We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely managers - not so sure about the rest”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Moorings on Cavill Avenue
Certificate of Excellence
Melbourne, Australia
Level 4 Contributor
27 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Lovely managers - not so sure about the rest”
Reviewed 16 September 2010

Having read the previous reviews on trip advisor we were looking forward to our stay. We were aware of its location and thus the possibility of noise from the road (which there is but what else to expect in this location??) and also looking forward to meeting the owners, who lived up to the reviews, lovely people.

We did get a 'good deal' on the face of things however I have to say anyone who is offered apartment no.40 ask for another apartment. It is very 70's, the carpet is dirty and it is in need of modernisation. If you want a laugh go in and check out the oven(s), must have been installed when the apartment was built - even the maintenance guy that came up to look at it for me when it didnt work properly was laughing at it.

We were made aware at the time of booking that this was a 'non modernised' apartment, but I really did not expect dirty carpets, poor tiles and an archaic oven.

All being said and done we enjoyed our stay, and to repeat the owners are lovely.

  • Stayed September 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Jahunga
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

817 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    589
    170
    40
    10
    8
See reviews for
413
196
16
10
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (272)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Sydney
Level 5 Contributor
43 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 September 2010

Having read the various reviews on TA I confidently booked into the Moorings with my daughters for the weekend so we could catch up with my elderly Mother who was visiting the Gold Coast from NZ. Having visited my Mother at the Azzura which is very modern and chic we booked in at the Moorings.
Our two bedroom unit (no 40) unfortunately was a particularly sad throw back to the 70's. Brown carpet, brown tiles and hideous blue /green curtains. Now to be fair it was clean buts that's about as much praise as I can lavish. Fronting on to Surfers Paradise Road it was particularly noisey both with traffic and people partying. The cream paint work on the doors etc had taken on that aged taint though this matched well with the budget basic pine dining table setting. Yes we only paid $145 per night and luckily we didn't have to spend much time in the unit as to be truthful we really didn't want to. I wish now that I'd spent the extra $50 per night and booked into the Azzura which was far quieter, far newer and very tastefully appointed. We never got to see the famous managers as the day we checked in was a public holiday. I'm sure they were lovely and possibly some of the other units have been refurbished. Unfortunately ours hadn't and if your unit is on the road side as opposed to the riverside then get ready for plenty of traffic noise. Even my 9 & 12 yr olds were dissapointed that we weren't staying somewhere a bit more upmarket and kids aren't supposed to notice these things !!

  • Stayed August 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
10 Thank KiwidadSydney
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 September 2010

Booked here last minute as original accom was horrific... managed to score the last room and they informed me it was one of their budget rooms. We were thrilled upon entering the room. For approx $110 per night we had a fully self contained apartment - full kitchen, dining table, lounge room with tv/dvd player and jus off that is a balcony with superb river views, seperate bathroom, seperate laundry, and seperate bedroom.
The staff were absolutely fabulous and were very accomodating to our needs - helped us book theme park tickets, airport transfers and even gave us advice on the best restaurants in the area!! We were also able to store our luggage all day after checking out (as we had a late flight).
Moorings have a beautiful outdoor area with a large rectangular pool, sauna, toddler wading pool, spa and also barbecue facilities.
The worst part (and it didn't really phase me much) would have been the noise, being on the 6th floor we did get a fair bit off street noise- but it didnt bother me all that much to be honest - if it bothers you... request accom on a higher level :)
I will definately be coming back to stay there next time I visit the Gold Coast and will be recommending them to everyone :)

  • Stayed September 2010, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jacsta88
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Adelaide, Australia
Level 3 Contributor
9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 August 2010

Had a great stay at the Moorings on Cavill. Great location .... great people, very helpfull ...... look forward to coming back soon. Would highly recommend to anyone staying up in the Gold Coast

  • Stayed August 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Julie H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
auckland
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 August 2010

Last time in Surfers I had such a wonderful time that I just had to bring my family back with me this time. The new managers are so enthusiastic and the place improves everytime I have come. This trip the pool and surrounding area was being completely refurbished and managment had arranged to use a neighbouring pool .
The teenagers enjoyed the location being right in the center of Surfers and walk to everything and having wifi access enabled them to satisfy that demand and keep them happy.The pleasantness of watching over the river comings and goings from the spacious balconies was second to none.
Once again we asked for a upgraded unit and as unit 58 was already booked out they put us in the penthouse 69 . It cost just a few dollars more and was exceptional value and furnished to the same high standard of our previous experience.
Spacious lounge and 2 balconies along with a a huge flat screen TV. Icemaker and cold water in the fridge. Whilst it had a dining table and chairs the family preferred to sit up at the large kitchen servery like birds on powerwire.
The bedrooms were good size and each had its own bathroom off it.
I read that some reviews complain about noise but we didnt notice that. we live in a rural area normally and whilst noisier than that, it was not intrusive and it is in the heart of Surfers Paradise.
We look forward to our return perhaps early next year when we can check out the new pool area.

  • Stayed July 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank sherylt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
melbourne
Level 4 Contributor
29 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 64 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 August 2010

I booked a 2BR apartment for three nights at Moorings after reading the rave reviews on TripAdvisor. Staying in the apartment were myself, my partner, my 6 month old and my MIL. There are some positives, some negatives, and just some facts you might like to know before you book. Heads up, this is a pretty long review!

The facts

Moorings is on the canal end of Cavill Avenue. For those who don’t know Surfers (as I didn’t), Cavill Avenue is one of the main shopping/bar/restaurant drags in Surfers, much of which is a pedestrian mall. So it is very “urban” and busy. You walk across the Gold Coast Highway (6 lane road) to get to Cavill Avenue, and walk the length of Cavill (5 – 10 mins) to get to the beach.

The positives

As most every review says, Peter and Margaret are very helpful and kind. They have a huge job to do, and they do it well. The room was also very clean, and had a pretty good layout – two bedrooms, two bathrooms and a good size living/kitchen/dining (including a day bed in the living room, which was helpful for us). The views onto the canal are very pretty. The price was very reasonable. We didn't hear any noise at all from other residents. Some might find the location a positive (close to restaurants, supermarkets etc.), some might find the location a negative (very busy area, quite noisy – see further comments below).

The negatives
1. We had a few hiccups with our booking. We left a credit card # for confirmation, and then received a call a few days later asking for our credit card # to confirm. We requested a cot, and received a call a few days later asking if we needed a cot. So that was a bit of a process.

2. When we arrived it was about 5:30pm on a Saturday and reception was closed. It was an easy process to call the after-hours number and access our keys in a safe in reception. The keys came with a letter to say to park in the bay that matched our room number. The bays are not numbers sequentially, so we finally found our bay at the very end (a dead end) of the garage. It had a locked roller door on it. Hmmm. Once we finally managed to get our car out of the narrow dead end, we called after-hours again and they told us to park anywhere that wasn’t reserved. This was a bit more difficult than it first seemed, as most of the empty spots were reserved and the spots were quite tiny for our (not enormous – 4 door Holden) car. Anyway, finally got into a non-reserved spot and got upstairs.

3. As some other reviews have said, the décor is a bit dated and faded, but nothing drastic. Some of the drawers in the dresser seemed on their last legs (difficult to pull out and push in). I am not sure if the décor is different in different rooms, as our room looked nothing like the photo on the website (the photo that scrolls across on the front page, after the photo of the pool).

4. When we booked, we were told the room had a view of the canal and the pool. However it wasn’t mentioned that the pool was empty and a construction site, complete with workstations and machinery left around the pool. Workers showed up just after 7am on the Monday morning and the grinders and drills started at 8am on the dot and went on until after 5pm that afternoon. Not very peaceful. Luckily it was raining the next day, so no grinding or drilling!! For those who are wondering, they had an arrangement with the next door apartments to use their pool, which was a fairly easy process and it was a nice pool.


5. The night we arrived, we went to bed around 9:45 after a very long day of travel. Then the party boats started disembarking, about 100 metres from our window (close enough we could see the people getting off). Now obviously this is Surfers and you expect people to be out and about, but this was quite extreme – hundreds of drunken teenagers walking past yelling obscenities and generally being obnoxious. Another boat came in around midnight. Just something you might want to be aware of, particularly on a Saturday night. Apparently there are security guards that try to move them along, but the drunks seemed to be loitering around for a good while. We live in inner city Melbourne, so we are used to people staggering home drunk, and this was very extreme even for us.

6. The amenities just felt a bit stingy. For three adults and one child, we were left two bath mats (two bathrooms) and three (not very large) bath towels. No towel for bub, no hand towels. There were no bins in the bathrooms. There was one sachet of dishwashing detergent and one sachet of washing powder (I presume we could have had more if we had asked). These are all small things, but just added up to feeling like the apartment was – well – stingy!


7. To top it all off, there was a fire on our last night there. Some moron put a lit cigarette butt in their rubbish (down the central rubbish chute), which then lit the rubbish in the basement on fire. Once we realised it wasn’t a false alarm (smelled the smoke), we grabbed bubs out of the cot and went outside – luckily we were on the lowest floor! Unfortunately only one elevator was working (due to a flood they had a few weeks ago), so it was going to take a while for everyone to get back to their apartments. Management kindly let us and some older residents in the first lift so that we could get bubs back to bed. Now obviously this is in no way the fault of the Moorings, but was just another hiccup in our stay.

Anyway, if you have made it this far, congrats! I just thought a more detailed review might be of assistance. For the price, it was reasonably good accommodation, but we definitely had a few issues during our stay.

  • Stayed August 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
10 Thank jojoMelbourne
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 28 July 2010

I just spent a week @ Surfer's Paradise on the Gold Coast in Australia at Moorings on Cavill. Pete & Marg are the most amazing host & hostess. Very knowledgable, warm and welcoming, so helpful and professional. I stayed @ the penthouse on the 14th floor. Beautiful self catering accomodations, close walking distance to everything and all the amenties of home one could ask for at a very reasonable price and good value for the money. I can't wait to return in the very near future. Congrats to this hotel for hiring such a great management team and being in a premier location. WOW~

Stayed July 2010, travelled with friends
Helpful?
1 Thank Patra2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Surfers Paradise hotels
0.1 mi away
Mantra Circle on Cavill
Mantra Circle on Cavill
#6 of 31 in Surfers Paradise
3,191 reviews
0.2 mi away
Novotel Surfers Paradise
Novotel Surfers Paradise
#14 of 31 in Surfers Paradise
436 reviews
0.3 mi away
Peppers Soul
Peppers Soul
#1 of 31 in Surfers Paradise
2,139 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Watermark Hotel & Spa Gold Coast
Watermark Hotel & Spa Gold Coast
#8 of 31 in Surfers Paradise
1,522 reviews
1.2 mi away
Crowne Plaza Surfers Paradise
Crowne Plaza Surfers Paradise
#7 of 31 in Surfers Paradise
1,640 reviews
0.5 mi away
QT Gold Coast
QT Gold Coast
#4 of 31 in Surfers Paradise
2,686 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Moorings on Cavill Avenue? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Moorings on Cavill Avenue

Property: Moorings on Cavill Avenue
Address: The Moorings 63 Cavill Ave, Surfers Paradise, Gold Coast, Queensland 4217, Australia
Region: Australia > Queensland > Gold Coast > Surfers Paradise
Amenities:
Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Shuttle Bus service Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 123 Speciality Lodging in Surfers Paradise
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Moorings on Cavill Avenue 4*
Number of rooms: 73
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Moorings on Cavill holiday apartments accommodation is the ultimate holiday destination combining the perfect Gold Coast location with the serenity of absolute river frontage. Moorings on Cavill is a boutique style accommodation apartment's hotel with 1 or 2 or 3 bedroom self-contained, air conditioned apartments. We also have 1 Penthouse accommodation apartment. All the apartments have fantastic views of the river and is located a short 5 minute walk to Surfers Paradise beach. We have direct access that leads directly onto riverfront boardwalk and close to the patrolled beach. We offer a choice of superior and deluxe apartments as well as budget accommodation apartments. Many of the apartments have been renovated with the deluxe being the most recent. Moorings on Cavill offers a free booking service to all the tours, shows and attractions that the Gold Coast has to offer. We can arrange all of these prior to your arrival or after you arrive .and decide which attractions you wish to visit. If you would like transfers from either the Brisbane or Gold Coast Airport by coach or private service please let us know and we can arrange this for. Just advise us your preference and flight details then we can advise you of the costs and make the bookings to make sure you have a hassle free vacation in Surfers Paradise. Call our reservations team direct for more great deals and a great accommodation apartment. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Agoda, Hotels.com, Evoline ltd, LateRooms and Cancelon so you can book your Moorings on Cavill Avenue reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Moorings On Cavill Avenue Hotel Surfers Paradise
Moorings On Cavill Avenue Surfers Paradise, Gold Coast, Australia

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing