We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Company Xmas Party Murder Mystery 20/11/10”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Watermark Hotel & Spa Gold Coast
Ranked #8 of 31 Hotels in Surfers Paradise
Reviewed 20 November 2010

We (our company) booked a Murder Mystery party which was held at the Watermark Hotel, for our staff & clients. I would like to thank all the staff who assisted us in making this night a success for all. I had a special dietary request for my husband, and the chef/chefs were outstanding. It is extremely difficult to explain to some establishments, what my husand required even overseas, and normally we have to send it back two or three times until it is correct, but in the Amalfi restaurant THEY GOT IT! I am extremely greatful. Kent, Chris and the bar staff, especially Carly, who was our waitress, were all a delight, and absolutely nothing was a problem. Thank you guys and once again, Carly (you beauty!). As mentioned to Carly upon leaving, we would certainly return to Amalfi's. My only critism is the lack of communication with the Conference & Events Department. I felt that once we paid our money, that was it, no need to contact or reply to the customer. It was extremely difficult to contact this department in the first instance, playing phone tag all the time, which is most frustrating speaking to an answering machine, (as we all do over and over again), without a speedy reply or response. My last email to this department has still not been answered which was sent the day before our function. Not good enough! But besides that it was a wonderful night, full of wonderful staff, from concierge to Amalfi's, so thank you for making our night a memorable one, and our guests and of course, overselves can not speak highly enough about the 3 course dinner for 20. Keep up the good work!

  • Stayed: November 2010, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank paradisetravellers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,674)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,464 - 1,470 of 1,675 reviews

Reviewed 1 November 2010

We booked to stay at the Club Watermark after seeing a reduced rate on Expedia's website. We were very impressed with the hotel. The breakfast, the location and the cleanliness of the hotel was fantastic. The hotel was only let down by two things. One, the concergie staff couldn't have looked more bored if they tried. Secondly, the 'daily snacks' that were available throughout the day for Club Watermark guests consisted of tiny biscuits, not really a proper snack that we expected.
Other than that though, a fantastic hotel and a great holiday!

  • Stayed: October 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank NWalker26
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 October 2010

Rooms where lovely and spacious, saw reviews before I left saying hotel wasn't too close to mall, but mall is less than 5 min walk, plenty of yummy restruants and shops all within 2mins walking. Yummy Pizza/Pasta takeaway across the road. There is also an IGA 2 mins away whtich is handy fro fresh milk etc. We loved the seafood in the Buffet Restraunt and really wouldn't complain about anything in this hotel, staff where friendly, had to go downstairs to get your own ice etc or they would charge you but that wasn't a problem, just a quick lift ride. They also have happy hour between 5-7 with cheap drinks!!

  • Stayed: October 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank faye001
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 October 2010

Great hotel, very friendly staff and perfect location.

Would not hesitate booking this hotel again.

We have stopped in many hotels around the globe, and found the staff here amongst the most welcoming and friendly. Two heated pools and jacuzzis, both very accommodating, even in the Oz winter.

  • Stayed: August 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ewoodjo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 October 2010

Stayed in an Executive Room on the 10th floor which was more spacious than the one I had previously stayed in at Jupiter's Casino. Room Service isn't too bad, however, it did seem a tad over priced.

My partner visited the Buffet Breakfast and was extremely disappointed in the lack of range and supply that was available to him. Ordered room service for breakfast another morning and this turned out to be the much better option.

Day Spa was amazing - we booked a couples spa package that included a dual massage and our own private room with spa. Staff were very helpful and professional.

Checking in and out was no problem. Very speedy and polite.

I would highly recommend Pizza Mondo which was across the road of the Watermark. Extremely good service and food - we ate here two of our four nights. It is a little hard to eat-in here if it's raining, however, the staff were very accomodatin and rearranged the store so that we could all sit comfortably.

Overall a good experience.

  • Stayed: October 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Shanon159
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 September 2010

The Watermark is well located, rooms pleasantly appointed and staff friendly. We were, however, extremely disappointed with the Amalfi restaurant. The food was sub-standard, one of our party was ill and the menu itself was like a hideous throwback to the 80's. Asparagus crepes with no fresh asparagus, water glasses with pieces of black debris floating around, told that the dips and bread would be whatever the chef had at the time and berries that we were told would be fresh were quite obviously frozen. By all means stay at the hotel but eat elsewhere - there are plenty of great options very close to the hotel. Would give this 4 stars if the restaurant had been better.

  • Stayed: September 2010, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank SydneyJW
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 September 2010

the rooms were small, the cards you use to get into your room and lift were useless and never worked.. the staff didnt give a s**t about us, they were all fussing over the Malaysian / Japanese and Chinese tour groups.. not one of them even smiled at me as I walked through the foyer - but were right there smiling at the tour groups. No offer of help with luggage once off bus but ran to other tour group with trolleys to assist..

They stuffed up all of our room service orders and their restaraunts are HUGELY overpriced. $7.00 for a bowl of coco pops ? $49 for a dinner buffet that is cold and small choice. $3.90 for a CAN of coke ( in the mini bar AND in the shop downstairs)

No balconies, it appears they falsely advertise their hotel to suit themselves. I have found these adertisements and forwarded them to the appropriate people.

Go stay at cosmopoliton down the road, half the price, ( doesnt look great from outside but right on Cavhill ave and GREAT inside... self contained.. dont worry you can cook toast and not pay an immediate $975 fine like at watermark!!! ) I stayed at cosmo last year and will be going back there - unlike watermark..

  • Stayed: September 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank MelbsMum
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Surfers Paradise hotels
0.3 mi away
Novotel Surfers Paradise
Novotel Surfers Paradise
#14 of 31 in Surfers Paradise
497 reviews
0.6 mi away
Mantra on View Hotel
Mantra on View Hotel
#10 of 31 in Surfers Paradise
2,885 reviews
0.8 mi away
Crowne Plaza Surfers Paradise
Crowne Plaza Surfers Paradise
#7 of 31 in Surfers Paradise
1,669 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Mantra Legends Hotel
Mantra Legends Hotel
#9 of 31 in Surfers Paradise
2,476 reviews
0.8 mi away
QT Gold Coast
QT Gold Coast
#5 of 31 in Surfers Paradise
2,750 reviews
0.4 mi away
Hilton Surfers Paradise Hotel
Hilton Surfers Paradise Hotel
#13 of 31 in Surfers Paradise
3,325 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Watermark Hotel & Spa Gold Coast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Watermark Hotel & Spa Gold Coast

Address: 3032 Surfers Paradise Boulevard, Surfers Paradise, Gold Coast, Queensland 4217, Australia
Region: Australia > Queensland > Gold Coast > Surfers Paradise
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#2 Best Value Hotel in Surfers Paradise
#4 Spa Hotel in Surfers Paradise
#5 Business Hotel in Surfers Paradise
#6 Romantic Hotel in Surfers Paradise
#8 Luxury Hotel in Surfers Paradise
#8 Family Hotel in Surfers Paradise
Price Range: £76 - £176 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Watermark Hotel & Spa Gold Coast 4.5*
Number of rooms: 388
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Watermark Hotel & Spa is located in the heart of Surfers Paradise, the host of magnificent beaches, shopping and restaurants. The Hotel is ideally positioned on the Surfers Paradise Station of the Light Rail connecting to Gold Coast Convention Centre and Jupiters Casino, or a five minute walk to Cavill Avenue. Guests enjoy a day spa and hair salon, two outdoor swimming pools and spas and fitness centre. Our modern designer rooms enjoy ocean or hinterland views and include a flat-screen TV, fridge and are fully air conditioned. The en suite bathrooms are supplied with essential amenities and a hairdryer. Shared laundry facilities are available. L'Aqua Day Spa boasts a variety of massage treatments, and features premium products to ensure pure indulgence. Waves Buffet Restaurant offers a hot buffet breakfast daily, and an International Buffet for dinner. Visit Clifford's Grill & Lounge and Walrus Social House (bar, gaming, cafe) for a night of great tastes and tempting cocktails. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda, Expedia, Hotels.com, Odigeo, HotelsClick, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, Cancelon, 5viajes2012 S.L. and HotelQuickly so you can book your Watermark Hotel & Spa Gold Coast reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Watermark Hotel And Spa Gold Coast
Watermark Hotel Gold Coast
Watermark Hotel Surfers Paradise
Watermark Hotel & Spa Gold Coast Surfers Paradise, Australia

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing