We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Overall a recommended property” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Moorings on Cavill Avenue

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Moorings on Cavill Avenue
Certificate of Excellence
Palmerston North, New Zealand
Level Contributor
106 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
“Overall a recommended property”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 January 2012

We recently enjoyed a stay at the Moorings in a penthouse suite. The service is second to none, friendly staff who can't do enough for you. We felt like we really were welcome guests as opposed to a nusiance which a lot of other places make you feel like! The room was very spacious and clean and contained everything we needed, kitchen, laundry etc. The pool and BBQ area is lovely, kept clean and tidy. Right outside are bus stops for both directions and we were just a few minutes walk from Cavill Mall with cafes, restaurants and shops. Situated on a main road so a little noise is to be expected but it wasn't excessive or dominating. The views were lovely and we had two little balconies to sit and look out over the river.
The important thing to remember is 'penthouse' refers to top floor and not necessarily super amazing as the word penthouse leads people to believe. The room was really less 'penthouse' and more 'apartment on a top floor'. Also good to remember an apartment is not a hotel room so you may have more conveniences such as kitchen and laundry but you will need to remember to bring or be prepared to buy things like soap, toilet paper, extra towels, hair dryer etc and housekeeping isn't a daily occurance. Might have been nice to see small things such as salt and pepper supplied as these types of items can't be brought in small enough sizes.
Overall a recommended place to stay.

  • Stayed December 2011, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Dannel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

788 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    567
    168
    37
    8
    8
See reviews for
401
187
14
8
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (261)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Tauranga, Bay of Plenty, New Zealand
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 January 2012

Location location location.... This place is set on the beautiful nerang river and the entrance to cavill avenue. Nice, friendly and helpful staff that made our holiday so much easier for us. Our room had the best view in town it was absolutely breath taking. The pool, spa and bbq areas were always clean and a very nice set up.
I would definitely stay there again in the future.... i have already told my family and friends in New Zealand to stay here.

Thank you very much Magaret and Erin

Room Tip: 14th Floor (top floor) number 72
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Lena_Layne
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Christchurch, New Zealand
Level Contributor
12 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 December 2011

Moorings on Cavill Avenue is accommodation that gets ticks in all of the right boxes!

We arrived late on the Sunday night so obviously there was no one on reception. I thought it may have been a hassle to get access our room but it was very simple - press the intercom button, wait 10 seconds to speak to someone, some very straight forward instructions and within a minute we had our key and were heading up to our room.

When we opened the door to our accommodation we were pleasantly surprised by how clean and modern the room was; lovely furniture, good size flat screen TV and all the mod cons. It was extremely spacious and to top it off we had a magnificent view of the Nerang River. It was great to sit on the balcony at day or night and take in the wonderful sights. We had a one bedroom apartment which was more than ample for the 2 of us. The bed was very comfy and noise from outside was definitely not an issue due to the insulation.

The next day we checked in and this is where the Moorings exceeds expectations due to the lovely hosts - Margaret and Peter. Margaret was extremely helpful and made us feel right at home. She provided all the info we needed and extra tips which were worth their weight in gold. It was always a pleasure to come and go as you would be greeted by a beaming smile and a friendly hello.

The complex had a good size pool, BBQ/entertainment area, spa, a mini games room with a small library and you also get allocated a car park. This came in handy as we ended up getting a rental car on our last day to head down to Byron Bay.

I'm trying very hard to find a fault with the accommodation but ultimately I can't because it was perfect.

Thank you Moorings for a great stay!

Room Tip: Riverside rooms have great views!
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Travelling_Cantab
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Perth, Australia
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 December 2011

This hotel / apartment was everything I expected and more......
From the moment I stepped in through the front door I was greeted with a smile, friendliness and warmth so sadly lacking in this beautiful country.
The photos showing the Hotel / apartment were very true to life and staying there gave me a feeling of peace and ultimate tranquility I desired in a hectic world.
The facilities are world class, managers and staff are truely genuine people and I am eager to come back.
Siutated in a ideal location with a short walk from buses, River, shops, restaurants and hidden away from the hectic side of Cavill Ave.
The weather can not be predicted, but what do you say...... QLD weather beautiful one day ????? the next. Well I did have one beautiful day and can only hope for more when I return next.
Dont change a thing....... I love this country !!!!!! Australians make it a great Country and this Hotel / apartment is one of the greats !!!!!

Room Tip: No bad rooms, the location at the rear of the Hotel is over the River and a beautiful sight
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, travelled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Westgal2011
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 December 2011

LOVED IT ALL THE WAY.

We went on 26 Jan 2011 till 5 Feb 2011 10 nights and stayed in number 48 level 8 2 bed superior and it was lovely the managers were great Margs and Peter. Close to everything great facilities’ and secure parking just beautiful. Going again now soon on the 26 Jan 2012- 4 Feb 2012 9 nights and can't wait. The view is lovely aswell.

Room Tip: Rooms on the river side are more peacefull and realxing when your outside on your balcony in the aft...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2011, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank chris l
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne, Australia
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 December 2011

This is the second time we stayed at Moorings and again it did not disappoint! After having a horrible flight from Melbourne to Gold Cost where our luggage was lost, we were welcomed by the owner who was lovely and gave us one of the new improved apartments. It was smaller than the one we stayed in a few years back however it was absolutely gorgeous. All brand new furniture, balcony looking over the river and pool. The owners were very helpful and friendly! sometimes at night its a little noisy on Friday and Saturday nights as you a right at the beginning of cavil avenue but its nothing too hard to deal with. It is a fantastic location with shops, restaurants and bus stops to all theme parks a few steps away. The pool and spa is fantastic and theres a BBQ outside for those summer nights. My partner and I are definitely going to go to Moorings again when we go back to Gold Coast. I highly recommend it. Thank you to the owners at Moorings, you made our trip one to remember.

  • Stayed December 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank tani88
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney
Level Contributor
21 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 December 2011

My sister in law and I took our kids up to the gold coast to do the them parks on the cheap Jetstar fares and found this place to be great location to everything. There is a bus stop just out the front that we caught to the airport and theme parks was very handy. The room we were in was a needing a little TLC but for the price was ok. The Managers were lovely and very helpful. We also had a look at other apartments while there and some were a little more expensive but you pay for what you get. If returning to the gold coast I would stay in the complex again maybe just a different room.

  • Stayed January 2011, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank sheensydney
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Surfers Paradise hotels
0.2 mi away
Novotel Surfers Paradise
Novotel Surfers Paradise
#16 of 33 in Surfers Paradise
3.5 of 5 bubbles 232 reviews
0.1 mi away
Mantra Circle on Cavill
Mantra Circle on Cavill
#7 of 33 in Surfers Paradise
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,685 reviews
0.3 mi away
Peppers Soul Surfers Paradise
Peppers Soul Surfers Paradise
#1 of 33 in Surfers Paradise
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,762 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Watermark Hotel & Spa Gold Coast
Watermark Hotel & Spa Gold Coast
#8 of 33 in Surfers Paradise
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,391 reviews
0.5 mi away
QT Gold Coast
QT Gold Coast
#4 of 33 in Surfers Paradise
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,550 reviews
0.3 mi away
Mantra on View Hotel
Mantra on View Hotel
#12 of 33 in Surfers Paradise
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,271 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Moorings on Cavill Avenue? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Moorings on Cavill Avenue

Property: Moorings on Cavill Avenue
Address: The Moorings 63 Cavill Ave, Surfers Paradise, Gold Coast, Queensland 4217, Australia
Region: Australia > Queensland > Gold Coast > Surfers Paradise
Amenities:
Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Shuttle Bus service Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 125 Speciality Lodging in Surfers Paradise
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Moorings on Cavill Avenue 4*
Number of rooms: 73
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Moorings on Cavill holiday apartments accommodation is the ultimate holiday destination combining the perfect Gold Coast location with the serenity of absolute river frontage. Moorings on Cavill is a boutique style accommodation apartment's hotel with 1 or 2 or 3 bedroom self-contained, air conditioned apartments. We also have 1 Penthouse accommodation apartment. All the apartments have fantastic views of the river and is located a short 5 minute walk to Surfers Paradise beach. We have direct access that leads directly onto riverfront boardwalk and close to the patrolled beach. We offer a choice of superior and deluxe apartments as well as budget accommodation apartments. Many of the apartments have been renovated with the deluxe being the most recent. Moorings on Cavill offers a free booking service to all the tours, shows and attractions that the Gold Coast has to offer. We can arrange all of these prior to your arrival or after you arrive .and decide which attractions you wish to visit. If you would like transfers from either the Brisbane or Gold Coast Airport by coach or private service please let us know and we can arrange this for. Just advise us your preference and flight details then we can advise you of the costs and make the bookings to make sure you have a hassle free vacation in Surfers Paradise. Call our reservations team direct for more great deals and a great accommodation apartment. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda, Odigeo and Hotels.com so you can book your Moorings on Cavill Avenue reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Moorings On Cavill Avenue Hotel Surfers Paradise
Moorings On Cavill Avenue Surfers Paradise, Gold Coast, Australia

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing