We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Moorings on Cavill”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Moorings on Cavill Avenue
Certificate of Excellence
Adelaide, Australia
1 review
“Moorings on Cavill”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 July 2014

We had a lovely stay here, in a 2 bedroom apartment, with our 2 kids aged 2 and 5 years old. It was nice to have a kitchen to cook some meals in, and the kids shared a room and we also had our own bathroom. The view was pretty and Moorings is conveniently located to lots of restaurants, cafes, and the beach.

It was too cold to swim in the pool (though it was heated to 29 degrees!) but my husband and kids went in the spa which was beautiful. The staff were so friendly and helpful. It was handy to have a washer/dryer in the apartment, especially with 2 small boys.

My only complaint was the traffic noise. Even with all windows closed it was loud. Granted, the hotel sits on the main highway, so that's to be expected. The kid woke quite early every morning (earlier than usual) due to the noise waking them. Cars, trucks, ambulances, people shouting.

That was the only issue, otherwise we had a great stay at Moorings.

Room Tip: We stayed on the 14th floor (top) with a beautiful view looking north and to the Nerang river. Next...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Starbound6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

795 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    570
    169
    39
    9
    8
See reviews for
404
189
15
9
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (265)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
edinburgh
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 July 2014

Booked on the basis of tripadvisor reports and M on C didn't disappoint! The quality of the upkeep and friendliness of staff were the highlights for us. Surfers Paradise was much better than we had expected - great beach, and the Helm restaurant nearby had really good food and nice vibe.

Room Tip: The only very slight problem was the noise from the road (it wasn't load enough to keep you awak...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank EdinburghVictor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Auckland Region, New Zealand
Level Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 July 2014

We chose The Moorings on Cavill because of their rating on Trip Advisor and we were impressed in every respect. The view was amaziing, the apartment well appointed and comfortable and their prices were reasonable. Although we stayed in July which was meant to be winter, the weather was like summer in New Zealand so we did enjoy a few swims in the pool and spa. The location is ideal and an easy walk to the shops and beach. Erin and the staff were very helpful and always pleasant to deal with. Our only complaint would be the noise from the street. Our apartment, and I assume others as well, wasn't double glazed so we could hear all the noise at night (particularly the pesky skateboarders) - earplugs recommended. Overall, we were super impressed and would definitely stay again.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Gees011
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sentosa Island, Singapore
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 July 2014

I traveled for business and this hotel was one of the best hotels.
I stayed only one night. It is very short time.
The rooms were comfortable with great view.
Staffs were very helpful and nice.
I would stay here again

Room Tip: rooms with pool side
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank anleefriendscbd l
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wellington, New Zealand
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 July 2014

We really enjoyed staying in the two bedroom suite, the kids loved the warm salt water pool and I enjoyed the spa.
We were on the second level over looking the canal so didn't have much of a view but my daughter doesn't like heights so it suited us perfectly, and being so close to the ground level mean't we didn't have much of a wait for the lift much it was really fast and easy to go from the pool level to the apartment.
The service was amazing and being so close to the heart of surfers paradise was great except when it is schooley weekend as the young students do stay up late and we could hear them partying outside the first night we were there but then they went home and the rest of the time was great.
The apartment came with a carpark which was great.

We will be going back again.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled with family
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank phalco
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cairns
Level Contributor
9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 July 2014

Service was good and reception staff nice and friendly. River view was lovely and it was nice to sit on the balcony. In the way of prices for Surfers it was reasonable.
Location was good if you want to be right in the middle of Surfers but I would not choose to stay in this area again due to the noise levels. Normally I can handle noise but this was exceptionally bad. Definitely need double glazed glass because you could hear absolutely everything.....traffic, conversations, parties and groups of loud drunks all hours of the night...however in saying this I do understand that it right in the heart of Surfers Paradise and situated near the busy highway .
There should be a dishwasher in the room for hygiene reasons. I was having to wash dishes before I could use them. One roll of toilet paper is a bit stingy, otherwise you are charged for extra rolls. Room definitely needs updating, bathroom in particular could do with a vamp up and cleanliness of the room on arrival could be improved.
Overall we enjoyed ourselves, it is a good size apartment, and after going to a friends unit around the corner we appreciated coming back to ours. To be honest however, I am not sure I would stay here again mainly due to the high noise levels.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Deb I
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne, Victoria, Australia
Level Contributor
60 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 July 2014 via mobile

Stayed 3 nights in late June. Have stayed there before and will stay again. The rooms are clean, modern and well appointed. Reasonably priced and an very good location. The rooms we have stayed in have all had great views and the staff are friendly and helpful. Thanks Erin. If you are staying on the Gold Coast, this is the place to stay.

  • Stayed June 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Bryan C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Surfers Paradise hotels
0.2 mi away
Novotel Surfers Paradise
Novotel Surfers Paradise
#16 of 32 in Surfers Paradise
3.5 of 5 bubbles 280 reviews
0.1 mi away
Mantra Circle on Cavill
Mantra Circle on Cavill
#7 of 32 in Surfers Paradise
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,817 reviews
0.3 mi away
Peppers Soul Surfers Paradise
Peppers Soul Surfers Paradise
#1 of 32 in Surfers Paradise
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,865 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Watermark Hotel & Spa Gold Coast
Watermark Hotel & Spa Gold Coast
#8 of 32 in Surfers Paradise
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,409 reviews
0.5 mi away
QT Gold Coast
QT Gold Coast
#4 of 32 in Surfers Paradise
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,573 reviews
0.3 mi away
Mantra on View Hotel
Mantra on View Hotel
#12 of 32 in Surfers Paradise
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,396 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Moorings on Cavill Avenue? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Moorings on Cavill Avenue

Property: Moorings on Cavill Avenue
Address: The Moorings 63 Cavill Ave, Surfers Paradise, Gold Coast, Queensland 4217, Australia
Region: Australia > Queensland > Gold Coast > Surfers Paradise
Amenities:
Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Shuttle Bus service Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 122 Speciality Lodging in Surfers Paradise
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Moorings on Cavill Avenue 4*
Number of rooms: 73
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Moorings on Cavill holiday apartments accommodation is the ultimate holiday destination combining the perfect Gold Coast location with the serenity of absolute river frontage. Moorings on Cavill is a boutique style accommodation apartment's hotel with 1 or 2 or 3 bedroom self-contained, air conditioned apartments. We also have 1 Penthouse accommodation apartment. All the apartments have fantastic views of the river and is located a short 5 minute walk to Surfers Paradise beach. We have direct access that leads directly onto riverfront boardwalk and close to the patrolled beach. We offer a choice of superior and deluxe apartments as well as budget accommodation apartments. Many of the apartments have been renovated with the deluxe being the most recent. Moorings on Cavill offers a free booking service to all the tours, shows and attractions that the Gold Coast has to offer. We can arrange all of these prior to your arrival or after you arrive .and decide which attractions you wish to visit. If you would like transfers from either the Brisbane or Gold Coast Airport by coach or private service please let us know and we can arrange this for. Just advise us your preference and flight details then we can advise you of the costs and make the bookings to make sure you have a hassle free vacation in Surfers Paradise. Call our reservations team direct for more great deals and a great accommodation apartment. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA, Booking.com, Traveltool, S.L.U., Hotels.com, Odigeo, Agoda, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Moorings on Cavill Avenue reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Moorings On Cavill Avenue Hotel Surfers Paradise
Moorings On Cavill Avenue Surfers Paradise, Gold Coast, Australia

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing