We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fiona”
Review of Focus Apartments

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Focus Apartments
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 11 January 2013

Spent time there over the peak season. Management was really helpful as were the staff. Our stay was fantastic with great views and a really great apartment for our family. Highly recommend it. Location right on the beach was excellent and it was an easy walk into the centre of Surfers. Perfect location for teenage children.

  • Stayed: December 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Fiona M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (201)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

125 - 131 of 202 reviews

Reviewed 4 January 2013

There is incredible views from where i stayed at spanning across the beach, it was beautiful, the rooms were quite nice but not what i expected at all, the spa area is very tiny and the gym was tiny as well. Overall though the people there are very nice and will help you out when you need it.

  • Stayed: December 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Deej123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 December 2012

Looking forward to a 1st annual family holiday on the Gold Coast in nicely advertised apartments at Focus. Only to arrive and be severely disappointed. The 3brm superior room on the 12th floor, was a 3 star rating at best. Spa was not working in bathroom, not one of the door closed properly including the bathrooms having no locks (with some of the handles not even correctly fitting the doors), beds were extremely uncomfortable, curtains worn, chairs broken, outdated television....the list is really endless. Pool was extremely small for the large number of apartments and people in this complex, it was similar to be at a small country town pool with the whole town population. Budget spa included. The pool was also not cleaned on a daily basis, I was having to remove beer bottles and lids before my son entered, as well as a black scum lining the surrounding of the pool from the previous day. Very disappointed in this accommodation. Would NOT recommend it to family, friends or public. My favourite line on their website is "more like a resort than apartments"......website is extremely misleading.

  • Stayed: December 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
3  Thank Lucy L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 December 2012

We stayed Dec 2012 and found the rooms clean however they did require some maintenance. Location is great, just across from the beach. you need to stay for 8 days or more to get service to your room which was a little disappointing as another place we stay was fully serviced and we only stayed there for 3 days. Staff were friendly and professional, they have underground parking which was good. Thanks for a good stay.

  • Stayed: December 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Peter P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 November 2012

We've just come back from our stay at Focus apartments and will definitely stay there again. The quality of accomodation was good for the value. The beach is just across the road and also there is a pool, spa, tennis court, small gym and table tennis in the apartment grounds. The beach walk is great, easy for families to walk, ride a bike, skate, and an easy walk to shops/ cafes (we went for our morning walk everyday and had breakfast on one of the cafes). Great views of the ocean and the hinterlands from the loungeroom and all the bedrooms from 3-br apartment on the 21st floor. Apartment good condition, some minor deterioation on outside from the salt air and TV needs updating, but we were there to get outside, enjoy the sun and water and have great food. Easy public transport access to major shopping centres and themeparks.

Room Tip: Higher floors with beach views.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Skynight_one
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 November 2012 via mobile

Groupon deal but stayed 6 nights payed for extra nights, staff very friendly, but did book 2 +months ago requested 3 bed apartment with 2 queens each room and 2 singles...didn't get it said was already booked up! Apartment 66 not like photos on website, no air con, they r old and need a good freshen up, 1st day balcony door would not close rather scary... A few of the windows would not Open/broken, Beds not comfy either, but pool and spa were niceLovely BBQ area, great location opp beach.

  • Stayed: November 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Nicknjohn1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 October 2012

We stayed in a 3 bedroom superior apartment and I was not impressed at all. firstly the bedding configuration was in no way suited to a family of 5 and one of my children ended up sleeping on the floor on a mattress. The TV was broken. The electric frypan was coated in a disgusting fatty layer.
Each concern raised with reception was brushed off.
It was not terribly clean either and even though we stayed for a week, it wasnt serviced at anytime.
I would definitely not stay there again. I think there is better value to be had elsewhere

Room Tip: There is a nightclub and an amusement park very closeby so I would recommend being on a higher level...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Unhappy F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
FocusAp, Guest Relations Manager at Focus Apartments, responded to this reviewResponded 17 October 2012

Thank you Carolyn for your review. We do not guarantee bedding configuration but there was bedding supplied for 6 people being 2 queen & 2 single beds. The receptionist has told me you used a single mattress from your friends apartment which was returned on departure.
We have noted your comments about the frying pan and replaced it.
We were unaware that there was a problem with the TV but rectified it as soon as humanly possible.
Thank you once again for your feedback.
Pam

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Surfers Paradise hotels
0.2 mi away
Mantra on View Hotel
Mantra on View Hotel
#10 of 33 in Surfers Paradise
3,266 reviews
0.5 mi away
Mantra Circle on Cavill
Mantra Circle on Cavill
#6 of 33 in Surfers Paradise
3,742 reviews
1.6 mi away
Crowne Plaza Surfers Paradise
Crowne Plaza Surfers Paradise
#8 of 33 in Surfers Paradise
1,725 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
QT Gold Coast
QT Gold Coast
#5 of 33 in Surfers Paradise
2,882 reviews
0.4 mi away
Hilton Surfers Paradise
Hilton Surfers Paradise
#12 of 33 in Surfers Paradise
3,455 reviews
1.3 mi away
Mantra Wings
Mantra Wings
#3 of 123 in Surfers Paradise
619 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Focus Apartments? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Focus Apartments

Address: Focus Apartments 114 The Esplanade, Surfers Paradise, Gold Coast, Queensland 4217, Australia
Phone Number:
Region: Australia > Queensland > Gold Coast > Surfers Paradise
Amenities:
Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #29 of 123 Speciality Lodging in Surfers Paradise
Price Range: £94 - £286 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Focus Apartments 4*
Number of rooms: 55
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Focus Apartments is situated at 114 The Esplanade, Surfers Paradise - we're the round, 32 storey, white building that's right opposite the beach. We are within easy walking distance of Cavill Avenue - the hub of Surfers Paradise. With convenient underground parking and intercom security access, Focus welcomes you to the Gold Coast, 365 days a year. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda, Expedia, Hotels.com and TripOnline SA so you can book your Focus Apartments reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Focus Apartments Surfers Paradise, Gold Coast, Australia

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing