We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Clean, comfortable, convenient!”
Review of Focus Apartments

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Focus Apartments
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 7 July 2010

We had a refurbished 3 bedroom apartment on the 8th floor - beautifully clean, nice linen, great bathrooms. Kitchen was terrific for self-catering views were magic! Patrolled beach and walking distance to everything - "We'll be back!"

  • Stayed: July 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank mkaparsons
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (194)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

161 - 167 of 194 reviews

Reviewed 30 June 2010

Cheap but thats what you get! Great spot but it needs some serious updating not just a new washing machine & dryer. ... $250 security deposit was a little high for such an old place. Totally disgusting that to use the gym, table tennis or tennis you have to pay up to $50 deposit!!! The $250 should be enough !! & the gym has bugga all in it???
Windows need a dam good clean both in and out. Curtains were all dirty, stained & old!
Furniture very average and they don't even have flat screen tv's! Poor choice of channels also. No face washers & no house keeping unless your there for 8plus days.
Id rather pay more and have a little bit of carpet on the floor and not all tiles. Neighbours on top of us were very noisy from @6.30am, walking around with high heels and sounded like someone bouncing a basket ball!! We were on holiday and would have liked to have slept in. Showers weren't as clean as what I expected, cutlery, plates, electric frypan etc... were dirty and had to wash everything before using!! ewww not nice.
I've stayed in alot of places and this would have to have been the worst. Nice garden, bbq . Car parks are like garages with no height signs. My friend nearly took the roof off her car parking. We had to sit on the back so she could get back out.

  • Stayed: June 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank beavenbunch
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
pam_kay6, Guest Relations Manager at Focus Apartments, responded to this reviewResponded 4 July 2010

We have noted your comments and would dispute the fact that the apartment was dirty and all the cutlery and crockery would have had to be washed prior to use. Our cleaners are diligent and thorough and the apartments are inspected after cleaning. The windows are cleaned regularly and we get professional window cleaners in every 3 months which was done just 2 weeks ago. Unfortunately with rainy windy weather it is not always possible to keep the salt spray off them at all times but we do our best.

Our policy of taking a $250 security deposit is for the purpose of being able to access part or all of these funds in case a guest leaves without paying phone charges, tours or any breakages. At all times the guest is informed if we have to access the security deposit. The $50 deposit for the tennis and ping pong is to make sure the guests return the equipment so that the next guest has access to it. Some guests take the equipment back to their apartments and go out for the day and then this means the next person is unable to pay tennis, etc. There is no deposit required to use the gym or sauna.

As our apartments are large and self contained they are serviced once every 8 days. This is the standard practice in self contained apartments as opposed to hotel rooms.

As regards the underground car park there is a sign on entry which clearly states the height restriction to access the car park. The car parks themselves have either a tilt a door or roll a door which can easily accommodate the average 4WD.

It is a pity this guest did not choose to make these complaints whilst inhouse as I am always happy to discuss issues which may arise from time to time.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 June 2010

I recently spent a week at Focus Apartments with my family, my sister & her family in two apartments next to each other and we had a fabulous time. The apartments were extremely clean and had hotel style linen on the beds. We were impressed with the views from every room and both apartments had balconies off each room, including the bedrooms, and you could see all the way up the coastline. The kids really enjoyed the heated swimming pool and I loved the spa in the afternoon. We usually cooked at the large bbq area where there was plenty of room for all of us and we could watch the kids play tennis.

The beach is straight across the road and there are heaps of cafes and restaurants just down the street. On the recommendation of the receptionist (she was right in saying it had great coffee!), we went to a great coffee shop called Monte Matre and we sometimes went there for breakfast (I love the bacon & eggs). Focus has a restaurant on the ground floor but it was closed for renovations during our visit.

We loved the fact that we could walk to Cavill Avenue for the night life but we were far enough away from it not to be bothered by any of the associated noise. The shopping was great and the girls enjoyed Pacific Fair the most. The receptionist booked our theme park tickets which saved us from having to queue up at the door and she was very helpful in organising a fishing trip for us blokes. The kids enjoyed Dreamworld & Seaworld & we had a great night & dinner at the Outback Spectacular.
What a great holiday - everyone enjoyed it and we will be back again next year.

  • Stayed: May 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Mikey043
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 June 2010

Had a good holiday in Gold Coast with my husband and our four teenaged kids. The apartment has three comfortable bedrooms with all basic amenities. Nicely decorated, good location and safe.

  • Stayed: May 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank suziQKualaLumpur
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 May 2010

The Focus Apartments exceeded our expectations again. The apartments were modern and clean with amazing views of the ocean from our balconies. A brand new washing machine and dryer as well as dishwasher and fully operational kitchen were highlights as we stayed 10 nights. Great security as only those with a key can access the lifts. We loved the pool/spa/sauna/gym and free BBQ facilities as well as the fact that there are bus stops just around the corner and the beach is on the doorstep. The great thing about being 2 blocks from Cavill Ave is that you are far enough away to have a peaceful sleep but close enough that everything is a short walk away. This place will be even better when the restaurant/cafe/bar is up and running after some renovations.

  • Stayed: May 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank walks77
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 May 2010

Excellent views, clean and spacious rooms, modern and well equipped kitchen, nice warm pool, spa and gym. Excellent undercover BBQ areas. Would definitely stay again.

  • Stayed: May 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Jannine19
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 May 2010

We have just returned from Surfers and stayed at Focus Apartments. We had read and heard quite a few negative comments, so were expecting the worst.
Weren,t we pleasantly surprised when we arrived. Reception was excellent, nothing was a problem to the staff. The apartment was magic , big , roomy , well appointed and spotless. Well decked out kitchen and laundry. Beds were comfy as, in fact it made me realise the wife and I need to update our mattress as I slept like a log.
The pool area and grounds were immaculate and being over 2 metres in height myself it was good to swim in a pool where I couldn't touch the bottom:-).
The place has the best views and position.
I could not recommend this place enough for value for money. We will certainly be back.

  • Stayed: May 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Ted37
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Surfers Paradise hotels
0.0 mi away
BreakFree Beachpoint
BreakFree Beachpoint
#34 of 124 in Surfers Paradise
272 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hi Surf Beachfront Resort Apartments
Hi Surf Beachfront Resort Apartm...
#1 of 11 in Surfers Paradise
317 reviews
0.2 mi away
Olympus Apartments
Olympus Apartments
#60 of 124 in Surfers Paradise
159 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
BreakFree Imperial Surf
BreakFree Imperial Surf
#9 of 124 in Surfers Paradise
539 reviews
0.1 mi away
Pacific Plaza Holiday Apartments
Pacific Plaza Holiday Apartments
#63 of 124 in Surfers Paradise
60 reviews
0.2 mi away
BreakFree Moroccan Resort
BreakFree Moroccan Resort
#23 of 124 in Surfers Paradise
576 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Focus Apartments? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Focus Apartments

Address: Focus Apartments 114 The Esplanade, Surfers Paradise, Gold Coast, Queensland 4217, Australia
Phone Number:
Region: Australia > Queensland > Gold Coast > Surfers Paradise
Amenities:
Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #29 of 124 Speciality Lodging in Surfers Paradise
Price Range: £115 - £253 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Focus Apartments 4*
Number of rooms: 55
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Focus Apartments is situated at 114 The Esplanade, Surfers Paradise - we're the round, 32 storey, white building that's right opposite the beach. We are within easy walking distance of Cavill Avenue - the hub of Surfers Paradise. With convenient underground parking and intercom security access, Focus welcomes you to the Gold Coast, 365 days a year. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia and TripOnline SA so you can book your Focus Apartments reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Focus Apartments Surfers Paradise, Gold Coast, Australia

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing