV, fridge and are fully air conditioned. The en suite bathrooms are supplied with essential amenities and a hairdryer. Shared laundry facilities are available. L'Aqua Day Spa boasts a variety of massage treatments, and features premium products to ensure pure indulgence. Waves Buffet Restaurant offers a hot buffet breakfast daily, and an International Buffet for dinner. Visit Clifford's Grill & Lounge and Walrus Social House (bar, gaming, cafe) for a night of great tastes and tempting cocktails. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Booking.com, Expedia, Odigeo, Hotels.com, Ebookers, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Watermark Hotel & Spa Gold Coast reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Watermark Hotel And Spa Gold Coast
Watermark Hotel Gold Coast
Watermark Hotel Surfers Paradise
Watermark Hotel & Spa Gold Coast Surfers Paradise, Australia

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing