We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“been to the gold coast five times first time at the focus and it was fantastic and we will certainly come back.”
Review of Focus Apartments

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Focus Apartments
Certificate of Excellence
Melbourne, Australia
2 reviews
“been to the gold coast five times first time at the focus and it was fantastic and we will certainly come back.”
Reviewed 12 April 2011

the focus is the best place we have ever stayed at we have told all our family and friends about the focus and the staff was very friendly and the facilities were excellent. we will be coming back many times. from robert allingham.

Room Tip: book early
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank tigers57
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
pam_kay6, Guest Relations Manager at Focus Apartments, responded to this review, 14 April 2011
I am happy that you enjoyed your stay at Focus Apartments and thank you for recommending us to your family and friends. We have many return guests who also enjoy our facilities such as the gym, tennis court, sauna, spa, table tennis room and heated pools. I have passed on your comments to our staff who are always willing to help guests with their enquiries and to make check in and check out as easy as possible.

Thanks again and I look forward to seeing you in the future.

Pam Constable
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

191 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    73
    56
    30
    17
    15
See reviews for
115
15
Solo
0
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (48)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Broome
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 March 2011

We were taking a holiday with our 3 children. Extremely happy with the location - over the road from a patrolled, beautiful beach, and walking distance to the centro shopping district of surfers paradise. We found the service to be fantastic, and the price very reasonable. Fantastic panoramic views of the ocean, quiet, clean and well stocked. We will certainly return many times in the future.

  • Stayed March 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank DavidBroome
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
pam_kay6, Guest Relations Manager at Focus Apartments, responded to this review, 30 March 2011
Thank you for the review of your stay at Focus Apartments. We are delighted that you were happy with the apartment and agree that our location is close to shopping and a patrolled beach. When you checked in I remember you had a one week old baby so congratulations on your new son. Looking forward to seeing you and your family when you come back next time.

Pam Constable
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 March 2011

We were looking forward to staying at focus, it was our first family holiday in 2 years and had been looking at the pictures on the Internet of the rooms and they looked great. When we arrived we stayed in room 41, I was a bit disappointed when we got into the room and it was very old nothing like the pictures on the website. The blinds were fithy, the laundry door was broken and half falling off, the ensuite shower head sprayed all around the bathroom when you turned it on, the bed quilts smelled
and looked like they hadn't been washed for a while and none of the
doors locked which meant I did not sleep most of the first night we were there because I was so worried my two year old may wake up and open the door while I was asleep. Anyway the next day we went to reception and they organized to have the doors fixed, we stayed in that room another night then we found our next lovely surprise! A USED NEEDLE! My husband found this when he put his hand on it in the bedroom cupboard. I went to reception and told them about it they were concerned but not overly they said they would get someone to come
and remove it, I said I would like to change rooms they gave us keys to unit number 8 and it was lovely our stay from then on was great I just wished we had have had this room from the beginning because it ruined the first few days of our holiday being in that room. I don't think I would stay at focus again just because of the risk of getting one of those horrible old rooms again if I was guaranteed the nice apartment again I would definatly stay but the old rooms are a nightmare.

  • Stayed March 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank THines
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
pam_kay6, Guest Relations Manager at Focus Apartments, responded to this review, 30 March 2011
Your review is appreciated as I spoke with you at the time of your complaint and your response was that 'things' happen and you were very understanding. I upgraded you to a Superior apartment and am glad that you were happy with the remainder of your stay with us.

Your booking was made through a voucher company at a very low tariff in a Standard apartment and these apartments are not as modern as the Superior apartments but they are an excellent rate. We hope you will come back to Focus and will guarantee you another Superior apartment for the price of a Standard.

Pam Constable
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dunedin, New Zealand
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 21 March 2011

Hi, we are from NZ and before i settled on this place i had emailed and rung around 8 different places to compare costs and what there services were for 13 nights stay. We found this place was the cheapest and best value for money,very close to main shoping mall,across road from beach and 50 metres away from bus stops to all themes parks, has swimming pools,spa, bbq area.
We found the service from all staff very helpful before we arrived and on our stay. I requested a high floor and we got just that (25th) and our apartment was spacious with great views. Looked if room has had a freshen up at some stage as for age looked modern.We only found couple of little gripes --carpets were in need of cleaning ,cleaning in bath room was average all sliding doors didnt lock at all and seals on door are worn out so rattle when windy, but overall for a building which is approx 30 years old it is very good value and i would more than happy stay here again when we come back to gold coast. .Thanks to all staff at Focus in making this a great holiday for us.

  • Stayed March 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank DebsandLas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, Australia
1 review
Reviewed 12 March 2011

The service was great all the staff were very helpful.The room we stayed in was big,clean and had an awesome view.It was in the perfect spot just across the road from the beach and a short walk to the heart of surfers.The amenities were fantastic with all the options,our kids enjoyed the table tennis,tennis and the pool.While we loved the bbq area.Overall it was fantastic for us we will go back and stay there again.

  • Stayed February 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Walya
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne, Australia
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviewed 22 January 2011

Stayed here for 7 nights in a 3 Bedroom apartment. Looked like the kitchen and bathrooms had a refurbishment in recent times and looked fairly modern. The Bedrooms were neat however the curtains were very dirty, stained and dusty as were some of the walls. The ceiling Fans didn;t work properly and in one room the fan switched on and off whenever if wanted too by itself. Maybe dodgy wiring? The underground carpark was too small for our vehicle and we ended up having to park outside. Location is excellent and outdoor pool and BBQ areas were fantastic. We had to settle for this place as our previous booking elsewhere was cancelled due to a double booking by the other resort. Not a place that I would personally go back to. For the same or similar price of a 7 day holiday there are better suited and cleaner places on the Gold Coast that we have stayed at before.

  • Stayed January 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank genxfrog
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
pam_kay6, Guest Relations Manager at Focus Apartments, responded to this review, 22 March 2011
Great to hear you enjoyed your stay at Focus Apartments and we agree that our position is central to everything Surfers Paradise has to offer ie shopping, sightseeing and transport. Guests often comment on our manicured grounds and facilities and everyone enjoys the large bbq area for entertaining. We currently have a maintenance program in place to replace any faulty door handles and locks and you will be glad to know this is well underway.

We look forward to seeing you on a return visit in the future.

Pam Constable
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brisbane, Australia
Level 4 Contributor
43 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 65 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 January 2011

Overall it was a pretty good stay. The building itself is dated and this is reflected in the quality of the hallways, carpets and lifts - but the rooms themselves have actually been renovated.

The room was tiled (no carpet), air conditioner worked great, we had a large flat screen with dvd player and a fully functional kitchen. The walls were pretty thick so we heard nothing from the neighbours. The bedding was satisfactory and the pillows were great. My only complaint really regarding the bedding was that the beds are on wheels so they tend to move during the night.

All the sliding doors in our room did not lock which was a concern considering we had a child under 5 staying with us and there are large gaps on the sides of each balcony that a small child could actually fit through - needless to say we kept the balcony doors closed at all times. There was one window in the kids bedroom that was broken and remained slightly opened all the time which meant it was a tad noisy.

The customer service was fine - ladies at the front desk were friendly. The BBQ facilities were very modern and clean. The pool was well maintained, the childrens pool was sun protected and the spa worked a treat.

Other points to note: Bring your own toilet paper! otherwise front desk charge $1 per roll or you can make a wall to the corner store (which is the last thing you want to be doing on holidays!). We did stay when the summer storms hit so there was slight flooding in the car park - nothing that would damage a car but did make it difficult to get to wearing thongs. There is limited visitor parking and the restaurant is still under construction.

The location of the building is superb and thats what makes it a great place to stay. Right across the road from the beach and less than a 5minute walk to Cavill (I've had a hip replacement and i could walk it fine!)

Overall i would actually stay here again :)

  • Stayed December 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Davarello
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
pam_kay6, Guest Relations Manager at Focus Apartments, responded to this review, 23 March 2011
Your comments are greatly appreciated and we are pleased that you enjoyed your stay at Focus Apartments. Our apartments are good value for money and we have many families staying with us who appreciate the large apartments and great facilities we offer. As regards the locks we have recently undertaken a maintenance program to replace faulty door handles and locks.

Hopefully we will see you again in the near future and thanks again for your comments.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Surfers Paradise hotels
0.2 mi away
Hi Surf Beachfront Resort Apartments
Hi Surf Beachfront Resort Apartm...
#1 of 11 in Surfers Paradise
316 reviews
0.1 mi away
Pacific Plaza Holiday Apartments
Pacific Plaza Holiday Apartments
#66 of 123 in Surfers Paradise
59 reviews
0.2 mi away
Olympus Apartments
Olympus Apartments
#61 of 123 in Surfers Paradise
157 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
BreakFree Imperial Surf
BreakFree Imperial Surf
#9 of 123 in Surfers Paradise
517 reviews
0.0 mi away
BreakFree Beachpoint
BreakFree Beachpoint
#30 of 123 in Surfers Paradise
259 reviews
0.2 mi away
Suntower Holiday Units
Suntower Holiday Units
#51 of 123 in Surfers Paradise
70 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Focus Apartments? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Focus Apartments

Property: Focus Apartments
Address: Focus Apartments 114 The Esplanade, Surfers Paradise, Gold Coast, Queensland 4217, Australia
Phone Number:
Region: Australia > Queensland > Gold Coast > Surfers Paradise
Amenities:
Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #29 of 123 Speciality Lodging in Surfers Paradise
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Focus Apartments 4*
Number of rooms: 55
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Focus Apartments is situated at 114 The Esplanade, Surfers Paradise - we're the round, 32 storey, white building that's right opposite the beach. We are within easy walking distance of Cavill Avenue - the hub of Surfers Paradise. With convenient underground parking and intercom security access, Focus welcomes you to the Gold Coast, 365 days a year. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com and Agoda so you can book your Focus Apartments reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Focus Apartments Surfers Paradise, Gold Coast, Australia

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing