We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Absolute Pleasure”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Moorings on Cavill Avenue
Certificate of Excellence
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Absolute Pleasure”
Reviewed 28 January 2014

We stayed in in an apt on level 5 with a view North up the river toward Sea World. It was decorated in a modern tone and was clean and well sized for my wife, 2 kids and myself. TV had all the channels you need. Well positioned with easy walking access to all of the surfers highlights. The reception staff were very helpful and friendly. We didn't have any trouble with people making noise outside our apt.

To be fair my only points of concern were if you were unlucky to get a tight spot in the car park it could be a worry, I noted one person asked if they could leave their car in the guest car park as it would not fit in the spot underneath. The second thing was an overly nosy owner who made you feel a bit like you were intruding on her turf. But these were very minor and would not deter from my recommendation. Other owners were lovely and had a chat with us by the pool!

Overall I would highly recommend Moorings to anybody travelling to the Gold Coast.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Craig B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

803 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    578
    169
    39
    9
    8
See reviews for
406
193
16
9
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (268)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Sydney, Australia
1 review
Reviewed 27 January 2014

We stayed here for 5 nights in Jan. Staff are great and helpful. We arrived around 6pm (after reception hour) but everything is arranged. no hazzles! Room is clean and tidy including the outdoor setting in the balcony. Enjoyed the river view. Enjoyed the pool which is good sized and with plenty of cushioned beach chairs to relax. The BBQ facilities area look nice too. Our trip this time is a bit short with too many theme park visits. So will plan to come back again.

Room Tip: Shampoos, shower gels are not provided so bring some with you.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Grace A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wollongong, New South Wales, Australia
Level Contributor
35 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 January 2014

We stayed 6 nights 5 days and it was great view was awesome .room clean and tidy the only fault was car park is small and dark and only oneroll of toilet paper for5days room was abit noisy but we are in the middle of surfers pool is nice heated whichis good

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank 21sammy2006
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 January 2014

hi there my name is chris lagana and we stayed at moorings during the 5th of jan to the 12th jan it was the best stay ever.We then left to go stay at another hotel the second week which was crap and we rtegret leaving moorings nothing beats it put it this way we stayed at mantra on circle and even though its a 4 &1.5 star place its crap inside the rooms the pool is cold and not enough utensils to cover the amount of people staying in the room so yes would stay there again and have for the last 4 years straight. the staff are lovely our aircon was sort of broken and phoniex came to the rescue and fixed it straight away there was never an issue with the staff we became friends instantly.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Anne L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Townsville, Australia
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 19 January 2014

Had the best stay here in August of 2013. Stayed a week with my girlfriend, absolutely beautiful view on the river side. Moorings has the perfect location; just off the Surfers Paradise boulevard. You can just walk down the road and there are a heap of shops for tourists and regular stores, including Woolworth's across the road. The apartment was very spacious, with great view and very clean. Got to see the sunrise every morning and even though it was cold it was one of the best things about this place. Staff are very friendly and a pleasure to deal with. Will be staying there agin for our 2014 trip.

Room Tip: River view is gorgeous and no noise from the traffic and an absolutely beautiful view over the river...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Matthew V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
59 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 January 2014

We stayed as a family at Moorings for a week in January 2014. We had a beautiful room on the 13th floor with sweeping views of the river and glimpses of the ocean from all of the windows and the large balcony. Everything you needed in the room was there with full kitchen facilities, laundry, two bedrooms and two bathrooms. There was foxtel available on the tv as well as a DVD player - but who comes to the Gold Coast to watch TV.
Anything you required was able to be sorted out by the front desk staff who were some of the most friendly we have encountered in our travels. They were lovely from the minute we walked into the foyer and always greeted us throughout the day.
The hotel itself is great - the pool area was perfect for those travelling with a family with the heated pool, toddler pool, spa and sauna. We were able to make use of the BBQ area a couple of times.
The location of the hotel is perfect in that it is located close enough to walk to the heart of surfers whether it be to go to the beach (only a few blocks away), go out for a meal/night out, or to go shopping. The supermarket is just across the road along with other useful stores such as the chemist and bottle shop.
Everything else is only a short drive away. One thing to note is that the car park is a bit tight in some spots especially if you have a larger vehicle. However car parking spot is free with your room tariff.
When booking the room after checking numerous sites the best rate was matched/offered by the hotel direct.
We would definitely consider staying here again on a future trip to Surfers Paradise.

  • Stayed January 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank nickers77
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Adelaide, Australia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 16 January 2014

My family and I stayed here for seven days over Christmas 2013. The staff (Gracie and Erin) were really friendly, helpful and welcoming. We had an apartment that had gorgeous views of the river and sunset. Very convenient location, close to Surfer's Paradise and had access to free secure car parking (requires early request). Comfortable apartment and would definitely come back here again next time we visit Gold Coast.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Abang H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Surfers Paradise hotels
0.2 mi away
Novotel Surfers Paradise
Novotel Surfers Paradise
#14 of 32 in Surfers Paradise
385 reviews
0.1 mi away
Mantra Circle on Cavill
Mantra Circle on Cavill
#6 of 32 in Surfers Paradise
3,066 reviews
0.3 mi away
Peppers Soul
Peppers Soul
#1 of 32 in Surfers Paradise
2,055 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Watermark Hotel & Spa Gold Coast
Watermark Hotel & Spa Gold Coast
#8 of 32 in Surfers Paradise
1,440 reviews
0.5 mi away
QT Gold Coast
QT Gold Coast
#4 of 32 in Surfers Paradise
2,635 reviews
0.3 mi away
Mantra Legends Hotel
Mantra Legends Hotel
#9 of 32 in Surfers Paradise
2,180 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Moorings on Cavill Avenue? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Moorings on Cavill Avenue

Property: Moorings on Cavill Avenue
Address: The Moorings 63 Cavill Ave, Surfers Paradise, Gold Coast, Queensland 4217, Australia
Region: Australia > Queensland > Gold Coast > Surfers Paradise
Amenities:
Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Shuttle Bus service Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 122 Speciality Lodging in Surfers Paradise
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Moorings on Cavill Avenue 4*
Number of rooms: 73
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Moorings on Cavill holiday apartments accommodation is the ultimate holiday destination combining the perfect Gold Coast location with the serenity of absolute river frontage. Moorings on Cavill is a boutique style accommodation apartment's hotel with 1 or 2 or 3 bedroom self-contained, air conditioned apartments. We also have 1 Penthouse accommodation apartment. All the apartments have fantastic views of the river and is located a short 5 minute walk to Surfers Paradise beach. We have direct access that leads directly onto riverfront boardwalk and close to the patrolled beach. We offer a choice of superior and deluxe apartments as well as budget accommodation apartments. Many of the apartments have been renovated with the deluxe being the most recent. Moorings on Cavill offers a free booking service to all the tours, shows and attractions that the Gold Coast has to offer. We can arrange all of these prior to your arrival or after you arrive .and decide which attractions you wish to visit. If you would like transfers from either the Brisbane or Gold Coast Airport by coach or private service please let us know and we can arrange this for. Just advise us your preference and flight details then we can advise you of the costs and make the bookings to make sure you have a hassle free vacation in Surfers Paradise. Call our reservations team direct for more great deals and a great accommodation apartment. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Agoda, Priceline, Hotels.com, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Moorings on Cavill Avenue reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Moorings On Cavill Avenue Hotel Surfers Paradise
Moorings On Cavill Avenue Surfers Paradise, Gold Coast, Australia

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing