We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“4 nights stay in June” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Moorings on Cavill Avenue

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Moorings on Cavill Avenue
Certificate of Excellence
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“4 nights stay in June”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 June 2014 via mobile

Stayed on 10th floor river facing 1-bedroom apartment.

Floors are squeaky clean and river view is magnificent.

Kitchen equipments & utensils are adequate.

However deco is outdated and the floor tiles are stuck in 70s/80s.

Washing machine & dryer are very useful but there are dirt in the washing machine. Our freshly washed laundry ended up stained with black specks.

Cooker hood cannot be switched on despite already being connected to power.

Coffee, tea & sugar satchels are provided. So are single satchel of laundry detergent, dishwasher powder, 1 toilet roll & 2 bars of hand soap. However we have to replenish our own supplies during our 4 nights stay.

These are easily bought from the woolsworth across the road.

Underground parking lot per unit is provided. With security tag access.

Lifts are also only accessed by security tags.

Boarding to whale
cruises,river cruises etc are at river piers beside the building.

Will probably stay here again next time but preferably in a more modern unit.

  • Stayed June 2014
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Theresa L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

788 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    567
    168
    37
    8
    8
See reviews for
401
187
14
8
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (261)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Mildura, Australia
Level Contributor
12 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 June 2014

Moorings on Cavil is nothing flash, but has every thing you need and is clean and in the centre of it all. Also it has a nice clean pool and spa that looks over the river. Staff are very friendly and helpful

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank courts_n_huddo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Adelaide, Australia
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 June 2014

The Moorings is an excellent location at the end of the well known Cavill Avenue overlooking the Nerang River. A short walk to the shops and beach. We had an immaculate apartment {No. 58} with a spacious and modern kitchen/lounge area. The view was spectacular during the day and the night lights were beautiful too. I loved the 23 degree heated pool and sun lounging area with BBQ facilities. A lovely lady, Erin, at reception was very helpful and friendly, ensuring our stay ran smoothly. One thing is for sure ....... we will be back!

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Lori R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 June 2014 via mobile

Dont hesitate we were so impressed great value for money! Lovely staff close to buses, huge penthouse apartment for families I highly recommend the food on cavil is not cheap but delicious and the room has fantastic views over the river with a smokers balcony!

Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
Helpful?
Thank Vikki M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chichester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
22 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 June 2014

Room was great. Roomy,& good appliances. Outlook over the river was sensational. Hospitality was very good. Central Position.Close to shops & also close to buses. Could travel to Theme parks by bus. Could go everywhere by bus, so no need for a car. Very close to the beach. Swimming pool & outside seating area really nice many times we went down to the pool there were only a handful of people. Wifi wasn't fantastic it was a bit hit & miss really but it done the job when was connect was easy to purchase & was good value for money for the time we were there.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Claire_Mapp
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Surfers Paradise, Australia
Level Contributor
78 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 June 2014

What a welcome , amazing. Makes you feel special right from the time you walk in the door. Nothing is too much trouble, and it's not fake thank you so much to the lovely lady at reception, you are amazing.
The room is fantastic with a Great view, and so close to everything. We will be back.

Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Chrisste1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
32 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 May 2014

This was my 4th stay at The Moorings.
I have never been disappointed with this place.
Its quiet, comfortable and immaculately clean.
The outdoor pool, spa and B.B Q areas are fantastic.The gardens and riverside location are a real bonus.
A big positive for this place is that it is not too close to the new light rail track and noise from the light rail is not an issue.
Each apartment is different but all that I have stayed in have been very comfortable and well appointed.
Although there is no bar or restaurant at The Moorings its only a short walk to everything you need and public bus stops are very close.
I agree with another reviewer that Erin at reception is a great asset to this business.
Book a riverside apartment for peace & quiet away from the road and to enjoy the views of the pool and river.

Room Tip: Book a riverside apartment for peace & quiet away from the road and to enjoy the views of the po...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank johnumina
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Surfers Paradise hotels
0.2 mi away
Novotel Surfers Paradise
Novotel Surfers Paradise
#16 of 33 in Surfers Paradise
3.5 of 5 bubbles 231 reviews
0.1 mi away
Mantra Circle on Cavill
Mantra Circle on Cavill
#7 of 33 in Surfers Paradise
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,680 reviews
0.3 mi away
Peppers Soul Surfers Paradise
Peppers Soul Surfers Paradise
#1 of 33 in Surfers Paradise
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,759 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Watermark Hotel & Spa Gold Coast
Watermark Hotel & Spa Gold Coast
#8 of 33 in Surfers Paradise
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,391 reviews
0.5 mi away
QT Gold Coast
QT Gold Coast
#4 of 33 in Surfers Paradise
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,550 reviews
0.3 mi away
Mantra on View Hotel
Mantra on View Hotel
#12 of 33 in Surfers Paradise
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,270 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Moorings on Cavill Avenue? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Moorings on Cavill Avenue

Property: Moorings on Cavill Avenue
Address: The Moorings 63 Cavill Ave, Surfers Paradise, Gold Coast, Queensland 4217, Australia
Region: Australia > Queensland > Gold Coast > Surfers Paradise
Amenities:
Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Shuttle Bus service Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 125 Speciality Lodging in Surfers Paradise
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Moorings on Cavill Avenue 4*
Number of rooms: 73
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Moorings on Cavill holiday apartments accommodation is the ultimate holiday destination combining the perfect Gold Coast location with the serenity of absolute river frontage. Moorings on Cavill is a boutique style accommodation apartment's hotel with 1 or 2 or 3 bedroom self-contained, air conditioned apartments. We also have 1 Penthouse accommodation apartment. All the apartments have fantastic views of the river and is located a short 5 minute walk to Surfers Paradise beach. We have direct access that leads directly onto riverfront boardwalk and close to the patrolled beach. We offer a choice of superior and deluxe apartments as well as budget accommodation apartments. Many of the apartments have been renovated with the deluxe being the most recent. Moorings on Cavill offers a free booking service to all the tours, shows and attractions that the Gold Coast has to offer. We can arrange all of these prior to your arrival or after you arrive .and decide which attractions you wish to visit. If you would like transfers from either the Brisbane or Gold Coast Airport by coach or private service please let us know and we can arrange this for. Just advise us your preference and flight details then we can advise you of the costs and make the bookings to make sure you have a hassle free vacation in Surfers Paradise. Call our reservations team direct for more great deals and a great accommodation apartment. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Odigeo and Agoda so you can book your Moorings on Cavill Avenue reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Moorings On Cavill Avenue Hotel Surfers Paradise
Moorings On Cavill Avenue Surfers Paradise, Gold Coast, Australia

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing