We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good place to stay in Surfers Paradise”
Review of Focus Apartments

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Focus Apartments
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 27 April 2011

Focus is very well sited for the beach and the local attractions. The apartment was a good size and the satff were very friendly and helpfull. Our experience of car parking was not great, due to other people using spaces not allocated to them, but this was no fault of the staff there, who tried really hard to resolve this and got there in the end. The apartment was nice and quiet and even though the apartment block was full, we didn't hear anyone else.

  • Stayed: April 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank StephG22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
pam_kay6, Guest Relations Manager at Focus Apartments, responded to this reviewResponded 4 May 2011

Thank you for taking the time to write a review on Focus Apartments and I am glad that you enjoyed your stay in one of our spacious 3 bedroom apartments. I was happy to hear that our staff were helpful with your parking problem and allocated you another car space and I will pass on your comments to them. We are also fortunate to have a separate visitors car park on street level for those larger vehicles.

We hope you will return to Focus Apartments in the near future.

Pam Constable

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (194)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

151 - 157 of 194 reviews

Reviewed 12 April 2011

the focus is the best place we have ever stayed at we have told all our family and friends about the focus and the staff was very friendly and the facilities were excellent. we will be coming back many times. from robert allingham.

Room Tip: book early
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank tigers57
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
pam_kay6, Guest Relations Manager at Focus Apartments, responded to this reviewResponded 14 April 2011

I am happy that you enjoyed your stay at Focus Apartments and thank you for recommending us to your family and friends. We have many return guests who also enjoy our facilities such as the gym, tennis court, sauna, spa, table tennis room and heated pools. I have passed on your comments to our staff who are always willing to help guests with their enquiries and to make check in and check out as easy as possible.

Thanks again and I look forward to seeing you in the future.

Pam Constable

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 March 2011

We were taking a holiday with our 3 children. Extremely happy with the location - over the road from a patrolled, beautiful beach, and walking distance to the centro shopping district of surfers paradise. We found the service to be fantastic, and the price very reasonable. Fantastic panoramic views of the ocean, quiet, clean and well stocked. We will certainly return many times in the future.

  • Stayed: March 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank DavidBroome
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
pam_kay6, Guest Relations Manager at Focus Apartments, responded to this reviewResponded 30 March 2011

Thank you for the review of your stay at Focus Apartments. We are delighted that you were happy with the apartment and agree that our location is close to shopping and a patrolled beach. When you checked in I remember you had a one week old baby so congratulations on your new son. Looking forward to seeing you and your family when you come back next time.

Pam Constable

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 March 2011

We were looking forward to staying at focus, it was our first family holiday in 2 years and had been looking at the pictures on the Internet of the rooms and they looked great. When we arrived we stayed in room 41, I was a bit disappointed when we got into the room and it was very old nothing like the pictures on the website. The blinds were fithy, the laundry door was broken and half falling off, the ensuite shower head sprayed all around the bathroom when you turned it on, the bed quilts smelled
and looked like they hadn't been washed for a while and none of the
doors locked which meant I did not sleep most of the first night we were there because I was so worried my two year old may wake up and open the door while I was asleep. Anyway the next day we went to reception and they organized to have the doors fixed, we stayed in that room another night then we found our next lovely surprise! A USED NEEDLE! My husband found this when he put his hand on it in the bedroom cupboard. I went to reception and told them about it they were concerned but not overly they said they would get someone to come
and remove it, I said I would like to change rooms they gave us keys to unit number 8 and it was lovely our stay from then on was great I just wished we had have had this room from the beginning because it ruined the first few days of our holiday being in that room. I don't think I would stay at focus again just because of the risk of getting one of those horrible old rooms again if I was guaranteed the nice apartment again I would definatly stay but the old rooms are a nightmare.

  • Stayed: March 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank THines
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
pam_kay6, Guest Relations Manager at Focus Apartments, responded to this reviewResponded 30 March 2011

Your review is appreciated as I spoke with you at the time of your complaint and your response was that 'things' happen and you were very understanding. I upgraded you to a Superior apartment and am glad that you were happy with the remainder of your stay with us.

Your booking was made through a voucher company at a very low tariff in a Standard apartment and these apartments are not as modern as the Superior apartments but they are an excellent rate. We hope you will come back to Focus and will guarantee you another Superior apartment for the price of a Standard.

Pam Constable

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 March 2011

Hi, we are from NZ and before i settled on this place i had emailed and rung around 8 different places to compare costs and what there services were for 13 nights stay. We found this place was the cheapest and best value for money,very close to main shoping mall,across road from beach and 50 metres away from bus stops to all themes parks, has swimming pools,spa, bbq area.
We found the service from all staff very helpful before we arrived and on our stay. I requested a high floor and we got just that (25th) and our apartment was spacious with great views. Looked if room has had a freshen up at some stage as for age looked modern.We only found couple of little gripes --carpets were in need of cleaning ,cleaning in bath room was average all sliding doors didnt lock at all and seals on door are worn out so rattle when windy, but overall for a building which is approx 30 years old it is very good value and i would more than happy stay here again when we come back to gold coast. .Thanks to all staff at Focus in making this a great holiday for us.

  • Stayed: March 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank DebsandLas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 March 2011

The service was great all the staff were very helpful.The room we stayed in was big,clean and had an awesome view.It was in the perfect spot just across the road from the beach and a short walk to the heart of surfers.The amenities were fantastic with all the options,our kids enjoyed the table tennis,tennis and the pool.While we loved the bbq area.Overall it was fantastic for us we will go back and stay there again.

  • Stayed: February 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Walya
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 January 2011

Stayed here for 7 nights in a 3 Bedroom apartment. Looked like the kitchen and bathrooms had a refurbishment in recent times and looked fairly modern. The Bedrooms were neat however the curtains were very dirty, stained and dusty as were some of the walls. The ceiling Fans didn;t work properly and in one room the fan switched on and off whenever if wanted too by itself. Maybe dodgy wiring? The underground carpark was too small for our vehicle and we ended up having to park outside. Location is excellent and outdoor pool and BBQ areas were fantastic. We had to settle for this place as our previous booking elsewhere was cancelled due to a double booking by the other resort. Not a place that I would personally go back to. For the same or similar price of a 7 day holiday there are better suited and cleaner places on the Gold Coast that we have stayed at before.

  • Stayed: January 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank genxfrog
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
pam_kay6, Guest Relations Manager at Focus Apartments, responded to this reviewResponded 22 March 2011

Great to hear you enjoyed your stay at Focus Apartments and we agree that our position is central to everything Surfers Paradise has to offer ie shopping, sightseeing and transport. Guests often comment on our manicured grounds and facilities and everyone enjoys the large bbq area for entertaining. We currently have a maintenance program in place to replace any faulty door handles and locks and you will be glad to know this is well underway.

We look forward to seeing you on a return visit in the future.

Pam Constable

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Surfers Paradise hotels
0.5 mi away
Novotel Surfers Paradise
Novotel Surfers Paradise
#14 of 31 in Surfers Paradise
531 reviews
0.1 mi away
QT Gold Coast
QT Gold Coast
#5 of 31 in Surfers Paradise
2,781 reviews
0.4 mi away
Mantra Circle on Cavill
Mantra Circle on Cavill
#6 of 31 in Surfers Paradise
3,523 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Hilton Surfers Paradise Hotel
Hilton Surfers Paradise Hotel
#13 of 31 in Surfers Paradise
3,370 reviews
0.1 mi away
Mantra Crown Towers
Mantra Crown Towers
#10 of 124 in Surfers Paradise
2,200 reviews
0.2 mi away
BreakFree Moroccan Resort
BreakFree Moroccan Resort
#21 of 124 in Surfers Paradise
592 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Focus Apartments? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Focus Apartments

Address: Focus Apartments 114 The Esplanade, Surfers Paradise, Gold Coast, Queensland 4217, Australia
Phone Number:
Region: Australia > Queensland > Gold Coast > Surfers Paradise
Amenities:
Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #32 of 124 Speciality Lodging in Surfers Paradise
Price Range: £111 - £285 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Focus Apartments 4*
Number of rooms: 55
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Focus Apartments is situated at 114 The Esplanade, Surfers Paradise - we're the round, 32 storey, white building that's right opposite the beach. We are within easy walking distance of Cavill Avenue - the hub of Surfers Paradise. With convenient underground parking and intercom security access, Focus welcomes you to the Gold Coast, 365 days a year. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com and TripOnline SA so you can book your Focus Apartments reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Focus Apartments Surfers Paradise, Gold Coast, Australia

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing