We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (859)
Filter reviews
860 results
Traveller rating
611
183
45
10
11
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
611
183
45
10
11
Show reviews that mention
All reviews nerang river the gold coast across the road bbq area the penthouse bedroom apartment cavill avenue perfect location home away from home great place to stay great apartment these apartments car park amazing views close to shops after hours minute walk to the beach
Filter
Updating list...
526 - 531 of 860 reviews
Reviewed 12 February 2013

First off, the location of the apartment is great, right at the end of Cavill and 100 metres from the main strip of shops and some great cafe's and restaurants. Friendly counter staff whom were quick to asssit with local shops to check out, and beaches were also a help.

Unfortuantely that is kind of where my positive words stop..

in the lift up to the room, there is a bit of a "not so pleasant" aroma in the air that also continues into the hallways on each floor which doesn't give a great first impression, neither do the lifts actually as one was working and had a sign telling you that the doors can take some time to open. This was followed by, our room for the week with a security door as well as the standard wooden door, concerning as to why the extra security was/is required. Upon entry to the room it felt like i was transported back to the 80's. The room was open and bright and overlooked the pool which was nice, however the overall cleanliness of said room was below par; from stained bed sheets and doona to dusty windows, stained toilet bowl to toilet brush being full of unclean water, balcony door jammed and didn't open very well.
Whilst i understand this is a sort of self-contained apartment, you are presented with 1 x roll of toilet paper and not much else.
The lucky part of our holiday is that we were not spending much time within the room, only to sleep and get changed, which was good as our television, although a nice looking flat screen, only picked up channel 7 and cut out from the digital station every 10/20 seconds. The bedroom television did not pick up any channels so was rendered semi-useless. I would also presume that somebody must own the apartment and rent it out as half of our wardrobe was padlocked and had a nut and bolt through it so not to access this, making us feel a little uneasy as to why they would have this locked up. It's not a very comfortable feeling knowing there are padlocked cupboards in your room that we have no idea what exactly is in there..
The bed is a whole different matter, 2 x single mattresses wheeled next to one another and joined by the large sheet made for a very uncomfortable sleep and i wont lie, i was very excited to go home to enjoy a nice sleep in my bed. To accompany the bed you also have the traffic next to your window which will have you awake quite early which again is fine if you aren't looking for a sleep in.
A car park was also provided which was appreciated, the atmosphere of the car park is very dark and not well lit at the best of times.

Overall, if you are going for a trip to relax and spend a bit of time around the hotel/apartment i would find it hard to recommend this location as it appears to be a step into the 70's/80's but if you are going for a few nights to hit the theme parks and shop then it might be right for you. As to how this has so many positive reviews, i'm not too sure, and to be ranked #1 for 2013, 6 x weeks into the year on their Trip Advisor plaque at the reception desk, im not sue whom decides the ratings but i'd like to have a chat with them.

Room Tip: Rooms facing pool should be quieter from traffic. hopefully you aren't greeted with the same smell that was present on level 5!
  • Stayed: February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
11  Thank John D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mooringscavill, General Manager at Moorings on Cavill Avenue, responded to this reviewResponded 17 February 2013

Thankyou for your review. Whilst we take pride in our business, we happily receive those who wish to negitively review us and feel they are just as important as the positives we receive. Obviously your stay with us was not what you expected and hope that your future travel will live up to your high expectations. Just to cap on a few of you points which I'm having trouble with. Why would you worry about a screen door or an owners lockup built within the cupboard, I'm not sure how this affected your time here. In summary all of your concerns would have been happily addressed and rectified had you chosen to speak to one of our reception staff. One thing we dont want in our building is unhappy people and had you taken the time to address your concerns in the beginning things would have been very different I feel sure. Again we apologise for any of our shortcomings.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 February 2013

We stayed at the Moorings for seven nights, It was a pleasure to book our stay with Margaret, everything was arranged by phone I hesitate a little because it just sounded too good to be true, but we were not disappointed. From the moment we arrived and met Margaret she was so helpful and very genuine in wanted to make us feel comfortable during our stay. As soon as we opened the door to our apartment we could not believe our eyes, it was AWESOME, CLEAN MODERN AND BIG, the view to the river was MAGIC. The location is the best, so close to everything, restaurants, shopping, beach and public transport. My two girls loved the pool especially at night. A very big thank you to Margaret Steve and Erin. We would strongly recommend the Moorings on Cavill as a place to stay.. We'll be going back again with no hesitation!!

Room Tip: We stayed on the 9th floor in a two bedroom apartment PERFECT..
  • Stayed: January 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Maddy30031960
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 February 2013 via mobile

Having tried to find a place to stay in surfers for one night when the big day out was on with no luck whatsoever moorings on cavill came to the rescue. They went out of their way to accommodate me to which I am eternally grateful! Great place, really nice staff definitely recommended!

  • Stayed: January 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Xena23
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 February 2013

This is a very very nice place we all went WOW!!!! when we walked in the rooms are huge and very well decked out as well as being nice and tidy. The View was awesome river, city and a glimpes of the ocean. The pool spa and BBQ area was very clean and a pleasure to use the kids loved the blue lights at night. The Staff were great Erin booking all our tours and even the CLEANERS were awesome and gave us some great local knowlege about shopping etc.
Thanks for making our Holiday one to remember.

Room Tip: Just ask Margaret she will get you a great room.
  • Stayed: January 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank SallyK35
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 February 2013

We had such a great stay at Moorings on Cavill that we have already booked again for next year. Margaret, Peter and Erin were so friendly to us and to our two teenagers, and you could tell that they genuinely wanted to make our stay fabulous. We loved the pool and barbecue area, which was spotlessly clean and spacious. Our apartment was really comfortable and spacious too, and it had everything we needed. Moorings is in such a good spot- a short walk to cafés, shops and the beach. Can't wait for January 2014!

Room Tip: We enjoyed looking out over the pool and the river, and it was a bit quieter than the other side.
  • Stayed: January 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank 33Maddie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews