We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Always enjoy my stay at Focus.”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Focus Apartments

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Focus Apartments
NSW
Level Contributor
77 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“Always enjoy my stay at Focus.”
Reviewed 4 October 2012 via mobile

This was our third visit. I have tried to price other apartments but none come close to what you pay at the Focus for a three bedroom apartment. The thing I like most are the grounds. My kids spent the day downstairs, swimming in the pool, relaxing in the spa, working out in the gym, playing table tennis, having a hit of tennis and shooting some baskets. You can choose to laze in the deckchairs, or at night enjoy the BBQ's. With all the attractions, the beach across the road, sometimes it's just easier staying in your own backyard and creating your own fun.

The room, depending on which room are getting dated, the doors and windows have copped a beating from the exposure to the salt, but still, if that's the only gripe, when you realise the age of the building then its not really a gripe. Everything inside is of good quality and feels like home. I will keep coming back because the price is right, the facilities are great and it's value for money. Oh yeah, the staff are knowledgable, helpful and friendly. Thanks again Focus and see you again soon.

Stayed October 2012, travelled with family
Helpful?
2 Thank Mark E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
FocusAp, Manager at Focus Apartments, responded to this review, 17 October 2012
Thank you Mark for your lovely comments! You are always a pleasure to have here!
You are correct - the doors and windows do cop a beating from the sea air and we are currently doing maintenance on all those that need work. We are constantly doing upgrades on our appartments to keep them to the high standard you expect.
We look forward to welcoming you back again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

184 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    66
    56
    30
    17
    15
See reviews for
108
15
Solo
0
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (48)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Backers
Level Contributor
59 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 September 2012

We stayed in a 2 bedroom ocean view apartment on a high floor. View was amazing and the apartments are quite spacious. The building is a little old now but still kept in good nick and the rooms were very clean. Has a little toddler pool under shade cloth which was great for the young kids. It's a couple of blocks away from Cavill Ave but definately still within walking distance. Made it a bit quiter at night which was good. Beach out front is fantastic and patrolled which is also good. Staff were very helpful and would recommend without hesitation.

Room Tip: Request a beach front room if available.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Backers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 September 2012

We stayed here recently and rented 2x 2 bedroom apartments. I know the rooms are dated, but ours was really dated - tired lounge, bed covers, curtains. I think it is a lottery what type of room you get as my parents room seemed a bit more updated and supplied little extras like a hairdryer and a double bed in the other room. The rooms are large and I recommend the ocean view. Take advice from this site as to which number room to rent; 84 was much nicer than 53.

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Julianna L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
FocusAp, Manager at Focus Apartments, responded to this review, 19 September 2012
Thank you Simon for your comments. You are right - the ocean views are amazing! Room preference is a very personal opinion as many guests really love Unit 53 and ask for it time and time again! Hairdryers are standard in all of our apartments and there was one located in the main bathroom. The bedding configuration varies and we try to accommodate all requests.
I hope that we are able to welcome you back to Focus one day soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Parnell, New Zealand
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 September 2012

We stayed here after purchasing a travelfactory.com.au voucher for a 3 bedroom standard apartment for 6 nights. We were in room 14 on level 3 and absoulutely loved our stay, each of the rooms have its own balcony over looking the beach and the lounge and kitchen is huge with leather lazy boys and a 6 seater dining table. Overall this was great value for money,ended up costing 6 of us $170NZD each for the week, the pool was nice, played a game of tennis and it is very close to Cavill Ave and the night life!
Two down sides i can think of is:
-The floor did not seem to be vacuumed, it was very sandy.
-One of the beds in the second room was held up by phonebooks.
I stayed in the master bedroom which had its own ensuite, flat screen tv and large wardrobe. The staff were very nice, even organised a carpark for us when our apartment did not have an allocated park. We also received champagne and chocolates on arrival! :) Would recommend to all!

Room Tip: Opt for a ocean view room :)
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Zob1990
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
FocusAp, Manager at Focus Apartments, responded to this review, 19 September 2012
Thank you for your lovely review! That was an amazingly good deal and we had a lot of very happy guests! We agree - the outlook from those aparments is amazing!
Make sure to visit us again next year and call us for a return guest special!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Adelaide, Australia
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 September 2012

We have stayed here twice. Each time the rooms are fantastic. The facilities are great. We stayed over two yrs apart and the restaurant was never open both times. It didnt bother us as so close to other places. What I would like is to pay extra option to guarantee a ocean view. we were lucky both times but I still would like the option to make sure thats what i get.

  • Stayed October 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Liz R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Auckland, Auckland, New Zealand
Level Contributor
40 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 September 2012

These apartments were fantastic. There were 6 of us in a 3 bedroom, 2 bathroom beach front apartment and it never felt crammed. 2 of the rooms were large with 1 other being decent but good wardrobe space provided. The private balcony's were another amazing touch to wake up too. Laundry, large fridge/freezer, dining table, tv, couches, outdoor table and spa bath were all great features that made our stay pleasant. Used the bbq area a few times and that was fantastic! Awesome to also use the tennis rackets for free!5 minute walk to the main centre was short and pleasant- so handy!!

Downside was the extremely dirty floors and the finer details of the place were not exactly perfect. The rubbish truck is also extremely loud in the morning and the waves can be rather loud- but these are found everywhere. Also the entrance to the pool is odd- probably would be a bit weary sending your kids through the basement to get there alone.

Room Tip: Facing the sea is awesome, but on the entrance side looses the sun. Try ask facing the tennis court...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kas S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Landsborough, Australia
Level Contributor
14 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 August 2012

We are used to staying in 4.5 or 5 star apartments. We stayed at Focus and were very impressed, particularly with the upkeep and grounds. The pool and spa was very clean and comfortably heated. The room was in excellent condition. The service was friendly and caring.
The beds were good, but we are spoiled brats accustomed to Rydges and the like.

We have already booked a return visit.

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Nathan L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Surfers Paradise hotels
0.1 mi away
The Shore Holiday Apartments
The Shore Holiday Apartments
#50 of 122 in Surfers Paradise
285 reviews
0.0 mi away
BreakFree Beachpoint
BreakFree Beachpoint
#24 of 122 in Surfers Paradise
243 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hi Surf Beachfront Resort Apartments
Hi Surf Beachfront Resort Apartm...
#1 of 11 in Surfers Paradise
315 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
BreakFree Imperial Surf
BreakFree Imperial Surf
#8 of 122 in Surfers Paradise
481 reviews
0.3 mi away
Chateau Beachside
Chateau Beachside
#11 of 122 in Surfers Paradise
1,645 reviews
0.1 mi away
Pacific Plaza Holiday Apartments
Pacific Plaza Holiday Apartments
#65 of 122 in Surfers Paradise
56 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Focus Apartments? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Focus Apartments

Property: Focus Apartments
Address: Focus Apartments 114 The Esplanade, Surfers Paradise, Gold Coast, Queensland 4217, Australia
Region: Australia > Queensland > Gold Coast > Surfers Paradise
Amenities:
Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #33 of 122 Speciality Lodging in Surfers Paradise
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Focus Apartments 4*
Number of rooms: 55
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Focus Apartments is situated at 114 The Esplanade, Surfers Paradise - we're the round, 32 storey, white building that's right opposite the beach. We are within easy walking distance of Cavill Avenue - the hub of Surfers Paradise. With convenient underground parking and intercom security access, Focus welcomes you to the Gold Coast, 365 days a year. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Traveltool, S.L.U., Odigeo, Agoda and HotelQuickly so you can book your Focus Apartments reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Focus Apartments Surfers Paradise, Gold Coast, Australia

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing