We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Staff need lessons in customer service”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Silverton Holiday Apartments
Murrumba Downs, Australia
Level 4 Contributor
35 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Staff need lessons in customer service”
Reviewed 23 July 2012

I also found the staff very uninterested in helping, when I found them at all. I was there for four days on business so there was no-one at reception when I left in the mornings nor when I got home most days. I did ask a couple of times, in my initial email and at the desk one morning, and to be sure, I left a message to ask if they could organise a shuttle bus to the airport on my departure, all of which were ignored. When I got to the desk at the time I'd requested the shuttle bus, they did ring a taxi for me which would have cost $200 to get to the Brisbane airport, so luckily I had lots of time and the cab driver took me to the train station to catch the airport train.
I simply loved the room (18) which was on the third floor and overlooked the river, so lovely views. Very comfortable king size bed which was lovely to come home to after a big day. Shower only, no bath. Unfortunately, because the staff cost me such a lot by not organising the shuttle bus, they have lost my next booking in 2 weeks time. They have a really nice swimming pool/spa area and georgous bbq area on the riverbank. They also have a tennis court and very small gym for guest use. Unfortunately, I didn't have the opportunity to use any of their facilities. They are within a few short blocks of the main beach at Surfers Paradise, which I walked every day. The number and variety of restaurants in the area was amazing. Loved being so close to the heart of the Gold Coast.

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank angeltheatre
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

143 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    17
    24
    24
    16
    62
See reviews for
52
37
9
4
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (38)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Melbourne, Australia
Level 4 Contributor
29 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 July 2012

We stayed at the Silverton in 2009 and it was a pleasant stay all up. We had 2 lovely apartments that were spacious and well furnished as well as clean.
This time round (april 2012) it was not as nice.
Management has changed and so has the customer service and hotel standards.
The kitchen was quite dirty so I literally had to scrub anything before I used it. The flooring was dirty as was the kitchen table.
The ensuite was awkward. I kept getting stuck inside as there was no handle on the inside to let yourself out.
The beds were quite comfortable, and the rooms were spacious.
The car park was a bit squashy but it was ok once u got used to it.
The staff at reception were rude and ignorant.
We stood waiting to pay our account and all 3 staff members chatted amongst themselves in another language and totally ignored us for a good 7 or so mins. This was inappropriate and bad customer service.
Little did they know we understood everything they were saying.
We definitely wont be going back if thats how they treat customers.

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank goudi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, Australia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 3 July 2012

Well thought I had seen it all but this takes the biscuit.Photos were taken when this place was new and not a cent spent on the place since. Dirty and scruffy ,burnt work tops, missing shelves in fridge,filthy carpets, broken dryer....all in all a rip off. Games room smells of damp and I broken ping pong ball,10 bucks to play tennis. Guy on front hates people so be warned.don't do it !!

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank lollypopwat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Surfers Paradise hotels

melbourne
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 June 2012

Silverton offers value for money . My wife and i stay here every year. U have designated secure underground parking with ample space 2 move around. Other places charge u more for parking and many dont have designated parking so its 1st come 1st serve basis and i found by experience many are a tight squeeze to manouver around not here. U have a clean bbq area full size tennis court and even offers a private jetty where u can fish off if u so desire. Rooms are spacious full kitchen and laundry. All have balconies. The staff are all helpful and non intrusive. Its not a 5 star and it dont profess to be and for what u get 4 your money it beats other places ive stayed in hands down.

Room Tip: with the construction work going on id recommend the river view rooms
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank kris p
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Auckland Region, New Zealand
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 June 2012

I had low expectations about this place after reading mostly negative reviews. I'm pleased to say that those low expectations were surpassed - but not by a huge margin.
The pros:
- great panoramic view of the city is you are on a high enough floor.
- quiet
- staff were friendly and helpful
- spacious rooms
- good price
The cons:
- the major for me: false advertising showing "sample" pics of their rooms on website. The room we stayed in was old looking and could do with a bit of a touch up.
- kitchen pots and pans were also old and grotty (luckily I ate out most nights) and the oven ventilator was broken so the room smoked up badly when I did my breakfast fry-ups.

All in all it was okay. good value for the price but I would only stay here again if there was nothing else that was around the same price range.

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank funkee500
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
South Brisbane, Queensland, Australia
Level 1 Contributor
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 May 2012

THIS PLACE RUINED MY 21ST
I Stayed here this weekend just gone (floor 9 room 52), my parents bought me and my partner a stay down the coast for my 21st, I have to say even though it rained the whole time and i couldn't do all I wanted the main disappointment for me was my accommodation, NEVER have I stayed in a place so dirty!! I feel its safe to say Silverton Apartments ruined my birthday weekend, I couldnt stay in my room and enjoy being with my partner on the rainy days as it was dirty and uncomfortable. The carpet was foul, dishes were dirty nothing was clean the bathrooms especially! The couch was so bad we had to bring the mattress off the bed into the lounge and put it on the floor! And my Dryer didn't work, I rang reception was told I would get a call back and after 4 calls to reception I still never received a call back so had to bring wet clothes home as they wouldn't dry in the rainy weather! I am ABSOLUTELY DISGUSTED in this place DO NOT STAY HERE!!

Room Tip: Do yourself a favor DONT stay here
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Jaymie Louise H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cologne
Level 2 Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 May 2012

We stayed in two different appartments. The first one was acceptable for the price we paid (60 AUD if you book early ahead). It had a big TV, a new bathroom and a comfortable bed. But all the other things were much older and not very clean. The appartment had a strange smell.

When we had to stay in Surfers Paradise for two more days and extended our stay we had to change to another (two bedroom) appartment. We agreed without inspecting it, which was a terrible mistake. When we entered the second apartment we wanted to leave straight away. Everything was broken and dirty. Lipstick on glassas, food in cooking pots, holes in couches, and the toilet water ran over my feet (hole in pipe) when flushing.

It was pretty easy to find the bedroom, you just had to follow the dirty path in the carpet. The bed was the worst bed we have EVER slept in!!!! It must have been 20 years old and just saggy. A hammock would have been much more comfortable. And the noise from the street didn't make us feel better. The children's bedroom (which we fortunately didn't have to use) was just horrible and had a broken lamp and fan.

When we made our laundry we could watch the foam coming out of the washing machine.
Even a small cockroach made her way to this high floor.

When checking out we were blamed to have broken the toilet pipe. This was when I got really angry. We didn't complain about anything before because we just didn't know where to start!

In sum the first apartment where we stayed was ok for the price we paid but the second one was the most disgusting place I've ever stayed at.

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank World_On_The_Wall
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Surfers Paradise hotels
0.4 mi away
Crowne Plaza Surfers Paradise
Crowne Plaza Surfers Paradise
#7 of 31 in Surfers Paradise
1,639 reviews
0.7 mi away
Mantra Circle on Cavill
Mantra Circle on Cavill
#6 of 31 in Surfers Paradise
3,185 reviews
0.7 mi away
Peppers Soul
Peppers Soul
#1 of 31 in Surfers Paradise
2,138 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
The Penthouses
The Penthouses
#54 of 123 in Surfers Paradise
62 reviews
1.0 mi away
Suntower Holiday Units
Suntower Holiday Units
#50 of 123 in Surfers Paradise
70 reviews
0.9 mi away
Chateau Beachside
Chateau Beachside
#13 of 123 in Surfers Paradise
1,680 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Silverton Holiday Apartments? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Silverton Holiday Apartments

Property: Silverton Holiday Apartments
Address: Silverton 2940 Gold Coast Hwy, Surfers Paradise, Gold Coast, Queensland 4217, Australia
Region: Australia > Queensland > Gold Coast > Surfers Paradise
Amenities:
Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Kitchenette Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #119 of 123 Speciality Lodging in Surfers Paradise
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Silverton Holiday Apartments 3.5*
Number of rooms: 84
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Silverton offers accommodation for holidays in 1, 2 or 3 bedroom fully self-contained apartments with full resort facilities that have breathtaking views in all directions which include..... ocean, Surfers Paradise, Broadbeach, direct undisturbed hinterland and main river with the activity of water sports and boats by day. Afternoon BBQs with the sunsets in the background, families swim in a gorgeous heated pool, and sit back to enjoy a cold beverage in the open surroundings that Silverton has before heading back to your unit to watch the kaleidoscope of brilliant lighting over the Goldcoast which Surfers Paradise puts on display, this will take your breath away. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Silverton Holiday Apartments reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Silverton Holiday Apartments Hotel Surfers Paradise
Silverton Holiday Apartments Surfers Paradise, Gold Coast, Australia

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing