We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Excellent” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of BreakFree Imperial Surf

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
BreakFree Imperial Surf
Certificate of Excellence
Gold Coast, Australia
1 review
“Excellent”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 April 2014

Regular visitors to this hotel because of the location ( not so much night time noise) and accommodation. Room was by far the best yet with a refurb recently. views to die for - close to cavill ave cafés medical centre etc great for families 2 flagged areas on the beach in front of the hotel .. Will be back

  • Stayed April 2014
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank jogmum
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
mgrbreakfree, General Manager at BreakFree Imperial Surf, responded to this review, 17 April 2014
Dear Jogmum,
Thank you for your comments about your stay. It is always nice to hear from our repeat guest that they will be back soon.You are absolutely right about the location and views. We are glad you enjoyed your stay with us and look forward to welcoming you back again soon.
Warm regards
Rajesh Shetty
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

468 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    174
    169
    74
    23
    28
See reviews for
280
90
7
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (134)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Adelaide, Australia
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 April 2014

We were lucky enough to get a fantastic apartment, absolutely loved it. The only issue I had was that the showers weren't properly cleaned, but apart from that, the manager was helpful as was the lady behind the desk. Would stay here again, providing we got the same apartment :-)

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Ami C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
mgrbreakfree, General Manager at BreakFree Imperial Surf, responded to this review, 15 April 2014
Dear Ami C,
Thank you for taking the time to provide feedback on your recent stay. We have noted your comments about the shower and will address the issue with our housekeeping team. We are glad you enjoyed your stay with us and look forward to welcoming you back again soon.
Regards
Rajesh Shetty
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Glasgow
1 review
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 April 2014 via mobile

First time in Oz, took a 4 day break to surfers paradise. Not knowing what to expect, was pleasantly surprised with imperial surf. We had a 2 bedroom apartment, kitchen, dinning area and living room area. Great size! Balcony with beach view. Walking distance to pretty much everything we needed. Would recommend to anyone visiting surfers!

Stayed March 2014, travelled with friends
Helpful?
Thank Louise D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
mgrbreakfree, General Manager at BreakFree Imperial Surf, responded to this review, 4 April 2014
Dear Louisw D,
Thank you for taking the time to write about your experience with us. We are delighted to hear that you enjoyed stay with us and that this was your first Aussie trip to the Gold Coast.
We look forward to welcoming you back.
Best regards
Rajesh Shetty
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne, Australia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 March 2014

awesome view from our 180 degrees balcony a view from the beach all the way to the heart of surfers paradise. a very good customer service from the people in the front desk. a walking distance to cavil avenue the centre of surfers paradise. its a very much recommended place to stay.

Room Tip: 180 degrees balcony view
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank rcr111
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
mgrbreakfree, General Manager at BreakFree Imperial Surf, responded to this review, 21 March 2014
Dear rcr111,

Thanks for taking the time to put in your reviews. I am glad you enjoyed the awesome views and the location. It is great to hear that you also fond our staff to be friendly and helpful.
We look forward to welcoming you back.
Best regards
Rajesh Shetty
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne, Australia
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 March 2014

First time at Imperial surf last week and was very impressed. Room was clean (a tad dated) but large, clean and had the most amazing views. Leanne checked us in at front desk and was absolutely lovely! Stovetop in apartment was very temperamental but there was an electric pan that you can plug into the wall later found in a cupboard. Jacqui checked us out and had a lovely chat to us about New Zealand and was a delight to talk to.
Will definitely come back soon!

Room Tip: 12E was a lovely room! Ask for ocean views.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank leeshkatherine
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
mgrbreakfree, General Manager at BreakFree Imperial Surf, responded to this review, 11 March 2014
Dear leeshkatherine,

Thank you for posting your comments regarding your stay. I am glad that you enjoyed your stay and found the apartment spacious, clean and with great views. I am also happy to hear that Leanne and Jacqui offered you good service at the Front Desk. I will certainly pass on the compliments to them. We look forward to welcoming you back.
Best regards
Rajesh Shetty
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne, Australia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 March 2014

After viewing the hotel on the website it looked like a good hotel to view the fireworks that was to take place on the waters of the gold coast.We had friends from South Africa and we also had young children with us we new that the kids would be sleeping by midnight but we could see the fireworks from the balcony as the room we chose said 2 bedroom ocean view and the pictures on the website showed the two bedroom to be in the front of the hotel.I have traveled all over the world and as I understood a ocean view ment the apartment is facecing the ocean
but this apartment was faceing another building as it was on the side.When I went to complian to the manager I was told that all there rooms are ocean faceing I explaned to him that it is not ocean facing but partial ocean as you had to go onto the balcony and look between the two buildings to get a glimse of the ocean.I was told that If I was not happy with the room I would not get a refund if I checked out.I was very diapointed as the fireworks on New years Eve was the highlight.Dont sell an ocean view room when it is not ocean faceing as it was not cheap.The room we had was very average and tired and a cockroach was found in the room and reported to the manager.I will not be staying at another Breakfree property

Room Tip: Be sure of what you are getting
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with friends
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Raymond P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
mgrbreakfree, General Manager at BreakFree Imperial Surf, responded to this review, 11 March 2014
Dear Raymond P,
Thank you for taking the time to provide feedback on your recent stay. I am really sorry you were disappointed with views from your apartment and that you were unable to view the New Year Eve fire works. Unfortunately we did not have any other apartment that we could move you to view the fire works over that period as we were fully booked.
Once again I apologise for any disappointment you experienced during your stay.

Regards
Rajesh Shetty
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Port Pirie, Australia
Level Contributor
12 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 February 2014

We enjoy staying at the Imperial Surf it has great sea views, walking distance to Cavell Avenue, walk across the road to the beach and the shuttle buses will pick up there. We have stayed there 4 times and are booked to stay there again in this October 2014. The rooms are a little dated but they are comfortable and are good sizes. The lady at reception was very helpful and friendly.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Polma65
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
mgrbreakfree, General Manager at BreakFree Imperial Surf, responded to this review, 11 March 2014
Dear Polma65,

Thank you for taking the time to write about your experience with us. I am glad to hear that you enjoyed your stay again.We are very happy we were able to assist in providing you with a memorable holiday and look forward to welcoming you back again in October 2014.
Best regards
Rajesh Shetty
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Surfers Paradise hotels
0.3 mi away
Peppers Soul Surfers Paradise
Peppers Soul Surfers Paradise
#1 of 33 in Surfers Paradise
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,762 reviews
0.1 mi away
QT Gold Coast
QT Gold Coast
#4 of 33 in Surfers Paradise
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,550 reviews
0.1 mi away
Mantra on View Hotel
Mantra on View Hotel
#12 of 33 in Surfers Paradise
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,272 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Novotel Surfers Paradise
Novotel Surfers Paradise
#16 of 33 in Surfers Paradise
3.5 of 5 bubbles 232 reviews
0.6 mi away
Watermark Hotel & Spa Gold Coast
Watermark Hotel & Spa Gold Coast
#8 of 33 in Surfers Paradise
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,391 reviews
0.7 mi away
Q1 Resort and Spa
Q1 Resort and Spa
#5 of 33 in Surfers Paradise
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,402 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to BreakFree Imperial Surf? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about BreakFree Imperial Surf

Property: BreakFree Imperial Surf
Address: Imperial Surf 80 The Esplanade, Surfers Paradise, Gold Coast, Queensland 4217, Australia
Region: Australia > Queensland > Gold Coast > Surfers Paradise
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #10 of 125 Speciality Lodging in Surfers Paradise
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3.5 star — BreakFree Imperial Surf 3.5*
Number of rooms: 100
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Laying claim to some of the best views on the Gold Coast, BreakFree Imperial Surf offers quality accommodation at a reasonable price. Located in the heart of Surfers Paradise overlooking the beach, all apartments have ocean views, some with sweeping panoramic vistas of the Gold Coast hinterland and surrounds. Perfect for a weekend getaway, mini-break or beachside family holiday, accommodation options include one and two bedroom apartments with large balconies, fully-equipped kitchen and laundry facilities, TV and security access. The resort offers a range of leisure facilities including a full-size tennis court, indoor and outdoor swimming pools, sauna, BBQ area and tour desk. Only a short walk will have you in Cavill Avenue where you can hit the shops or dine at one of the many cafes or restaurants. When the sun sets the Surfers Paradise nightlife takes over and all the nightclubs are only a short walk away. With the surf-patrolled beach directly opposite and the retail, dining and entertainment hub of the Gold Coast literally on the doorstop, the resort offers choice - whether you want to laze in the sun or party until the sun comes up. Maintenance Notice We are excited to announce BreakFree Imperial Surf will be undertaking an upgrade of the external balcony balustrades. This work is scheduled between from 20 April until 10 December 2015 and it will be carried out from 8am to 5pm Monday to Friday only. During this time there may be restricted access to the hotel entrance and limited access to some balconies. The tennis courts will be closed from 20 April until 15 October 2015. The outdoor pool will be closed from October 2015 until the end of the project, however the indoor pool will remain open from 7am until 9pm throughout this period. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Travel Republic (UK) and Agoda so you can book your BreakFree Imperial Surf reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Imperial Surf Hotel Surfers Paradise
BreakFree Imperial Surf Surfers Paradise, Gold Coast, Australia

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing