We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Moorings on Cavill Avenue
Show Prices
Like saving money? We search up to 200 sites for the lowest prices
Nearby Hotels
View Hotel
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
Mantra Circle on Cavill(Surfers Paradise)
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
Vibe Hotel Gold Coast(Surfers Paradise)
View Hotel
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
View Hotel
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
The Island Gold Coast(Surfers Paradise)
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
  • Pool
  • Beachfront
Novotel Surfers Paradise(Surfers Paradise)
View Hotel
  • Pool
  • Beachfront
Diamonds Resort(Surfers Paradise)
View Hotel
Centrepoint Resort(Surfers Paradise)
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Peppers Soul(Surfers Paradise)
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (843)
Filter reviews
843 results
Traveller rating
601
176
44
11
11
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
601
176
44
11
11
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsnerang riverthe gold coastacross the roadbbq areathe penthousebedroom apartmentcavill avenueperfect locationthe managerspool areagreat place to staygreat apartmentcar parkfamily holidaythese apartmentsamazing viewsminute walk to the beach
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
806 - 811 of 843 reviews
Reviewed 26 July 2010

One of The Moorings greatest assets is the welcoming, helpful hosts. They go out ot their way to ensure that their guests are comfortable and they possess a generosity of spirit. The rooms are well presented and clean with views to die for. The central position of The Moorings make it an ideal place to stay.
It is without reservation that i recommend The Moorings.

Pamela Martin
Levin
N.Z

  • Stayed: July 2010
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank pacifica11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 July 2010

I spent a lot of time on the internet looking at many of the properties in Surfers. It was so hard to decide, but I am so glad that we chose The Moorings! I travelled with my two daughters (13 and 10) and it was so wonderful after a long day at the theme parks to come back to the peace and tranquility of The Moorings. We had a beautiful apartment on the 11th floor which had sweeping views of the river, city and hinterland. It was fascinating to watch the river traffic and the ebb and flow of the tides. The apartment was clean, light, airy, with views from all rooms.

Margaret was a wonderful hostess as was the weekend receptionist (Diane?). We arrived and left on weekends and it was all hassle free. No hiccups at all!

I have absolutely no hesitation in recommending The Moorings to everyone.

Next time we go to the Gold Coast, I won't have to waste any time on the Internet - I will only be going on to book The Moorings. In fact, I feel like going back to Surfers just to stay at The Moorings!

Thanks again Margaret - and say hello to Jackson for us!

  • Stayed: June 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank lynframel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 July 2010

If I could grade this apartment, I would put The Moorings as a 6-star apartment! We were totally caught surprised with the penthouse-look apartment and the view from our wrap-around balcony was amazing! It is truly a piece of heaven on earth with marvelous views of the rivers, city and a wedge of the hinterland. Right behind the apartment is the cruise dock yard where we can see the comings and goings of cruise parties from our balcony. My husband is an avid photographer and he was able to catch some very good photos from our balcony. We even saw some hot-air balloons in the distance one morning.

The apartment came fully furnished with very good leather furnitures which includes an LCD TV and state-of-the-art electrical appliances and decor. My teenage sons had a hard time deciding whether to sleep in their rooms or the sofa which is so comfy! The kitchen is fully equipped with quality utensils which made cooking a pleasure. The whole apartment is very very well maintained and clean.

The location is within walking distance to all the excitement of Cavill yet at the same time is very quiet at night, even though it is a weekend! Less than 5 minutes walk away is the Coles supermarket too!

Margaret and Peter are the best and we missed them already! We stayed a total of 7 nights. We were sad to leave and will definitely revisit The Moorings when we come back in the future.... ^..^I

  • Stayed: June 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank sowleng
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 July 2010

We recently had 9 nights at the Moorings’ and enjoyed every one of them. Peter & Margaret are lovely hosts and go the extra mile to ensure that their guests arrive and leave with a smile on their face. As accommodation providers ourselves, we know first-hand how hard this can be.
The Moorings’ is in a perfect location in the heart of Surfers Paradise and our unit on the 12th Floor provided gorgeous views of the river. Watching the sun go down and Surfers’ light up at night was just beautiful.
We thoroughly recommend the Moorings’ to other travelers and look forward to stopping there again next year.

ps…unlike the previous reviewer (18 June), we weren’t lucky enough to meet any weird or scary people at the Moorings’.

  • Stayed: June 2010, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank AshleighCourtManager
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 June 2010

This place is a pretty interesting one. We stayed for a while and met all sorts of people in the elevator- young and old, lovely and not so lovely. We met a beautiful old lady who happened to live in the apartment next door to us, but also a really scary old lady who abused us and told us everyone in the building was out to get her. Then there was the cross dresser, the middle aged alcoholic, the tattoo ridden freak, and the old couple who were evil looking know it alls.

The room was ok to average. Its 70's decor and we smelt chlorine. The beds are rock hard, the showers noisy and the pillows smell too.

If you like to party you will love the location! All the madness of Surfers Paradise is at your front door- and in the elevator!!

  • Stayed: May 2010, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank LoveTheAdventures
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mooringscavill, Manager at Moorings on Cavill Avenue, responded to this reviewResponded 4 August 2010

Hi, we are sad that you didn't enjoy your stay here with us at the Moorings. An update for you though! We've had the lifts recarpeted and it's real carpet. The lady you refer to as "scary" has now been placed in aged care, she is really nice when you get to know her. Although very harmless, the crossdresser is a friend of hers so he\she wont be visiting us anymore. Unfortunately we cant decide who visits or lives in our building so we have be patient and deal with it. As for your smelly pillows and rock hard beds, we could have amicably sorted that out at our reception. In Summary, the Moorings might not be for you, but we do our best. We appreciate your feedback and have acted upon some of your points, we look forward to one day assisting you again with any of your accommodation needs.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews