We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Three ticks: Great location, price, and water views”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Moorings on Cavill Avenue
Certificate of Excellence
Melbourne
Level 6 Contributor
212 reviews
60 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 126 helpful votes
“Three ticks: Great location, price, and water views”
Reviewed 30 July 2014

The Moorings is ideally located as the Main Street, Cavill Avenue is directly across the street, the airport and attraction buses pull up in front meaning that a hire car is not really necessary. Our room on the 9th floor had sensational water views across the canals to Chevron Island. There are plenty of supermarkets, restaurants, bars within a 5 minute walk, and the beach is an easy 10 minute walk down Cavill Avenue or Elkhorn Street. The apartments are very spacious, have underground parking and fully equipped kitchens. The staff are very friendly and the pool, spa, sauna, and BBQ area lovely, with sweeping water views. The apartments are very good value for money, slightly dated touches in the rooms but nothing you could reasonably complain about for the price.

Room Tip: Get a room on the higher floors facing the canal, the view is terrific
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank BoffinChemist
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

818 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    589
    170
    41
    10
    8
See reviews for
413
197
16
10
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (272)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Wollongong, Australia
1 review
Reviewed 27 July 2014

My family loved our stay at Moorings. The staff went over and above in assisting us and were extremely friendly and helpful. Our apartment was lovely, clean and family friendly and catered for all our needs with a touch of luxury added in. The views were amazing and our location couldn't have been better. We enjoyed taking a walk on Cavill Avenue every night during our stay and found it to be really convenient. We would definitely recommend Moorings and would love to stay there again. A huge thank you to the staff for a wonderful experience and great memories at Moorings. We hope to see you again soon.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sheridan P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 July 2014

I payed 652 for 4 nights for a 2 bedroom apartment, cheap for a share of 4. The view of the balcony was facing towards the nerang river, beautiful and calm both at day and nighttime. The apartment was clean and spacious. The receptionist Erin and Gracey were cheery and friendly. The only only bad thing I can think of is the hot water. It ran out real quick. So girls like me having long hair needs to be racing with time in the shower. Because I wasn't aware of it at the start, half of my shower was done through cold water. Turning the hot water down is a good idea. Because of the 10kg hand carry allowance we didn't bring towels for beach. We end up hiring towels for merely $2. It's a good deal! I will defs stay there again when traveling to Gold Coast! Thanks for the great service you provided.

  • Stayed July 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank chanchan1212
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
Reviewed 23 July 2014

We've just returned from a 5-day stay at Moorings with our young family. As soon as we walked in to our room, we were blown away by the incredible view, the space available, the cleanliness, and the furnishings. The photos on the website certainly don't do the view justice, over the river and back across the city-scape. I've stayed in Surfers a few times over the past 30 years, and this is by far the best views and accommodation I've experienced there, especially for the very reasonable price.

The staff were extremely friendly and helpful, from the time of our late arrival through to our departure. We had a car which was safely locked away in the carpark under the building, but we didn't need it for all the local stuff in Surfers .. it's right on Cavill Ave, with Woolworths across the street, beach in easy walking distance, and all the shops and activities in between.

We had a 2-bedroom apartment, the kid's bedroom was well separated from our bedroom, with the living areas in-between, which really suited us. The fully-outfitted kitchen allowed us to have our breakfasts and other meals in-house to save money too.

When we visit the Gold Coast on our next holiday, we'll be staying at Moorings again :-)

Room Tip: Highly recommend the river-view rooms.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mark T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Castle Hill, Australia
1 review
Reviewed 20 July 2014

"Great place to stay, immaculate location and facilities, I cant wait to get back there" The apartment was terrific and you must get the rooms with river views. Conveniently located for absolutely everything. Whether its the beach, restaurants or public transport everything is a stone throw away. Couldn't be happier with the experience see you next year Moorings.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with friends
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MichaelTPPA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Whangarei, New Zealand
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 July 2014

We were a 3 generation team two oldies , one 40+ one 10 year old. Our three bedroom apartment with 3 separate bathrooms was just the job for us all. The basement parking worked well. We found the location was great for the theme parks and shopping. The apartment certainly lived up to its description and we would be very happy to return.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank KiwiTravelors
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hastings, New Zealand
1 review
Reviewed 15 July 2014

This was the first time our family stayed at the moorings on cavill avenue. The apartment we were given was absolutely gorgeous, a spacious two bedroom apartment on a lower level. The swimming pool, spa and sauna were really nice and although it was the middle of winter we spent a couple of afternoons there. The staff were absolutely terrific, they were so pleasant to deal with and offered advice on visiting the best attractions. Underground parking great. We will be visiting again in the near future and will not even consider staying anywhere else. Right in the centre of surfers we all had such a perfect stay the only downfall was having to go home.

Room Tip: All rooms good.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Teresa D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Surfers Paradise hotels
0.1 mi away
Mantra Circle on Cavill
Mantra Circle on Cavill
#6 of 31 in Surfers Paradise
3,206 reviews
0.2 mi away
Novotel Surfers Paradise
Novotel Surfers Paradise
#14 of 31 in Surfers Paradise
438 reviews
0.3 mi away
Peppers Soul
Peppers Soul
#1 of 31 in Surfers Paradise
2,144 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.2 mi away
Crowne Plaza Surfers Paradise
Crowne Plaza Surfers Paradise
#7 of 31 in Surfers Paradise
1,642 reviews
0.4 mi away
Watermark Hotel & Spa Gold Coast
Watermark Hotel & Spa Gold Coast
#8 of 31 in Surfers Paradise
1,532 reviews
0.5 mi away
QT Gold Coast
QT Gold Coast
#4 of 31 in Surfers Paradise
2,690 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Moorings on Cavill Avenue? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Moorings on Cavill Avenue

Property: Moorings on Cavill Avenue
Address: The Moorings 63 Cavill Ave, Surfers Paradise, Gold Coast, Queensland 4217, Australia
Region: Australia > Queensland > Gold Coast > Surfers Paradise
Amenities:
Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Shuttle Bus service Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 123 Speciality Lodging in Surfers Paradise
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Moorings on Cavill Avenue 4*
Number of rooms: 73
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Moorings on Cavill holiday apartments accommodation is the ultimate holiday destination combining the perfect Gold Coast location with the serenity of absolute river frontage. Moorings on Cavill is a boutique style accommodation apartment's hotel with 1 or 2 or 3 bedroom self-contained, air conditioned apartments. We also have 1 Penthouse accommodation apartment. All the apartments have fantastic views of the river and is located a short 5 minute walk to Surfers Paradise beach. We have direct access that leads directly onto riverfront boardwalk and close to the patrolled beach. We offer a choice of superior and deluxe apartments as well as budget accommodation apartments. Many of the apartments have been renovated with the deluxe being the most recent. Moorings on Cavill offers a free booking service to all the tours, shows and attractions that the Gold Coast has to offer. We can arrange all of these prior to your arrival or after you arrive .and decide which attractions you wish to visit. If you would like transfers from either the Brisbane or Gold Coast Airport by coach or private service please let us know and we can arrange this for. Just advise us your preference and flight details then we can advise you of the costs and make the bookings to make sure you have a hassle free vacation in Surfers Paradise. Call our reservations team direct for more great deals and a great accommodation apartment. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Evoline ltd, LateRooms and Cancelon so you can book your Moorings on Cavill Avenue reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Moorings On Cavill Avenue Hotel Surfers Paradise
Moorings On Cavill Avenue Surfers Paradise, Gold Coast, Australia

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing