We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not quite what I expected but still nice”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Moorings on Cavill Avenue
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 12 August 2013

Stayed here a few months ago adter reading all the reviews and that this place had won top choice awards.
I honestly expected something amazing with the pictures and my friends and I had high expectations but a little let down. I'm not one to complain about trivial things but my friends were constantly in my ear about the place. We stayed for a week and after the first night, they wanted to leave.
The place was a bit run down and had oldish furniture. The couch leather had completely peeled (would explain why a rug was placed over it to sit on). The TV and austar box kept stuffing up and was pretty tiny for the room size.
There were ants everywhere on the first night (we hadn't eaten and food or drink in the apartment as we went out for dinner) and the next morning, even more! I dont mind a few but it started to get a bit much, my friends were whining the entire time as more appeared.
The view was lovely over the river and up north. We were only on a low level so not a sky-high view. Bit of a downside with party cruise dock right outside the window and they were pretty noisy (close balcony door and was all good).
The staff were great, a little over friendly for my liking (asking us where we were going each time we went out and came back) but I do understand some people like that attention.
The pool was lovely and warm, the spa also.
The second bedroom was meant to have a queen/zip bed but two singles were in there. And no light ??? Just a lamp on one side of the room. So couldnt really see at night which was odd.
Attempted to use the vacuum to clean up the dead ants next day but appears people before us used the washing machine and the entire laundry floor was soaked, including the bottom of the vacuum cleaner so it left a great big mess of fluff along the floor and streaks.

Overall I'd say a great place for families but definitely not business/professional couples or adults looking for something to match the high rating.

  • Stayed: January 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank herefishyfishy123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (838)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

419 - 425 of 838 reviews

Reviewed 12 August 2013

Pros -

Staff : - Friendly and very helpful staff.

Location: - Excellent location. Supermarket (Woolworths) its directly opposite the apartment. its 5-10 mins walking distance to Surfer Paradise beach.

View : - Love the view.

Tour package offered by Mooring : - They offers reasonable rates for theme parks and activities tickets.

Con
The car park seems looks like a run down warehouse.

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Magwill03
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 August 2013

I spent five nights at the Moorings. I was given an apartment at level 14, which has an amazing view of the river. The room is clean and it has everything that I need, including washing machine and dryer. It takes less 10minutes walk to the surfer paradise beach and shops. There is a Woolworth at the building right opposite Moorings, which making it really convenient if you are intend to do your own cooking. I would definitely go back again.

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Gonzales28
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 August 2013

Pros - very nice apartment and well maintained
Management very friendly and helpful
Fantastic location right in the centre of Surfers Paradise with supermarkets across the road, an abundance of restaurants and the beautiful beaches only 10 minutes walk

Cons - Found it noisy with sirens, drunks and general traffic noise. Owner should consider fitting double glazing.
Slightly peeved at signs that we must leave apartment fully cleaned with all dishes washed and put away etc or would be charged an additional fee. Thought this was harsh as it wasn't a budget apartment and I felt I had to clean and Hoover before I left :-(

Room Tip: Very well run. Get as high a floor as possible to lessen noise
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank ScotlassHongKong
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 August 2013

I stayed at this apartment for four days three nights, when I stepped into the room, I found it so surprise, the decoration of the apartment is so nice, I would like to stay at the apartment for dinner every night, as it just likes having dinner at a high class restaurant. I would definitely come back again.

  • Stayed: July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank May C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 July 2013

Stayed at Mooring with a group of friends in a two bedroom apartment. The apartment was the perfect size, lots of space, renovated modernly with a great view overlooking the RIVER. Great location, walking distance to shops, restaurants and beach. Hotel facilities also of a very high standard, modern pool and BBQ area. Would definitely recommend to friends!

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank georgie s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 July 2013

The apartment we got was a two bedroom, two bathroom unit.
Living room was huge, kitchen was also big and laundry room came in handy.
The heated pool and jacuzzi was great, we also used one of bbq grills next to the pool.
Everything was about a five minute walk and Margaret was very helpful with booking tours.

Will keep this place in mind next visit.

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 111manny111
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Surfers Paradise hotels
0.1 mi away
Mantra Circle on Cavill
Mantra Circle on Cavill
#6 of 33 in Surfers Paradise
3,666 reviews
0.2 mi away
Novotel Surfers Paradise
Novotel Surfers Paradise
#13 of 33 in Surfers Paradise
609 reviews
1.2 mi away
Crowne Plaza Surfers Paradise
Crowne Plaza Surfers Paradise
#8 of 33 in Surfers Paradise
1,719 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Mantra on View Hotel
Mantra on View Hotel
#10 of 33 in Surfers Paradise
3,193 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hilton Surfers Paradise
Hilton Surfers Paradise
#12 of 33 in Surfers Paradise
3,433 reviews
0.5 mi away
QT Gold Coast
QT Gold Coast
#5 of 33 in Surfers Paradise
2,850 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Moorings on Cavill Avenue? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Moorings on Cavill Avenue

Address: The Moorings 63 Cavill Ave, Surfers Paradise, Gold Coast, Queensland 4217, Australia
Region: Australia > Queensland > Gold Coast > Surfers Paradise
Amenities:
Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Shuttle Bus service Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 123 Speciality Lodging in Surfers Paradise
Price Range: £71 - £230 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Moorings on Cavill Avenue 4*
Number of rooms: 73
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Moorings on Cavill holiday apartments accommodation is the ultimate holiday destination combining the perfect Gold Coast location with the serenity of absolute river frontage. Moorings on Cavill is a boutique style accommodation apartment's hotel with 1 or 2 or 3 bedroom self-contained, air conditioned apartments. We also have 1 Penthouse accommodation apartment. All the apartments have fantastic views of the river and is located a short 5 minute walk to Surfers Paradise beach. We have direct access that leads directly onto riverfront boardwalk and close to the patrolled beach. We offer a choice of superior and deluxe apartments as well as budget accommodation apartments. Many of the apartments have been renovated with the deluxe being the most recent. Moorings on Cavill offers a free booking service to all the tours, shows and attractions that the Gold Coast has to offer. We can arrange all of these prior to your arrival or after you arrive .and decide which attractions you wish to visit. If you would like transfers from either the Brisbane or Gold Coast Airport by coach or private service please let us know and we can arrange this for. Just advise us your preference and flight details then we can advise you of the costs and make the bookings to make sure you have a hassle free vacation in Surfers Paradise. Call our reservations team direct for more great deals and a great accommodation apartment. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Agoda and HotelsClick so you can book your Moorings on Cavill Avenue reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Moorings On Cavill Avenue Hotel Surfers Paradise
Moorings On Cavill Avenue Surfers Paradise, Gold Coast, Australia

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing