We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Didn't quite love the trip back to the 80's”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Crowne Plaza Surfers Paradise
Ranked #8 of 33 Hotels in Surfers Paradise
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 25 July 2011

This hotel is probably a great place to stay if you love the Qld version of the 80's (yes I am talking coral pink shirts, white trousers and shoes and having a penchant for west coast coolers or malibu).
The hotel is in very bad need of refurbishment, the decor and fittings look as they are (dating from the 80's) and are tired.
The linen and towels were acceptable and the room was quite clean.
The location of the hotel is approx half way between Surfers Paradise and Broadway (in a bit of a retail and night life no-mans land) being about 20 min walk to either.
The room service was timely, however the medium/rare steak was very well done and the meal overpriced for what was provided.
I got a room with an ocean view on the 13th floor which was quite good and was much quieter than facing the Gold Coast Hwy.
The staff at reception were very attentive and helpful.
Overall this hotel lacked the polish and modern facilities expected of a 4 star establishment.

Room Tip: Try for a room facing the ocean, less noise and good views higher up.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank every_ones_a_critic1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DavidMBrown, General Manager at Crowne Plaza Surfers Paradise, responded to this reviewResponded 26 July 2011

Many thanks for providing constructive feedback on your recent stay with us at Crowne Plaza Surfers Paradise. I was disappointed to hear of the over cooked steak which you received from Room Service and I have conveyed this to my Executive Chef and his team accordingly. Please accept my most sincere apologies for our shortcomings on this occasion.
Once again, many thanks for your review of the property and for bringing your comments to my attention.
Kind regards,
David Brown
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (1,725)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,509 - 1,515 of 1,725 reviews

Reviewed 20 July 2011

He had our wedding at this hotel.
We had the ceremony in the chapel and the reception on the first floor.
The service was great with regards to the wedding, the coordinator, the food, drinks and even the hotel staff with getting our room cleaned and made up while we were at breakfast.
We had the suite on the floor below the revolving restaurnat, it was large, mini kitchen, large bedroom, lounge and dining and large bathroon with spa bath. great view.
However I did think that the decor and furniture in the room was a tad outdated. The room is a suite, and it seemed to have the most dated decor.
The service at this hotel was great and we did have a problem with the airon not working but we had a service man come and fix it (Not ideal for a bridal party with getting hair and makeup done, but we needed it fixed on a hot March day)

The breakfast was great as it was included in our room, preferred it down stairs then in the revolving restaurant.

Would stay again, and recommend for weddings. The service for our wedding was amazing, not a thing went wrong and it was definatly due to the event co-ordinator of the wedding.

  • Stayed: March 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Chels87
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DavidMBrown, General Manager at Crowne Plaza Surfers Paradise, responded to this reviewResponded 25 July 2011

Many thanks for taking time to review your stay with us here at Crowne Plaza Surfers Paradise. I am very pleased to hear you enjoyed your visit and I will certainly pass on your feedback to our Wedding Coordinator. Please do not hesitate to contact me personally if I can assist you at any time in the future.
Kind regards,
David Brown,
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 July 2011

Visited Gold Coast for two nights in June, partly business and also to take in Panthers - Titans NRL game. Chose the Crowne Plaza as a result of a great deal on Travelzoo. We were given corner room on the 20th floor which had incredible views both north and south. The breakfast's were amongst the best we have had including Sunday morning in the revolving restaurant. (This is worth experiencing even if not staying at Crowne Plaza). Would not recommend dining in the attached Tavern, the food was average at best and it was the only disappointing aspect to the stay which otherwise was very good. The location is an easy 10-15 minute walk to dining precinct at Broadbeach - Casino. Excellent stay despite dining experience at the Tavern and highly recommend.

  • Stayed: June 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank richo21282
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 July 2011

Just spent 3 fantastic nights in Gold Tower. Room was large with spa and kitchen. Deluxe King Spa Studio room had an additional small sofa area with huge glass windows facing south. This was a bonus surprise for us. Room is right next to lift but noise was no problem. Ocean views from balcony were great and being on this side meant little traffic noise. Kitchen was well appointed and had all we needed to cook our own breakfast. While being a bit away from main shopping and eating areas it was a walkable distance and a short cab ride home at end of night. Only had one minor complaint. We ordered room service for dinner (steak) and a steak knife was not provided. Cutting thick cut steak with a normal knife was a challenge. Staff were always welcoming and helpful and our room was cleaned daily by a friendly lady named Deli- thanks!
This is our second time at the Crowne Plaza and will be back again.

  • Stayed: July 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Ozstars
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 July 2011

Stayed in Feb as a birthday surprise for one ngiht.
Rooms are huge! and spa rooms are really nice.
Bed is really comfy and we had beautiful views on the ocean.
Lovely place and we are keen to return.

  • Stayed: February 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank NZ_IOM
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 June 2011

We stayed for one night and thoroughly enjoyd the whole experience.
We were given discount breakfast vouchers upon check-in which gave us breakfast for $20 per person at either the ground floor restaurant or the top floor revolving restaurant (about $10 discount per person) - my tip is Sunday morning breakfast at the top floor revolving restaurant - cannot be matched for breakfast views on the coast, possibly Australia! Don't go too late though as it gets very busy.
I had a good workout at the onsite gym, it was not too bad for a hotel gym.
The room we stayed was an ocean view room on the 13th floor, and you can see great views of the surf. The room had 2 queen beds and individual climate control which meant it was comfortable the whole time.
It was great value due to booking the room using a mystery deal on another site, but I found later that other hotel sites offer a similar price as well, so I recommend searching a few different hotel sites for the best price.

  • Stayed: June 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Mossy23
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 June 2011

Thanks to Travelzoo and Crowne Plaza for our wonderful one nights stay. We had fantastic views from our 21st floor king superior ocean view room. The room was clean and comfortable with commanding views. The sparkling wine was there on arrival. We so enjoyed our breakfast at Four Winds revolving restaurant and late checkout.We found all staff polite and helpful.

  • Stayed: June 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank valesco6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Surfers Paradise
1 mi away
Novotel Surfers Paradise
Novotel Surfers Paradise
#13 of 33 in Surfers Paradise
629 reviews
1.4 mi away
Mantra on View Hotel
Mantra on View Hotel
#10 of 33 in Surfers Paradise
3,264 reviews
0.8 mi away
Watermark Hotel & Spa Gold Coast
Watermark Hotel & Spa Gold Coast
#7 of 33 in Surfers Paradise
1,948 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.6 mi away
QT Gold Coast
QT Gold Coast
#5 of 33 in Surfers Paradise
2,879 reviews
1.1 mi away
Hilton Surfers Paradise
Hilton Surfers Paradise
#12 of 33 in Surfers Paradise
3,455 reviews
1 mi away
Meriton Suites Broadbeach
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Crowne Plaza Surfers Paradise? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Crowne Plaza Surfers Paradise

Address: 2807 Gold Coast Hwy, Surfers Paradise, Gold Coast, Queensland 4217, Australia (Formerly Parkroyal)
Phone Number:
Region: Australia > Queensland > Gold Coast > Surfers Paradise
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#3 Romantic Hotel in Surfers Paradise
#3 Business Hotel in Surfers Paradise
#4 Family Hotel in Surfers Paradise
#8 Luxury Hotel in Surfers Paradise
Price Range: £77 - £182 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Crowne Plaza Surfers Paradise 4.5*
Number of rooms: 374
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Crowne Plaza Surfers Paradise is set amongst lush tropical gardens. The heart of Surfers Paradise, Broadbeach, Jupiters Casino, surf beaches and some of the best shopping in Queensland are all within walking distance of the hotel. The majority of rooms boast Pacific Ocean views and all rooms have their own balconies. The hotel features two restaurants and bars including Queensland’s only revolving restaurant, Four Winds 360°, 26 floors above the beautiful Gold Coast. The hotels conference facilities can accommodate from 10 to 550 people in a variety of styles. Hotel facilities include two swimming pools (1 heated) with hot spas and sundecks, tennis court and gymnasium. Crowne Plaza Surfers Paradise is your starting point for a host of recreational and entertainment activities that vary from theme-parks to championship golf courses to restaurants or non-stop nightlife. Whether you're looking for fun and adventure or simply want to relax and soak up the sun that the Gold Coast is so famous for, you'll find it when you experience Crowne Plaza Surfers Paradise. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with IHG, Expedia, Booking.com, Agoda, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, 5viajes2012 S.L., getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Crowne Plaza Surfers Paradise reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Crowne Plaza Surfers Paradise Hotel Surfers Paradise
Surfers Paradise Crowne Plaza
Crowne Plaza Surfers Paradise Gold Coast, Australia

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing