We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“love it, love it, love it xx”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Moorings on Cavill Avenue
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 23 February 2013

I live in the UK and I love these apartments, they are self contained so there is no need to get up early for the cleaner. Of course self contained means you have to buy everything for yourself, but who cares its reflected in the price. Am not one for heights or views. I stayed in room 008 with my 2 boys, i had a pool,spa and river view, am sure the higher your floor the better your view.Now i will be honest when i saw the outside of the buiding i thoughty 'o my god' what have i booked. However when i walked in, i was pleasantly surprised. It's so much nicer inside. My 2 bed apartment was huge. I would definetly go back to these apartments. I've read a review on these apartments saying it smells, i STRONGLY disagree.People on a budget should stay in these apartment. These apartments are for people who live in the real world. If your a snob with more money than sense, go to the Hilton, its a 1 min walk away from these apartments, I loved our apartment, loved all the staff.
The bus stop for the theme parks and shopping malls was right outside, If you can drive i would reccommend you get a car. IT'S easy to drive in Australia. It was the easiest thing i have ever done. I cant wait to go back. DON'T BE FOOLISH BOOK THESE APARTMENTS

Room Tip: Stayed in room 008. Loved it xx
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank lisa1980186408
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (833)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

500 - 506 of 833 reviews

Reviewed 12 February 2013

First off, the location of the apartment is great, right at the end of Cavill and 100 metres from the main strip of shops and some great cafe's and restaurants. Friendly counter staff whom were quick to asssit with local shops to check out, and beaches were also a help.

Unfortuantely that is kind of where my positive words stop..

in the lift up to the room, there is a bit of a "not so pleasant" aroma in the air that also continues into the hallways on each floor which doesn't give a great first impression, neither do the lifts actually as one was working and had a sign telling you that the doors can take some time to open. This was followed by, our room for the week with a security door as well as the standard wooden door, concerning as to why the extra security was/is required. Upon entry to the room it felt like i was transported back to the 80's. The room was open and bright and overlooked the pool which was nice, however the overall cleanliness of said room was below par; from stained bed sheets and doona to dusty windows, stained toilet bowl to toilet brush being full of unclean water, balcony door jammed and didn't open very well.
Whilst i understand this is a sort of self-contained apartment, you are presented with 1 x roll of toilet paper and not much else.
The lucky part of our holiday is that we were not spending much time within the room, only to sleep and get changed, which was good as our television, although a nice looking flat screen, only picked up channel 7 and cut out from the digital station every 10/20 seconds. The bedroom television did not pick up any channels so was rendered semi-useless. I would also presume that somebody must own the apartment and rent it out as half of our wardrobe was padlocked and had a nut and bolt through it so not to access this, making us feel a little uneasy as to why they would have this locked up. It's not a very comfortable feeling knowing there are padlocked cupboards in your room that we have no idea what exactly is in there..
The bed is a whole different matter, 2 x single mattresses wheeled next to one another and joined by the large sheet made for a very uncomfortable sleep and i wont lie, i was very excited to go home to enjoy a nice sleep in my bed. To accompany the bed you also have the traffic next to your window which will have you awake quite early which again is fine if you aren't looking for a sleep in.
A car park was also provided which was appreciated, the atmosphere of the car park is very dark and not well lit at the best of times.

Overall, if you are going for a trip to relax and spend a bit of time around the hotel/apartment i would find it hard to recommend this location as it appears to be a step into the 70's/80's but if you are going for a few nights to hit the theme parks and shop then it might be right for you. As to how this has so many positive reviews, i'm not too sure, and to be ranked #1 for 2013, 6 x weeks into the year on their Trip Advisor plaque at the reception desk, im not sue whom decides the ratings but i'd like to have a chat with them.

Room Tip: Rooms facing pool should be quieter from traffic. hopefully you aren't greeted with the same sme...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
11  Thank John D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mooringscavill, General Manager at Moorings on Cavill Avenue, responded to this reviewResponded 17 February 2013

Thankyou for your review. Whilst we take pride in our business, we happily receive those who wish to negitively review us and feel they are just as important as the positives we receive. Obviously your stay with us was not what you expected and hope that your future travel will live up to your high expectations. Just to cap on a few of you points which I'm having trouble with. Why would you worry about a screen door or an owners lockup built within the cupboard, I'm not sure how this affected your time here. In summary all of your concerns would have been happily addressed and rectified had you chosen to speak to one of our reception staff. One thing we dont want in our building is unhappy people and had you taken the time to address your concerns in the beginning things would have been very different I feel sure. Again we apologise for any of our shortcomings.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 February 2013

We stayed at the Moorings for seven nights, It was a pleasure to book our stay with Margaret, everything was arranged by phone I hesitate a little because it just sounded too good to be true, but we were not disappointed. From the moment we arrived and met Margaret she was so helpful and very genuine in wanted to make us feel comfortable during our stay. As soon as we opened the door to our apartment we could not believe our eyes, it was AWESOME, CLEAN MODERN AND BIG, the view to the river was MAGIC. The location is the best, so close to everything, restaurants, shopping, beach and public transport. My two girls loved the pool especially at night. A very big thank you to Margaret Steve and Erin. We would strongly recommend the Moorings on Cavill as a place to stay.. We'll be going back again with no hesitation!!

Room Tip: We stayed on the 9th floor in a two bedroom apartment PERFECT..
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Maddy30031960
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 February 2013 via mobile

Having tried to find a place to stay in surfers for one night when the big day out was on with no luck whatsoever moorings on cavill came to the rescue. They went out of their way to accommodate me to which I am eternally grateful! Great place, really nice staff definitely recommended!

  • Stayed: January 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Xena23
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 February 2013

This is a very very nice place we all went WOW!!!! when we walked in the rooms are huge and very well decked out as well as being nice and tidy. The View was awesome river, city and a glimpes of the ocean. The pool spa and BBQ area was very clean and a pleasure to use the kids loved the blue lights at night. The Staff were great Erin booking all our tours and even the CLEANERS were awesome and gave us some great local knowlege about shopping etc.
Thanks for making our Holiday one to remember.

Room Tip: Just ask Margaret she will get you a great room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank SallyK35
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 February 2013

We had such a great stay at Moorings on Cavill that we have already booked again for next year. Margaret, Peter and Erin were so friendly to us and to our two teenagers, and you could tell that they genuinely wanted to make our stay fabulous. We loved the pool and barbecue area, which was spotlessly clean and spacious. Our apartment was really comfortable and spacious too, and it had everything we needed. Moorings is in such a good spot- a short walk to cafés, shops and the beach. Can't wait for January 2014!

Room Tip: We enjoyed looking out over the pool and the river, and it was a bit quieter than the other side.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank 33Maddie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 February 2013

I booked a top story apartment for our honeymoon based on all the great reviews this place gets and it did not disappoint! The managers are fantastic and never to busy to make time to engage with guests. The views were stunning and the apartment lovely, and bang on the door step of all surfers has to offer. It was quite and relaxing and even though a peak holiday period, on most days we had the pool to ourselves for a few hours. This will be a regular holiday spot for us now.

Stayed: January 2013, travelled as a couple
1  Thank Kasym
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Surfers Paradise hotels
0.1 mi away
Mantra Circle on Cavill
Mantra Circle on Cavill
#6 of 31 in Surfers Paradise
3,549 reviews
0.2 mi away
Novotel Surfers Paradise
Novotel Surfers Paradise
#13 of 31 in Surfers Paradise
549 reviews
1.2 mi away
Crowne Plaza Surfers Paradise
Crowne Plaza Surfers Paradise
#7 of 31 in Surfers Paradise
1,694 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Hilton Surfers Paradise
Hilton Surfers Paradise
#14 of 31 in Surfers Paradise
3,388 reviews
0.3 mi away
Mantra on View Hotel
Mantra on View Hotel
#11 of 31 in Surfers Paradise
3,053 reviews
0.4 mi away
Watermark Hotel & Spa Gold Coast
Watermark Hotel & Spa Gold Coast
#8 of 31 in Surfers Paradise
1,807 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Moorings on Cavill Avenue? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Moorings on Cavill Avenue

Address: The Moorings 63 Cavill Ave, Surfers Paradise, Gold Coast, Queensland 4217, Australia
Region: Australia > Queensland > Gold Coast > Surfers Paradise
Amenities:
Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Shuttle Bus service Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 124 Speciality Lodging in Surfers Paradise
Price Range: £63 - £212 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Moorings on Cavill Avenue 4*
Number of rooms: 73
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Moorings on Cavill holiday apartments accommodation is the ultimate holiday destination combining the perfect Gold Coast location with the serenity of absolute river frontage. Moorings on Cavill is a boutique style accommodation apartment's hotel with 1 or 2 or 3 bedroom self-contained, air conditioned apartments. We also have 1 Penthouse accommodation apartment. All the apartments have fantastic views of the river and is located a short 5 minute walk to Surfers Paradise beach. We have direct access that leads directly onto riverfront boardwalk and close to the patrolled beach. We offer a choice of superior and deluxe apartments as well as budget accommodation apartments. Many of the apartments have been renovated with the deluxe being the most recent. Moorings on Cavill offers a free booking service to all the tours, shows and attractions that the Gold Coast has to offer. We can arrange all of these prior to your arrival or after you arrive .and decide which attractions you wish to visit. If you would like transfers from either the Brisbane or Gold Coast Airport by coach or private service please let us know and we can arrange this for. Just advise us your preference and flight details then we can advise you of the costs and make the bookings to make sure you have a hassle free vacation in Surfers Paradise. Call our reservations team direct for more great deals and a great accommodation apartment. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Booking.com, Hotels.com, HotelsClick, Evoline ltd, LateRooms and Cancelon so you can book your Moorings on Cavill Avenue reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Moorings On Cavill Avenue Hotel Surfers Paradise
Moorings On Cavill Avenue Surfers Paradise, Gold Coast, Australia

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing