We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Just be careful”
Review of Focus Apartments

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Focus Apartments
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Just be careful”
Reviewed 9 June 2014

I had no problem with this apartment as we booked 2 x 3 bedrooms No 54 on the 13th & No 50 on the 12th floor. Most reviews seem to show that this apartment is the perfect one BUT IT IS NOT.

Cleanliness
We are not very particular about the cleanliness as we would rate the cleanliness as so-so and we don't really care as the apartments are just for us to sleep. We left the apartment early morning and back late night everyday during our stay.

Location
The location is not as perfect as some of the reviewers had mentioned it is just located at a good location as we think that there are other apartments with better spot.

Service
We are not really test the service level as we just there to sleep. No other services required.

Value
Cheap apartment.

We had a great time in Gold Coast but not with the apartment experience.

It started when we touched down in Kuala Lumpur Airport, i had received an email from Focus Apartment saying that they are charging us for the damages that we didn't do it. And the amount they are charging is ridiculous, almost AUD 200.00 for a torn bed-runner and bathroom shelf.

We were wondering how a bed-runner can be torn if we not even use it? it is definitely was there before we came in. And the shelf is already broken when we came in that late night thus we assumed that the BEST ROOM they can provide to us is this room with a broken bathroom shelf. Like i said earlier, we just don't really care as the apartment is just a place for us to sleep.

I did found that this Apartment apartment did took advantage to make extra money by charging the visitors who is living thousands miles away. They know that we will never come back to the apartment to seek justice. And ofcoz we will never return again. Never. They are good in make up stories. So please be careful.

Room Tip: Go elsewhere even if this the only apartment available. If you you still decide to come here, stay...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank myusrin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
FocusAp, Guest Relations Manager at Focus Apartments, responded to this review, 10 June 2014
We are disappointed by your negative review especially since we have been emailing about this problem for the past 4 days. Unfortunately damages such as the broken shelf in the shower and the ripped/burnt bed runner have to be replaced at your expense as the shelf was installed only the day prior to your arrival and the bed runners in the apartment were only one month old. We take offence at your comment that we 'took advantage to make extra money by charging the visitors who live thousands of miles away'. We sent you photos of the damages as well as the invoices relating to the repairs and your comment in your email dated 8 June was that the cost was ridiculous and you thought AUD $100 was a fairer price to pay. Unfortunately we have no control over how much it costs to replace these items and we have only charged the amount on the invoices and not one cent more.

Your comment that previous reviewers have been extremely happy with unit 54 is correct and we always get lovely comments about both units 50 and 54 where you stayed. We note that you only wanted an apartment to sleep in but our regular guests love the fact that you get an ocean view from every room and we are just across the road from the patrolled beach and an 8 minute walk to Cavill Mall.

Pam Constable



Pam Constable
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

187 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    69
    56
    30
    17
    15
See reviews for
111
15
Solo
0
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (48)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
1 review
Reviewed 19 May 2014

Focus apartment a great place to live, very clean and tidy, beautiful views, close to beach, just few steps away from beach, shops are walking distance too. staff is very friendly, we really enjoyed as a family with two young kids, they had great time in the pool, it has tennis court and table tennis as well. we rented a 2 bedroom superior apartment, good kitchen with 2 toilets all very clean. Only one feed back, they need to have atleast fans in the bed rooms, rest is all perfect.

Room Tip: Go for a superior room at higher floors with airconditioning and request for a fan in bedrooms.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Apoorva S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
FocusAp, Guest Relations Manager at Focus Apartments, responded to this review, 10 June 2014
Great to hear that you enjoyed our stay at Focus Apartments. We pride ourselves on cleanliness and our apartments are spacious. Not all apartments are air conditioned but we always have fans available upon request if they are not already in the apartment.

Our facilities are great for kids as we have a tennis court, sauna, spa, gym and 2 pools. We also have a table tennis room.

Pam Constable
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tauranga, New Zealand
Level Contributor
17 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 May 2014

After scrolling through many apartment reviews we chose to stay at the Focus Apartments and never, once, regretted our decision. We took the advice given in a number of reviews and opted for a superior room with an ocean view - we were not disappointed. We could see the ocean and the river. We stayed in room 112 on the 28th floor for 7 nights. The room had been renovated to a good standard with tiles on the floor, new lounge furniture and updated bathrooms. The two bed rooms, two bathrooms and spacious living space accommodated the four of us (incl. two children) easily. The room did not have air con but as we were travelling in April this was not a problem. We spent a lot of time in the well maintained pool area with its 15m (approx) pool and spa pool. Shops, restaurants, and the town based attractions were within easy walking distance even with a 7 and 9 year old in tow. We were also impressed with Theresa and Wendy working on reception - nothing was too much bother for them.
It must be noted that the noise of the city and the ocean is constant even on the 28th floor.
All in all we came home raving about our wonderful holiday on The Gold Coast.

Room Tip: Ask for a superior room with ocean views upon booking.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Shall1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
FocusAp, Guest Relations Manager at Focus Apartments, responded to this review, 10 June 2014
Thank you for your review. Unit 112 is on a high floor with gorgeous views to the ocean and also the river and mountain views towards the hinterland. Our facilities are excellent as we are on an acre of land on The Esplanade so there is plenty of room for the kids. We have tennis racquets, table tennis bats and balls and basketballs if guests want to use them. The beach is also just across the road if guests want to swim in the ocean or just go for a stroll.

Pam Constable
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Adelaide, South Australia, Australia
Level Contributor
9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 April 2014

I had a really great experience at Focus Apartments. The first thing I liked about it was that it was close to Surfer's Paradise. This meant that the main street and all the shopping was perhaps a 5-10 minute walk along with the night markets held on Wednesdays, Fridays and Sundays.

Secondly, the beach was conveniently across the road, which also made for a great view. Given that all of the apartments are owned by separate owners, we were lucky enough to have a modern room overlooking the ocean. Although the waves kept some in the family awake, I found them to be peaceful and they almost emitted the sound an air conditioner makes.

We were a little disappointed that the apartment did not have air conditioning, however we found that by having the windows/doors open, the breeze kept the rooms quiet cool.

Also, we did enjoy that the room had Foxtel, which kept the family entertained, we watched a lot of movies before falling asleep.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ashjim
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
FocusAp, Guest Relations Manager at Focus Apartments, responded to this review, 10 June 2014
Thank you for taking the time to review Focus Apartments. We are indeed located in an ideal position close to everything including the beach, cafes, restaurants, shops and a supermarket. Our regular guests love the convenience of staying close to all these amenities. Our Foxtel package was upgraded back in January and now we have the Platinum package which has over 80 channels to keep everyone entertained.

We look forward to seeing you again in the future.

Pam Constable
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 April 2014

Just stayed 5 nights in a 3 bedroom executive apartment. We had great ocean views, the place was clean and spacious. Apartment has all you need when travelling with kids, washer, dryer, fully equipped kitchen. Focus is right on the beach and an easy and beautiful 10 minute walk to the main mall and restaurants. Management was super helpful and friendly.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Alex O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
FocusAp, Manager at Focus Apartments, responded to this review, 28 April 2014
Hi Alex,
Thank you so much for your lovely review! It is great to know that you had such a fabulous stay!
We love our location too - the beach, the restaurants & shopping all within easy walking distance, if not on the doorstep.
We look forward to welcoming you back!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Australia NSW
Level Contributor
11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 20 April 2014

We travel to Surfers at least once a year ... This place is right across from the beach Nice walk away from the center Apartment are clean & Fresh Beautiful Pool Sauna BBQ and all grounds around it We will be returning

Room Tip: Beautiful Ocean view with balconies
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank RITAMAYAustraliaNSW
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Carrum Downs, Australia
1 review
Reviewed 5 April 2014

My son and I have stayed here a couple of times now. The staff are fantastic and helpful, the facilities are clean and cleaned everyday from what we saw.
We will keep returning for our annual holidays as the price is great, the apartments are great and the service is friendly, the view are great and you really don't have to go elsewhere unless you want to.
HIghly recommend Focus, as a Sole parent, it is affordable and good quality.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lisa S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Surfers Paradise hotels
0.0 mi away
BreakFree Beachpoint
BreakFree Beachpoint
#26 of 122 in Surfers Paradise
3.5 of 5 bubbles 251 reviews
0.1 mi away
The Shore Holiday Apartments
The Shore Holiday Apartments
#46 of 122 in Surfers Paradise
4.0 of 5 bubbles 287 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hi Surf Beachfront Resort Apartments
Hi Surf Beachfront Resort Apartm...
#1 of 11 in Surfers Paradise
4.5 of 5 bubbles 315 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Chateau Beachside
Chateau Beachside
#12 of 122 in Surfers Paradise
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,657 reviews
0.1 mi away
BreakFree Imperial Surf
BreakFree Imperial Surf
#11 of 122 in Surfers Paradise
4.0 of 5 bubbles 496 reviews
0.1 mi away
Pacific Plaza Holiday Apartments
Pacific Plaza Holiday Apartments
#68 of 122 in Surfers Paradise
4.0 of 5 bubbles 56 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Focus Apartments? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Focus Apartments

Property: Focus Apartments
Address: Focus Apartments 114 The Esplanade, Surfers Paradise, Gold Coast, Queensland 4217, Australia
Region: Australia > Queensland > Gold Coast > Surfers Paradise
Amenities:
Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #30 of 122 Speciality Lodging in Surfers Paradise
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Focus Apartments 4*
Number of rooms: 55
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Focus Apartments is situated at 114 The Esplanade, Surfers Paradise - we're the round, 32 storey, white building that's right opposite the beach. We are within easy walking distance of Cavill Avenue - the hub of Surfers Paradise. With convenient underground parking and intercom security access, Focus welcomes you to the Gold Coast, 365 days a year. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Agoda, Traveltool, S.L.U. and Priceline so you can book your Focus Apartments reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Focus Apartments Surfers Paradise, Gold Coast, Australia

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing