We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Disgusting”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Silverton Holiday Apartments
Edinburgh
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
“Disgusting”
Reviewed 8 February 2011

we arrived to find this apartment no 28 absolutely disgusting. Windows carpets shower room horrible. We refused to stay and reported back to the letting agents. These apartments are for groups of girls or guys who don't care what they live in as long as their heads hit a pillow. Save your money and go elsewhere!

  • Stayed December 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank SEXYSHOES
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

142 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    17
    23
    24
    16
    62
See reviews for
51
37
9
4
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (37)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Brisbane, Queensland
Level 4 Contributor
37 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 February 2011

Recently stayed here with a bunch of girlfriends for the big day out. Well positioned, only a 15 minute walk to Cavill Ave. The manager was a bit dopey, and didnt seem interested in charging us for the extra people we ended up having in our room! The room was good, nice balcony, clean.

  • Stayed January 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank thehaylinator
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
byron
1 review
Reviewed 30 January 2011

We had booked 5 rooms for 3 nights, there was over 20 people Our rooms were all spread out with not 2 rooms being on the same floor and your room key only allows you to go to your floor only which ment if you wanted to visit any body you had to ring them and met them on the ground level so they could use their key to take you to there room very painful and made it hard for us all to be together.

The service from reception was terrible they have no personality and not helpful at all.

There was many smells, hallway smelt of urine and Our level smelt really bad the whole time we were there with a heavy smoker in the perminant resident unit next door (we took our 18month old baby). Not Impressed
Also the main bin smelt really bad and the rubbish shute was very small was no point in using it.

Bedrooms very hot in the morning no air cond in bed rooms
Supposed to have austar but didnt
Reception werent very helpful with carparking considering we had 5 rooms and 6 cars we couldnt park 6th car in car park even though silverton wasnt booked out. So had to leave car in visitors parking which was 6 hours only or get towed away. When asked to see if was possible to put car in car park answer was very rude saying 1 car per unit thats it
I would definatly never ever stay here again and definatly wouldnt recommend it to anyone.
P.s beds are bad and take your own pillow

  • Stayed January 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank dkc17
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Surfers Paradise hotels

1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 January 2011

1. Dirty kitchen
2. Missing pieces to blinds
3. Uncomfortable beds with holes
4. Blood stains on bed sheets
4. Filthy couches with holes
5. Dirty TV with finger marks everywhere
6. Dusty, smelly rooms
7. No fan in toilets
8. Ceiling fan in main bedroom makes an annoying noise when switched on
9. No Air Con in bed rooms, just ceiling fans with a thick layer of dust
10. Booked for 5 people and only issued us with 4 pillows for the first 2 nights
11. Pictures look deceiving
12. Mattress in main bedroom slides off main bed
Tried to get a refund on the day we arrived but was unsuccessful
NEVER AGAIN!!!!!!!

  • Stayed January 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Mojo2nv
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 January 2011

I stayed at Silverton apartments for 3 nights - 3 nights too long!

The drama started before we even arrived. 4 days before our arrival I called to confirm our booking of 1x 2bedroom apartment and 1x1bedroom apartment. The manager said we only booked 1x1bedroom apartment and no other booking existed (even though my credit card had been charged $1000). She said instead we could have 2x1bedroom apartments and people could sleep on extra bedding/couch.

8 of us checked in to 2, 1bedroom apartments (one on level 4, one on level 7). Our level 7 room had a mouldy shower, no extra bedding (which we paid $300 for), a bike lock around the fold out couch and a condom wrapper under the couch - I WAS DISGUSTED. We called reception and the emergency mobile number constantly for a number of hours, however as it was New Years Eve no one answered. We finally got through to Angela (at 1:30am!!!) and she said that we had not paid for extra bedding (even though I had the copy of the invoice) and that she would come up to us to sort it out - she never did. WE HAD TO SLEEP ON THE FLOOR.


The next morning (Saturday) I went to sort out the situation - but reception was closed for New Years day. We did not receive the extra bedding until 5pm that day - one trundle bed and one 10cm high mattress to go on the floor. We said we just wanted the fold out couch but she said she didn’t have the key to the bike lock that was wrapped around it and that the thin mattress would have to do – then turn around and walked out of the apartment.

Finally on Sunday reception was open (only from 8:30-10:30am though) and we went to sort it out. She said she would not offer a refund for the first night for the extra bedding as it was not in the computer and that “we should be happy we were able to have 4 people in the apartment when we had only paid for 2 people”. How this woman still has a job is beyond me – she has no clue how to run a business. We asked to contact the owners and she said they were unavailable but would get them to call us – AS IF THAT WILL EVER HAPPEN.

Oh and the pool was set at 27degrees, since it was 30degrees outside temperature, we chose not to swim. The only good thing about this place is that it is a short walk to Cav Ave and there is a nice little take away food place and bottle shop across the road.

I have stayed in a $30 a night, 2star hotel in Italy where the toilet was in the hallway and the view from the room was of a brick wall – and I would choose to stay there any day rather than Silverton!!

  • Stayed January 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank hayleymvs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne, Australia
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 September 2010

We have been to Surfers a number of times and we found Silverton to be very affordable, ideal location half way between Cavill Ave and Broadbeach- walking distance to both. Handy little supermarket and bottle shop across the road, lovely beach views from our room on top floor, also nice views of river overlooking the pool. We got engaged on the balcony of our room and we loved our stay! It rained a lot but our room was large and very comfortable. The only downside I can think of was the pool because it was quite small and there were some large groups staying so it was hard to fit in some days but the spa was lovely! Definitely recommend!!!!

  • Stayed February 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Hilary0801
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Auckland
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 August 2010

We are currently sitting at Gold Coast Airport after staying at the Silverton "Holiday" Apartments for 10 painful nights. We can't wait to get home so we can have a good nights sleep - and that is coming from someone who has a 15 month old son at home. We had more sleep while our son was a new born than we did at the Silverton Apartments. Sleeping problems - 1. There is currently painting maintenance happening where there are painters (poms that like to swear a lot) right out side the bedrooms or on your balcony. They start at 7am EVERY MORNING and would wake us up talking and swearing loudly. They either stop right outside your bedroom (make sure you don't walk around in your underwear) or go up to the higher apartments and talk loudly the whole way up the building. We complained about this and got told they were quite arrogant and weren't meant to talk but they would tell them again - next morning we still woke up to swearing painters. We were also told that is why the apartments were so cheap - ha!!! She said they were discounted to $80 a night (we paid $89) and originally they were $120 a night. She showed us the bit on the website that says there are painters and maintenance being done and it is only in the booking part and you have to scroll down to see it so it could easily be missed!! This ruined our holiday quite a lot - we found ourselves not wanting to go out late knowing we would be woken up at 7am - if I had been at home with my baby I would have got to sleep in an hour longer! One morning we heard one of the painters say "you wouldn't want to have a beer on these balconies" to which the other guy replied "I know, I've told them how dangerous it is but they don't care" - so after that we didn't even want to go out on the balconies. Reason number 2. when there is the slightest bit of wind, the bedroom window rattled like someone was shaking it, we tried putting paper between the window and the sill but this made no difference... and knowing we were going to be woken up at 7am made it even more frustrating. We complained and asked for another room to which we were told there was only one available a few floors above us (we were on level 6) and that we would still get the painters outside our room and the wind only gets stronger further up... the poor people above us! Reason 3. There is some bloody alarm thing that went off about 4 of the 10 nights... it almost sounded like a girl screaming and went on for hours. We think it was coming from a house across the canal but who knows... we mentioned this to the lady on reception who said it was the rowing boats practising - at 2am - yeah right!!!

I would not stay at this place again if I was told it was $40 a night let alone $120!!!

When we were leaving today we got our telephone bill and there were 3 calls on it... 2 we had made and a 3rd we hadn't. The 3rd one was for $13.50 to a number we didn't know that was for a duration of 5mins 32secs at 6.39pm. Funny thing is there was another call made from our room (we only have 1 phone in the room) that we did actually make at 6.39pm (the exact same time and day). We said the 3rd call wasn't made by us and the lady actually argued... we said well how did we make 2 calls at once to which she had no answer and we just refused to pay the extra $13.50.

Internet - the Silverton has internet access in the reception only (you cannot get wireless in your room). We took our laptop as we wanted to Skype our son but everytime we had to take our laptop down to reception and pay for it. The computers provided by Silverton don't have cameras so we had to use our laptop. You can pay $2 for 20 mins on the ones provided by them, or to use your own laptop, you have to pay $12 for 3 hours or we paid $45 for 2 weeks. The internet connection was crap - it says "signal best by reception" which we were sitting right beside and our connection would disconnect all the time when we were in the middle of skyping. Pain in the beep.

When we first walked into the room we thought woohoo look at the nice big spa bath... when we tried to fill it up the hot water ran out before it even got to the jets (not even half way)... no point in having a big spa bath. We had to have very quick showers or the water would go cold (and there were only 2 of us). When we asked about it, the lady said the owners decide the size of the water cylinders, some have big ones, some have small ones, unfortunately for us, the person that owned our room was tight!

The whole sleep deprivation ruined our holiday and I would never stay here again. Other than the things above, the actual room itself was ok. The floors are completely tiled so unless you want things sticking to your feet all the time, you need to sweep the floor a lot. The windows needed a clean which ruined the view a bit.

The cooking facilities, fridge, etc were fine.

The location was ok (the whole alarm thing is why I only give it a 3). It was good walking distance from the centre and the beach.

  • Stayed August 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank lana008
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Surfers Paradise hotels
0.4 mi away
Crowne Plaza Surfers Paradise
Crowne Plaza Surfers Paradise
#7 of 31 in Surfers Paradise
1,626 reviews
0.7 mi away
Mantra Circle on Cavill
Mantra Circle on Cavill
#6 of 31 in Surfers Paradise
3,130 reviews
0.6 mi away
Novotel Surfers Paradise
Novotel Surfers Paradise
#14 of 31 in Surfers Paradise
413 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Peppers Soul
Peppers Soul
#1 of 31 in Surfers Paradise
2,118 reviews
0.3 mi away
The Penthouses
The Penthouses
#54 of 122 in Surfers Paradise
62 reviews
0.9 mi away
Chateau Beachside
Chateau Beachside
#13 of 122 in Surfers Paradise
1,674 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Silverton Holiday Apartments? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Silverton Holiday Apartments

Property: Silverton Holiday Apartments
Address: Silverton 2940 Gold Coast Hwy, Surfers Paradise, Gold Coast, Queensland 4217, Australia
Region: Australia > Queensland > Gold Coast > Surfers Paradise
Amenities:
Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Kitchenette Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #119 of 122 Speciality Lodging in Surfers Paradise
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Silverton Holiday Apartments 3.5*
Number of rooms: 84
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Silverton offers accommodation for holidays in 1, 2 or 3 bedroom fully self-contained apartments with full resort facilities that have breathtaking views in all directions which include..... ocean, Surfers Paradise, Broadbeach, direct undisturbed hinterland and main river with the activity of water sports and boats by day. Afternoon BBQs with the sunsets in the background, families swim in a gorgeous heated pool, and sit back to enjoy a cold beverage in the open surroundings that Silverton has before heading back to your unit to watch the kaleidoscope of brilliant lighting over the Goldcoast which Surfers Paradise puts on display, this will take your breath away. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda, Hotels.com, Priceline, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Silverton Holiday Apartments reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Silverton Holiday Apartments Hotel Surfers Paradise
Silverton Holiday Apartments Surfers Paradise, Gold Coast, Australia

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing