We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Mixed feelings”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Crowne Plaza Surfers Paradise
Ranked #7 of 31 Hotels in Surfers Paradise
Certificate of Excellence
Newcastle, Australia
Level 5 Contributor
55 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Mixed feelings”
Reviewed 1 October 2012 via mobile

Initially I found the hotel nice. Great greeting, nice foyer and lovely room. I loved the bed and the shower.
Towards the end of my stay I found the staff a bit standoffish. One of the receptionist has no clue of the Internet packages and was clearly just going around in circles waiting for me to be the conversation.

  • Stayed October 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Pixrun
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DavidMBrown, General Manager at Crowne Plaza Surfers Paradise, responded to this review, 8 October 2012
Dear Pixrun,
Thank you for taking time to post your review on your recent stay with us.
I was very sorry to hear of the issues which you experienced with the front office team and please rest assured I will share your comments with them accordingly.
Thank you for bringing your comments to my attention - and of course for choosing to stay with us.
David Brown
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,626 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    597
    694
    237
    53
    45
See reviews for
313
663
98
280
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (431)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
singapore
Level 5 Contributor
55 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 September 2012

We stayed here for only 1 night as we were heading off the next day. Hotel;s relatively closer to the airport than those in Surfer's Paradise itself so it's good if you booked the tourist shuttle as u'll be the last ones picked up and will not have to go round the district picking people up. However, it also means it is further away from food and shops as the main area of Surfer's paradise is a few bus stops away. There are however, a few eateries around the area. The room is clean and bed comfortable. From the sea view room, you can actually see the sun rise (if u ignore the buildings in front of you)!

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank icyparadise
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DavidMBrown, General Manager at Crowne Plaza Surfers Paradise, responded to this review, 8 October 2012
Dear Icyparadise,
Thank you for choosing to stay with us and for posting your review. You are right - we are not in the heart of Surfers Paradise, just a couple of kilometers south, towards Broadbeach.
I hope we see you again in the future.
David Brown
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 September 2012 via mobile

Got this as part of a mystery hotel deal so price was relatively cheap. Room was clean and tidy and view fantastic however I would not pay full price for this room if given a second chance. Washing machine was very noisy, i don't believe the room stands out as being any different to a normal ordinary hotel room.

Stayed September 2012, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Bec M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DavidMBrown, General Manager at Crowne Plaza Surfers Paradise, responded to this review, 8 October 2012
Dear Bec M,
Many thanks for posting your recent review on your stay with us. Unfortunately I'm not sure which room you stayed in but the fact it had a washing machine means it must have been one of our studios in our Gold Tower. All the studios have kitchenette facilities and a washing machine - and these are not generally available in standard hotel rooms.
Please don't hesitate to email me with the details of your room and I will ensure maintenance conduct a thorough check on the noisy washing machine.
Thanks again.
David Brown
General Manager
david.brown@ihg.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 September 2012 via mobile

We recently stayed two nights in the Delux Ocean view room. Level. 20.....although the ocean view was impressive, the room was disappointing ...the Ageing features have change little over the last 10 years.....the lack of Wifi.....was disappointing....Gold Pool and Spa area were very poor...rusted gate and fence....broken slate. Tiles....dangerous...we have stayed here many times and this time we were extremely disappointed.

Stayed September 2012, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Linet C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DavidMBrown, General Manager at Crowne Plaza Surfers Paradise, responded to this review, 26 September 2012
Dear Linet C,
Thank you for taking time to post your review.
I was very sorry to hear we did not meet your expectations on this occasion, especially as you have stayed here many times.
I have had our maintenance team inspect the pool and surrounds and unfortunately have been unable to find any broken or dangerous tiles that you refer to. Guest safety is paramount here at the Crowne Plaza so if you can email me with the specific areas which you are referring to that would be most helpful.
Thanks again.
David Brown
General Manager
david.brown@ihg.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Buderim
Level 5 Contributor
77 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 September 2012

Clean room, comfy bed, fresh linen, great view and very friendly staff.

We stayed here on Friday night with our small child and ordered some room service after a busy day at the theme parks, everything was perfect.

We ate breakfast elsewhere this time so can't comment on it, but last time we stayed in the Gold Tower and the buffet breakfast was superb!

I would not hesitate to book Crowne Plaza again after 2 great stays.

Room Tip: High floor ocean view worth every penny!
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Stays123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DavidMBrown, General Manager at Crowne Plaza Surfers Paradise, responded to this review, 24 September 2012
Dear Stays123,
Thank you for your review after your recent stay with us and I am very pleased we met your expectations. I do agree, the ocean view rooms - though slightly more expensive- are well worth it with unhindered views straight out to the Pacific Ocean.
I hope we see you again soon!
Many thanks once again.
David Brown
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 September 2012

Bloody fantastic , my wife & I stayed there for 3 days , great service great food great staff , even the cleaning lady , can't wait to go back, some of the food prices are a bit ripe ,but you don't do it all the time so a the slug is worth it .

Room Tip: Book it ,it's worth it .
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mark E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DavidMBrown, General Manager at Crowne Plaza Surfers Paradise, responded to this review, 24 September 2012
Dear Mark E,
Many thanks for your review and I am so pleased you enjoyed your stay with us. Thank you for choosing Crowne Plaza Surfers Paradise when you visit the Gold Coast and I hope we can look after you again soon.
David Brown
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cairns, Australia
Level 6 Contributor
82 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 September 2012

We used this hotel as a transit hotel for 1 night and 1 day.
The price and location where reasonable.
The room was spacious and the ocean views spectacular.
A very comfortable bed.
A lovely bathroom and the car park facility was great.
The pool area looked great from the 15th floor .
The only disappointment was the difficult access to the hotel due to the roadworks on the day and the reception personnel lacked the friendly welcoming attitude a visitor would expect.
I would recommend and consider another stay at this hotel.

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Eddie and Judi P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DavidMBrown, General Manager at Crowne Plaza Surfers Paradise, responded to this review, 18 September 2012
Many thanks for your review Eddie and Judi P.
I do apologize for the problems which you encountered with the roadworks adjacent to the hotel during your stay in August. However I am very pleased to advise these were completed on the 31st August and the hotel once again has unimpeded access.
Thank you for choosing to stay with us and I hope we have the opportunity to look after you once again in the not too distant future.
David Brown
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Surfers Paradise
1.0 mi away
Novotel Surfers Paradise
Novotel Surfers Paradise
#14 of 31 in Surfers Paradise
412 reviews
1.6 mi away
QT Gold Coast
QT Gold Coast
#4 of 31 in Surfers Paradise
2,658 reviews
0.8 mi away
Watermark Hotel & Spa Gold Coast
Watermark Hotel & Spa Gold Coast
#8 of 31 in Surfers Paradise
1,465 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.4 mi away
Mantra on View Hotel
Mantra on View Hotel
#11 of 31 in Surfers Paradise
2,635 reviews
1.1 mi away
Hilton Surfers Paradise Hotel
Hilton Surfers Paradise Hotel
#12 of 31 in Surfers Paradise
3,232 reviews
1.0 mi away
Meriton Suites Broadbeach
Meriton Suites Broadbeach
#1 of 21 in Broadbeach
7,598 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Crowne Plaza Surfers Paradise? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Crowne Plaza Surfers Paradise

Property: Crowne Plaza Surfers Paradise
Address: 2807 Gold Coast Hwy, Surfers Paradise, Gold Coast, Queensland 4217, Australia (Formerly Parkroyal)
Phone Number:
Region: Australia > Queensland > Gold Coast > Surfers Paradise
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#3 Business Hotel in Surfers Paradise
#3 Romantic Hotel in Surfers Paradise
#4 Family Hotel in Surfers Paradise
#7 Luxury Hotel in Surfers Paradise
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Crowne Plaza Surfers Paradise 4.5*
Number of rooms: 374
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Crowne Plaza Surfers Paradise is set amongst lush tropical gardens. The heart of Surfers Paradise, Broadbeach, Jupiters Casino, surf beaches and some of the best shopping in Queensland are all within walking distance of the hotel. The majority of rooms boast Pacific Ocean views and all rooms have their own balconies. The hotel features two restaurants and bars including Queensland’s only revolving restaurant, Four Winds 360°, 26 floors above the beautiful Gold Coast. The hotels conference facilities can accommodate from 10 to 550 people in a variety of styles. Hotel facilities include two swimming pools (1 heated) with hot spas and sundecks, tennis court and gymnasium. Crowne Plaza Surfers Paradise is your starting point for a host of recreational and entertainment activities that vary from theme-parks to championship golf courses to restaurants or non-stop nightlife. Whether you're looking for fun and adventure or simply want to relax and soak up the sun that the Gold Coast is so famous for, you'll find it when you experience Crowne Plaza Surfers Paradise. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with IHG, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Ctrip TA, Agoda, Expedia, Priceline, Ebookers, TripOnline SA, 5viajes2012 S.L., Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Crowne Plaza Surfers Paradise reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Crowne Plaza Surfers Paradise Hotel Surfers Paradise
Surfers Paradise Crowne Plaza
Crowne Plaza Surfers Paradise Gold Coast, Australia

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing