We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Better than I expected”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Crowne Plaza Surfers Paradise
Ranked #7 of 31 Hotels in Surfers Paradise
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 17 April 2011

i stayed at the Crowne for one night after I found a cheap 'mystery' room online. I didn't go with any great hopes, having time and time again been disappointed with the poor quality of Gold Coast hotels.

The Crowne then was a pleasant surprise. Check in was fast and friendly, I was put in a spa room in the adjacent 'Gold Tower' building, which had a very large room and some great sea views.

Furnishings were modern and there was a separate bathroom/toliet. I believe the sofa could be converted to a bed if you are travelling with children.

A major annoyance was the cost and quality of internet. They are charging $30 a night for a service that reached its 'download limit' after 10 minutes of Skype chat. This is overpriced and next to useless, and would be a consideration for me should I be looking to stay on the Gold Coast again.

  • Stayed: April 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Ian_Pratt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (1,694)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,497 - 1,503 of 1,695 reviews

Reviewed 7 April 2011

My husband, 2 year old and I stayed at the Crowne Plaza Surfers for a week in April and our stay was great. We booked via Wotif.com and rather than providing us with a dusty horrible room, as had ALL hotels we stayed in prior,they upgraded our room and staff went out of their way to accommodate our toddler - cot/food/general needs etc. The staff at this hotel are extremely friendly,polite, accommodating and professional. The room had a HUGE bathroom with a corner spa/bath and separate shower-with an outlook of the city, valley and beach. Our room was very modern with a balcony looking out onto the city (two double beds and a plasma TV, with small table and 2 chairs - balcony had coffee table and 2 seats also). The room was serviced everyday without fail and was in great condition - no cracked tiles, broken amenities etc(unlike other hotels). Room service was prompt, at ALL hours, and food was of good a standard (bit pricey at hotel and in city restaurants, so we will be booking a studio room with kitchen next time). The hotel is fairly close /easy to get to Sea world and other amusements parks - the city is a 10-15 min walk / 3 min car ride away and the beach and casino are a 3-4 min walk. We will definitely be coming back to this hotel again.

  • Stayed: April 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank vicky531818
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 March 2011

This hotel has aged well with high quality fittings, particularly in the marble spa bathrooms. One novelty is being able to set the temperature of the water. I didn't get to try the revolving restaurant but the room service meal itself was well presented and very tasty. Very generous portion sizes! I was slightly disappointed I could hardly hear the ocean as it is several blocks from the beach but the view of the sunrise was lovely.

  • Stayed: March 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Kerri54321
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 March 2011

We loved our 2 night stay here. Room 1912 was a corner room looking south to Broadbeach. The weather was not great and the wind was howling both nights but the room was spacious and very comfortable.
We could not fault the friendliness, courtesy and helpfulness of all the staff. The buffet seafood dinner on the revolving restaurant was satisfactory withour being anything special. Again, all the staff here were very professional.
The fitness centre could do with some free weights and exercise mats.

  • Stayed: March 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Terry R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 March 2011

We popped down to the GC to see some friends over from New Zealand. They were booked into an apartment complex that had a 3 night minimum stay and we were only heading down over night. I searched for Hotels close to where our friends were and found the Crowne Plaza. I never really thought about it being a 5* hotel because it was as cheap as everywhere else and our Superior King Room with Ocean Views was very well priced. So I was not expecting much but after a quick easy check in we found our room to be larger than most rooms we have stayed in. Well fitted bathroom and well furnished room. Plenty of room to be social and not feel like your sitting in a Bedroom. This will now be my go to Hotel when heading down the coast.

  • Stayed: January 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank XR6PSI
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 March 2011

Only there for one night after airlines stuffed up our booking.
Stayed on the 15th floor with sensational views of the ocean and the canals.
My son loved the spa in our room and the big TV. My daughter loved the choice of 2 pools both with spas. Not particularly close to anything if you want to walk but not a problem if you have a hire car.
Only issue was the pull out sofa bed our kids slept on. These things are terrible with wire running through the whole matress. Woke up to find both kids sleeping on the floor.

  • Stayed: March 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank OneThreeTravel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 February 2011

I stayed at the Crowne Plaza Gold Tower for 2 nights with my mum and 2 children... We were really impressed... I had read a few bad reviews on here and I honestly think they must have stayed at a different place... The room was beautiful, spa in the room was awesome... The pools and the spa outside were beautiful... We had a game of tennis on the rooftop tennis court and the view was great... There was also a games room which my kids just adored... We ordered room service for dinner on the 2nd night and it was truly amazing... We all agreed it was one of the best meals we have ever had... The staff were friendly and helpful... Everything about the Crowne Plaza was fantastic... We will definately stay there again... :)

  • Stayed: January 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank HALPIN76
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Surfers Paradise
1 mi away
Novotel Surfers Paradise
Novotel Surfers Paradise
#14 of 31 in Surfers Paradise
550 reviews
0.8 mi away
Watermark Hotel & Spa Gold Coast
Watermark Hotel & Spa Gold Coast
#8 of 31 in Surfers Paradise
1,808 reviews
1.1 mi away
Hilton Surfers Paradise
Hilton Surfers Paradise
#13 of 31 in Surfers Paradise
3,389 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.6 mi away
QT Gold Coast
QT Gold Coast
#5 of 31 in Surfers Paradise
2,802 reviews
1.4 mi away
Mantra on View Hotel
Mantra on View Hotel
#11 of 31 in Surfers Paradise
3,058 reviews
1 mi away
Meriton Suites Broadbeach
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Crowne Plaza Surfers Paradise? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Crowne Plaza Surfers Paradise

Address: 2807 Gold Coast Hwy, Surfers Paradise, Gold Coast, Queensland 4217, Australia (Formerly Parkroyal)
Phone Number:
Region: Australia > Queensland > Gold Coast > Surfers Paradise
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#2 Best Value Hotel in Surfers Paradise
#3 Business Hotel in Surfers Paradise
#3 Romantic Hotel in Surfers Paradise
#4 Family Hotel in Surfers Paradise
#7 Luxury Hotel in Surfers Paradise
Price Range: £77 - £221 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Crowne Plaza Surfers Paradise 4.5*
Number of rooms: 374
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Crowne Plaza Surfers Paradise is set amongst lush tropical gardens. The heart of Surfers Paradise, Broadbeach, Jupiters Casino, surf beaches and some of the best shopping in Queensland are all within walking distance of the hotel. The majority of rooms boast Pacific Ocean views and all rooms have their own balconies. The hotel features two restaurants and bars including Queensland’s only revolving restaurant, Four Winds 360°, 26 floors above the beautiful Gold Coast. The hotels conference facilities can accommodate from 10 to 550 people in a variety of styles. Hotel facilities include two swimming pools (1 heated) with hot spas and sundecks, tennis court and gymnasium. Crowne Plaza Surfers Paradise is your starting point for a host of recreational and entertainment activities that vary from theme-parks to championship golf courses to restaurants or non-stop nightlife. Whether you're looking for fun and adventure or simply want to relax and soak up the sun that the Gold Coast is so famous for, you'll find it when you experience Crowne Plaza Surfers Paradise. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, IHG, Agoda, Expedia, TripOnline SA, HotelsClick, Ebookers, Hotels.com, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, Cancelon and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Crowne Plaza Surfers Paradise reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Crowne Plaza Surfers Paradise Hotel Surfers Paradise
Surfers Paradise Crowne Plaza
Crowne Plaza Surfers Paradise Gold Coast, Australia

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing