We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great views”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
BreakFree Imperial Surf
Reviewed 18 June 2014

Great service from the reception, the people were wonderful. The kitchen was quite dirty, the dishes needed to be re-washed. The extractor fan above the stove was absolutely gross and I did not want to cook in case it dripped into my food. The windows were dirty and in general the flat was quite dirty. When we were about to leave we lifted the sofas and wow there was a lot of dirt under there. The ceiling fans were very dirty and the carpets were soiled. This would have been a very nice experience if the apartment was cleaned well. The views were great and the flat was spacious. I would go back as it was good value for money, pity the lack of cleaning made the rating drop. We found the front staff were very helpful and friendly.

Room Tip: A north facing room gets the sun and is a good winter choice
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Jasmine G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
mgrbreakfree, General Manager at BreakFree Imperial Surf, responded to this reviewResponded 10 July 2014

Dear Jasmine G,
Thank you for taking the time to provide feedback on your recent stay. I regret the shortcomings in service you have reported from Housekeeping and will certainly address this with the team. This is not our usual standard and I apologise for any disappointment you experienced during your stay.
I am glad to hear that you enjoyed the great views and service from our team at the Reception.
We look forward to welcoming you back on your next visit to the Gold Coast.
Best regards
Rajesh Shetty

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (554)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

382 - 388 of 554 reviews

Reviewed 25 May 2014

We recently stayed at the Breakfree Imperial, sadly for only 2 nights, but it was just wonderful. I do not think there could possibly be a better place in Surfers. Fabulous location and the views are amazing. No need to hire a car if you are staying here, it is so close to everything including all transport. Spend that car hire money on an extra night stay! We are planning out next trip asap.....cannot wait to get back and spend more time there.

Room Tip: Request a "B" room. They are right in the middle of the complex, amazing views from living...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank gayle s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
mgrbreakfree, General Manager at BreakFree Imperial Surf, responded to this reviewResponded 27 May 2014

Dear Gayle s,
Thank you for taking the time to provide feedback on your recent stay. Yes you are absolutely right about the location and the amazing views.We are glad that you enjoyed your stay with us and look forward to welcoming you back again soon.
Best regards
Rajesh Shetty

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 May 2014

My son and I stayed here for 8 nights the view was amazing,room was lovely, close enough to walk to shops. indoor pool was the warmest pool ive ever stepped into was beautiful as the night were fairly cool as we went close to winter. my son didnt want to leave and wants to return the next time we get a chance.

Room Tip: level 26 views were amazing
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank 245rose
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
mgrbreakfree, General Manager at BreakFree Imperial Surf, responded to this reviewResponded 22 May 2014

Dear 245rose,
Thank you for taking the time to provide feedback on your recent stay. We are delighted to hear that you enjoyed the fantastic views and the great location.We look forward to welcoming you back again soon.
Best regards
Rajesh Shetty

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 May 2014

My wife and I along with my 2.5 year old son stayed in a large 2 bed apartment overlooking the sea and the west of surfers. For the price of the accomodation we were impressed by the size of the apartment , views, close to the shops / cafes and the beach. The pools are excellent one heated and one outdoor along with the tennis court which we used was great.
The staff are friendly and helpful and were more than happy to assist us when needed.
On the first day we did encounter construction noise from nearby and sound travels although this ended after the first night.
So overall a great base to have a holiday here without hurting the pocket.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank David G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
mgrbreakfree, General Manager at BreakFree Imperial Surf, responded to this reviewResponded 18 May 2014

Dear David G,
Thank you for taking the time to provide feedback on your recent stay. I am glad to hear that you enjoyed the fantastic views, location and found the apartment size to your liking.
We look foward to welcoming you back on your next visit to the Gold Coast.
Best regards
Rajesh Shetty

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 May 2014

We stayed with our 2 young daughters on Anzac weekend this year. We had sub-penthouse 38G. All I can say is "Wow!" We walked in on arrival to find an apartment beautifully decorated with up to the minute furnishings and near new carpet and the most magnificent view of the ocean we've ever had on the Gold Coast. We've stayed at quite a few resorts down there over the years, but this was the best yet. You couldn't beat it as far as value for money goes. We were right above the beach and could see straight down into the water below, which was so clear you could see the bottom! The Resort itself is quite dated, and even though our apartment had fairly new furnishings in it, the walls and kitchen do badly need maintenance, repainting and some shelving in the kitchen which was starting to come off the wall! The owners need to fix this. It's not a good look. Apart from that, we enjoyed every minute of our stay and will definitely be back next year and I intend to book the same apartment! Hopefully the owners of the unit will have fixed up these little issues by then.

Room Tip: The higher floors have fabulous views
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank mel660
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
mgrbreakfree, General Manager at BreakFree Imperial Surf, responded to this reviewResponded 18 May 2014

Dear mel660,
Thank you for taking the time to put in your review. I am delighted to hear that you enjoyed the great views and found the apartment beautifully decorated with modern furniture.We have taken on board your comments regarding the walls and the kitchen and will certainly address the issues with the owner.
We look forward to welcoming you back in the near future.
Best regards
Rajesh Shetty

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 April 2014

If you are given the keys to apartment 17B of this property refuse them. This unit is poorly maintained with unhygienic cracked basins and tiles in the ensuite and bathrooms, and I do not mean minor cracks! When you first walk in to it you are greeted with an unpleasant odour which is residual faeces which keeps coming back up into the ensuite toilet basin, even after numerous attempts at flushing. The washing machine is faulty, which the owner obviously knows about because there is masking tape with a note telling you how to fix it. There is also left on tape from previous notes so definitely not a recent occurrence. The dial on the dryer does not turn on or off when or where it is supposed to, this is a fire hazard! The beds need replacing urgently. The air conditioning unit is rusted. The light fittings are dirty. The advertised Foxtel is non existent. Although this is a single level apartment the floor is not level with many ups and downs causing trip hazards. If this property was only dated I could stay here because of the central location right across from the beach and spectacular views from the balcony and all rooms. However unfortunately as well as being horribly dated enhanced with terracotta roman features the maintenance in this property seems to be non existent. Hopefully other units in this building are of better quality. I would not stay here again.

Room Tip: Avoid apartment 17B at all costs
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank debkevmeg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
mgrbreakfree, General Manager at BreakFree Imperial Surf, responded to this reviewResponded 30 April 2014

Dear debkevmeg,
It disappoints me to learn that you encountered a number of issues during your stay in Unit 17B. I have investigated the matter and I will respond to you directly. We have taken on board all your comments and we sincerely apologize for the inconvenience this may have caused during your stay. We have also received your feedback that you sent to us directly.
sincerely
Rajesh Shetty

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 April 2014

Stayed in a 2 BHK apt on the 24th floor... Sweeping ocean views nd great value for money. Staff was very friendly nd helpful. Definitely the place if you need a beach front location at an affordable rate bang in d middle of Surfers Paradise

  • Stayed: April 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Nihars83
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
mgrbreakfree, General Manager at BreakFree Imperial Surf, responded to this reviewResponded 28 April 2014

Dear Nihar 83,
Thank you for taking the time to write about your experience with us.I am really glad to hear that you enjoyed the amazing views,location and found the staff to be helpful and friendly. We are very happy we were able to assist in providing you with a memorable holiday and look forward to welcoming you back again soon.
Best regards
Rajesh Shetty

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Surfers Paradise hotels
0.7 mi away
Watermark Hotel & Spa Gold Coast
Watermark Hotel & Spa Gold Coast
#8 of 31 in Surfers Paradise
1,768 reviews
0.1 mi away
Mantra on View Hotel
Mantra on View Hotel
#10 of 31 in Surfers Paradise
2,995 reviews
0.3 mi away
Peppers Soul
Peppers Soul
#1 of 31 in Surfers Paradise
2,439 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Hilton Surfers Paradise Hotel
Hilton Surfers Paradise Hotel
#13 of 31 in Surfers Paradise
3,368 reviews
0.6 mi away
Breakfree Peninsula
Breakfree Peninsula
#20 of 124 in Surfers Paradise
628 reviews
1.4 mi away
The Breakers
The Breakers
#9 of 124 in Surfers Paradise
294 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to BreakFree Imperial Surf? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about BreakFree Imperial Surf

Address: Imperial Surf 80 The Esplanade, Surfers Paradise, Gold Coast, Queensland 4217, Australia
Region: Australia > Queensland > Gold Coast > Surfers Paradise
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #8 of 124 Speciality Lodging in Surfers Paradise
Price Range: £89 - £263 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — BreakFree Imperial Surf 3.5*
Number of rooms: 100
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Laying claim to some of the best views on the Gold Coast, BreakFree Imperial Surf offers quality accommodation at a reasonable price. Located in the heart of Surfers Paradise overlooking the beach, all apartments have ocean views, some with sweeping panoramic vistas of the Gold Coast hinterland and surrounds. Perfect for a weekend getaway, mini-break or beachside family holiday, accommodation options include one and two bedroom apartments with large balconies, fully-equipped kitchen and laundry facilities, TV and security access. The resort offers a range of leisure facilities including a full-size tennis court, indoor and outdoor swimming pools, sauna, BBQ area and tour desk. Only a short walk will have you in Cavill Avenue where you can hit the shops or dine at one of the many cafes or restaurants. When the sun sets the Surfers Paradise nightlife takes over and all the nightclubs are only a short walk away. With the surf-patrolled beach directly opposite and the retail, dining and entertainment hub of the Gold Coast literally on the doorstop, the resort offers choice - whether you want to laze in the sun or party until the sun comes up. Maintenance Notice We are excited to announce BreakFree Imperial Surf will be undertaking an upgrade of the external balcony balustrades. This work is scheduled between from 20 April until 10 December 2015 and it will be carried out from 8am to 5pm Monday to Friday only. During this time there may be restricted access to the hotel entrance and limited access to some balconies. The tennis courts will be closed from 20 April until 15 October 2015. The outdoor pool will be closed from October 2015 until the end of the project, however the indoor pool will remain open from 7am until 9pm throughout this period. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, HotelsClick, Evoline ltd, Cancelon, 5viajes2012 S.L. and HotelQuickly so you can book your BreakFree Imperial Surf reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Imperial Surf Hotel Surfers Paradise
BreakFree Imperial Surf Surfers Paradise, Gold Coast, Australia

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing